Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakob et al. (EP 2042277).
7. As to Claim 1, Jakob et al. discloses a gripping device (Claim 1) see Fig 1 and Fig 2, paragraph 5 line 1) comprising: a central support (12, 15), see Figs 2 and 8, configured to be connected (12), to a movable element of a manipulator, see Fig.1, paragraph 17 line 2 "handling device"(2), paragraph 10 line 1 "The flexible gripping tool can form together with a manipulator a handling device", a plurality of modules (13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21), see Fig.2, Fig.8 and Fig.9, articulated, paragraph 19 line 2 "connected to one another in an articulated manner” to the central support (12, 15), around respective articulation axes see Fig.2 and Fig.3 and extending outwards with respect to the central support (12, 15), wherein said plurality of modules (13, 16, 17, 18,19, 21) are arranged so as to form a crown, paragraph 23 line 1 "The frame members (12,15,16) can be designed, for example, in the form of bridges or brackets" (as arranged together they are seen to form a support structure in a crown-like framework), surrounding said central support. (12, 15), a plurality of suction gripping elements (14, 31), see Fig, 2, 8,9, paragraph 40 line 3 "with a suction strip", paragraph 40 line 1 "The gripping elements"(31), carried by said plurality modules (13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21), a plurality of actuators (29, 30), paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner". Paragraph 28 line 2 "The actuating drive is controllable", see Figs 2, 3, associated with respective modules of the plurality of module (13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21) and operable independently from each other see Fig.2, paragraph 19 line 1 "flexible and adjustable and can controllably change its geometry", paragraph 4 line 5 "controllable adjustable device" and a drive unit (25) configured to control said plurality of actuators (29, 30) to vary an inclination of the respective modules with respect to the central support (12, 15) around respective articulation axis, paragraph 26 line 8 "a multiaxial movement", as a function of said signals paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator" (making up the drive unit) "can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor" indicative of geometric characteristics of the products to be handled, paragraph 32 line 4 "As a result of the multiaxial mounting, the gripper (14) can align itself with the workpieces" (8), wherein said drive unit (25) is also configured to activate/deactivate and/or modulate, paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor", said plurality of suction gripping elements (31), paragraph 40 line 3 "with a suction strip", paragraph 40 Line 1 "The gripping elements"(31) independently of each other, see Fig 9 (see Exhibit A), as a function of said signals, paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor", indicative of geometric characteristics, paragraph 5 line 4 "Furthermore, by changing geometry while driving along the gripped workpiece" of the products to be handled, paragraph 32 line 4, "as a result the gripper (14) can align itself with the workpieces" (8).
Exhibit A
7. Regarding Claim 2, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of Claim 1, wherein said plurality of suction gripping elements(31) are movable(2) with respect to the plurality of modules(12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21) along respective straight directions , paragraph 26 line 8, "a translatory movement can alternatively or additionally take place".
8. Regarding Claim 3, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 2, wherein said plurality of suction gripping element(31) are associated with respective elastic elements that elastically push, paragraph 32 line 6 "wherein one or more restoring elements" (44,45, 46), paragraph 38 line 1 "arrangements of the restoring elements 44, 45, 46, which are all designed, for example, as springs" said plurality of suction gripping elements(31) towards products to be picked up see Fig.8, and keep said plurality of suction gripping elements (31) in a rest position in an absence of contact with the products, paragraph 32 line 6 "wherein one or more restoring elements" (44,45, 46).
9. Regarding Claim 4, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 1, wherein said central support (12,15) has a polygonal shape with a plurality of straight sides see Fig 8 (showing central support and frame members arranged in a polygonal shape with straight sides) and wherein said plurality of modules are articulated (21) to respective straight sides of the central support (12, 15).
10. Regarding Claim 5, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 1, wherein said plurality of actuators (29, 30) are pneumatic muscle actuators, paragraph 29 line 2 "Alternatively, the actuator may be formed by pneumatic or hydraulic cylinder" which extend between the central support (12,15) and respective modules see Figs 2,3 8 through respective articulation axis(21).
11. Regarding Claim 6, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 1, wherein said plurality of actuators have respective internal end fixed to the central support (12, 15) and respective external ends, see Fig.2 and 8, paragraph 26 line 3 "The one or more adjusting devices(24) are preferably arranged on the outside of a frame member” (15,16, 17) fixed to respective modules.
12. Regarding Claim 7, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 1, comprising a base plate, paragraph 23 line 5 "The middle parts (18) can consist for example of a plate" fixed to and spaces apart, paragraph 23 line 6 "in an exemplary embodiments shown, of two or more parallel arms which are interconnected transversely by webs, from said central support (12,15) and wherein said plurality of actuators (29, 30) are arranged see Fig 2 and Fig 8, paragraph 26 line 3 "The one or more adjusting devices(24) are preferably arranged on the outside of a frame member” (15,16, 17).
13. Regarding Claim 8, Jakob et al. discloses the gripping device of claim 7, wherein said plurality of actuators (29, 30), see Figs 2 and 8, comprise expandable pneumatic bag, paragraph 29 line 2 "Alternatively the actuator may be formed by pneumatic or hydraulic cylinder".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16 . Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) in view of David et al. (US11839987)
17. Regarding Claims 9, Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) discloses a product handling apparatus, comprising: a manipulator, see Fig 1, paragraph 17 line 2 "handling device" (2) having a movable element see Fig 1 in a work space, paragraph 5 line 1 "The adjustable gripping tool can also perform additional functions in the handling of the workpieces(8), a gripping device (Claim 1) see Fig 1 and Fig 2, paragraph 5 line 1) comprising: a central support (12, 15), see Figs 2 and 8, configured to be connected (12), to a movable element of a manipulator, see Fig.1, paragraph 17 line 2 "handling device"(2), paragraph 10 line 1 "The flexible gripping tool can form together with a manipulator a handling device", a plurality of modules (13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21), see Fig.2, Fig.8 and Fig.9, articulated, paragraph 19 line 2 "connected to one another in an articulated manner to the central support (12, 15), around respective articulation axes see Fig.2 and Fig.3 and extending outwards with respect to the central support (12, 15), wherein said plurality of modules (13, 16, 17, 18,19, 21) are arranged so as to form a crown, paragraph 23 line 1 "The frame members (12,15,16) can be designed, for example, in the form of bridges or brackets" (as arranged together they are seen to form a support structure in a crown-like framework), surrounding said central support. (12, 15), a plurality of suction gripping elements (14, 31), see Fig, 2, 8,9, paragraph 40 line 3 "with a suction strip", paragraph 40 line 1 "The gripping elements"(31), carried by said plurality modules (13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21), a plurality of actuators (29, 30), paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner". Paragraph 28 line 2 "The actuating drive is controllable", see Figs 2, 3, associated with respective modules of the plurality of module ( 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21) and operable independently from each other see Fig.2, paragraph 19 line 1 "flexible and adjustable and can controllably change its geometry", paragraph 4 line 5 "controllable adjustable device" and a drive unit (25) configured to control said plurality of actuators (29, 30) to vary an inclination of the respective modules with respect to the central support (12, 15) around respective articulation axis, paragraph 26 line 8 "a multiaxial movement", as a function of said signals paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator" (making up the drive unit) "can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor" indicative of geometric characteristics of the products to be handled, paragraph 32 line 4 "As a result of the multiaxial mounting, the gripper (14) can align itself with the workpieces" (8), wherein said drive unit (25) is also configured to activate/deactivate and/or modulate, paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor", said plurality of suction gripping elements (31), paragraph 40 line 3 "with a suction strip", paragraph 40 Line 1 "The gripping elements"(31) independently of each other, see Fig 9 (see Exhibit A), as a function of said signals, paragraph 28 line 1 "The actuator can be designed in any suitable manner, for example as an electric motor", indicative of geometric characteristics, paragraph 5 line 4 "Furthermore, by changing geometry while driving along the gripped workpiece" of the products to be handled, paragraph 32 line 4, "as a result the gripper (14) can align itself with the workpieces" (8).
18. Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) as presented does not explicitly disclose a vision device arranged to acquire images of the product to be handled.
19. David et al. (US11839987) teaches a vacuum-based end effector with extendable vacuum cup comprising a vision device (Claim 9) arranged to acquire images of the product to be handled, Col 11 line 40 "a camera for acquiring image data corresponding to the position of the parcel". It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a vision device (Claim 9) arranged to acquire images of the product to be handled of David et al. (US11839987) as modification to Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) to provide feedback to the controller that can be used to determine whether the product is effectively engaged by the gripping device, Col 8 line 46.
Exhibit B
18. Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) as presented does not explicitly disclose an electronic control unit which receives images of the products to be handled from the vision device, processes said images and generates signal indicative of geometric characteristics of the product.
20. David et al. (US11839987) teaches a vacuum-based end effector with extendable vacuum cup comprising an electronic control unit, (Claim 9) which receives images of the products to be handled from the vision device, processes said images and generates signal indicative of geometric characteristics of the product, Col 11 line 42 "a controller operably connected to the camera and including a processor for executing instructions stored in a memory component to (i) receive and analyze image data received from the camera to identify a position of the parcel, and (ii) communicate instructions to the robot and the linear actuator which cause the robot to move the end effector towards the parcel". It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine an electronic control unit which receives images of the products to be handled from the vision device, processes said images and generates signal indicative of geometric characteristics of the product of David et al. (US11839987) as modification to Jakob et al. (EP 2042277) to process vision data to enable efficient engagement of the product by the gripping device, Col 2 line 56.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654