DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 3. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12 and the recitation “the first bottom surface is in direct contact with the second top surface”, it is unclear how the first bottom surface which is recited as having the indentations and extended portions (such as interlocking teeth, see figures) can be in direct contact with the second top surface, when it appears the first bottom surface is fact in direct contact with the second bottom surface also provided with indentations and extended portions. The phrase “direct contact” implies no other intervening elements or structure. The only surfaces in direct contact with each other in the instant invention are the first bottom surface of the first portion and the second bottom surface of the second portion, since only each of these surfaces are provided with the interlocking indentations and extended portions that interlock as required by the claim language. The claims will be interpreted as best possible in light of the issues raised above.
Claims 13-20 are rejected due to their dependence upon claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 754,043 to Bradley.
Re-claim 1, Bradley discloses a method, comprising: providing an interlocking bellcrank (overall structure of elements 3-6, which substantially resemble the instant invention, see instant figure 10) in a first configuration; receiving a transverse motion requirement; determining a second configuration of the bellcrank based on the transverse motion requirement; configuring the bellcrank according to the second configuration; and providing the interlocking bellcrank in the second configuration. Bradley discloses the orientation of crank-arms 3 and 4 are variable, see page 1 lines 66-78. As such the configuration and orientation of arm 3 relative to arm 4 can be changed as desired.
Re-claims 2-7, the recited features of the bellcrank and variable orientations can be carried out by the device of Bradley, by simply rotating element 5 and 6 with respect to each other and then interlocking the elements.
Re-claims 8-10, configuring the bellcrank according to a second configuration comprises: removing a pin 2 that extends from a first portion 5 of the bellcrank to a second portion 6 of the bellcrank, the second portion is disposed directly beneath the first portion (such as when turned up, or the interlocking teeth of 5 and 6), pulling the first portion from the second portion, rotating the portions relative to one another (including 180 degrees) and re-inserting the first portion into the second portion.
Re-claim 12, Bradley discloses a bellcrank system, comprising: a bellcrank comprising: a first portion 5 comprising a first top surface (outer end surface) and a first bottom surface (distal end surface); the first bottom surface opposes the first top surface; the first bottom surface comprises a first set of indentations 8 and a first set of extended portions 7; the first set of indentations and the first set of extended portions are disposed along a circumference of the first bottom surface (see figure 2); and a second portion 6 comprising a second top surface and a second bottom surface; the second bottom surface opposes the second top surface; the second bottom surface comprises a second set of indentations 8 and a second set of extended portions 7; the second portion is disposed directly below the first portion such that: the first set of indentations 8 interlocks with the second set of extended portions 7; the second set of indentations 8 interlocks with the first set of extended portions 7 (see figure 1); the first bottom surface is in direct contact with the second top surface (as the first portion is directly connected to the second portion, and any surfaces thereof are directly connected, as consistent with the instant invention); the bellcrank comprises at least a first configuration and a second configuration.
Re-claim 13, the first portion 5 further comprises a first wing 3; the second portion 6 further comprises a second wing 4; the first wing 3 is disposed between the first top surface and the first bottom surface; the first wing 3 extends laterally past the first top surface and the first bottom surface; the second wing 4 is disposed between the second top surface and the second bottom surface; and the second wing extends laterally past the second top surface and the second bottom surface. Figures 1 and 2 show the wing and its attachment to the portion in question. It is noted the wind is slightly offset from the end of the portion, see figure 2.
Re-claim 16, the first set of indentations comprises at least a first indentation and a second indentation (see figure 2); the first set of extended portions comprises at least a first extended portion and a second extended portion; the second set of indentations comprises at least a third indentation and a fourth indentation; and the second set of extended portions comprises at least a third extended portion and a fourth extended portion. The indentations and extended portions of each portion form teeth that interlock with teeth of the other portion, in the same manner as the instant invention.
Re-claim 17, when in the first configuration, the first extended portion is disposed within the third indentation; wherein, in the first configuration, the second extended portion is disposed within the fourth indentation; wherein, in the first configuration, the third extended portion is disposed within the first indentation; and wherein, in the first configuration, the fourth extended portion is disposed within the second indentation. Each of the configurations are clearly achieved by simply connecting the portions together in the illustrated fashion.
Re-claim 18, wherein, in the second configuration, the first extended portion is disposed within the fourth indentation; wherein, in the second configuration, the second extended portion is disposed within the third indentation; wherein, in the second configuration, the third extended portion is disposed within the second indentation; and wherein, in the second configuration, the fourth extended portion is disposed within the first indentation. The second orientation is simply a different orientation than the first and is easily achieved by simply disassembling the portions from one another and rotating the portions to a different orientation then reassembling the portions together, as disclosed by Bradley.
Re-claim 19, in the first configuration, the bellcrank is configured to actuate a left-hand push, as the device is capable of being arranged for this operation.
Re-claim 20, in the second configuration, the bellcrank is configured to actuate a right-hand push, as the device is capable of being arranged for this operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley in view of U S4,441,596 to Nakahara et al.
Re-claims 11 and 14, Bradley fails to teach or show a first arm or second arm connected to the bellcrank wing elements, even though connections at a distal end of the wings is common in the art (generally to support a pedal or other feature), and as such the bellcrank according to a second configuration further comprises: de-coupling a first arm coupled to the first portion of the bellcrank; and de-coupling a second arm coupled to the second portion of the bellcrank, for simultaneous movement of the first and second arm when initiated.
Nakahara et al. teach a bellcrank and interlocking feature having a first arm (such as arm 38) and a second arm 68 connected to first and second wings 34/64 and subsequently first and second portions 18/28. The arms provide connection between the bellcrank and an activation unit (i.e. pedal 16/26) and activated unit (i.e. cylinder 30/48). This essentially transmits motion from an input to an output. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the bellcrank of Bradley with a first and second arm units connected to the wings as taught by Nakahara et al., thus allowing for the transmission of an input motion to an output motion.
Re-claim 15, when modified, the first arm is configured to rotate the first wing 3 from the second position to the first position; and wherein, in the second configuration, the second wing 4 is configured to simultaneously move the second arm transversely from the fourth position to the third position.
Double Patenting
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/339,380 (2024/0426373). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of copending application claim 7 and instant claim 13 substantially cover the same invention. The subject matter of instant claim 13 includes the subject matter of instant claim 12, which covers the recited features of combined copending claim 7 which includes the subject matter of copending claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Porter, Dodge and Felton each teach an interlocking crank or force transmission device.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
November 4, 2025
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616