DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/16/2026 has been entered. New claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 1-2, 5-12, 14, 16-19, and 21-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 04/22/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on page 11 of Remarks filed 07/16/2026 “Independent claims 11 and 18 include similar recitations and are allowable for at least similar reasons”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 18 does not recite similar recitations such as an integration time nor alignment of the integration time with an instance in which the illumination portion is proximate an optical sensor; claim 18 was not similarly amended like claims 1 and 11 were. Therefore, Claim 18 remains rejected as articulated in the previous Final Rejection dated 04/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view of Chen (US20210287602), Gruhlke (US20170079591), and Smith (US20200256727). Gruhlke is cited in the IDS filed 10/23/2023.
Regarding claim 1, He teaches an electronic device (200) comprising (Figs. 2A-2B, [0069]):
a housing (“Electronic Device Housing” in figure 2A, [0070-0071]);
an electronic display (423) attached to the housing comprising (Figs. 2A-2G & 4A-4B, [0092]):
a first side (431) configured to direct transmitted light toward a portion of a subject (60) proximate the electronic display (423) via organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) (433) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0092-0093], [0106-0107]); and
an optical sensor (optical sensor module) disposed within the housing, opposite the first side (431) of the electronic display (423), and configured to receive reflected light off the portion of the subject (60) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0010], [0050], [0058], “The added optical sensor module and the related circuitry are under the display screen inside the phone housing”, [0069], [0093], “A portion of the reflected or scattered light in the zone 615 illuminated by the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 is directed into the optical sensor module underneath the OLED display module 433 and a photodetector sensing array inside the optical sensor module receives such light”, [0095], [0098], [0106-0108]), and
wherein the optical sensor is disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion (613) is not under the portion of the subject (Fig. 4B, [0094], “…once a touch in the zone 615 is detected, the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 are turned on to activate the optical sensing module to perform the fingerprint sensing”, wherein touching the zone 615, OLED pixels of illumination zone 613 being turned on, and the optical sensing module being activated comprise the optical sensor being enabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion 613 is under the portion (finger) of the subject; figure 4B shows substantial overlap of zone 615 and 613; this also means that prior to detecting the subject’s finger touch, the optical sensing module was disabled, i.e. disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion is not under the portion (finger) of the subject);
wherein one or more vital signs of the subject are determined based at least in part on the reflected light ([0054], [0098], [0137], “The intensity variation of this intensity signal is evaluated to determine the heart rate of the user”, [0154], wherein glucose level, oxygen saturation, heart rate, and the like comprise one or more vital signs).
However, He fails to teach wherein the electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a displayed output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Chen teaches such a feature. Chen teaches an electronic device (100) comprising a housing (102) and an electronic display (104) (Fig. 1A, [0001], [0032-0033], [0036]). Moreover, Chen teaches the electronic device (100) comprises an under-display optical sensor (optical transceiver 118) (Fig. 1B, [0034]). Chen further teaches the display (104) may be an OLED display comprising organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) ([0036]). Chen teaches the light-emitting display (300) may be refreshed according to a vertical and horizontal synchronization signal which indicate a start of a new display frame and a refresh of a next line of pixels respectively (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0067]). Chen teaches wherein the electronic display (300) is configured to refresh line-by-line, i.e. rolling pattern (Fig. 3, [0057], wherein figure 3 depicts the line-by-line or rolling pattern). Moreover, Chen teaches the display is refreshed during each of a plurality of display frames, therefore teaching repeatedly refreshing over a plurality of display frames ([0058]). Chen teaches, and shows in figure 5B, that the V-Sync and H-Sync signals are used to and indicate a start of a refresh of the light-emitting display (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0068], “…one or more synchronization signals used to refresh the light-emitting display, such as the afore-mentioned V-Sync and H-Sync signals…”). In addition, Chen teaches wherein the electronic display is refreshed such that the electronic display continuously comprises illuminated portions and unilluminated portions (Fig. 5B, [0065-0067]). Chen teaches and shows an example set of illumination timings (520) for pixels in multiple adjacent lines (Fig. 5B, [0065]). Chen teaches each line of pixels may transition through emission periods (502, illumination periods) and emission blanking periods (504, unilluminated periods). Moreover, Chen teaches the timing of a next line (e.g. line 524) is delayed with respect to the timing of a previous line (e.g. line 522) (Fig. 5B, [0065]). As shown in figure 5B, this results in portions (lines) of the display screen being illuminated and portions of the display screen being unilluminated as a result of the delay (Fig. 5B). Moreover, this occurs continuously throughout the display frame (506) as further shown in figure 5B. Since figure 5B only shows 3 lines of pixels, one can further extrapolate this pattern to hundreds to thousands more lines of pixels, which display screens typically have, and it becomes even more clear that the display screen would continuously comprise illuminated and unilluminated portions. Chen therefore teaches “wherein the electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a display output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the OLED display screen repeatedly refresh in a rolling pattern in coordination with a synchronization signal such that the display continuously comprises illuminated and unilluminated portions as taught by Chen (Figs. 3 & 5A-5B, [0057-0058], [0062], [0064-0068]). By coordinating the display refresh with a synchronization signal, an optical sensor may use the same signal for synchronization and the performance of the light-emitting display and optical sensors may be improved as recognized by Chen ([0067]). Moreover, by addressing/refreshing lines of pixels one at a time rather than globally, lower instantaneous current is needed, reducing heat generation and electrical stress.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is configured to: receive reflected light off the portion of the subject originating from the illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display
Gruhlke teaches obtaining vital measurements such as blood pressure (BP) and heart rate (HR) via a PPG measurement (Abstract, [0032]). Gruhlke teaches a smartphone (210) including a touchscreen display (250) (Fig. 2, [0049]) and wherein the touchscreen display (250) may generate light that shines into a user’s skin when the user touches the touchscreen display (e.g. the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject), obtain a PPG measurement, and determine a heart rate of the user ([0051], [0056]). Gruhlke teaches in some implementations the display may be an OLED display ([0029]). Similar to Chen above, Gruhlke teaches wherein a light sensor (182) may be synchronized to pixels of the touchscreen display (250) ([0060]). Gruhlke further teaches wherein the touchscreen display is pulsed at a frequency equal to a synchronization frequency, e.g. the refresh rate of the display ([0060]). Gruhlke teaches the light sensor (182) may measure light reflected off the user’s finger when the light source (e.g. the colored image displayed via the pixels on the touchscreen display 250) is active ([0059-0060]). Gruhlke therefore teaches an optical sensor (182) configured to receive light originating from an illuminated portion of OLEDs of an electronic display (250) such that measurements (PPG) captured by the optical sensor (182) for purposes of determining vital signs (i.e. heart rate) are recorded in an instance in which the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject (a user’s finger touches the touchscreen display 250), and wherein one or more vital signs (heart rate) is determined based at least in part on the recorded measurements ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to leverage the illumination of the display screen and have the optical sensor receive reflected light off the user originating from illumination of the display screen as taught by Gruhlke ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]). A heart rate of a user may be determined via a touchscreen of a phone shining light towards a user’s skin and a light sensor receiving light reflected from the user, without the need of a fingerprint zone, as recognized by Gruhlke ([0051], [0059-0060]).
However, the modification noted above fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is configured to generate recorded measurements for purposes of determining vital signs based on the reflected light received during an integration time, wherein the integration time is aligned with an instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor, and wherein one or more vital signs of the subject are determined based at least in part on the recorded measurements.
In an analogous optical sensing system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an optical sensor system (110) including sensor elements (140) and a light source configured to transmit light towards a target (160) such as a finger of a person (Fig. 1, [0013], [0015]). Smith teaches wherein the optical sensor includes an integration time to obtain optical energy, i.e. reflected light signals ([0010], [0012], [0025]). Smith teaches the integration time may be used for health monitoring applications ([0025]) and may be used to obtain optical energy (reflected light signals) to determine heart rate measurements ([0026]). Smith teaches the optical transmitter (150) directs an optical signal towards the target (160) (e.g. finger) for light to be reflected off and obtained/sensed by an array of sensor elements (140) to perform a measurement ([0015]). Smith therefore teaches wherein illumination (transmission of light) is aligned with sensing or integration of the light signal, wherein the optical sensor is configured to generate recorded measurements for purposes of determining vital signs based on the reflected light received during an integration time, and wherein one or more vital signs (heart rate) is determined based at least in part on the measurements recorded during the integration time. Reference He above teaches wherein the illuminated portion is physically proximate the optical sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the optical sensor include an integration time for recording the measurements for determining vital signs as taught by Smith (Fig. 1, [0010], [0012], [0015], [0025-0026]). The integration time may be used by the sensor to obtain an optimal amount of optical energy (light) for determining heart rate for heart rate monitoring applications as recognized by Smith ([0025-0026]). Since Smith teaches aligning illumination with integration and He teaches wherein the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor (wherein the sensor is positioned under the illuminated portion or display), He modified by Smith would predictably result in which the integration time is aligned with an instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor.
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, He fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is enabled based at least in part on the synchronization signal.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Chen teaches such a feature. Chen teaches an electronic device (100) comprising a housing (102) and an electronic display (104) (Fig. 1A, [0001], [0032-0033], [0036]). Moreover, Chen teaches the electronic device (100) comprises an under-display optical sensor (optical transceiver 118) (Fig. 1B, [0034]). Chen teaches the light-emitting display (300) may be refreshed according to a vertical and horizontal synchronization signal which indicate a start of a new display frame and a refresh of a next line of pixels respectively (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0067]). Chen further teaches synchronizing the light-emitting display and the optical sensor (transceiver) ([0067]). Chen teaches the V-Sync and H-sync signals may be used to synchronize the light-emitting display and the optical sensor (transceiver ([0068]). Chen teaches the optical sensor (1004) is configured to receive light in synchronization with the synchronization signal ([0099]). Chen therefore teaches wherein an optical sensor is enabled based at least in part on the synchronization signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to synchronize the optical sensor with the refresh of the display screen as taught by Chen ([0058], [0066-0068], [0099]). Through this synchronization, the performance of the light-emitting display and optical sensor may be improved as recognized by Chen ([0067], [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
He further teaches wherein the one or more vital signs comprise at least a heart rate (Figs. 5A-5B, [0098], [0137]).
Regarding claim 8, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
He further teaches wherein the one or more vital signs comprises at least one of heart rate variability and peripheral blood oxygen saturation ([0054], [0154], wherein oxygen saturation based on optical sensing in returned light from a user’s finger or palm comprises peripheral blood oxygen saturation).
Regarding claim 9, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, He fails to teach wherein an ambient light vital signs measurement is made by the optical sensor in an instance in which the electronic display is not illuminated, and the one or more vital signs of the subject are determined based at least in part on the ambient light vital signs measurement.
In an analogous device for determining vital signs field of endeavor, Gruhlke teaches such a feature. Gruhlke teaches an apparatus (200) for obtaining vital sign measurements such as heart rate via photoplethysmography (PPG) (Figs. 1-2, Title, Abstract, [0029], [0032-0033], [0049], [0051]). Gruhlke teaches when a light source is not active (not illuminated), a light sensor (182) may measure ambient light pollution ([0060], [0068]). Gruhlke teaches when the light source is active and the light sensor (182) is measuring both the reflected light from the user’s finger and the ambient light pollution together, the ambient light pollution may be subtracted from the measurement, thereby leaving only the useful part of the signal ([0060], [0068], [0070]). Gruhlke teaches the measurement obtained by the light sensor (182) may be used by the processor of the smartphone to determine a PPG measurement for the user ([0060], [0068], [0070]) and a user’s heart rate and blood pressure may be determined from the PPG measurement ([0032], [0046]). Gruhlke therefore teaches generating an ambient light vital signs measurement (ambient light pollution) in an instance in which the light source is not illuminated/on and wherein the vital signs measurement is based on the ambient light vital signs measurement (wherein ambient light pollution is removed or subtracted from the measured light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to measure ambient light pollution while the light source is off, to subtract the ambient light pollution from the received reflected light when the light source is on, and to determine vital signs using the resulting light measured as taught by Gruhlke ([0060], [0068], [0070]). Noise induced by ambient light may predictably be removed by following the teachings of Gruhlke ([0060], [0068], [0070]). By removing noise or ambient light pollution from the calculation of vital signs, the calculation of vital signs may predictably be made more accurate. Modifying He with the teachings of Gruhlke would predictably result in measuring ambient light when the electronic display (light source) is not illuminated and determining vital signs based on the ambient light by subtracting the ambient light from the measured light while the electronic display is illuminated.
Regarding claim 10, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, He fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is further configured to perform an ambient light operational measurement in an instance in which the optical sensor is not performing a vital signs measurement.
In an analogous device for determining vital signs field of endeavor, Gruhlke teaches such a feature. Gruhlke teaches an apparatus (200) for obtaining vital sign measurements such as heart rate via photoplethysmography (PPG) (Figs. 1-2, Title, Abstract, [0029], [0032-0033], [0049], [0051]). Gruhlke teaches PPG measurements (vital signs measurement) are acquired by directing light source(s) to emit light ([0044]). Gruhlke teaches when a light source is not active (not illuminated), a light sensor (182) may measure ambient light pollution ([0060], [0068]); because the light source is not active to emit light, PPG measurements therefore cannot be performed. Gruhlke teaches when the light source is active and the light sensor (182) is measuring both the reflected light from the user’s finger and the ambient light pollution together, the ambient light pollution may be subtracted from the measurement, thereby leaving only the useful part of the signal ([0060], [0068]). Gruhlke teaches the measurement obtained by the light sensor (182) may be used by the processor of the smartphone to determine a PPG measurement for the user ([0060]) and a user’s heart rate may be determined from the PPG measurement ([0032]). Gruhlke therefore teaches performing an ambient light operational measurement (measurement of ambient light pollution) in an instance in which the optical sensor is not performing a vital signs measurement (wherein a vital signs measurement may not be made unless the light source is active and emitting light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to perform an ambient light pollution measurement while the light source off and thus not performing a vital signs measurement as taught by Gruhlke ([0060], [0068]). By measuring ambient light pollution, the measured ambient light pollution and thus noise can be removed/subtracted from the measured light signal when calculating for vital signs as recognized by Gruhlke ([0060], [0068]). He modified by the teachings of Gruhlke would predictably result in measuring ambient light pollution in an instance in which the optical sensor is not performing a vital signs measurement since the light source is required to be active for performing the vital signs measurement.
Regarding claim 11, He teaches a computer-implemented method comprising ([0043], [0049], wherein the method being implemented on an electronic device including a mobile computing device, e.g. smartphone, comprises a computer-implemented method):
providing an electronic device (200) comprising (Figs. 2A-2B, [0069]):
a housing (“Electronic Device Housing” in figure 2A, [0070-0071]);
an electronic display (423) attached to the housing comprising (Figs. 2A-2G & 4A-4B, [0092]):
a first side (431) configured to direct transmitted light toward a portion of a subject (60) proximate the electronic display (423) via organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) (433) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0092-0093], [0106-0107]); and
an optical sensor (optical sensor module) disposed within the housing, opposite the first side (431) of the electronic display (423), and configured to receive reflected light off the portion of the subject ([0010], [0050], [0058], “The added optical sensor module and the related circuitry are under the display screen inside the phone housing”, [0069], [0093], “A portion of the reflected or scattered light in the zone 615 illuminated by the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 is directed into the optical sensor module underneath the OLED display module 433 and a photodetector sensing array inside the optical sensor module receives such light”, [0095], [0098]),
wherein the optical sensor is disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion (613) is not proximate the optical sensor (Fig. 4B, [0094], “…once a touch in the zone 615 is detected, the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 are turned on to activate the optical sensing module to perform the fingerprint sensing”, wherein touching the zone 615, OLED pixels of illumination zone 613 being turned on, and the optical sensing module being activated comprise the optical sensor being enabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion 613 is under the portion (finger) of the subject; figure 4B shows substantial overlap of zone 615 and 613; this also means that prior to detecting the subject’s finger touch, the optical sensing module was disabled, i.e. disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion is not illuminated (OLED pixels not turned on) and thus in an instance in which the illuminated portion is not proximate the optical sensor (due to the illuminated portion not being illuminated));
causing the organic light-emitting diodes (433) to transmit light from the first side (431) of the electronic display (423) toward the portion of the subject (60) proximate the electronic display (423) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0092-0093], [0106-0107]);
receiving, from the optical sensor (optical sensor module) disposed within the housing opposite the first side (431) of the electronic display (423), an electronic signal representative of the reflected light off the portion of the subject (60) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, Claim 1, [0011-0012], [0093], [0095], [0098], [0106-0110], [0137], wherein received light signals are converted into electronic signals comprising detector/intensity signals); and
determining one or more vital signs of the subject based at least in part on the reflected light ([0054], [0098], [0137], “The intensity variation of this intensity signal is evaluated to determine the heart rate of the user”, [0154], wherein glucose level, oxygen saturation, heart rate, and the like comprise one or more vital signs).
However, He fails to teach wherein the electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a displayed output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Chen teaches such a feature. Chen teaches an electronic device (100) comprising a housing (102) and an electronic display (104) (Fig. 1A, [0001], [0032-0033], [0036]). Moreover, Chen teaches the electronic device (100) comprises an under-display optical sensor (optical transceiver 118) (Fig. 1B, [0034]). Chen further teaches the display (104) may be an OLED display comprising organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) ([0036]). Chen teaches the light-emitting display (300) may be refreshed according to a vertical and horizontal synchronization signal which indicate a start of a new display frame and a refresh of a next line of pixels respectively (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0067]). Chen teaches wherein the electronic display (300) is configured to refresh line-by-line, i.e. rolling pattern (Fig. 3, [0057], wherein figure 3 depicts the line-by-line or rolling pattern). Moreover, Chen teaches the display is refreshed during each of a plurality of display frames, therefore teaching repeatedly refreshing over a plurality of display frames ([0058]). Chen teaches, and shows in figure 5B, that the V-Sync and H-Sync signals are used to and indicate a start of a refresh of the light-emitting display (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0068], “…one or more synchronization signals used to refresh the light-emitting display, such as the afore-mentioned V-Sync and H-Sync signals…”). In addition, Chen teaches wherein the electronic display is refreshed such that the electronic display continuously comprises illuminated portions and unilluminated portions (Fig. 5B, [0065-0067]). Chen teaches and shows an example set of illumination timings (520) for pixels in multiple adjacent lines (Fig. 5B, [0065]). Chen teaches each line of pixels may transition through emission periods (502, illumination periods) and emission blanking periods (504, unilluminated periods). Moreover, Chen teaches the timing of a next line (e.g. line 524) is delayed with respect to the timing of a previous line (e.g. line 522) (Fig. 5B, [0065]). As shown in figure 5B, this results in portions (lines) of the display screen being illuminated and portions of the display screen being unilluminated as a result of the delay (Fig. 5B). Moreover, this occurs continuously throughout the display frame (506) as further shown in figure 5B. Since figure 5B only shows 3 lines of pixels, one can further extrapolate this pattern to hundreds to thousands more lines of pixels, which display screens typically have, and it becomes even more clear that the display screen would continuously comprise illuminated and unilluminated portions. Chen therefore teaches “wherein the electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a display output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the OLED display screen repeatedly refresh in a rolling pattern in coordination with a synchronization signal such that the display continuously comprises illuminated and unilluminated portions as taught by Chen (Figs. 3 & 5A-5B, [0057-0058], [0062], [0064-0068]). By coordinating the display refresh with a synchronization signal, an optical sensor may use the same signal for synchronization and the performance of the light-emitting display and optical sensors may be improved as recognized by Chen ([0067]). Moreover, by addressing/refreshing lines of pixels one at a time rather than globally, lower instantaneous current is needed, reducing heat generation and electrical stress.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is configured to receive reflected light off the portion of the subject originating from the illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display, recording measurements associated with the electronic signal received from the optical sensor for purposes of determining vital signs in an instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor; and wherein the determining one or more vital signs of the subject is based at least in part on the recorded measurements.
Gruhlke teaches obtaining vital measurements such as blood pressure (BP) and heart rate (HR) via a PPG measurement (Abstract, [0032]). Gruhlke teaches a smartphone (210) including a touchscreen display (250) (Fig. 2, [0049]) and wherein the touchscreen display (250) may generate light that shines into a user’s skin when the user touches the touchscreen display (e.g. the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject), obtain a PPG measurement, and determine a heart rate of the user ([0051], [0056]). Gruhlke teaches in some implementations the display may be an OLED display ([0029]). Similar to Chen above, Gruhlke teaches wherein a light sensor (182) may be synchronized to pixels of the touchscreen display (250) ([0060]). Gruhlke further teaches wherein the touchscreen display is pulsed at a frequency equal to a synchronization frequency, e.g. the refresh rate of the display ([0060]). Gruhlke teaches the light sensor (182) may measure light reflected off the user’s finger when the light source (e.g. the colored image displayed via the pixels on the touchscreen display 250) is active ([0059-0060]). Gruhlke therefore teaches an optical sensor (182) configured to receive light originating from an illuminated portion of OLEDs of an electronic display (250), recording measurements (PPG) associated with the electronic signal received from the optical sensor for purposes of determining vital signs (heart rate) in an instance in which the illuminated portion is illuminated touchscreen display 250 and the optical sensor proximate (under) said screen records the measurement), and wherein determining the one or more vital signs (heart rate) of the subject is based at least in part on the recorded measurements (PPG) ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to leverage the illumination of the display screen, have the optical sensor receive/record reflected light off the user originating from illumination of the display screen, and have the vital signs be based on the recorded measurement as taught by Gruhlke ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]). A heart rate of a user may be determined via a touchscreen of a phone shining light towards a user’s skin and a light sensor receiving light reflected from the user, without the need of a fingerprint zone, as recognized by Gruhlke ([0051], [0059-0060]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the reflected light is received during an integration time, wherein the measurements are recorded during the integration time, and wherein the integration time is aligned with an instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor.
In an analogous optical sensing system field of endeavor, Smith teaches such a feature. Smith teaches an optical sensor system (110) including sensor elements (140) and a light source configured to transmit light towards a target (160) such as a finger of a person (Fig. 1, [0013], [0015]). Smith teaches wherein the optical sensor includes an integration time to obtain optical energy, i.e. reflected light signals ([0010], [0012], [0025]). Smith teaches the integration time may be used for health monitoring applications ([0025]) and may be used to obtain optical energy (reflected light signals) to determine heart rate measurements ([0026]). Smith teaches the optical transmitter (150) directs an optical signal towards the target (160) (e.g. finger) for light to be reflected off and obtained/sensed by an array of sensor elements (140) to perform a measurement ([0015]). Smith therefore teaches wherein illumination (transmission of light) is aligned with sensing or integration of the light signal, wherein the optical sensor is configured to generate recorded measurements for purposes of determining vital signs based on the reflected light received during an integration time, and wherein one or more vital signs (heart rate) is determined based at least in part on the measurements recorded during the integration time. Reference He above teaches wherein the illuminated portion is physically proximate the optical sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the optical sensor include an integration time for recording the measurements for determining vital signs as taught by Smith (Fig. 1, [0010], [0012], [0015], [0025-0026]). The integration time may be used by the sensor to obtain an optimal amount of optical energy (light) for determining heart rate for heart rate monitoring applications as recognized by Smith ([0025-0026]). Since Smith teaches aligning illumination with integration and He teaches wherein the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor (wherein the sensor is positioned under the illuminated portion or display), He modified by Smith would predictably result in which the integration time is aligned with an instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view of Chen (US20210287602), Gruhlke (US20170079591), and Smith (US20200256727) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Pi (US20180046281).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1 and 11 respectively.
However, He fails to explicitly teach wherein no portion of the optical sensor is visible from the first side of the electronic display.
In an analogous mobile device system for determining vital signs of a subject field of endeavor, Pi teaches such a feature. Pi teaches an optical fingerprint sensor package in a mobile device including an OLED screen (10) (Fig. 1, [0046]). Pi teaches wherein light from the OLED display can be used to sense a user’s blood to obtain heart rate, oxygen level, glucose level, and the like ([0050]). Pi teaches wherein the optical sensor may be made invisible by hiding the sensor underneath the display screen, hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone ([0067-0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the optical sensor be underneath the display screen and hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone device as taught by Pi ([0067-0068]). He similarly teaches wherein the optical sensor module is placed underneath the display screen, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical sensor is not visible from the top surface of the mobile phone device (Figs. 2A-2B, 4B, & 5A-5B, [0018], [0069]). Pi teaches wherein the optical sensor may be hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone by hiding the sensor underneath the display screen ([0068]). By using an under-display sensor and thus “invisible” sensor, the entire top surface of the mobile device may be used for enlarging the display screen size while providing for optical sensing and other biometric measurements as recognized by Pi ([0068]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view of Chen (US20210287602), Gruhlke (US20170079591), and Smith (US20200256727) as applied to claims 6 and 11 above, and further in view of Yuen (US20140135594).
Regarding claim 7, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 6.
However, He fails to teach wherein the heart rate is determined based at least in part on a period of the recorded measurements.
In an analogous device for determining vital signs field of endeavor, Yuen teaches such a feature. Yuen teaches a device (300) including a light source (181) and light detector (182) configured to transmit and receive light to and from a user’s finger (302) (Fig. 3A, [0068], [0070]). Yuen teaches calculating heart rate based on light that is reflected back to the light detector (182) (Abstract, [0068], [0070-0071]). Yuen teaches heart rate is calculated based on an algorithm that detects multiple heart beats in the reflected light received within a sampling time period and measures a time interval between a first detected heart beat and a second detected heart beat (Claim 10, [0012], wherein an interval between a first and second detected heart beat in the reflected light signal comprises a period of the reflected light). Yuen teaches a first estimate of heart beats is determined by dividing the sampling time interval with the time interval between beats, and the first estimate of heart beats may be extrapolated to estimate a user’s heart beats per minute (heart rate) (Claim 10, [0012]). Yuen therefore teaches determining heart rate based on a period (time interval) of a reflected light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to additionally determine heart rate based on a period of the reflected light as taught by Yuen (Claim 10, [0012]). Having multiple ways to determine heart rate may increase reliability or robustness of the heart rate monitoring device.
Regarding claim 17, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 11.
However, He fails to teach the invention further comprising: determining a period of the recorded measurements; and calculating a heart rate based at least in part on the period of the recorded measurements.
In an analogous device for determining vital signs field of endeavor, Yuen teaches such a feature. Yuen teaches a device (300) including a light source (181) and light detector (182) configured to transmit and receive light to and from a user’s finger (302) (Fig. 3A, [0068], [0070]). Yuen teaches calculating heart rate based on light that is reflected back to the light detector (182) (Abstract, [0068], [0070-0071]). Yuen teaches heart rate is calculated based on an algorithm that detects multiple heart beats in the reflected light received within a sampling time period and measures a time interval between a first detected heart beat and a second detected heart beat (Claim 10, [0012], wherein an interval between a first and second detected heart beat in the reflected light signal comprises a period of the reflected light). Yuen teaches a first estimate of heart beats is determined by dividing the sampling time interval with the time interval between beats, and the first estimate of heart beats may be extrapolated to estimate a user’s heart beats per minute (heart rate) (Claim 10, [0012]). Yuen therefore teaches determining a period (time interval) of a reflected light (recorded measurements) and calculating a heart rate based on the period (time interval) of the reflected light (recorded measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to additionally determine heart rate based on a period of the reflected light as taught by Yuen (Claim 10, [0012]). Having multiple ways to determine heart rate may increase reliability or robustness of the heart rate monitoring device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view Chen (US20210287602), Gruhlke (US20170079591), and Smith (US20200256727) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Choi (US20230260316).
Regarding claim 14, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, and Smith teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 11.
However, He fails to teach the invention further comprising: receiving the synchronization signal indicating a start of an electronic display refresh.
In an analogous device for determining vital signs field of endeavor, Gruhlke teaches such a feature. Gruhlke teaches an apparatus (200) for obtaining vital sign measurements such as heart rate via photoplethysmography (PPG) (Figs. 1-2, Title, Abstract, [0029], [0032-0033], [0049], [0051]). Gruhlke teaches a light sensor (182) and the pixels of a display (250) may be synchronized to mitigate ambient light pollution ([0060], [0069]). Gruhlke teaches the display (250) is pulsed at a frequency equal to the synchronization frequency which may be the refresh rate of the display (250) ([0060]). Gruhlke teaches by performing this synchronization, light measured by the light sensor (182) while the display is off may be subtracted/removed from the light measured while the display is on ([0060], [0068]). Gruhlke teaches the light sensors (182) are synchronized to/with the refresh rate of the display (250) ([0069]). Gruhlke therefore teaches wherein the light sensors receive a synchronization signal indicating a start of an electronic display refresh (refresh rate of the display) and wherein determining the instance in which the display is on is based on the synchronization signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to synchronize the light sensor with the display’s refresh rate and to determine when the display is on based on the synchronization as taught by Gruhlke ([0060], [0069]). By having the light sensors synchronize with the display’s refresh rate and thus receive the synchronization signal, light signals measured while the display is off and on may be differentiated to help mitigate ambient light pollution/noise as recognized by Gruhlke ([0060], [0068]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach enabling the optical sensor based at least in part on the synchronization signal.
In an analogous under-display optical sensor field of endeavor, Choi teaches such a feature. Choi teaches a fingerprint sensor (120) comprising an optical sensor under a display panel (110) of a computing device (100) such as a smart phone (Fig. 1A, [0042], [0047-0048]). Choi teaches the sensor (120) is configured to receive light produced by the display (110) and reflected off a finger (124) ([0045]). Choi teaches the integration time of the sensor (120) can be synchronized with a display panel timing signal, e.g. a synchronization signal (Abstract, [0004], [0008], [0011], [0054]). Choi teaches a synchronization signal is generated and output to control the operation of the sensor ([0066]). Choi teaches the sensor receives a start-sensing trigger signal at a start time synchronized with the display panel timing signal and wherein the start-sensing trigger signal includes a pulse of the synchronization signal ([0111]), thus implying the sensor is configured to start sensing or be enabled based at least in part on the synchronization signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the optical sensor be enabled based at least in part on the synchronization signal as taught by Choi (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0004], [0008], [0011], [0054], [0066], [0111]). The synchronization can ensure consistent light exposure of different portions of the sensor and improve signal quality as recognized by Choi ([0004]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view Chen (US20210287602), Gruhlke (US20170079591), Smith (US20200256727), and Choi (US20230260316) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Baldwin (US9607138).
Regarding claim 16, He in view of Chen, Gruhlke, Smith, and Choi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 14.
However, He fails to teach the invention further comprising: receiving, from the optical sensor in the instance in which the illuminated portion is not under the portion of the subject, an ambient electronic signal representative of an ambient light in a surrounding environment.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Baldwin teaches such a feature. Baldwin teaches a computing device (1000) such as a smartphone (Fig. 10, Column 15 lines 50-58). Baldwin teaches wherein the computing device may include a light-detecting element able to determine or detect ambient light (Column 18 line 59 – Column 19 line 13). Baldwin teaches when a user is not holding the device but the device is exposed to ambient light (e.g. the device is detecting ambient light), the device may determine that it has been set down by the user and may turn off the display (Column 18 lines 60-67). Moreover, Baldwin teaches wherein the device may be determined to be placed in a bag or other compartment by detecting an absence of ambient light and thus turn off or disable additional feature (Column 18 line 67 – Column 19 line 6). Baldwin therefore teaches receiving, from an optical sensor (light-detecting element) in an instance in which the illuminated portion is not under the portion of the subject (i.e. wherein the device is set down by the user or placed in a bag or other compartment), an ambient electronic signal representative of an ambient light in a surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the electronic device detect ambient light in instances not being used by the user as taught by Baldwin (Column 18 line 59 – Column 19 line 13). By detecting ambient light, the device may determine whether the device is being used and may accordingly turn off display and other functions in the instance it is not being used to predictably save power as recognized by Baldwin (Column 18 line 59 – Column 19 line 13).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach updating one or more vital signs of the subject based at least in part on the ambient light in the surrounding environment.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Gruhlke teaches such a feature. Gruhlke teaches a smartphone device (210) including a touchscreen display (250) (Fig. 2, [0049-0050]). Gruhlke teaches measuring ambient light pollution via a light sensor (182) ([0060]). Gruhlke teaches removing the ambient light pollution from a PPG measurement, thereby updating the PPG measurement ([0060]). Moreover, Gruhlke teaches wherein a user’s heart rate is determined via the PPG measurement ([0032], [0051]). Gruhlke therefore teaches updating one or more vital signs (heart rate) based at least in part on an ambient light in the surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to update the vital signs measurement by removing ambient light pollution from the PPG measurement as recognized by Gruhlke ([0051], [0060]). Ambient light causes noise/artifacts as recognized by Gruhlke ([0068]), thus by removing a measure of ambient light from the recorded measurements, more accurate vital signs readings may predictably be produced.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view of Chen (US20210287602), Kim (US20230157561), and Gruhlke (US20170079591).
Regarding claim 18, He teaches a mobile device system (200) comprising (Figs. 2A-2B, [0069], wherein a portable device such as a smartphone comprises a mobile device system):
a mobile device housing (“Electronic Device Housing” in figure 2A, [0070-0071]);
an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) electronic display (423) attached to the mobile device housing comprising (Figs. 2A-2G & 4A-4B, [0092]):
a first side (431) configured to direct transmitted light toward a portion of a subject (60) proximate the OLED electronic display (423) via organic light-emitting diodes (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0092-0093], [0106-0107]),
an optical sensor (optical sensor module) disposed within the mobile device housing, opposite the first side (431) of the OLED electronic display (423), and configured to receive reflected light off the portion of the subject (60) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0010], [0050], [0058], “The added optical sensor module and the related circuitry are under the display screen inside the phone housing”, [0069], [0093], “A portion of the reflected or scattered light in the zone 615 illuminated by the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 is directed into the optical sensor module underneath the OLED display module 433 and a photodetector sensing array inside the optical sensor module receives such light”, [0095], [0098], [0106-0108]),
wherein the optical sensor is disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion (613) is not under the portion of the subject (Fig. 4B, [0094], “…once a touch in the zone 615 is detected, the OLED pixels in the fingerprint illumination zone 613 are turned on to activate the optical sensing module to perform the fingerprint sensing”, wherein touching the zone 615, OLED pixels of illumination zone 613 being turned on, and the optical sensing module being activated comprise the optical sensor being enabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion 613 is under the portion (finger) of the subject; figure 4B shows substantial overlap of zone 615 and 613; this also means that prior to detecting the subject’s finger touch, the optical sensing module was disabled, i.e. disabled in an instance in which the illuminated portion is not under the portion (finger) of the subject); and
a host processor (705), disposed within the mobile device housing and electrically connected to the optical sensor (702), the host processor (705) comprising (Fig. 4B, [0058], [0071], wherein circuitry and electronics of the device 200 is arranged inside the device housing, [0095]):
a processor (705) (Fig. 4B, [0095]); and
wherein the mobile device system (200) is configured to (Figs. 2A-2B, [0069-0071]):
cause the OLED electronic display (423) to transmit light from the first side (431) of the OLED electronic display (423) toward a portion of the subject (60) proximate the OLED electronic display (423) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, [0092-0093], [0106-0107]);
receive, from the optical sensor disposed within the mobile device housing opposite the first side (431) of the OLED electronic display (423), an electronic signal representative of the reflected light off the portion of the subject (60) (Figs. 4A-4B & 5A-5B, Claim 1, [0011-0012], [0093], [0095], [0098], [0106-0110], [0137], wherein received light signals are converted into electronic signals comprising detector/intensity signals); and
determine one or more vital signs of the subject based at least in part on the reflected light ([0054], [0098], [0137], “The intensity variation of this intensity signal is evaluated to determine the heart rate of the user”, [0154], wherein glucose level, oxygen saturation, heart rate, and the like comprise one or more vital signs).
However, He fails to teach wherein the OLED electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a displayed output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the OLED electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the OLED electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the OLED electronic display.
In an analogous electronic device field of endeavor, Chen teaches such a feature. Chen teaches an electronic device (100) comprising a housing (102) and an electronic display (104) (Fig. 1A, [0001], [0032-0033], [0036]). Moreover, Chen teaches the electronic device (100) comprises an under-display optical sensor (optical transceiver 118) (Fig. 1B, [0034]). Chen further teaches the display (104) may be an OLED display comprising organic light-emitting diodes (OLED) ([0036]). Chen teaches the light-emitting display (300) may be refreshed according to a vertical and horizontal synchronization signal which indicate a start of a new display frame and a refresh of a next line of pixels respectively (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0067]). Chen teaches wherein the electronic display (300) is configured to refresh line-by-line, i.e. rolling pattern (Fig. 3, [0057], wherein figure 3 depicts the line-by-line or rolling pattern). Moreover, Chen teaches the display is refreshed during each of a plurality of display frames, therefore teaching repeatedly refreshing over a plurality of display frames ([0058]). Chen teaches, and shows in figure 5B, that the V-Sync and H-Sync signals are used to and indicate a start of a refresh of the light-emitting display (Fig. 5B, [0058], [0066-0068], “…one or more synchronization signals used to refresh the light-emitting display, such as the afore-mentioned V-Sync and H-Sync signals…”). In addition, Chen teaches wherein the electronic display is refreshed such that the electronic display continuously comprises illuminated portions and unilluminated portions (Fig. 5B, [0065-0067]). Chen teaches and shows an example set of illumination timings (520) for pixels in multiple adjacent lines (Fig. 5B, [0065]). Chen teaches each line of pixels may transition through emission periods (502, illumination periods) and emission blanking periods (504, unilluminated periods). Moreover, Chen teaches the timing of a next line (e.g. line 524) is delayed with respect to the timing of a previous line (e.g. line 522) (Fig. 5B, [0065]). As shown in figure 5B, this results in portions (lines) of the display screen being illuminated and portions of the display screen being unilluminated as a result of the delay (Fig. 5B). Moreover, this occurs continuously throughout the display frame (506) as further shown in figure 5B. Since figure 5B only shows 3 lines of pixels, one can further extrapolate this pattern to hundreds to thousands more lines of pixels, which display screens typically have, and it becomes even more clear that the display screen would continuously comprise illuminated and unilluminated portions. Chen therefore teaches “wherein the electronic display is configured to repeatedly refresh a display output in a continuous rolling pattern and in coordination with a synchronization signal, such that the electronic display continuously comprises an illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display and an unilluminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the electronic display”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the OLED display screen repeatedly refresh in a rolling pattern in coordination with a synchronization signal such that the display continuously comprises illuminated and unilluminated portions as taught by Chen (Figs. 3 & 5A-5B, [0057-0058], [0062], [0064-0068]). By coordinating the display refresh with a synchronization signal, an optical sensor may use the same signal for synchronization and the performance of the light-emitting display and optical sensors may be improved as recognized by Chen ([0067]). Moreover, by addressing/refreshing lines of pixels one at a time rather than globally, lower instantaneous current is needed, reducing heat generation and electrical stress.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach an instruction memory including program code, the instruction memory and program code configured to, with the processor, cause the host processor to perform the steps of causing the OLED electronic display to transmit light, receiving from an optical sensor an electronic signal representative of the reflected light, and determining vital signs based on the reflected light.
In an analogous mobile device system for determining vital signs of a subject field of endeavor, Kim teaches such a feature. Kim teaches a mobile electronic device (100) comprising a smart phone which includes a processor (120) and memory (130) (Figs. 1-4, [0069], [0085], [0091]). Kim teaches the electronic device (100) may use an OLED display panel (230) as a light source ([0087], [0095]). Kim teaches using a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor (140, 340, 440) to receive light reflected from a user’s finger (220) and thus acquire a PPG signal ([0037], [0081-0082], [0086], [0096]). Kim teaches wherein the device (100) may acquire vital sign information such as heart rate variability, oxygen saturation, blood pressure, or blood glucose levels based on the PPG signal acquired by using the OLED display panel as a light source ([0203]). Kim teaches wherein the disclosure may be implemented as a software program stored on a memory that is readable and executable by an electronic device and processor ([0248]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the steps of acquiring a user’s vital signs via PPG implemented as a program including instructions stored on a memory that is readable and executable by a processor as taught by Kim ([0203], [0248]). By implementing the method steps as a program stored in a memory, a machine or device will be allowed to operate to perform said steps as recognized by Kim ([0248]). Having the device perform the steps results in less work required by the user.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the optical sensor is configured to receive reflected light off the portion of the subject originating from the illuminated portion of the organic light-emitting diodes of the OLED electronic display; and recording measurements associated with the electronic signal received from the optical sensor for purposes of determining vital signs in an instance in which the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject.
Gruhlke teaches obtaining vital measurements such as blood pressure (BP) and heart rate (HR) via a PPG measurement (Abstract, [0032]). Gruhlke teaches a smartphone (210) including a touchscreen display (250) (Fig. 2, [0049]) and wherein the touchscreen display (250) may generate light that shines into a user’s skin when the user touches the touchscreen display (e.g. the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject), obtain a PPG measurement, and determine a heart rate of the user ([0051], [0056]). Gruhlke teaches in some implementations the display may be an OLED display ([0029]). Similar to Chen above, Gruhlke teaches wherein a light sensor (182) may be synchronized to pixels of the touchscreen display (250) ([0060]). Gruhlke further teaches wherein the touchscreen display is pulsed at a frequency equal to a synchronization frequency, e.g. the refresh rate of the display ([0060]). Gruhlke teaches the light sensor (182) may measure light reflected off the user’s finger when the light source (e.g. the colored image displayed via the pixels on the touchscreen display 250) is active ([0059-0060]). Gruhlke therefore teaches an optical sensor (182) configured to receive light originating from an illuminated portion of OLEDs of an electronic display (250) and recording measurements (PPG) associated with the electronic signal received from the optical sensor for purposes of determining vital signs (heart rate) in an instance in which the illuminated portion is under the portion of the subject (a user’s finger touches the touchscreen display 250) ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Chen to leverage the illumination of the display screen, have the optical sensor receive reflected light off the user originating from illumination of the display screen, and have the vital signs be based on the recorded measurement as taught by Gruhlke ([0029], [0051], [0056], [0059-0060]). A heart rate of a user may be determined via a touchscreen of a phone shining light towards a user’s skin and a light sensor receiving light reflected from the user, without the need of a fingerprint zone, as recognized by Gruhlke ([0051], [0059-0060]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20200050818) in view of Chen (US20210287602), Kim (US20230157561), and Gruhlke (US20170079591) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Pi (US20180046281).
Regarding claim 19, He in view of Chen, Kim, and Gruhlke teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 18.
However, He fails to explicitly teach wherein no portion of the optical sensor is visible from the first side of the OLED electronic display.
In an analogous mobile device system for determining vital signs of a subject field of endeavor, Pi teaches such a feature. Pi teaches an optical fingerprint sensor package in a mobile device including an OLED screen (10) (Fig. 1, [0046]). Pi teaches wherein light from the OLED display can be used to sense a user’s blood to obtain heart rate, oxygen level, glucose level, and the like ([0050]). Pi teaches wherein the optical sensor may be made invisible by hiding the sensor underneath the display screen, hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone ([0067-0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of He to have the optical sensor be underneath the display screen and hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone device as taught by Pi ([0067-0068]). He similarly teaches wherein the optical sensor module is placed underneath the display screen, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical sensor is not visible from the top surface of the mobile phone device (Figs. 2A-2B, 4B, & 5A-5B, [0018], [0069]). Pi teaches wherein the optical sensor may be hidden from plain view from the top surface of the mobile phone by hiding the sensor underneath the display screen ([0068]). By using an under-display sensor and thus “invisible” sensor, the entire top surface of the mobile device may be used for enlarging the display screen size while providing for optical sensing and other biometric measurements as recognized by Pi ([0068]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Within the context of claims 21 and 22, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest to the ordinarily skilled artisan adjusting the delay time “such that the integration time of the optical sensor occurs in the instance in which the illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor”.
The closest prior art found is Huang (US20210090523). Huang teaches an under display optical sensor (Title, [0001], [0045-0046]). Huang teaches determining a delay time and wherein the delay time is determined based on the location of a sensor or group of sensors ([0008], [0084]). More specifically, Huang teaches wherein the delay time is based on a synchronization signal (VSYNC signal) and based on the amount of propagation time it takes for the synchronization signal to reach the location of the one or more sensors (Fig. 5A, [0084]). Huang therefore teaches wherein the delay time is determined from receipt of a synchronization signal based on a location of an optical sensor. Huang further teaches activation of integration times ([0087]). However, Huang teaches the optical sensor is activated when the illumination components are not activated (Figs. 4A & 4D, [0085-0086]). Huang therefore teaches away from wherein an integration time of the optical sensor occurs in an instance in which an illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor; the illuminated portion or components of Huang are not illuminated during activation of the optical sensor and thus integration cannot occur in in an instance in which an illumination or illuminated portion is proximate the optical sensor, since the portion is not illuminated during activation and/or integration of the optical sensor. Huang turns off the illumination components during activation of the optical sensor to minimize reflection or measurement of internal light to prevent unwanted effects therefrom ([0070-0071], [0077], [0085]). Therefore, it would be improper to modify Huang such that integration occurs during illumination as it would render Huang’s sensing scheme inoperable for its intended purpose (minimizing measurement of reflected internal light).
Conclusion
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797