DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US# 3797619).
Suzuki discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a bellcrank, comprising: a first portion 22 comprising a first top surface (right side in figure 1), a first bottom surface, and a first wing (portion connected to link 34), wherein the first top surface opposes the first bottom surface; wherein the first wing is disposed between the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and wherein the first wing extends laterally past the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and a second portion 17 comprising a second top surface (right surface, figure 1), a second bottom surface (left surface), and a second wing (portion connected to link 15), wherein the second portion is disposed directly below the first portion such that the second top surface is configured to interlock with the first bottom surface (figure 2); wherein the second wing is disposed between the second top surface and the second bottom surface; and wherein the second wing extends laterally past the second top surface and the second bottom surface.
Regarding claim 2, a first arm 34 is coupled to the first wing; and a second arm 15 coupled to the second wing.
Regarding claim 3, the first arm is configured to rotate the first wing from a first position to a differing, second position; and wherein the second wing is configured to simultaneously move the second arm transversely from a third position to a differing, fourth position. Col. 4, lines 58-64.
Regarding claim 4, a lever is operationally coupled to a brake pedal 3 and the first arm 34 such that pressing the brake pedal moves the lever which in turn moves the first arm and the first wing. Col. 4, lines 58-64.
Claim(s) 1-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakahara et al (US# 4441596).
Nakahara et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a bellcrank, comprising: a first portion 28 comprising a first top surface (left side in figure 1), a first bottom surface 84, and a first wing (portion connected to pedal 26 or lever 64), wherein the first top surface opposes the first bottom surface; wherein the first wing is disposed between the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and wherein the first wing extends laterally past the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and a second portion 18 comprising a second top surface 82, a second bottom surface (right surface), and a second wing (portion connected to pedal 16 or lever 34), wherein the second portion is disposed directly below the first portion such that the second top surface is configured to interlock with the first bottom surface (figure 2); wherein the second wing is disposed between the second top surface and the second bottom surface; and wherein the second wing extends laterally past the second top surface and the second bottom surface.
Regarding claim 2, a first arm 68 is coupled to the first wing 64; and a second arm 38 coupled to the second wing 34. Alternatively, first arm 38 is coupled to the first wing 34; and a second arm 68 coupled to the second wing 64.
Regarding claim 3, the first arm 68 is configured to rotate the first wing 64 from a first position to a differing, second position; and wherein the second wing 34 is configured to simultaneously move the second arm transversely from a third position to a differing, fourth position. Note a force applied to arm 68 will cause the second arm 38 to move from one position to another. Alternatively, the first arm 68 is configured to rotate the first wing 64 from a first position to a differing, second position; and wherein the second wing 64 is configured to simultaneously move the second arm transversely from a third position to a differing, fourth position.
Regarding claim 4, a lever (arm connecting pedal 26 to the shaft 28) is operationally coupled to a brake pedal 26 and the first arm 68 such that pressing the brake pedal moves the lever which in turn moves the first arm and the first wing.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising: a tank 30, comprising: brake fluid; and a plunger 80, wherein the plunger is horizontally-extending within the tank.
Regarding claim 6, the second arm 68 is operationally coupled to the plunger 80; and wherein the second wing 64 is configured to move the second arm 68 and the plunger transversely along a same direction.
Regarding claim 7, the first bottom surface comprises a first set of indentations ; wherein the first set of indentations comprises at least a first indentation and a second indentation; wherein the second top surface comprises a first set of extended portions; wherein the first set of extended portions comprises at least a first extended portion and a second extended portion; and wherein the first set of extended portions fit within the first set of indentations. Figure 3.
Regarding claim 8, in a first configuration, the first extended portion 82 or 84 is disposed within the first indentation and the second extended portion is disposed within the second indentation. Figures 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 9, in a second configuration, the first extended portion 82 or 84 is disposed within the second indentation and the second extended portion is disposed within the first indentation of the first set of indentations. Figures 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 19, Nakahara et al discloses a vehicle, comprising: a brake pedal 16 or 26; a master cylinder 30, comprising: a bellcrank, comprising: a first portion 18 comprising a first top surface, a first bottom surface 82, and a first wing 34, wherein the first top surface opposes the first bottom surface; wherein the first wing is disposed between the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and wherein the first wing extends laterally past the first top surface and the first bottom surface; and a second portion 28 comprising a second top surface 84, a second bottom surface, and a second wing 64, wherein the second portion is disposed directly below the first portion such that the second top surface is configured to interlock with the first bottom surface; wherein the second wing is disposed between the second top surface and the second bottom surface; and wherein the second wing extends laterally past the second top surface and the second bottom surface; and a tank 30 comprising a plunger 80 and brake fluid, wherein the plunger 80 is coupled to a first side of an arm 68; and wherein a second side of the arm 68 is coupled to the second wing 64; and brake lines (col 4, lines 7-8) configured to carry brake fluid to a plurality of wheels.
Claim(s) 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al (US# 2011/0203405).
Johnson et al disclose a method, comprising: moving a first arm 16 along a first direction, wherein the first arm is coupled to a first portion 34 of a bellcrank 26; and moving a second arm 52 along a second direction, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (figures 3 and 7-8) ; wherein the second arm 52 is coupled to a second portion 36 of the bellcrank; and wherein the second portion 36 of the bellcrank is disposed directly below the first portion. Figure 3.
Regarding claim 11, further comprising: applying a force on a brake pedal 12 to move a lever (arm connecting pedal 12 to rod 20), wherein the lever is coupled to the first arm such that applying the force on the brake pedal causes the first arm to move along the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, moving the first arm 16 along the first direction causes: the first portion 34 of the bellcrank to rotate; the second portion 36 of the bellcrank to rotate; and the second arm 52 to move along the second direction.
Regarding claim 13, the first portion 34 comprises: a first wing 34, wherein the first wing is coupled to a first side of the first arm 16; and wherein the second portion 36 comprises: a second wing 36, wherein the second wing is coupled to a first side of the second arm 52.
Regarding claim 15, further comprising: pushing a plunger coupled to a second side of the second arm 52, as the second arm moves along the second direction, wherein the second side opposes the first side. Note master cylinder 46 has a plunger (claim 10).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gautier et al (US# 5186004).
Gautier et al disclose a method, comprising: moving a first arm 42 along a first direction, wherein the first arm is coupled to a first portion C of a bellcrank 52; and moving a second arm 44 along a second direction, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; wherein the second arm 44 is coupled to a second portion D of the bellcrank; and wherein the second portion D of the bellcrank is disposed directly below the first portion. Figures 1-2.
Regarding claim 12, moving the first arm 42 along the first direction causes: the first portion C of the bellcrank to rotate; the second portion D of the bellcrank to rotate; and the second arm 44 to move along the second direction.
Regarding claim 13, the first portion C comprises: a first wing C, wherein the first wing is coupled to a first side of the first arm 42; and wherein the second portion D comprises: a second wing D, wherein the second wing is coupled to a first side of the second arm 44.
Regarding claim 14, further comprising: rotating the first wing C in a clockwise direction about a vertical axis of the bellcrank 52; and moving, simultaneously, the second arm 44 along the second direction from left to right (figure 2, brake apply).
Regarding claim 15, further comprising: pushing a plunger 46 coupled to a second side of the second arm 44, as the second arm moves along the second direction, wherein the second side opposes the first side.
Regarding claim 16, further comprising: rotating the first wing C in a counter-clockwise direction about a vertical axis of the bellcrank; and moving, simultaneously, the second arm 44 along the second direction from right to left (figure 2, brake release).
Regarding claim 17, further comprising: pressurizing brake fluid in a tank 50 in response to moving the second wing.
Regarding claim 18, further comprising: activating brakes of a vehicle in fluid communication with the brake fluid. Col. 2, lines 17-18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK