DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-13, 15-17, and 20-25 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/12/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The indentation of the last limitation of each claim needs to be corrected since the last limitation is a part of the “at least one of” statement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for transducing”, “means for inhibiting energy, “means for filtering energy”, and “means for impedance matching” in claim 17, and “means for inhibiting” in claim 25.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For examination purposes, examiner interpreted “means for transducing” as a patch conductor or an energy coupler as described in paragraph 45 of the specification, “means for inhibiting energy” as a frequency inhibitor as described in paragraph 47 of the specification, “means for filtering energy” as a frequency inhibitor or filter as described in paragraph 48 of the specification, “means for impedance matching” as a matching stub as described in paragraph 36 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 13, 15-17, 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2022/0393365, hereby referred as Wu) in view of Rajagopalan et al. (US 2020/0021019, hereby referred as Raj).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches the following:
a user equipment (UE) antenna system comprising:
a dual-range antenna element (30, figure 7) comprising:
a ground conductor (72, figure 7);
a dielectric material (84, figure 7);
a first antenna element (54-1, figure 7) comprising:
a first patch conductor (74, figure 7) disposed in the dielectric material and configured to transduce between first wireless signals in a first frequency range and first guided signals in the first frequency range (paragraph [0068]); and
at least one first energy coupler (80, figure 7) disposed and configured to couple energy in the first frequency range between the first patch conductor and the at least one first energy coupler;
a second antenna element (54-2, figure 7) comprising:
a second patch conductor (76, figure 7) disposed in the dielectric material and configured to transduce between second wireless signals in a second frequency range and second guided signals in the second frequency range, the second frequency range including higher frequencies than the first frequency range (paragraph [0068]); and
at least one second energy coupler (82, figure 7) disposed and configured to couple energy in the second frequency range between the second patch conductor and the at least one second energy coupler; and
a second frequency inhibitor (75, figure 7) electrically connected to the first patch conductor and configured to inhibit energy in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element (paragraphs [0080]-[0081]).
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second energy coupler, wherein the at least one open-ended transmission line is disposed on a first side of the ground conductor and both the first patch conductor and the second patch conductor are disposed on a second side of the ground conductor; and at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the at least one matching stub is disposed on a first side of the ground conductor and both the first patch conductor and the second patch conductor are disposed on a second side of the ground conductor.
Raj suggests the teachings of wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one matching stub (150A or 160A, figure 9) each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler (126A and 154A, figure 9) and electrically connected to a ground member (142, figure 9) that is electrically connected to the ground conductor (92, figure 9), wherein the at least one matching stub is disposed on a first side of the ground conductor and both the first patch conductor (104A, figure 9) and the second patch conductor (104B, figure 9) are disposed on a second side of the ground conductor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the dual-range antenna element of Wu to further comprise at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the at least one matching stub is disposed on a first side of the ground conductor and both the first patch conductor and the second patch conductor are disposed on a second side of the ground conductor as suggested by the teachings of Raj in order to provide impedance matching which can be used to provide additional isolation between the antennas (paragraphs [0093], [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu as referred in claim 23 teaches the following:
wherein the ground mechanism (75, figure 7) comprises a plurality of electrically-conductive vias (“Short path 75 (sometimes referred to herein as shorting pin 75) may be formed from one or more conductive vias”, paragraph [0079]) each electrically connected to the ground conductor and each electrically coupled to the first patch conductor within one-tenth of the wavelength, of the frequency in the first frequency range in the dielectric material, of the center of the first patch conductor (paragraphs [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the second frequency inhibitor comprises a plurality of electrically-conductive vias (75, figure 7, “Short path 75 (sometimes referred to herein as shorting pin 75) may be formed from one or more conductive vias”, paragraph [0079]) each electrically connected to the ground conductor (72, figure 7) and each electrically coupled to the first patch conductor (74, figure 7), the electrically-conductive vias being disposed with angular symmetry about a center of the first patch conductor (paragraphs [0079]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first frequency inhibitor comprises at least one notch filter, with each of the at least one notch filter being coupled to a respective one of the at least one second energy coupler and configured to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range (the combination of Wu and Raj as referred in claim 1 teach the alternative limitation of the at least one matching stub, and therefore this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 6, Wu as referred in claim 5 teaches the following:
wherein each of the at least one notch filter comprises a respective one of the at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to the respective one of the at least one second energy coupler (the combination of Wu and Raj as referred in claim 1 teach the alternative limitation of the at least one matching stub, and therefore this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 7, Wu as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the open-ended transmission line of each of the at least one notch filter has a length of between 0.2 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of a frequency in the first frequency range and 0.3 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of a frequency of the first frequency range (the combination of Wu and Raj as referred in claim 1 teach the alternative limitation of the at least one matching stub, and therefore this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 8, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the UE antenna system with the exception for the following:
wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range.
However, Wu does teach that the second frequency range includes a frequency that is 1.79 times a frequency in the first frequency range (paragraph [0077]). Wu also teaches that the frequencies can be altered to cover any desired centimeter and/or millimeter wave frequencies (paragraph [0094]).
Raj also suggests the teachings of having a wide range of different frequencies (paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the second frequency range of Wu as modified to include a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range as suggested by the teachings of Wu and Raj in order to cover a certain desired frequency ban (Wu, paragraph [0094](Raj, paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first patch conductor (74, figure 7) is disposed between the second patch conductor (76, figure 7) and the ground conductor (72, figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the following:
a method of transducing signals over multiple frequency ranges, the method comprising:
transducing between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (54-1, figure 7), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range (paragraph [0068]);
transducing between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (54-2, figure 7), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range (paragraph [0068]);
inhibiting energy in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element (paragraphs [0080]-[0081]).
Wu does not explicitly teach at least one of: inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the frequency inhibitor and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element; and
impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler that is coupled to the first antenna element, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the transmission line and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element.
Raj suggests the teachings of impedance matching (150A or 160A, figure 9) with a transmission line (126A, figure 9) coupled to an energy coupler (154A, figure 9) that is coupled to the first antenna element (104A, figure 9), wherein the ground conductor (92, figure 9) is disposed between the transmission line and both the first antenna element (104A, figure 9) and the second antenna element (104B, figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Wu to further comprise impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler that is coupled to the first antenna element, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the transmission line and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element as suggested by the teachings of Raj in order to provide impedance matching which can be used to provide additional isolation between the antennas (paragraphs [0093], [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu as referred in claim 13 teaches the following:
wherein inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element comprises applying a notch filter to an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range (the combination of Wu and Raj as referred in claim 1 teach the alternative limitation of the at least one matching stub, and therefore this limitation is not required).
Regarding claim 16, Wu as referred in claim 13 teaches the method with the exception for the following:
wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range.
However, Wu does teach that the second frequency range includes a frequency that is 1.79 times a frequency in the first frequency range (paragraph [0077]). Wu also teaches that the frequencies can be altered to cover any desired centimeter and/or millimeter wave frequencies (paragraph [0094]).
Raj also suggests the teachings of having a wide range of different frequencies (paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the second frequency range of Wu as modified to include a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range as suggested by the teachings of Wu and Raj in order to cover a certain desired frequency ban (Wu, paragraph [0094](Raj, paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the following:
a user equipment (UE) antenna system comprising:
means for transducing between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (54-1, figure 7), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range (paragraph [0068]);
means for transducing between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (54-2, figure 7), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range (paragraph [0068]); and
means for inhibiting energy in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element (paragraphs [0080]-[0081]).
Wu does not explicitly teach at least one of: means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for filtering energy and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element; and means for impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler of the first antenna element, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the means for impedance matching and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element.
Raj suggests the teachings of means for impedance matching (150A or 160A, figure 9) with a transmission line (126A, figure 9) coupled to an energy coupler (154A, figure 9) of the first antenna element (104A, figure 9), wherein the ground conductor (92, figure 9)is disposed between the means for impedance matching and both the first antenna element (104A, figure 9) and the second antenna element (104B, figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the user equipment (UE) antenna system of Wu to further comprise a means for impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler of the first antenna element, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the means for impedance matching and both the first antenna element and the second antenna element as suggested by the teachings of Raj in order to provide impedance matching which can be used to provide additional isolation between the antennas (paragraphs [0093], [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu as referred in claim 17 teaches the UE antenna system with the exception for the following:
wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range.
However, Wu does teach that the second frequency range includes a frequency that is 1.79 times a frequency in the first frequency range (paragraph [0077]). Wu also teaches that the frequencies can be altered to cover any desired centimeter and/or millimeter wave frequencies (paragraph [0094]).
Raj also suggests the teachings of having a wide range of different frequencies (paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the second frequency range of Wu as modified to include a frequency that is twice a frequency in the first frequency range as suggested by the teachings of Wu and Raj in order to cover a certain desired frequency ban (Wu, paragraph [0094](Raj, paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0059]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 21, Wu as referred in claim 23 teaches the following:
wherein the ground mechanism (75, figure 7) is fully within 1/25 of the wavelength of the center of the first patch conductor (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu as referred in claim 23 teaches the following:
wherein the ground mechanism (75, figure 7) is at least partially within 1/70 of the wavelength of the center of the first patch conductor (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the second frequency inhibitor comprises a ground mechanism (75, figure 7) electrically connected to the ground conductor (72, figure 7) and to the first patch conductor (74, figure 7) and disposed fully within one-tenth of a wavelength, of a frequency in the first frequency range in the dielectric material (84, figure 7), of a center of the first patch conductor (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 24, Wu as referred in claim 13 teaches the following:
wherein the inhibiting (74, figure 7) comprises grounding a region fully within one-tenth of a wavelength, of a frequency in the first frequency range in a dielectric material (84, figure 7) in which a patch conductor of the first antenna element is disposed, of a center (paragraph [0081]) of the patch conductor (75, figure 7).
Regarding claim 25, Wu as referred in claim 17 teaches the following:
wherein the means for inhibiting (74, figure 7) comprise means for grounding a region within one-tenth of a wavelength, of a frequency in the first frequency range in a dielectric material (84, figure 7) in which a patch conductor of the first antenna element is disposed, of a center (paragraph [0081]) of the patch conductor (75, figure 7).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2022/0393365, hereby referred as Wu) in view of Rajagopalan et al. (US 2020/0021019, hereby referred as Raj), and further in view of Fabrega et al. (US 2022/0045442A1, hereby referred as Fabrega).
Regarding claim 11, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the dual-range antenna element is one of a plurality of dual-range antenna elements disposed in a linear array (36, as shown in figures 4 and 7).
Wu does not explicitly teach the UE antenna system further comprising a third antenna element disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range.
Fabrega suggests the teachings of the UE antenna system further comprising a third antenna element (106a, figures 1) disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements (104a/b, figures 1) and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range (paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the UE antenna system of Wu as modified to further comprise a third antenna element disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range as suggested by the teachings of Fabrega in order to support more frequency bands and improving performance and coverage (paragraphs [0048]-[0049], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the dual-range antenna element is one of a plurality of first dual-range antenna elements (36, as shown in figures 4 and 7).
Wu does not explicitly teach the UE antenna system further comprising: a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range; and
a plurality of third antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements, and the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed in a linear array; wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements, with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements being interleaved.
However, Fabrega (Fig. 9) teaches wherein the dual-range antenna element (944A) is one of a plurality of first dual-range antenna elements (944), the UE antenna system further comprising: a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904) configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range ([0174]); and a plurality of third antenna elements (906) configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements (944), the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904), and the plurality of third antenna elements (906) are disposed in a linear array (902); wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904a, 904b) and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements (906a, 906b) are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements (944a, 944b), with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904a, 904b) and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements (906a, 906b) being interleaved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the UE antenna system of Wu as modified to further comprise a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range; and a plurality of third antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements, and the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed in a linear array; wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements, with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements being interleaved as suggested by the teachings of Fabrega in order to support more frequency bands and improving performance and coverage (paragraphs [0048]-[0049], and [0069]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection over Wu in view of Sudo has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Sudo teaches that the stubs (150/152) can be above (in figure 2) the ground plane (GND) or below (in figure 4) the ground plane. Sudo further teaches the stubs (150/152) can either be open (as shown in figure 5) or directly connected to ground (as shown in figure 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious that the combination of Wu in view of Sudo as applied in claim 1 of the previous rejection would still read on the amended limitations of claim 1, in addition to the other independent claims and some of the dependent claims.
However, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
While the current claims are rejected, if claim 1 was amended to remove the “at least one of”, then it would overcome the current prior art of record. If similar amendments were made to the other independent claims, in addition to the specifics of the first frequency inhibitor and the at least one matching stub as claimed in claim 1, they would also overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845