DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I invention (claim 1-3) in the reply filed on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/12/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 line 2 recited “spay” appears to be spray. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Allimant (WO 2019/149854) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2021/0115548 has been provided hereof for citations) in view of Takai (US2017/0114440).
Allimant teaches a process manufacturing a powder comprising yttrium or yttrium oxyfluoride comprising injecting an yttrium powder (e.g. yttrium oxide powder) into a plasma jet, melting the yttrium particles into droplets, and cooling the molten droplets (para. [0023], [0044]-[0045]), Fig. 2-3, examples ). Allimant also teaches the plasma jet (item 22, Fig 2) using argon and hydrogen as plasma forming gas (table 2, step b): melting section)
Regarding claim 1, Allimant does not expressly teach the plasma jet being air plasma jet.
Takai teaches plasma spraying an yttrium oxide containing powder forming an yttrium oxyfluoride material via using a gas mixture of argon, hydrogen with air as ambient gas (para. [0018], [0020]).
Since Takai teaches using air being contained in the gas for forming a plasma, therefore, an air plasma jet is expected.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such known technique of air plasma jet as shown by Takai to modify a well-known plasma jet spraying process of Allimant for improvement because by doing so would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient gas or air as shown by Takai to modify the plasma jet of Allimant because air or ambient gas is readily available and economically cheaper as compared to nitrogen or hydrogen.
Regarding claim 2, Allimant further teaches the plasma torch preferably comprises at least one nozzle arranged so as to inject a cooling fluid, preferably air, so as to cool the droplets resulting from the heating of the granule powder injected into the plasma jet, separating (i.e. removing) the cooling air from the sprayed yttrium compound with an air separator (para. [0145], [0146], [0151]- [0153], Fig. 2-3). As for claimed drying the sprayed yttrium compound, since Allimant already teaches extreme high temperature associated when spraying the yttrium compound, therefore, solvent evaporation under such extreme high temperature is involved, i.e. drying is involved thereof. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a well-known drying technique to remove undesired moisture associated with sprayed and cooled yttrium containing product thus obtaining a desired final product.
Regarding claim 3, Allimant also teaches the minimum distance d between the outer surface of the anode (exit of plasma spray outlet) and the cooling zone (wherein the droplet come into contact with the inject cooling fluid) between 50 nm and 400 mm, Allimant disclosed distance overlaps with that of instantly claimed distance thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP § 2144. 05 I).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11560319 in view of Takai (US2017/0114440). US’319 teaches a process of manufacturing a spherical YOF-based powder, the process comprising: (a) melting YOF-based powder by introducing the YOF-based powder into a plasma jet; (b) manufacturing a spherical YOF-based powder by spraying the molten YOF-based droplets to a refrigerant; and (c) removing the refrigerant after step (b) and drying the spherical YOF-based powder, wherein in step (b), when the molten YOF-based droplets are sprayed, a separation distance from an injection outlet to a surface of the refrigerant is in a range of 400 to 600 mm. US’319 does not expressly teach the plasma jet being an air plasma jet. Takai teaches such limitation as discussed above.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such known technique of air plasma jet as shown by Takai to modify a well-known plasma jet spraying process of US’319 for improvement because by doing so would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient gas or air as shown by Takai to modify the plasma jet of US’319 because air or ambient gas is readily available and economically cheaper as compared to nitrogen or hydrogen.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732