Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that White does not anticipate or teach the claimed invention because White describes a progression that begins with coarse (34), transitions to fine (36), and then back to coarse (38). Applicant points out that the instant invention reflects a transition between “fine” to “coarse”. Examiner points out that the prior art rejection of the claimed invention refers to sections 36 and 38 of White, i.e. fine to coarse as is required by the claimed invention, and additionally points out that the claims are not closed (i.e. consisting of). Examiner recommends amending the claims to reflect similar allowable subject matter indicated within independent claim 20. This action is made final herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9 of copending Application No. 18/339,276 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see below for further details.
U.S. Patent Application 18/339,324
U.S. Patent Application 18/339,276
1. A method for providing cutting edges, comprising:
providing a grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels that extend from a strip receiving end to a strip exiting end;
directing a strip of metal at the strip receiving end of the grinding stage along a path P; and
removing material, from the strip of metal, with an abrasive surface of each of the pair of abrading wheels which varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end, wherein the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion.
1. An apparatus for providing cutting edges, comprising:
a grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels, wherein each abrading wheel defines a strip receiving end configured to receive a strip with a first profile along a path P and a strip exiting end that is opposite to the strip receiving end, wherein the grinding stage is oriented at a tilt angle between a plane defined by axes of the abrading wheels and the path P of the strip incident on the strip receiving end; and
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
removing material, from the strip of metal, with a first grinding stage to form a first profile;
wherein the directing step comprises directing the metal strip with the first profile from the first grinding stage along the path P to the strip receiving end of the grinding stage that faces the first grinding stage; and
wherein the removing material with the abrasive surface comprises removing material from the first profile to form a second profile.
2. The apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a first grinding stage configured to remove metal from the strip incident on the first grinding stage along the path P to form the first profile and wherein the grinding stage is a second grinding stage.
Claim 1 (repeated):
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the removing material step comprises:
removing material, from a tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion adjacent the strip receiving end; and
removing material, along a distance from the tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion adjacent the strip exiting end.
7. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the abrasive surface of each of said lands comprises a plurality of sections between the strip receiving end and the strip exiting end;
wherein a first section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasive surface configured to contact a tip of the first profile; and
wherein a second section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip exiting end comprises a coarse abrasive surface configured to contact a portion of the strip that is a distance back from the tip of the first profile.
Or
9. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein said tilt angle is oriented such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end; and
wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction that is orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein:
wherein the removing material from the tip of the strip of metal comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end; and
wherein the removing material along the distance from the tip comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle.
9. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein said tilt angle is oriented such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end; and
wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction that is orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the providing the grinding stage further comprises orienting axes of the pair of abrading wheels at a tilt angle such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end.
Claim 1:
wherein the grinding stage is oriented at a tilt angle between a plane defined by axes of the abrading wheels and the path P of the strip incident on the strip receiving end;
4. The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the tilt angle is selected such that during the removing step a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
4. The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
7. The method of claim 1,
wherein the providing step comprises arranging a plurality of lands that include the abrasive surface in a spiral helix on each of said pair of abrading wheels; and
wherein the removing step comprises contacting, with the spiral helix of each abarding wheel, the strip of metal in a direction from a tip of the strip of metal to a body of the strip of metal as the strip of metal moves from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end of the grinding stage.
Claim 1:
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile;
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein said lands are arranged in a spiral helix such that the spiral helix is a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels, and a left-handed thread on the other abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein a spiral helix is a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels and a left-handed thread on another abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein said lands are arranged in a spiral helix such that the spiral helix is a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels, and a left-handed thread on the other abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels.
9. The method of claim 1,
wherein the providing the grinding stage comprises providing the abrasive surface with a plurality of sections between the strip receiving end and the strip exiting end including a first section with a fine abrasive surface adjacent the strip receiving end and a second section with a coarse abrasive surface adjacent the strip exiting end; and
wherein the removing step comprises;
contacting, with the fine abrasive surface of the first section, a tip of the strip of metal, and
contacting, with the coarse abrasive surface of the second section, a distance back from the tip of the strip of metal.
7. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the abrasive surface of each of said lands comprises a plurality of sections between the strip receiving end and the strip exiting end;
wherein a first section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasive surface configured to contact a tip of the first profile; and
wherein a second section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip exiting end comprises a coarse abrasive surface configured to contact a portion of the strip that is a distance back from the tip of the first profile.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the coarse abrasive surface is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface and wherein the plurality of sections further includes a third section between the first section and the second section and wherein the third section comprises an abrasive surface that is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface of the first section and less coarse than the coarse abrasive surface of the second section; and
wherein the removing step further comprises contacting, with the abrasive surface of the third section, a portion of the strip between the tip and the distance back from the tip.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the coarse abrasive surface is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface and wherein the apparatus further includes a third section of the plurality of sections between the first section and the second section and wherein the third section comprises an abrasive surface of the third section that is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface of the first section and less coarse than the coarse abrasive surface of the second section.
Claim 7 (repeated):
wherein a first section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasive surface configured to contact a tip of the first profile; and
wherein a second section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip exiting end comprises a coarse abrasive surface configured to contact a portion of the strip that is a distance back from the tip of the first profile
Wherein instant claims 1, 9, and 11 are rejected in view of claims 1 and 9 of the copending application.
11. The method of claim 9,
wherein the contacting the tip of the strip with the fine abrasive surface comprises orienting the fine abrasive surface at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end; and
wherein the contacting the distance back from the tip with the coarse abrasive surface comprises orienting the coarse abrasive surface at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle.
9. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein said tilt angle is oriented such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end; and
wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction that is orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the contacting the distance back from the tip with the coarse abrasive surface comprises directing removed material from the distance back from the tip in a direction away from the tip of the strip of metal.
Wherein the copending application removes material as claimed, and wherein the removed material is directed during regular use
13. A method for forming cutting edges comprising:
providing a grinding stage including a pair of abrading wheels that extend from a strip receiving end to a strip exiting end, wherein the pair of abrading wheels each comprise an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end, wherein the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion; and
removing, with the abrasive surface of each of the pair of abrading wheels, material from a strip of metal incident on the strip receiving end along a path P, comprising;
removing material, from a tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion, and
removing material, along a distance from the tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion.
1. An apparatus for providing cutting edges, comprising:
a grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels, wherein each abrading wheel defines a strip receiving end configured to receive a strip with a first profile along a path P and a strip exiting end that is opposite to the strip receiving end, wherein the grinding stage is oriented at a tilt angle between a plane defined by axes of the abrading wheels and the path P of the strip incident on the strip receiving end; and
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile.
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
removing, with a first grinding stage, metal from the strip incident on the first grinding stage along the path P to form a first profile; and
wherein the removing with the abrasive surface comprises removing material from the first profile of the strip of metal to form a second profile.
Claim 1, repeated:
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile.
2. The apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a first grinding stage configured to remove metal from the strip incident on the first grinding stage along the path P to form the first profile and wherein the grinding stage is a second grinding stage.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein:
the removing material from the tip with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion is performed adjacent the strip receiving end; and
the removing material along the distance from the tip with the abrasive surfacing having the coarse abrasion is performed adjacent the strip exiting end.
7. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the abrasive surface of each of said lands comprises a plurality of sections between the strip receiving end and the strip exiting end;
wherein a first section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasive surface configured to contact a tip of the first profile; and
wherein a second section of the plurality of sections adjacent the strip exiting end comprises a coarse abrasive surface configured to contact a portion of the strip that is a distance back from the tip of the first profile.
Or
9. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein said tilt angle is oriented such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end; and
wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction that is orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein:
wherein the removing material from the tip of the strip of metal comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end; and
wherein the removing material along the distance from the tip comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle.
9. The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein said tilt angle is oriented such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end; and
wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction that is orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein the providing the grinding stage further comprises orienting axes of the pair of abrading wheels at a tilt angle such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end.
Claim 1 (repeated):
wherein the grinding stage is oriented at a tilt angle between a plane defined by axes of the abrading wheels and the path P of the strip incident on the strip receiving end; and
4. The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the tilt angle is selected such that during the removing step a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
4. The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the tilt angle is selected such that a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective one of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end.
19. The method of claim 13,
wherein the providing step comprises arranging a plurality of lands that include the abrasive surface in a spiral helix on each of said pair of abrading wheels such that the spiral helix includes a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels and a left-handed thread on another abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels; and
wherein the removing step comprises contacting, with the spiral helix of each abrading wheel, the strip of metal in a direction from a tip of the strip of metal to a body of the strip of metal as the strip of metal moves from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end of the grinding stage.
Claim 1 (repeated):
a plurality of lands on each abrading wheel of said pair of abrading wheels, wherein each of said lands comprises an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end, wherein the lands on the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion, such that the lands are configured to remove metal from the first profile to form a second profile
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein said lands are arranged in a spiral helix such that the spiral helix is a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels, and a left-handed thread on the other abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 6, 7, 11, 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 13, please amend “wherein the strip receiving end comprise” to read “wherein the strip receiving end comprises”.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 11, 16, please amend “abarding” to read “abrading”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the claims each recite “a fine abrasion” twice antecedently. It is unclear how these recitations differentiate from one another. Please amend the claim to reflect Applicant’s intent.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “a spiral helix”, wherein claim 7 recites “a spiral helix”. Please amend the claim for proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, please amend “removing, with the abrasive surface of the pair of abrading wheels” to read, for example, “removing, with the abrasive surface of each of the pair of…”. Please also ensure that subsequent limitations reciting the abrasive surface reflect the above suggestion, or reflect Applicant’s intent. Please also amend claim 16 accordingly.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White (US 6,386,952).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses a method for providing cutting edges, comprising:
providing a grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels that extend from a strip receiving end to a strip exiting end (see Figures 6-10, wheels 26, as well as Col. 4, lines 1-55; Col. 2, lines 21-39);
directing a strip of metal at the strip receiving end of the grinding stage along a path P (see strip 4 and Col. 3, lines 38-51; see also Figures 6-10); and
removing material, from the strip of metal, with an abrasive surface of each of the pair of abrading wheels which varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end, wherein the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasion (see at least the portion 36 which comprises a fine grit and portion 38 which comprises a coarser grit, as well as Col. 3, line 64-Col. 4, line 55; see also Col. 4, lines 63-65 regarding a continuously changing coarseness; seer also Col. 3, lines 26-45; wherein portion 36 at the strip receiving end comprises a fine abrasion).
Regarding claim 2, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses removing material, from the strip of metal, with a first grinding stage to form a first profile (wherein the first portion 34 forms a first grinding stage configured to remove material from the blade 4 to form a first profile, see Col. 4, lines 22-31);
wherein the directing step comprises directing the metal strip with the first profile from the first grinding stage along the path P to the strip receiving end of the grinding stage that faces the first grinding stage (wherein the blade 4 is then directed towards portions 36, 38); and
wherein the removing material with the abrasive surface comprises removing material from the first profile to form a second profile (see Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Col. 4, lines 1-21 and 39-55).
Regarding claim 3, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the removing material step comprises:
removing material, from a tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion adjacent the strip receiving end (see section 36; see at least Col. 4, lines 4-55); and
removing material, along a distance from the tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion adjacent the strip exiting end (see section 38; see at least Col. 4, lines 4-55; see also Col. 2, lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 4, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the removing material from the tip of the strip of metal comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9); and
wherein the removing material along the distance from the tip comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle (see the decreasing contact angle disclosed in Col. 4, lines 22-45).
Regarding claim 5, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the providing the grinding stage further comprises orienting axes of the pair of abrading wheels at a tilt angle such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 6, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the tilt angle is selected such that during the removing step a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 7, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the providing step comprises arranging a plurality of lands that include the abrasive surface in a spiral helix on each of said pair of abrading wheels (see at least Figures 6-10, as well as Col. 3, lines 26-52); and wherein the removing step comprises contacting, with the spiral helix of each abarding wheel, the strip of metal in a direction from a tip of the strip of metal to a body of the strip of metal as the strip of metal moves from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end of the grinding stage (Col. 5, lines 9-11 disclose that the grinding assemblies are defined as a pair of opposed helically grooved wheels, i.e. right and left handed threaded helically grooved wheels; see also Figures 6-10).
Regarding claim 8, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the spiral helix is a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels and a left-handed thread on another abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels (Col. 5, lines 9-11 disclose that the grinding assemblies are defined as a pair of opposed helically grooved wheels, i.e. right and left handed threaded helically grooved wheels; see also Figures 6-10).
Regarding claim 9, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the providing the grinding stage comprises providing the abrasive surface with a plurality of sections between the strip receiving end and the strip exiting end (see Figures 6-10) including a first section with a fine abrasive surface adjacent the strip receiving end (see section 36, as well as Col. 4, lines 4-55) and a second section with a coarse abrasive surface adjacent the strip exiting end (see section 38, as well as Col. 4, lines 4-55 and Col. 2, lines 44-50); and
wherein the removing step comprises;
contacting, with the fine abrasive surface of the first section, a tip of the strip of metal, and contacting, with the coarse abrasive surface of the second section, a distance back from the tip of the strip of metal (see Col. 4, lines 1-55;).
Regarding claim 11, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the contacting the tip of the strip with the fine abrasive surface comprises orienting the fine abrasive surface at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9); and
wherein the contacting the distance back from the tip with the coarse abrasive surface comprises orienting the coarse abrasive surface at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle (see the decreasing contact angle disclosed in Col. 4, lines 22-45).
Regarding claim 12, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the contacting the distance back from the tip with the coarse abrasive surface comprises directing removed material from the distance back from the tip in a direction away from the tip of the strip of metal (see Col. 5, lines 22-55; Col. 3, lines 17-25).
Regarding claim 13, White discloses a method for forming cutting edges comprising:
providing a grinding stage including a pair of abrading wheels (26) that extend from a strip receiving end to a strip exiting end, wherein the pair of abrading wheels each comprise an abrasive surface that varies from a fine abrasion to a coarse abrasion in a direction from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end, wherein the strip receiving end comprise a fine abrasion (see Figures 6-10, wheels 26, as well as Col. 4, lines 1-55; Col. 2, lines 21-39; see at least the portion 36 which comprises a fine grit, located at the strip receiving end); and
removing, with the abrasive surface of each of the pair of abrading wheels, material from a strip of metal incident on the strip receiving end along a path P (see Figures 6-10), comprising;
removing material, from a tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion, and removing material, along a distance from the tip of the strip of metal, with the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion (see at least Col. 3, lines 26-54 and 38-45; see at least the portion 36 which comprises a fine grit and portion 38 which comprises a coarser grit, as well as Col. 3, line 64-Col. 4, line 55; see also Col. 4, lines 63-65 regarding a continuously changing coarseness).
Regarding claim 14, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses removing, with a first grinding stage, metal from the strip incident on the first grinding stage along the path P to form a first profile (wherein the first portion 34 forms a first grinding stage configured to remove material from the blade 4 to form a first profile, see Col. 4, lines 22-31); and
wherein the removing with the abrasive surface comprises removing material from the first profile of the strip of metal to form a second profile (see Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Col. 4, lines 1-21 and 39-55).
Regarding claim 15, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses the removing material from the tip with the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion is performed adjacent the strip receiving end (see section 36; see at least Col. 4, lines 4-55); and
the removing material along the distance from the tip with the abrasive surfacing having the coarse abrasion is performed adjacent the strip exiting end (see section 38; see at least Col. 4, lines 4-55; see also Col. 2, lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 16, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the removing material from the tip of the strip of metal comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the fine abrasion at a first contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip receiving end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9); and
wherein the removing material along the distance from the tip comprises orienting the abrasive surface having the coarse abrasion at a second contact angle between the first direction orthogonal to the path P and a third direction between the tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abarding wheel of the pair of abrading wheels at the strip exiting end, wherein the second contact angle is less than the first contact angle (see the decreasing contact angle disclosed in Col. 4, lines 22-45).
Regarding claim 17, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the providing the grinding stage further comprises orienting axes of the pair of abrading wheels at a tilt angle such that the axes are more proximate to the path P at the strip exiting end than the strip receiving end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 18, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the tilt angle is selected such that during the removing step a contact angle between a first direction orthogonal to the path P and a second direction between a tip of the strip and a center of rotation of a respective abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels diminishes in said direction from said strip receiving end to said strip exiting end (wherein Examiner acknowledges the Applicant provided definition of “contact angle” on page 8, lines 1-3 of the Specification; see at least Col. 4, lines 25-31 and 45-55; see also Col. 3, lines 38-52 and Figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 19, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the providing step comprises arranging a plurality of lands that include the abrasive surface in a spiral helix on each of said pair of abrading wheels (see at least Figures 6-10, as well as Col. 3, lines 26-52) such that the spiral helix includes a right-handed thread on one abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels and a left-handed thread on another abrading wheel of the pair of abrading wheels (Col. 5, lines 9-11 disclose that the grinding assemblies are defined as a pair of opposed helically grooved wheels, i.e. right and left handed threaded helically grooved wheels; see also Figures 6-10); and
wherein the removing step comprises contacting, with the spiral helix of each abrading wheel, the strip of metal in a direction from a tip of the strip of metal to a body of the strip of metal as the strip of metal moves from the strip receiving end to the strip exiting end of the grinding stage (Col. 5, lines 9-11 disclose that the grinding assemblies are defined as a pair of opposed helically grooved wheels, i.e. right and left handed threaded helically grooved wheels; see also Figures 6-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 6,386,952).
Regarding claim 10, White discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein White further discloses wherein the coarse abrasive surface is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface (Col. 4, lines 4-21).
However, White does not explicitly teach of an additional section between zones 36 and 38, i.e. wherein the apparatus further includes a third section of the plurality of sections between the first section and the second section and wherein the third section comprises an abrasive surface that is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface of the first section and less coarse than the coarse abrasive surface of the second section; and wherein the removing step further comprises contacting, with the abrasive surface of the third section, a portion of the strip between the tip and the distance back from the tip.
However, White does explain that the invention has been described as having the number of zones for ease of explanation, and specifically suggests that a different number of distinct zones could be employed in alternative embodiments, see Col. 4, lines 60-65. Given that there are three portions shown, there are a finite number of locations to incorporate an additional zone (or subtract a zone) as suggested by White. In the discussion portion of the prior art, White also describes the order of stations as the actions they perform, i.e. grinding, rough honing, medium honing, final honing, and stropping (see Col. 1, lines 35-59 and Col. 2, lines 1-13). White overcomes drawbacks of multi station grinding by providing a singular station comprising wheels of varying degrees of coarseness as the blade strip travels therethrough.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an additional zone, i.e. a third section comprising an abrasive surface, as suggested by White, in between portions 36 and 38, and wherein the abrasive surface of the third section is more coarse than the fine abrasive surface of the first section (36) and less coarse than the coarse abrasive of the third section (38), and thus wherein the removing step further comprises contacting, with the abrasive surface of the third section, a portion of the strip between the tip and the distance back from the tip. One would be motivated to do so not only because White specifically suggests modifications to the number of zones, but also because providing an intermediate zone having a grit value between the adjacent zones mimics the gradual progression of resurfacing of the prior art, while still providing all of the advantages of the single station of White. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. incorporation of an additional surfacing zone, to improve upon a base embodiment as suggested by White in a similar manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not anticipate, teach, or suggest the combination of a first grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels, a second grinding stage comprising a pair of abrading wheels, wherein the pair of abrading wheels of the second grinding stage includes a fine abrasive surface followed by a coarse abrasive surface. Modifying White to meet the claimed invention would require incorporation of an additional station; White specifically provides a single station grinding apparatus and method in order to avoid complexity and striating the blade, and thus the modification would alter one of the principles of the invention of White.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723