DETAILED ACTION
Non-Compliant Claim Identifier
The identifier of claim 4 need be remarked as (Currently amended) since this claim now amended as method claims and depending on elected claim 1. A correct status identifier (Currently amended) has not been set forth for the amended claims. See MPEP § 714 and 37 CFR 1.121(c). Appropriate correction is required. A non-compliant form has not been sent out for advancing the prosecution and correction is required in next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 1 recites a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the first yttrium compound”, but no negative ions even recited or required in the first yttrium compound, therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness. Similarly, claim 1 recites “negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound”, but there are no negative ions being recited in the second yttrium compound. Thus, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness. All claim 1’s depending claims are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 4’s parent claim already recites a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2, and claim 4 recites in the second yttrium compound having a number moles of oxygen (O) and fluorine (F) to the number of moles of yttrium (Y), i.e. 1.5<(O+F)/Y<2, one of ordinary skill is uncertain what the relationship of claim 4 recited 1.5<(O+F)/Y<2 as compared to its parent claim 1 recited a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2, are these the same molar ratio because the second yttrium compound having both O and F as anions or they are different subject matter? Therefore, such limitation renders claim indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Allimant (WO 2019/149854) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2021/0115548 has been provided hereof for citations) in view of Takai (US2017/0114440) and Larsson (US2018/0105701).
Allimant teaches a process manufacturing an yttrium oxyfluoride material comprising injecting an yttrium powder (e.g. yttrium oxide powder) and/or of an yttrium oxyfluoride, preferably of the formula YaObFc in which a is equal to 1, b is between 0.7 and 1.1 and c is between 1 and 1.5 (noted YaObFc having a molar ratio of negative ions of oxygen and fluorine to yttrium being (O+F)/Y=2.6), preferably an oxyfluoride selected from YOF and Y5O4F7 , having a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium being O+F/Y=2.2, or a mixture of these oxyfluorides into a plasma jet, melting the yttrium and yttrium oxyfluoride particles into droplets, and cooling the molten droplets (para. [0001], [0023], [0044]-[0045]), Fig. 2-3, examples ). Allimant also teaches the plasma jet (item 22, Fig 2) using argon and hydrogen as plasma forming gas (table 2, step b): melting section).
Allimant further teaches the plasma torch preferably comprises at least one nozzle arranged so as to inject a cooling fluid, preferably air, so as to cool the droplets resulting from the heating of the granule powder injected into the plasma jet, separating (i.e. removing) the cooling air from the sprayed yttrium compound with an air separator (para. [0145], [0146], [0151]- [0153], Fig. 2-3). As for claimed drying the sprayed yttrium compound, since Allimant already teaches extreme high temperature associated when spraying the yttrium compound, therefore, solvent evaporation under such extreme high temperature is involved, i.e. drying is involved thereof. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a well-known drying technique to remove undesired moisture associated with sprayed and cooled yttrium containing product thus obtaining a desired final product.
Regarding claim 1, Allimant does not expressly teach the plasma jet being air plasma jet, or the second yttrium compound (the sprayed and cooled yttrium compound) having a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2.
Takai teaches plasma spraying an yttrium containing powder comprising yttrium fluoride and yttrium oxyfluoride (Y5O4F7) forming an yttrium oxyfluoride coating material via using a gas mixture of argon, hydrogen with air as ambient gas (para. [0002], [0018]-[0020], [0028], claim 1-4).
Since Takai teaches using air being contained in the gas for forming a plasma, therefore, an air plasma jet is expected.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such known technique of air plasma jet as shown by Takai to modify a well-known plasma jet spraying process of Allimant for improvement because by doing so would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient gas or air as shown by Takai to modify the plasma jet of Allimant because air or ambient gas is readily available and economically cheaper as compared to nitrogen or hydrogen.
Larsson teaches a process of forming an yttrium oxyfluoride coating material for use in semiconductor plasma processing chamber and such yttrium oxyfluoride coating composition can have a ratio of the fluorine (F) element to the yttrium (Y) element of between about 1:4 and about 4:1, and a ratio of the fluorine (F) element to the oxygen (O) element of between about 1:5 and about 5:1 (claim 6-7, para. [0002], [0028], [0034]). It is noted that when the yttrium oxyfluoride having a ratio of F/Y being 1:4 and 4:1, and a ratio of F/O being 1:5 to 5:1, the molar ratio of negative ions of oxygen and fluorine to yttrium in Larsson disclosed coating composition overlaps with that of instantly claimed molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2, thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such yttrium oxyfluoride coating composition having such molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium as shown by Larsson to modify the yttrium oxyfluoride film of Allimant because by doing so can help provide a coating material on a processing chamber component resistive to the corrosive plasma environment utilized in semiconductor processing chamber as suggested by Larsson (para. [0002]). Furthermore, adopting an yttrium oxyfluoride having such well-known negative ions to yttrium ratio as shown by Larsson to modify a well-known yttrium oxyfluoride material for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Regarding claim 3, Allimant also teaches the minimum distance d between the outer surface of the anode (exit of plasma spray outlet) and the cooling zone (wherein the droplet come into contact with the inject cooling fluid) between 50 nm and 400 mm, Allimant disclosed distance overlaps with that of instantly claimed distance thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP § 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 4, such limitations are met as discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11560319 in view of Takai (US2017/0114440) and Larsson (US2018/0105701). US’319 teaches a process of manufacturing a spherical YOF-based powder, the process comprising: (a) melting YOF-based powder by introducing the YOF-based powder into a plasma jet; (b) manufacturing a spherical YOF-based powder by spraying the molten YOF-based droplets to a refrigerant; and (c) removing the refrigerant after step (b) and drying the spherical YOF-based powder, wherein in step (b), when the molten YOF-based droplets are sprayed, a separation distance from an injection outlet to a surface of the refrigerant is in a range of 400 to 600 mm. US’319 does not expressly teach the plasma jet being an air plasma jet, or the second yttrium compound (the sprayed and cooled yttrium compound) having a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2. Takai teaches the air plasma jet while Larsson teaches the molar ratio of negative ions to the yttrium in the second yttrium compound being less than 2 as discussed above.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such known technique of air plasma jet as shown by Takai to modify a well-known plasma jet spraying process of US’319 for improvement because by doing so would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient gas or air as shown by Takai to modify the plasma jet of US’319 because air or ambient gas is readily available and economically cheaper as compared to nitrogen or hydrogen.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such yttrium oxyfluoride coating composition having such molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium as shown by Larsson to modify the yttrium oxyfluoride film of US’319 because by doing so can help provide a coating material on a processing chamber component resistive to the corrosive plasma environment utilized in semiconductor processing chamber as suggested by Larsson (para. [0002]). Furthermore, adopting an yttrium oxyfluoride having such well-known negative ions to yttrium ratio as shown by Larsson to modify a well-known yttrium oxyfluoride material for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of current rejections. In response to applicant’s arguments about Takai directed to use ambient plasma to deposit spray material onto substrate to form a sprayed coating but not teaching feeding, melting and spraying droplets onto a coolant to obtain a powder, first of all “to obtain a powder” is not claimed. Rather instant claims only require “preparing a material”. Secondly, applied primary reference already Allimant teaches feeding, melting and spraying droplets using plasma spraying, just not teaching the atmosphere being air, Takai is applied to remedy the plasma atmosphere being air as set forth in the rejections. In response to applicant’s argument that Takai providing no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Allimant and Takai are directed to producing yttrium oxyfluoride material which can be used in semiconductor process, wherein Takai teaches using air jet plasma to spray for forming yttrium oxyfluoride material is well-known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such known technique of air plasma jet as shown by Takai to modify a well-known plasma jet spraying process of Allimant for improvement because by doing so would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR rationale D). Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ambient gas or air as shown by Takai to modify the plasma jet of Allimant because air or ambient gas is readily available and economically cheaper as compared to nitrogen or hydrogen.
In response to applicant’s arguments about claimed compositional features corresponding to a meaningful technical improvement, i.e. improved resistance etc., it is noted that Allimant already teaches using an yttrium compound having a molar ratio of negative ions to yttrium being at least 2 as that of instantly claimed, while newly applied secondary reference Larsson teaches the obtained yttrium oxyfluoride compound having an overlapped ratio as that of instantly claimed. As for unexpected results, the examiner would also like to kindly reminder the applicant that evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range (see MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e)). In this case, applicant only argues or states improved results based on its filed specification, but has no data or evidence showing nonobvious improvement against the closest prior art because MPEP expressly states “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range” see MPEP § 716.02(d). Therefore, such arguments are not found convincing.
Similar reasons for sustaining double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732