DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The structure of the compound of formula (II) of the instant claims 11 comprises
and does not include a linker group corresponding to the R2 linker group located between the MeCOSar chelator and the NH moiety of the
linker group of the compound
. There is a bond between the MeCOSar chelator and the NH moiety of the
. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeglis et al. (US 2016/0331852A1) in view of Donnelly et al. (US 9,701,694B2) and Paterson et al. (Dalton Trans. 2014, 43, 1386-1396) and in further view of Chen et al. (US2007/0269375A1).
Zeglis et al. (US 2016/0331852A1) discloses a kit comprising 64Cu-sarcophagine-based tetrazine
radioligand
(64Cu-Tz-SarAr) (FIGs. 3C, 5 and 7; p5, [0042]) that encompasses the 64Cu-chelated compound of Formula (II)
of the instant claims 1 and 10 wherein R1 is NH2 of the instant claim 4, R2 comprises an aminobenzyl group of the instant claim 6, R3 is a propylene group of the instant claim 7 and R4 is a phenylene group of the instant claim 9
The kit comprises a plurality of containers, wherein each container has a type selected from an ampule, vial, reservoir, etc. (p5, [0042]) that encompasses the kit comprising multiple containers of the instant claims.
One container comprises 64CuCl2 solution (FIG. 7; p10, [0114]; p19, [0153]) that encompasses the container comprising a solution of Cu ions of the instant claims.
The 64Cu encompasses the copper radioisotope, such as 64Cu of the instant claims 12 and 13.
One container comprises Tz-SarAr (FIG. 7; p5, [0042]; p10, [0114]; p19, [0153]) that encompasses the container comprising the compound of formula II of the instant claims.
The kit further includes a second container comprising a targeting moiety-transcyclooctene (TCO), such as huA33-TCO conjugate (p5, [0042]; (p7, [0081]; p19-20, [0155]) that is used in a
pretargeted in vivo click chemistry method with 64Cu-Tz-SarAr to provide site specific imaging and therapy of cancer (title; p2, [0015-0017]; p8, [0104-0105],[0107]) that encompasses the compound
that can bind to a tumor or cancer site and comprise a functional group that reacts with a tetrazine moiety of the compound of Formula (II) of the instant claim 14.
Zeglis et al. does not disclose a.) lyophilized compound, b.) a container comprising sodium chloride and ethanol; or c.) instructions.
Donnelly et al. (US 9,701,694B2) discloses nitrogen-containing macrocyclic conjugates as radiopharmaceuticals for use in radiotherapy and diagnostic imaging (title; abstract). The nitrogen-containing macrocyclic conjugates comprise Formula I
wherein L is a nitrogen-containing macrocyclic; X is a linking moiety and Y is a group consisting of N(R2)2, molecular recognition moiety, etc. (column 4, lines 18+; column 6, lines 38+).
The nitrogen-containing macrocyclic metal chelators include
(columns 19,20) wherein the carboxy terminus is reacted with a the nitrogen of a reactive element on the molecular recognition unit (column 19, lines 60+; schemes 1,2; column 33, lines 8-17).
The nitrogen-containing macrocyclic ligand chelates a metal ion, such as 64Cu, 67Cu, etc. (HCl) (column 11, lines 45+; column 64, lines 25+; claim 14).
The nitrogen-containing macrocyclic conjugates may be formulated into a pharmaceutical
composition. The pharmaceutical composition is provided in a kit comprising one or more containers filled with one or more of the ingredients of the pharmaceutical composition. The kit comprises sterile
vials to admix the components prior to use and written materials, such as instructions for use (column
29, lines 52+).
Various containers of the kit comprises sterile non-aqueous solutions, adjuvants, etc. The non-
aqueous solutions comprise ethanol, etc. (column 30, lines 21-27) and the adjuvants comprise sodium chloride (column 30, lines 35-41).
The conjugate is provided in the kit as sterile powders for reconstitution (column 30, lines 21-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the ethanol solution to advantageously reconstitute the powder conjugate (i.e. lyophilized) within a container prior to mixing with the radionuclide with a reasonable expectation of success. Also, it would have been predictable to combine the ethanol with sodium chloride in a container to provide isotonicity to the resulting 64Cu-Tz-SarAr formulation.
Furthermore, it is obvious to vary and/or optimize the amount of ethanol and sodium chloride provided in the composition, according to the guidance provided by Donnelly et al., to provide a composition having the desired properties such as reconstitution and isotonicity. It is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Zeglis et al. does not disclose the compound of Formula (II) wherein R2 comprises a benzyl group or the compound of the instant claim 11
.
Donnelly et al. further discloses that the nitrogen-containing macrocyclic conjugates comprise
Formula I
wherein the X linking moiety comprises C1-C12 alkyl, C6-C18 aryl, etc.
(column 5, lines 12-35).
The nitrogen-containing macrocycle comprises
wherein the carboxy terminus (or an activated form thereof) can be reacted with a the nitrogen of a reactive element on the molecular recognition unit as stated above.
Paterson et al. (Dalton Trans. 2014, 43, 1386-1396) discloses the compounds
wherein R is = NH2 (or CH3 (MeCOSar) (Fig. 1) (Scheme 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the SarAr metal chelator of the 64Cu-Tz-SarAr of Zeglis et al. with the Sar derivative chelator comprising a benzylene group linker X of Donnelly et al. to examine the pharmacokinetic properties for use in the pretargeting method of Zeglis et al.
The reference of Paterson et al. teaches of a SarAr or MeCOSar metal chelator, with the analogous linker
to the SarAr or MeCOSar derivatives of Donnelly et al. used for pretargeted in vivo click chemistry and therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the MeCOSar derivatives of Donnelly et al. for the SarAr derivative of Zeglis et al. to provide different compounds comprising a tetrazine moiety able to undergo a click reaction with a TCO conjugate in the pretargeting method for the advantage of therapy and imaging of cancer.
Zeglis et al. does not disclose the percentage of ethanol, about 0.5 % (v/v) to about 0.7% (w/v) gentisic acid or methionine stabilizers.
Chen et al. (US2007/0269375A1) discloses stabilized radiopharmaceutical formulations, for imaging and radiotherapy, using stabilizers that improve the radiostability of radiotherapeutic and radiodiagnostic compounds (abstract; p11, [0137]; p12, [0143]).
Radioisotopes, such as 64Cu, 67Cu, etc. cause radiolytic damage to radiolabeled compound and can cause serious problems during preparation because of the destructive properties of the emissions (p1, [0015-0016]; p4, [0048]; p6-7, [0058]).
Inhibitors of radiolysis, such as gentisic acid, methionine, benzyl alcohol, etc. can be used to prevent radiolytic decomposition, etc. (p2, [0019],[0026]; p3, [0026],[0035]; p13-14, [0166-0168]; p23, [0267]; p24, [0283]).
A radiolysis stabilizing solution containing a mixture of gentisic acid (sodium gentisate), ascorbic acid (sodium ascorbate), etc. in a physiologically acceptable salt solution (e.g. sodium chloride, etc.) and one or more amino acids, such as methionine are added to the radiolabeled compound immediately following the radiolabeling reaction (p2-3, [0026-0027]; p13, [0164-0165]; p14, [0167]; p18, [0184]; claim 162). A alternative and highly preferably method is to add different potential stabilizers directly to the reaction mixture during chelation (p19, [0209]).
The preparation of a radioconjugate involves initially dissolving the conjugate in an alcohol, such as 10% ethanol (p10, [0134]; p22, [0257]). The preparations may be prepared as a single-vial kit or a multi-vial kit where the components can be in different vials and where the constituents can be present in lyophilized form (p13, [0160-0161]; p17, [0178]; p24, [0284]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an ethanol radiolysis stabilizing solution comprising combinations the of gentisic acid and/or methionine, etc. stabilizers for 64Cu-Tz-SarAr/derivative compositions of the combined references for the advantage of reducing any potential radiolysis that may occur due to the destructive properties of the emissions from the 64Cu, as taught by Chen et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the gentisic acid (sodium gentisate) and sodium chloride in 10% ethanol within separate containers and then provide methionine in a separate container as Chen et al. teaches of adding a potential stabilizer solution directly to the reaction mixture during chelation and then subsequently adding the methionine separately after the radiolabeling reaction which would require different containers.
Furthermore, it is obvious to vary and/or optimize the amount of gentisic acid, sodium chloride, and/or methionine provided in the composition, according to the guidance provided by Chen et al., to provide a composition having the desired properties such as reduce radiolysis and provide stabilization of the radiopharmaceutical conjugate against radiolysis. It is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,100B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aqueous formulation of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,100B2 comprising
, about 0.6 to about 1.2 % (w/v) sodium chloride, about 0.06 (w/v) sodium gentisate, about 1 mg/mL to about 4 mg/mL L-methionine and about 4% (v/v) to about 10% (v/v) ethanol prepared via the process for preparing an aqueous formulation encompasses the kit comprising a container of the compounds of formula (II), a container comprising a solution of Cu ions, a container comprising about 4% (v/v) to about 10% (v/v) ethanol and about 0.5% (v/v) to about 0.7% (w/v) sodium gentisate, a container comprising about 4% (v/v) to about 10% (v/v) ethanol and about 0.6 % to about 1.2% (w/v) sodium chloride of the instant claims.
The kit comprising a lyophilized compound of formula (II) of the instant claims can be used in the process for preparing an aqueous formulation of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,100B2 via dissolving the compound of Formula (I).
The coper radioisotopes, such as 60Cu, 61Cu, 64Cu and 67Cu of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,100B2 encompass the coper radioisotopes, such as 60Cu, 61Cu, 64Cu and 67Cu of the instant claims.
The compound of Formula (II)
comprising R1 is alkyl or amino, R2,R3 and R4 are linker groups, not excluding benzylene or aminobenzylene and R5 is H, alkyl or heteroaryl of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,100B2 and the kit comprising a container comprising a solution of Cu ions, a container comprising 4% (v/v) to 10% (v/v) ethanol and about 0.6% (w/v) sodium gentisate, a container comprising 4% (v/v) to 10% (v/v) ethanol and about 0.6 % to about 1.2% (w/v) sodium chloride and instructions encompasses
wherein R1 is alkyl or amino, R2,R3 and R4 are linker groups and R5 is H, alkyl or heteroaryl and the kit of the instant claims stated above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
Michael Hartley can be reached at 571-272-0616. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618