Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but they are nor persuasive for the following reasons.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant states that Manolache and Brinskelle, alone or in combination, fail to show each element recited by amended independent claim 1. For example, the Examiner admits that "Manolache does not explicitly disclose ... receive a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies; cache the one or more first cookies; remove the one or more first cookies from the response; create one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies." See Office Action, page 4. However, the Examiner contends that these steps are taught in Brinskelle. Yet Brinskelle is silent regarding, for example, "receive a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies; cache, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies; remove, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies from the response; create, at the second computing device, one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and transmit the response to the first computing device from the second computing device, wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies," as recited in part by claim 1.
Thus, Brinskelle does not show or suggest that which Manolache lacks because Brinskelle is silent regarding the aforementioned claim limitations. In view of the above, the cited prior art references Manolache and Brinskelle, alone or in combination, do not support an obviousness rejection of amended independent claim 1. Independent claims 8 and 16 contain similar limitations and are likewise patentable. Dependent claims are patentable for at least the same reasons. Applicant believes this reply places the application in condition for allowance and deems further traverse, including traverse of Official Notice, moot at this time. Accordingly, withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagree with applicant’s statement that the prior arts do not disclose the claimed limitations. As stated in the previous action (non-final dated 05/22/2025), prior art Manolache relied upon for the teaching of intercepting a request to communicate with the application, sending the request to the application, and transmitting a response (see paragraphs 15, 34, and 51 of Manolache). Prior art Brinskelle was relied on for the teaching of caching the cookie, removing the cookie from the response and creating a second cookie. Brinskelle clearly discloses a security agent manipulating responses and removing the original cookie, generating acting cookie and insert acting cookie in place of the original cookie (see paragraph 231). Brinskelle further discloses storing the cookies in a cache (paragraph 278). With regard to amended claim 7 Manolache teaches the plurality of the request (paragraph 17, intercepting requests).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8-10, 13, 16, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolache et al. ( WO-2021252550-A1: hereafter Manolache) in view of Brinskelle (US-20190354709-A1: hereafter Brinskelle).
In regards to claims 1, and 7, Manolache teaches a system configured for abstracting session information for an application in an identity infrastructure, the system comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (Manolache: In an embodiment, code (e.g., executable code or source code) is stored on a set of one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed (i.e., as a result of being executed) by one or more processors of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations described herein [Para 72].);
intercept, from a first computing device, a request to communicate with the application, wherein the intercepting occurs at a second computing device (Manolache: In other instances, a proxy may be enlisted to intercept requests such as the third request and any subsequent requests after that (plurality of requests) that are directed to the web server to enlist the correct services and/or servers to perform these security checks [Para 17].).;
send the request to the application from the second computing device (Manolache: The proxy may then perform one or more actions (e.g., perform a security check), using the resources of the server, to the intercepted requests prior to connecting the client computing devices 102 to a computing resource, other services, and/or websites [Para 34].) ;
receive a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
cache, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies;
remove, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies from the response;
create, at the second computing device, one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and
transmit the response to the first computing device from the second computing device, wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies (Manolache: Thus, the response back to the client from the proxy 604 may either indicate that access to the resource is granted or denied [Para 51].).
However, Manolache does not explicitly disclose … receive a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
Cache, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies;
Remove, at the second computing device, the one or more first cookies from the response;
Create, at the second computing device, one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application;
wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies.
But Brinskelle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches … receive a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies (Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies [Para 231].);
cache the one or more first cookies (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, sensitive data (such as for example HTTP cookies) are stored in a repository for later retrieval and manipulation of outgoing data transmission. A repository may include a database, in-memory, file system, cache, archival unit, or other storage capacity.[Para 278].);
remove the one or more first cookies from the response; create one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies. (Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies, generates acting cookies, inserts the acting cookies in place of the original cookies into the HTTP response [Para 231], wherein HTTP cookies are protected by separating cookies by client application, client application process, or client application tab [Para 241].);
It is inherent that the steps of sending, caching, removing, creating, and transmitting is being performed for every requests.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system of Manolache with system of Brinskelle. The motivation to do so would be to achieve a more secure and resilient cookie authentication framework by providing in depth defense against unauthorized transmission of sensitive session data.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle teach the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: after receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, detect unauthorized access of the session information by reviewing the response for any changes to information related to the first computing device (Manolache: Specifically, cookies (which either include data about the client or has links to data about the client) received as a result of requesting a resource are analyzed to determine if the information contained therein compared to a client’s previous behavior (e.g., expected behavioral activity) is deemed anomalous [Para 21].).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle teach the system of claim 2, wherein the information related to the first computing device comprises at least one of a first computing device internet protocol (IP) address and first computing device browser fingerprint information (Manolache: Specifically, the data may include a client’s IP address from where the request originated from, client/session ID, client device type [Para 21].).
In regards to claim 8, Manolache teaches a method for abstracting session information for an application in an identity infrastructure, the method comprising:
intercepting, from a first computing device, a request to communicate with the application, wherein the intercepting occurs at a second computing device (Manolache: In other instances, a proxy may be enlisted to intercept requests (such as the third request and any subsequent requests after that) that are directed to the web server to enlist the correct services and/or servers to perform these security checks [Para 17].).;
sending the request to the application from the second computing device (Manolache: The proxy may then perform one or more actions (e.g., perform a security check), using the resources of the server, to the intercepted requests prior to connecting the client computing devices 102 to a computing resource, other services, and/or websites [Para 34].) ;
receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
caching the one or more first cookies;
removing the one or more first cookies from the response;
creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and
transmitting the response to the first computing device from the second computing device, wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies (Manolache: Thus, the response back to the client from the proxy 604 may either indicate that access to the resource is granted or denied [Para 51].).
However, Manolache does not explicitly disclose … receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
caching the one or more first cookies;
removing the one or more first cookies from the response;
creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application;
wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies.
But Brinskelle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches … receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies(Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies [Para 231].) ;
caching the one or more first cookies (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, sensitive data (such as for example HTTP cookies) are stored in a repository for later retrieval and manipulation of outgoing data transmission. A repository may include a database, in-memory, file system, cache, archival unit, or other storage capacity.[Para 278].);
removing the one or more first cookies from the response; creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies. (Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies, generates acting cookies, inserts the acting cookies in place of the original cookies into the HTTP response [Para 231], wherein HTTP cookies are protected by separating cookies by client application, client application process, or client application tab [Para 241].);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system of Manolache with system of Brinskelle. The motivation to do so would be to achieve a more secure and resilient cookie authentication framework by providing in depth defense against unauthorized transmission of sensitive session data.
In regards to claim 9, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 2 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 10 the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 3 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 13, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 6 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 6 above.
In regards to claim 16, Manolache teaches a non-transient computer-readable storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform a method for abstracting session information for an application in an identity infrastructure, the method comprising (Manolache: In an embodiment, the code is stored on a computer-readable storage medium, for example, in the form of a computer program comprising a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors. In an embodiment, a computer-readable storage medium is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that excludes transitory signals) :
intercepting, from a first computing device, a request to communicate with the application, wherein the intercepting occurs at a second computing device (Manolache: In other instances, a proxy may be enlisted to intercept requests (such as the third request and any subsequent requests after that) that are directed to the web server to enlist the correct services and/or servers to perform these security checks [Para 17].).;
sending the request to the application from the second computing device (Manolache: The proxy may then perform one or more actions (e.g., perform a security check), using the resources of the server, to the intercepted requests prior to connecting the client computing devices 102 to a computing resource, other services, and/or websites [Para 34].) ;
receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
caching the one or more first cookies;
removing the one or more first cookies from the response;
creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and
transmitting the response to the first computing device from the second computing device, wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies (Manolache: Thus, the response back to the client from the proxy 604 may either indicate that access to the resource is granted or denied [Para 51].).
However, Manolache does not explicitly disclose … receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies;
caching the one or more first cookies;
removing the one or more first cookies from the response;
creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application;
wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies.
But Brinskelle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches … receiving a response from the application at the second computing device, wherein the response comprises one or more first cookies(Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies [Para 231].) ;
caching the one or more first cookies (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, sensitive data (such as for example HTTP cookies) are stored in a repository for later retrieval and manipulation of outgoing data transmission. A repository may include a database, in-memory, file system, cache, archival unit, or other storage capacity.[Para 278].);
removing the one or more first cookies from the response; creating one or more second cookies, wherein the one or more second cookies are associated with the application; and wherein the response comprises the one or more second cookies. (Brinskelle: For example, a security agent manipulates HTTP responses from a web application and removes the original HTTP cookies, generates acting cookies, inserts the acting cookies in place of the original cookies into the HTTP response [Para 231], wherein HTTP cookies are protected by separating cookies by client application, client application process, or client application tab [Para 241].);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system of Manolache with system of Brinskelle. The motivation to do so would be to achieve a more secure and resilient cookie authentication framework by providing in depth defense against unauthorized transmission of sensitive session data.
In regards to claim 17, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 2 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 18, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 3 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 20, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 6 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolache et al. ( WO-2021252550-A1: hereafter Manolache) in view of Brinskelle (US-20190354709-A1: hereafter Brinskelle) as applied to claims 1,8, and 16 above, and further in view of Shrikhande (US-6721890-B1).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle teach the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to: after detecting unauthorized access of the session information, request additional authentication information from the first computing device (Manolache: If the validator indicates that information from the cookie does not pass the security check then the proxy may return a flag (indicating denial of the request) [Para 51].) .
However, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle does not explicitly disclose … request additional authentication information from the first computing device.
But Shrikhande, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches… request additional authentication information from the first computing device (Shrikhande: In this manner, the wrapper may detect a suspected unauthorized access, and may request additional authentication from the user before allowing further access [Para 14].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system of Manolache and Brinskelle to include requesting additional authentication information as taught by Shrikhande. The motivation to do so would be to enhance security by including more remedial actions for detecting unauthorized access.
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle teach the system of claim 4, wherein, the request to communicate with the application comprises original authentication information (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, a security agent may help secure online communications by obfuscating sensitive data between a client and a server. Sensitive data may include HTTP cookies, session data, authentication information, authorization information, or other data sensitive in nature [Para 34].) ;
and the additional authentication information comprises at least one of one or more additional factors of authentication and the original authentication information provided in the request to communicate with the application (Brinskelle: For example, for each transaction or operation the server assesses the risk and if it exceeds a threshold then the server requests re-authentication from the user. By combining security precautions, attacks may be further reduced [Para 510].).
In regards to claim 11, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 4 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 4 above.
In regards to claim 12, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 5 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites analogous subject matter as claim 4 above. Therefore it is rejected based on the same rationale recited for claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolache et al. ( WO-2021252550-A1: hereafter Manolache) in view of Brinskelle (US-20190354709-A1: hereafter Brinskelle) as applied to claims 1,8, and 16 above, and further in view of Sathiyaseelan et al. (“A proposed system for preventing session hijacking with modified one-time cookies” :hereafter Sathiyaseelan).
In regards to claims 6, and 14-15, the combination of Manolache and Brinskelle teach the system of claim 6, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to:
replace the one or more second cookies with one of more third cookies;
track the session with the one or more third cookies (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, a security agent protects HTTP cookies by tracking HTTP cookies with which client application, client application process, or web browser tab the cookie should be used by [Para 240]. In some embodiments, a security agent translates session id's between original session id and acting session id's [Para 244].).
The combination also discloses timing out cookies after a period of time so that they can no longer be used (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, a security agent times out cookies after some period of time so they may no longer be released or used. Such embodiments may help reduce attacks by narrowing the window of time that attacks may be carried out in. For example, to reduce the possibility of theft of or release of one or more cookies, a security agent keeps track of when cookies are issued so that cookies are automatically expired after a certain time period passes, and expired cookies are no longer used [Para 239].). The combination further discloses wherein, the request to communicate with the application comprises a plurality of requests to communicate with the application (Manolache: Subsequently, in some instances, the client sends the cookie and a second request to the web server for access to the same webpage or a different webpage hosted by the web server[Para 16].) ;
and the one or more second cookies are replaced with the one or more third cookies upon at least one of, a time associated with a most recent request of the plurality of requests to communicate with the application exceeds an identified time period (Brinskelle: In some embodiments, a security agent times out cookies after some period of time so they may no longer be released or used. Such embodiments may help reduce attacks by narrowing the window of time that attacks may be carried out in. For example, to reduce the possibility of theft of or release of one or more cookies, a security agent keeps track of when cookies are issued so that cookies are automatically expired after a certain time period passes, and expired cookies are no longer used [Para 239].) ; and the most recent request of the plurality of requests to communicate with the application exceeds an identified total number of requests, but does not explicitly teach… replace the one or more second cookies with one of more third cookies.
But Sathiyaseelan, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a system for modifying one-time cookies that teaches… replace the one or more second cookies with one of more third cookies (Sathiyaseelan: Fig 1, The Reverse Proxy Server(RPS) creates One-Time Cookies (OTC), forward them and response to the client. Then from now on the user sends the OTC to the RPS for every request where the RPS checks OTC and again creates OTC for every new request made by the user[Steps 4-7, Page 453].) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system of Manolache and Brinskelle to include replacing expired cookies with one-time cookies as taught by Sathiyaseelan. The motivation to do so would be to enhance the security of the session by preventing an attacker from gaining access to a cookie or backend server based on the temporary nature of the one-time cookie (Sathiyaseelan; Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASSER M GOODARZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2426