DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 1/14/2026, in which:claims 1, 6, and 19-20 are amended; and the rejections of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and an Office Action on the merits follows.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagowski et al. US 20200019034 in view of Budhia et al. US 10744936 in view of Zedlitz et al. US 20200057346 and further in view of Roy US 11351892.
Consider claim 1. Lagowski discloses a control system for a vehicle fig. 7 control system of vehicle 12 including 98, the control system comprising:
a processor fig 7 Processor 94; and
memory coupled to the processor fig 7 processor 94 is in communication with memory 96 [0057] and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor [0057] configured to store various instructions and routines configured to control the window control module 50 or modules in communication with the controller 90 , cause the control system to:
retrieve a plurality of context data inputs associated with the vehicle see fig. 7 sensor data is sent to controller 90 (e.g. 22, 27, 26, 24, 34 ) and fig. 6 74-78 and 80, wherein the context data inputs include location information for the vehicle [0026] navigation system and directional sensor 34 which includes GPS and directional sensors (e.g., compass, magnetometer, etc.) and one or more of: type information for the vehicle, a driving mode of the vehicle [0026]change in a heading direction identified by the directional sensor of the navigation system 34 , an ambient condition for the vehicle [0026] the time of day, and the geographic region in which the vehicle 10 is operating [0024] exterior light sensor may comprise an ambient light sensor, and a user preference associated with the vehicle [0037][0042] use preset settings or manual adjustment of dimming windows. Allowable adjustment may range from a fully clear or nearly fully clear state to a fully darkened state. [0056] fig. 7 manual control via user interface 92;
determine, based on the context data inputs, a tint value fig. 4 [0048] window control module 50 may be operable to control a voltage or other electrical attribute supplied to each of the dimming zones for a portion of dimmable glass coupled to the vehicle fig. 6 74-80[Wingdings font/0xE0]82 [0052-0054] based on sensor data 22 24 26 27 28 and also vehicle operation direction and geographic data each of the dimming windows and or dimming zones is controlled , wherein determining the tint value includes determining a respective weighted visible light transmission value for each respective context data input in the plurality of context data inputs fig. 6 74-80[Wingdings font/0xE0] 82 [0052-0054] note that each sensor’s reading is factored in which controlling each dimming window and dimming zones;
generate a command to control the portion of dimmable glass that includes the determined tint value fig. 6 74-80[Wingdings font/0xE0]82 [0054] controller 90 of the window control system 12 may control each of the dimming windows 14 and dimming zones 16; and; and
transmit the command to a dimming controller coupled to the portion of dimmable glass to control a tinting level of the portion of dimmable glass according to the determined tint value. fig. 7 controller sends signal to window control module fig. 6 74-80[Wingdings font/0xE0]82 [0054] controller 90 of the window control system 12 may control each of the dimming windows 14 and dimming zones 16; and
Lagowski does type information for the vehicle and respective weighted visible light transmission value.
Budhia however discloses type information for the vehicle Col. 3 lines 6-8 For example, automatic tinting of windows may be applied to automobiles, ships, buses, airplanes, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system of Lagowski to include type information for the vehicle, as taught by Budhia, to enable the window dimming to various types of transportation vehicles Col. 3 lines 4-5.
Lagowski as modified by Budhia do not disclose respective weighted visible light transmission value.
Zedlitz however discloses respective weighted visible light transmission value [0338] constraints maybe evaluated on a weighted scale with priority being given to certain constraints over others…in determining final tint value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system of Lagowski as modified by Budhia to include respective weighted visible light transmission value, as taught by Zedlitz, so that input values are used as weighting factors in determining a final tint state [0338] .
Lagowski as modified by Budhia and Zedlitz do not disclose wherein the driving mode of the vehicle includes state information associate with autonomous control of the vehicle
Roy, however, disclose wherein the driving mode of the vehicle includes state information associate with autonomous control of the vehicle Col. 11 lines 42-50 when switching to autonomous driving mode the vehicle may automatically make other adjustments or reconfigurations such as tinting or darkening one or more of the windows of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system of Lagowski as modified by Budhia and Zedlitz to include wherein the driving mode of the vehicle includes state information associate with autonomous control of the vehicle, as taught by Roy, so that passengers are comfortable during their ride Col. 11 lines 42-50.
Consider claim 2. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein determining the tint value for the portion of dimmable glass includes determining, based on the location information for the vehicle, a regulation limiting an upper bound or lower bound of the determined tint value. Budhia Col. 2 line 63- Col. 3 line 5 Location information may be used to determine information about light in the area…local rules may place regulations and/or restrictions on the amounting of tinting that may be applied to vehicle windows).
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 3. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 2, wherein the regulation limits the tint value to a fixed value Col. 2 line 63- Col. 3 line 5 local rules may place regulations and/or restrictions on the amounting of tinting that may be applied to vehicle windows). Note: the tint value is not limited to a range and can therefore be a fixed value.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 4. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein determining the tint value for the portion of dimmable glass is further based on dividing an intermediate tint value by a refinement factor, wherein the refinement factor is an integer value greater than one. Lagowski [0037][0042] use preset settings or manual adjustment of dimming windows. Allowable adjustment may range from a fully clear or nearly fully clear state to a fully darkened state. [0056] fig. 7 manual control via user interface 92. Note when a user dims the tint value by half this corresponds to a refinement factor of 2. if the dimmed level is a third or the original then it corresponds to a refinement factor of 3 and so on.
Consider claim 5. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the ambient condition for the vehicle includes one or more of:
a sun azimuth level Zedlitz [0241] [0273-0274] [0292] sun azimuth and altitude Lagowski [0026] Accordingly, the control system 12 may further be configured to utilize the estimated direction of the sun relative to the heading direction 36 of the vehicle 10 and a sun intensity level. Budhia fig. 7 Col. 27 line 11-17 sunlight intensity and sunlight direction Col. 27 lines 47-60 ambient light sensors measures light source intensity. Col. 29 lines 21-23 tinting corresponds to location of the light source e.g. sun.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 7. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the ambient condition for the vehicle includes a safety level determined based on the location information for the vehicle. Budhia Col. 1 lines 14-18 glare from sunlight is dangerous. Budhia fig. 7 Col. 27 line 11-17 sunlight intensity and sunlight direction Col. 27 lines 47-60 ambient light sensors measures light source intensity. Col. 29 lines 21-23 tinting corresponds to location of the light source e.g. sun.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 8. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the ambient condition for the vehicle includes a time of day Lagowski [0026] the time of day.
Consider claim 9. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the ambient condition for the vehicle is retrieved from a sensor coupled to the vehicle, wherein the sensor includes at least one of: a thermometer, a hygrometer see Zedlitz claim 29 temperature humidity sensor. Budhia col. 10 lines 34-37 sensor data includes humidity temperature. col. 14 lines 61-63., a light level sensor Lagowski [0024] exterior light sensor may comprise an ambient light sensor, and a motion sensor Budhia fig. 7 speedometer 114n.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 10. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the type information for the vehicle includes an indication of a number and configuration of a plurality of dimmable glass portions coupled to the vehicle Budhia Col. 3 lines 6-8 For example, automatic tinting of windows may be applied to automobiles, ships, buses, airplanes, etc.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 11. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the driving mode of the vehicle includes an indication of one or more of: a speed of the vehicle, a direction of travel of the vehicle, and an indication of whether the vehicle is moving forward or in reverse Lagowski [0026]change in a heading direction identified by the directional sensor of the navigation system 34 Budhia fig. 7 speedometer 114n.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 12. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the user preference associated with the vehicle indicates an upper bound and a lower bound for the determined tint value. Lagowski [0037][0042] use preset settings or manual adjustment of dimming windows. Allowable adjustment may range from a fully clear or nearly fully clear state to a fully darkened state. [0056] fig. 7 manual control via user interface 92;
Consider claim 13. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein a plurality of portions of dimmable glass are coupled to the vehicle Lagowski [0019] the at least one dimming window 14 may be a vehicle window and may comprise at least one of a side window, a windshield, a rearview window, a vent window, and a sunroof [0020] dimming zones withing the window 16 see fig. 1 and fig. 2 , and wherein the memory further stores instructions to cause the control system to determine, based on the context data inputs, a respective tint value for each respective portion of dimmable glass coupled to the vehicle Lagowski [0020] control light transmission through the dimming window 14 or through a dimming zone 16 within the dimming window 14… based on inputs received from at least one sensor 22.
Consider claim 14. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 13, wherein the generated command includes the respective tint value for each respective portion of dimmable glass Lagowski [0020] control light transmission through the dimming window 14 or through a dimming zone 16 within the dimming window 14… based on inputs received from at least one sensor 22.
Consider claim 15. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 13, wherein the memory further stores instructions to generate and transmit a plurality of commands, wherein each respective command is associated with a respective portion of dimmable glass that includes the respective tint value for the respective portion of dimmable glass Lagowski [0020] Each of the at least one dimming windows 14 or dimming zones 16 may control light transmission by selectively dimming or clearing the dimming window 14 or dimming zone 16 based on inputs received from at least one sensor 22. [0021] each dimming zone 16 may operate independently of other dimming zones 16 in the same dimming window 14.
Consider claim 16. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 13, wherein the plurality of portions of dimmable glass include a windshield, a front portion, and a back portion Lagowski [0019] the at least one dimming window 14 may be a vehicle window and may comprise at least one of a side window, a windshield, a rearview window, a vent window, and a sunroof.
Consider claim 17. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 16, wherein the front portion is a front driver-side portion, and the plurality of portions of dimmable glass further includes a front passenger-side portion Lagowski [0019] the at least one dimming window 14 may be a vehicle window and may comprise at least one of a side window, a windshield, a rearview window, a vent window, and a sunroof.
Consider claim 18. Lagowski as modified by Budhia, Zedlitz, and Roy disclose the control system of claim 13, wherein a tint value for a first portion of dimmable glass from the plurality of portions of dimmable glass is different from a tint value for a second portion of dimmable glass from the plurality of portions of dimmable glass Lagowski [0020] Each of the at least one dimming windows 14 or dimming zones 16 may control light transmission by selectively dimming or clearing the dimming window 14 or dimming zone 16 based on inputs received from at least one sensor 22. [0021] each dimming zone 16 may operate independently of other dimming zones 16 in the same dimming window 14.
Claims 19 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claims 20 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
1. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagowski et al. US 20200019034 in view of Budhia et al. US 10744936 in view of Zedlitz et al. US 20200057346 in view of Roy US 11351892 and further in view of Maekawa et al. US 11308520.
Consider claim 6. Lagowski as modified by Budhia Zedlitz and Roy disclose the control system of claim 1, wherein the ambient condition for the vehicle includes one or more of: a temperature level and a humidity level exterior to the vehicle Zedlitz [0323-0324] weather data includes temperature and humidity. Temperature sensor. see claim 29 humidity sensor. Budhia col. 10 lines 34-37 sensor data humidity temperature. col. 14 lines 61-63.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Lagowski as modified by Budhia Zedlitz and Roy do not disclose and one or more of a temperature level and a humidity level interior to the vehicle.
Maekawa, however, discloses and one or more of a temperature level and a humidity level interior to the vehicle Col. 22 lines 60-67 The environment sensor group 231 has, for example, a plurality of types of sensors. Specifically, a first temperature sensor (outside air temperature sensor) that detects the temperature (outside air temperature) outside the vehicle 203, a second temperature sensor that detects the temperature inside the vehicle 203, a first humidity sensor that detects the humidity outside the vehicle 203, a second humidity sensor that detects the humidity inside the vehicle 203,.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system of Lagowski as modified by Budhia and Zedlitz to include and one or more of a temperature level and a humidity level interior to the vehicle., as taught by Maekawa, to adjust display function based on vehicle occupant environment information Col. 2 lines 18-22.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues (pages 7-8) that the cited references do not disclose the features of the amended claim.
The Office agrees and has accordingly updated the rejection to address the newly added limitations to claims 1, 6, and 19-20 (see rejection above for details).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 02/18/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628