DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 31, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 31, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1-8, 13-22, canceled claim 10, and added claims 21-22. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-13, 15-17, and 19-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed September 2, 2025. The examiner withdraws the Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7-8, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 14, and 18 are improperly amended after being canceled, 37 C.F.R. 1.121(c)(5) states that “Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a ‘new’ claim with a new claim number”, in this instance claims 2, 14, and 18 which were previously canceled should have been reinstated by adding new claims with new claim numbers
In claims 7-8, 16, and 20, “the frequency in the first frequency range” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “a frequency in the first frequency range”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for transducing”, “means for inhibiting energy, “means for filtering energy”, and “means for impedance matching” in claim 17, and “means for grounding a region” in claim 18.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For examination purposes, examiner interpreted “means for transducing” as a patch conductor or an energy coupler as described in paragraph 45 of the specification, “means for inhibiting energy” as a frequency inhibitor as described in paragraph 47 of the specification, “means for filtering energy” as a frequency inhibitor or filter as described in paragraph 48 of the specification, “means for impedance matching” as a matching stub as described in paragraph 36 of the specification, and “means for grounding a region” as a ground conductor as described in paragraph 48 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claim objection regarding canceled claim 2 above, claims 3 and 21-22 are dependent on canceled claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the center of the first patch conductor" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previous limitation in claim 17 or a new limitation.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "frequencies in the first frequency range" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previous limitation in claim 17 or a new limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13-15, 17-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0393365 A1), hereinafter known as Wu, in view of Yetisir et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0252800 A1), hereinafter known as Yetisir.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) A user equipment (UE) antenna system (30) comprising: a dual-range antenna element (30) comprising: a ground conductor (72); a dielectric material (84); a first antenna element (54-1) comprising: a first patch conductor (74) disposed in the dielectric material (84) and configured to transduce between first wireless signals in a first frequency range and first guided signals in the first frequency range ([0068]); and at least one first energy coupler (80) disposed and configured to couple energy in the first frequency range between the first patch conductor and the at least one first energy coupler ([0074]); a second antenna element (54-2) comprising: a second patch conductor (54-2) disposed in the dielectric material (84) and configured to transduce between second wireless signals in a second frequency range and second guided signals in the second frequency range ([0068]), the second frequency range including higher frequencies than the first frequency range ([0068]); and at least one second energy coupler (82) disposed and configured to couple energy in the second frequency range between the second patch conductor and the at least one second energy coupler ([0074]); and a second frequency inhibitor (75) electrically connected to the first patch conductor (54-1) and configured to inhibit energy in the second frequency range from propagating ([0080]-[0081]), as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element (54-1) but does not specifically teach wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line and the first patch conductor; and at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one matching stub and the first patch conductor.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor (1281) configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line (1281) electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler (1256), wherein the ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line (1281) and the first patch conductor (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line and the first patch conductor,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0167]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu further teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) wherein the second frequency inhibitor (75) comprises a ground mechanism (75) electrically connected to the ground conductor (72) and to the first patch conductor (54-1) and disposed fully within one-tenth of a wavelength ([0081]), of a frequency in the first frequency range in the dielectric material, of a center of the first patch conductor ([0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu further teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground mechanism comprises a plurality of electrically-conductive vias (75; [0080]) each electrically connected to the ground conductor (72) and each electrically coupled to the first patch conductor within one-tenth of the wavelength, of the frequency in the first frequency range in the dielectric material, of the center of the first patch conductor ([0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu does not specifically teach wherein the first frequency inhibitor comprises at least one notch filter, with each of the at least one notch filter being coupled to a respective one of the at least one second energy coupler and configured to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range.
However, Yetisir (Fig. 11A, 11B) teaches wherein the first frequency inhibitor (1181) comprises at least one notch filter ([0158]), with each of the at least one notch filter ([0158]) being coupled to a respective one of the at least one second energy coupler (1156) and configured to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range ([0160]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “wherein the first frequency inhibitor comprises at least one notch filter, with each of the at least one notch filter being coupled to a respective one of the at least one second energy coupler and configured to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0158]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu does not specifically teach wherein each of the at least one notch filter comprises a respective one of the at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to the respective one of the at least one second energy coupler.
However, Yetisir (Fig. 11A, 11B) teaches wherein each of the at least one notch filter ([0158]) comprises a respective one of the open-ended transmission line (1181) electrically connected to the respective one of the at least one second energy coupler (1156).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “wherein each of the at least one notch filter comprises a respective one of the at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to the respective one of the at least one second energy coupler,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0158]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu does not specifically teach wherein the open-ended transmission line of each of the at least one notch filter has a length of between 0.2 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of a frequency in the first frequency range and 0.3 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of the frequency in the first frequency range.
However, Yetisir (Fig. 11A, 11B) teaches wherein the open-ended transmission line of each of the at least one notch filter has a length of between 0.2 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of a frequency in the first frequency range and 0.3 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of the frequency of the first frequency range ([0161]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “wherein the open-ended transmission line of each of the at least one notch filter has a length of between 0.2 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of a frequency in the first frequency range and 0.3 wavelengths, in the dielectric material, of the frequency of the first frequency range,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of improving filter performance (see also [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu further teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the first patch conductor (54-1) is disposed between the second patch conductor (54-2) and the ground conductor (72).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) A method of transducing signals over multiple frequency ranges (30), the method comprising: transducing between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (54-1), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range ([0068]); transducing between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (54-2), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range ([0068]); inhibiting energy in the second frequency range from propagating ([0080]-[0081]), as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element but does not specifically teach at least one of: inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the frequency inhibitor and the first antenna element; and impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler that is coupled to the first antenna element, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the transmission line and the first antenna element.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor (1281), wherein a ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the frequency inhibitor (1281) and the first antenna element (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Wu with Yetisir to include “inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the frequency inhibitor and the first antenna element,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0167]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu further teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) wherein the inhibiting (75) comprises grounding a region (72) fully within one-tenth of a wavelength ([0081]), of a frequency in the first frequency range in a dielectric material in which a patch conductor of the first antenna element is disposed, of a center of the patch conductor ([0081]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu does not specifically teach wherein inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element comprises applying a notch filter to an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range.
However, Yetisir (Fig. 11A, 11B) wherein inhibiting energy (1181) in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element comprises applying a notch filter (1181; [0158]) to an energy coupler of the second antenna element (1156) to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range ([0160]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Wu with Yetisir to include “wherein inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element comprises applying a notch filter to an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0158]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) A user equipment (UE) antenna system (30) comprising: means for transducing (54-1) between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (54-1), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range ([0068]); means for transducing between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (54-2), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range ([0068]); and means for inhibiting energy (75) in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element but does not specifically teach and at least one of: means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for filtering energy and the first antenna element; and means for impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler of the first antenna element, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for impedance matching and the first antenna element.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) means for filtering energy (1281) in an energy coupler of the second antenna element (1256) to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the means for filtering energy (1281) and the first antenna element (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for filtering energy and the first antenna element,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0167]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu further teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) wherein the means for inhibiting (75) comprise means for grounding a region (72) within one-tenth of a wavelength ([0081]), of a frequency in the first frequency range in a dielectric material in which a patch conductor of the first antenna element is disposed, of a center of the patch conductor ([0081]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu does not specifically teach further comprising means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 11A, 11B) means for filtering energy (1181) in an energy coupler of the second antenna element (1156) to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range ([0160]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Yetisir to include “means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0158]).
Regarding claim 21, Wu further teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground mechanism (75) is fully within 1/25 of the wavelength of the center of the first patch conductor (54-1; [0081]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu further teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground mechanism (75) is at least partially within 1/70 of the wavelength of the center of the first patch conductor (54-1; [0081]).
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 13, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mcmichael et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0093042 A1), hereinafter known as Mcmichael, in view of Yetisir.
Regarding claim 1, Mcmichael teaches (Fig. 3A-3B and 3D) A user equipment (UE) antenna system (300) comprising: a dual-range antenna element (300) comprising: a ground conductor (304); a dielectric material (302, 322); a first antenna element (306) comprising: a first patch conductor (306) disposed in the dielectric material (302, 322) and configured to transduce between first wireless signals in a first frequency range (L2) and first guided signals in the first frequency range (L2); and at least one first energy coupler (312) disposed and configured to couple energy in the first frequency range between the first patch conductor (306) and the at least one first energy coupler (310); a second antenna element (326) comprising: a second patch conductor (326) disposed in the dielectric material (302, 322) and configured to transduce between second wireless signals in a second frequency range (L1) and second guided signals in the second frequency range (L1), the second frequency range (L1) including higher frequencies than the first frequency range (L2; [0081]); and at least one second energy coupler (332) disposed and configured to couple energy in the second frequency range between the second patch conductor (326) and the at least one second energy coupler (332); and a second frequency inhibitor (310, 316) electrically connected to the first patch conductor and configured to inhibit energy in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element ([0081]) but does not specifically teach wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line and the first patch conductor; and at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one matching stub and the first patch conductor.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor (1281) configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line (1281) electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler (1256), wherein the ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line (1281) and the first patch conductor (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Mcmichael with Yetisir to include “wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line and the first patch conductor,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0158]).
Regarding claim 4, Mcmichael further teaches (Fig. 3A-3B and 3D) wherein the frequency inhibitor (310, 316) comprises a plurality of electrically-conductive vias (310) each electrically connected to the ground conductor (304) and each electrically coupled to the first patch conductor (306), the electrically-conductive vias (310) being disposed with angular symmetry about a center of the first patch conductor (306).
Regarding claim 8, Mcmichael further teaches wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency of the first frequency range ([0109]).
Regarding claim 9, Mcmichael further teaches (Fig. 3B) wherein the first patch conductor (306) is disposed between the second patch conductor (326) and the ground conductor (304).
Regarding claim 13, Mcmichael teaches (Fig. 3A-3B and 3D) A method of transducing signals over multiple frequency ranges (300), the method comprising: transducing between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (306), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range (L2); transducing between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (326), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range (L1) that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range (L2; [0081]); and inhibiting energy (310, 316) in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element ([0081]) but does not specifically teach at least one of: inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the frequency inhibitor and the first antenna element; and impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler that is coupled to the first antenna element, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the transmission line and the first antenna element.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor (1281), wherein a ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the frequency inhibitor (1281) and the first antenna element (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Mcmichael with Yetisir to include “inhibiting energy in the first frequency range from propagating in the second antenna element using a frequency inhibitor, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the frequency inhibitor and the first antenna element,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0167]).
Regarding claim 16, Mcmichael further teaches wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency of the first frequency range ([0109]).
Regarding claim 17, Mcmichael teaches (Fig. 3A-3B and 3D) A user equipment (UE) antenna system (300) comprising: means for transducing (306) between first wireless signals and first guided signals using a first antenna element (306), the first wireless signals and the first guided signals being in a first frequency range (L2); means for transducing (326) between second wireless signals and second guided signals using a second antenna element (326), the second wireless signals and the second guided signals being in a second frequency range (L1) that includes higher frequencies than the first frequency range (L2; [0081]); and means for inhibiting energy (310, 316) in the second frequency range from propagating, as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element ([0081]) but does not specifically teach and at least one of: means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for filtering energy and the first antenna element; and means for impedance matching with a transmission line coupled to an energy coupler of the first antenna element, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for impedance matching and the first antenna element.
However, Yetisir teaches (Fig. 12A-12B) means for filtering energy (1281) in an energy coupler of the second antenna element (1256) to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor (1245) is disposed between the means for filtering energy (1281) and the first antenna element (1243).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Mcmichael with Yetisir to include “means for filtering energy in an energy coupler of the second antenna element to suppress frequencies in the first frequency range, wherein a ground conductor is disposed between the means for filtering energy and the first antenna element,” as taught by Yetisir, for the purpose of reducing coupling and improving isolation (see also [0167]).
Regarding claim 20, Mcmichael further teaches wherein the second frequency range includes a frequency that is twice a frequency of the first frequency range ([0109]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Sudo et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0005967 A1), hereinafter known as Sudo.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches (Fig. 3 and 7) A user equipment (UE) antenna system (30) comprising: a dual-range antenna element (30) comprising: a ground conductor (72); a dielectric material (84); a first antenna element (54-1) comprising: a first patch conductor (74) disposed in the dielectric material (84) and configured to transduce between first wireless signals in a first frequency range and first guided signals in the first frequency range ([0068]); and at least one first energy coupler (80) disposed and configured to couple energy in the first frequency range between the first patch conductor and the at least one first energy coupler ([0074]); a second antenna element (54-2) comprising: a second patch conductor (54-2) disposed in the dielectric material (84) and configured to transduce between second wireless signals in a second frequency range and second guided signals in the second frequency range ([0068]), the second frequency range including higher frequencies than the first frequency range ([0068]); and at least one second energy coupler (82) disposed and configured to couple energy in the second frequency range between the second patch conductor and the at least one second energy coupler ([0074]); and a second frequency inhibitor (75) electrically connected to the first patch conductor (54-1) and configured to inhibit energy in the second frequency range from propagating ([0080]-[0081]), as a second-order mode, in the first antenna element (54-1) but does not specifically teach wherein the dual-range antenna element further comprises at least one of: a first frequency inhibitor configured to inhibit frequencies in the first frequency range and comprising at least one open-ended transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one second enemy coupler, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one open-ended transmission line and the first patch conductor; and at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one matching stub and the first patch conductor.
However, Sudo teaches (Fig. 4 and 6) at least one matching stub (150, 154) each comprising a matching transmission line (150, 154) electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler (140) and electrically connected to a ground member (GND) that is electrically connected to the ground conductor (GND), wherein the ground conductor (GND in Fig. 4) is disposed between the at least one matching stub (150 in Fig. 4) and the first patch conductor (121).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Sudo to include “at least one matching stub each comprising a matching transmission line electrically connected to a respective one of the at least one first energy coupler and electrically connected to a ground member that is electrically connected to the ground conductor, wherein the ground conductor is disposed between the at least one matching stub and the first patch conductor,” as taught by Sudo, for the purpose of protecting the antenna system from electrostatic discharge (see also [0072]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yetisir as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Fabrega et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0045442A1), hereinafter known as Fabrega.
Regarding claim 11, Wu further teaches (Fig. 4) wherein the dual-range antenna element (30-1) is one of a plurality of dual-range antenna elements (30) disposed in a linear array (36), but does not specifically teach the UE antenna system further comprising a third antenna element disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range.
However, Fabrega (Fig. 1A) teaches wherein the dual-range antenna element (104a) is one of a plurality of dual-range antenna elements (104) disposed in a linear array (102), the UE antenna system further comprising a third antenna element (106a) disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements (104) and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range ([0069]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Fabrega to include “the UE antenna system further comprising a third antenna element disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of dual-range antenna elements and configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range,” as taught by Fabrega, for the purpose of supporting more frequency bands and improving performance and coverage (see also [0048] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu does not specifically teach wherein the dual-range antenna element is one of a plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the UE antenna system further comprising: a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range; and a plurality of third antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements, and the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed in a linear array; wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements, with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements being interleaved.
However, Fabrega (Fig. 9) teaches wherein the dual-range antenna element (944A) is one of a plurality of first dual-range antenna elements (944), the UE antenna system further comprising: a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904) configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range ([0174]); and a plurality of third antenna elements (906) configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements (944), the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904), and the plurality of third antenna elements (906) are disposed in a linear array (902); wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904a, 904b) and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements (906a, 906b) are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements (944a, 944b), with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements (904a, 904b) and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements (906a, 906b) being interleaved.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE antenna system of Wu with Fabrega to include “wherein the dual-range antenna element is one of a plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the UE antenna system further comprising: a plurality of second dual-range antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the second frequency range and a third frequency range that includes frequencies higher than the second frequency range; and a plurality of third antenna elements configured to transduce signals in the third frequency range; wherein the plurality of first dual-range antenna elements, the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements, and the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed in a linear array; wherein a pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and a pair of the plurality of third antenna elements are disposed between each pair of adjacent ones of the plurality of first antenna elements, with the pair of the plurality of second dual-range antenna elements and the pair of the plurality of third antenna elements being interleaved,” as taught by Fabrega, for the purpose of supporting more frequency bands and improving performance and coverage (see also [0048] and [0049]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845