DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
The response filed 06/26/26 is acknowledged and has been entered. Currently, claims 1-6 are pending and under examination.
NOTE: The Examiner has now rejected claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. and 35 U.S.C. 103 (see rejections below) and therefore the following rejection has been made non-final. The Examiner apologizes for any inconvenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wong et al., (Nano Lett. 2017, 17, 1685-1695).
Wong et al. discloses “a monolayer of RGD-grafted magnetic nanoparticles (Fe3O4, MNPs coated with silica) via a poly(ethylene glycol) linker (PEG, average molecular weight: 2000)” (e.g. Page 1686, col. 1). The RGD peptides are grafted onto MNPs via thiol-ene reaction:
(e.g. Page 1686, col. 2). Wong et al. does not expressly teach that the integrin-specific ligand is negatively charged. However, because thiolate groups are known to be negatively-charged, the thiolation of the RGD peptide would teach or suggest that it is negatively-charged (current claim 5). It is axiomatic that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.”). Wong et al. teaches “MNPs of ∼20 nm in diameter and amino-functionalized silica coated MNPs (MNP@SiO2) and amino-functionalized silica nanoparticles (SiO2) NPs 40 nm in diameter.” (e.g. Page 1686).
That said, where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. Further, “the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the Kang et al article (ACS Nano, Vol. 11, pages 9636-9649) (submitted in the IDS filed 06/21/13) in view of the Cao et al article (ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, Vol. 7, pages 6698-6705) (submitted in the IDS filed 06/21/23).
Kang et al discloses nanoligands comprising silica-coated iron oxide nanoparticles conjugated to RGD ligand through a poly(ethylene glycol) linker. The size of nanoligands is 40 ± 4 nm, and the size of the iron oxide nanoparticles is 15 ± 3 nm. The nanoligands can be further coupled to a substrate which has been immersed in an HCl solution and then thiolized. Kang et al uses the nanoligands to regulate the adhesion and differentiation of human mesenchymal stem cells (hMSCs). The substrate comprising the coupled RGD peptide can be used, either in vitro or in vivo, to control adhesion and differentiation of hMSCs, under the influence of an oscillating magnetic field for 4, 12, or 48 hours ( e.g., the Abstract; Scheme 1; page 9638, column 2, lines 6-8; page 9647, column 2, third full paragraph; page 9647, column 1, third paragraph, and column 2, third full paragraph).
Kang et al differs from the instant invention in failing to teach the RGD ligand is negatively charged.
Cao et al teaches that negatively charged RGD peptides, i.e. c(RGD-D) and c(RGD-G), enhance osteogenic differentiation of mesenchymal stem cells. The negatively charged RGD peptides comprise a Cys residue for tethering the peptides to a substrate (e.g., the Abstract; Scheme 1(A); Figure 1(A); page 9646, column 2, first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the negatively charged RGD peptides, i.e. c(RGD-D) and c(RGD-G), taught by the Cao et al for the RGD ligand of Kang et al because the substitution of one known RGD ligand for another is routine and conventional in the RGD peptide arts; because the negatively charged RGD peptides taught by the Cao et al can be tethered to a substrate just like the RGD ligand taught by Kang et al and because Cao et al teaches that its negatively charged RGD peptides are effective for the same purpose that Kang et al uses its RGD ligand, i.e. to enhance differentiation of mesenchymal stem cells.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11828719. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the 719’ patent, albeit directs to a method, nevertheless still uses essentially same nano-ligand comprising a core including magnetic nano-particle, a coating layer provided to surround the core and including an integrin-binding ligand peptide (RGD), a linker provided between the core and the coating layer, and the integrin-binding ligand is negatively charged. As to the method of making the nano-ligand in claim 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled person to couple the magnetic nanoparticle core having a linker thereon with the RGD ligand peptide to form the features of the current nano-ligand product.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11828719 in view of Santamaria (US 20150125536). As to the specific linker PEG in current claim 3, although 719’ patent does not explicitly specify the linker, it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled person in the art to use the PEG linker taught by Santamaria where Santamaria teaches a variety of PEG linkers to the core of a nanoparticle (see Table 1 and 2; page 24 to 26). Therefore it would have been prima facie to one ordinary skilled person in the field to choose one of the PEG linker from Table 1 or 2 as taught by Santamaria for linking core and coating layer of a nanoparticle with reasonable expectation of success because PEG linkers have been shown to be suitable for linking the core of a nanoparticle.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11828719 in view of Hirari (US 20080156736).
As to claim 4, 719’ patent does not specify the size of the magnetic nanoparticle. Hirari teaches having a smaller size of magnetic nanoparticle, i.e. <50 nm, would enable the nanoparticle penetrate into interior of cells to trap the target molecule (section 0021). The current nano-ligand is for study of cell adhesion and differentiation of stem cells. Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled person to use 50nm or smaller magnetic nanoparticles as taught by Hirari for suitable cell penetration to study stem cell adhesion and differentiation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting Rejections:
Applicant argues that a terminal disclaimer with respect to U.S. Patent No. 11,828,719 was submitted and therefore the rejection should be withdrawn
This argument is not found persuasive because the terminal disclaimer submitted 06/26/26 has been disapproved because the person who signed the terminal disclaimer does not have power of attorney, and thus, is not of record. See the terminal disclaimer review filed 07/06/26.
/GARY COUNTS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678