CTNF 18/339,481 CTNF 96538 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication dated June 22, 2023, claims 1-7 are pending. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Abbreviations should be written out then the abbreviated form indicated in parenthesis. Such abbreviations occurs in at least ¶27 (EVSE, BEV, IEC). The specification should be reviewed for further instances . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima US20160368391A1 in view of Masaki WO2016059897A1 . Regarding claim 1. Kojima discloses a power management system comprising: a vehicle (1) ; a charge and discharge apparatus (400/500) including a cable (400) that passes electric power to be exchanged between the vehicle (1) and a power demand and supply system (510) of a power supplier 500) and a connector (410) configured to connect the cable (400) with the vehicle (1) ; and a command device (electronic key 30 – smart key) configured to send a command to the vehicle (1) (¶32 – PLC communication unit 530 outputs power supply information to ECU 300) , wherein: the vehicle (1) includes an inlet (220) electrically connectable with the connector (410) , a lock device (50) configured to lock the connector (410) such that the connector connected to the inlet does not come off (¶68 – “Cable lock mechanism 50 is configured to be capable of switching between a lock state in which charging cable 400 cannot be removed from inlet 220 ”) , an electrical storage device configured to supply electric power for operation of the lock device (¶69– actuator provides electromagnetic power which causes the lock bar 52 to slide, thus, it is implicit that there is a storage device that allows for the supply of power for the control of the actuator/drive) , a controller (ECU 300) configured to control the lock device (52) in accordance with the command from the command device (¶72 smart verification process from key 30) ; the command device (electronic key 30) is configured to, just before an exchange of electric power between the vehicle and the power demand and supply system is started, send a lock command to the controller to cause the lock device to lock the connector (¶72 – “authorized user 31 is located within the verification range shown in FIG. 1 and has operated cable lock switch 10 .” ¶92- lock mechanism 50 controlled with electronic key 30) such that the connector does not come off from the inlet (¶68 – “Cable lock mechanism 50 is configured to be capable of switching between a lock state in which charging cable 400 cannot be removed from inlet 220 ”) ; the controller (ECU 300) is configured to control the lock device such that the connector is locked upon receiving the lock command (¶72 – “ECU 300 outputs a lock command to actuator 51 when cable lock mechanism 50 is in the unlock state, or outputs an unlock command to actuator 51 when cable lock mechanism 50 is in the lock state”) the command device (30) is configured to when not receiving the completion signal after sending the lock command (FIG. 7 – S11 [Wingdings font/0xE0] No) , resend the lock command (FIG. 7 S11 [Wingdings font/0xE0] No [Wingdings font/0xE0]S14) , and when, after resending the lock command, the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked, stop resending the lock command (FIG. 7 – if smart verification is not possible then process is ended and must be restarted) . Kojima does not explicitly teach to send a completion signal to the command device upon confirming that the connector is locked. Masaki discloses to send a completion signal to the command device (11/14) upon confirming that the connector is locked (page 8, ¶6 - ”operator confirms the connector 3 or the display unit 15 and confirms that the lock mechanism is in the locked state, the operator can also perform an operation for bringing the lock mechanism 33 into the unlocked state”) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the communication of Masaki to the command device of Kojima in order to provide a user notice when it is safe to charge the vehicle (Masaki; page 2, ¶2). Regarding claim 7. Kojima discloses a power management method in a power management system that exchanges electric power between a vehicle and a power demand and supply system of a power supplier (FIG. 1) , wherein: the power management system (FIG. 1) includes a vehicle (1) ; a charge and discharge apparatus (400/500) including a cable (400) that passes electric power to be exchanged between the vehicle (1) and a power demand and supply system (510) of a power supplier 500) and a connector (410) configured to connect the cable (400) with the vehicle (1) ; and a command device (electronic key 30 – smart key) configured to send a command to the vehicle (1) (¶32 – PLC communication unit 530 outputs power supply information to ECU 300) , wherein: the vehicle (1) includes an inlet (220) electrically connectable with the connector (410) , a lock device (50) configured to lock the connector (410) such that the connector connected to the inlet does not come off (¶68 – “Cable lock mechanism 50 is configured to be capable of switching between a lock state in which charging cable 400 cannot be removed from inlet 220 ”) , an electrical storage device configured to supply electric power for operation of the lock device (¶69– actuator provides electromagnetic power which causes the lock bar 52 to slide, thus, it is implicit that there is a storage device that allows for the supply of power for the control of the actuator/drive) , a controller (ECU 300) configured to control the lock device (52) in accordance with the command from the command device (¶72 smart verification process from key 30) ; the power management method comprising: sending, by the command device (electronic key 30) , just before an exchange of electric power between the vehicle and the power demand and supply system is started, a lock command to the controller to cause the lock device to lock the connector (¶72 – “authorized user 31 is located within the verification range shown in FIG. 1 and has operated cable lock switch 10 .” ¶92- lock mechanism 50 controlled with electronic key 30) such that the connector does not come off from the inlet (¶68 – “Cable lock mechanism 50 is configured to be capable of switching between a lock state in which charging cable 400 cannot be removed from inlet 220 ”) ; controlling, by the controller (ECU 300) , the lock device such that the connector is locked upon receiving the lock command (¶72 – “ECU 300 outputs a lock command to actuator 51 when cable lock mechanism 50 is in the unlock state, or outputs an unlock command to actuator 51 when cable lock mechanism 50 is in the lock state”) when not receiving the completion signal after sending the lock command (FIG. 7 – S11 [Wingdings font/0xE0] No) , resend the lock command (FIG. 7 S11 [Wingdings font/0xE0] No [Wingdings font/0xE0]S14) , and when, after resending the lock command, the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked, stop resending the lock command (FIG. 7 – if smart verification is not possible then process is ended and must be restarted) . Kojima does not explicitly teach sending, by the controller, a completion signal to the command device upon confirming that the connector is locked. Masaki discloses sending a completion signal to the command device (11/14) upon confirming that the connector is locked (page 8, ¶6 - ”operator confirms the connector 3 or the display unit 15 and confirms that the lock mechanism is in the locked state, the operator can also perform an operation for bringing the lock mechanism 33 into the unlocked state”) . The reference of Masaki is analogous to that of Kojima as both references are related to locking a charging plug in place. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the communication of Masaki to the command device of Kojima in order to provide a user notice when it is safe to charge the vehicle (Masaki; page 2, ¶2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima US20160368391A1 in view of Masaki WO2016059897A1 further in view of Nakasone et al. US20150061592A1 . Regarding claim 2. Kojima discloses the vehicle (1) further includes a location acquisition device (antenna 20) configured to acquire location information of the vehicle (¶27-28 - electronic key 30 is located within a verification range thus the vehicle located within a certain range) ; Kojima discloses that the controller (300) is configured to send the location information acquired by the location acquisition device to the command device (¶27 – antenna 20 carries out communication between the ECU 300 and the electronic key 30; ¶27 – communication only happens when key 30 is located within a range to communicate with antenna) ; and the command device is configured to, resend the lock command (¶72 – “authorized user 31 is located within the verification range shown in FIG. 1 and has operated cable lock switch 10 .” When the vehicle returns and requires charging, in order to charge the lock must be engaged thus the lock command is resent) . Kojima does not explicitly teach to repeat instructions when the command device confirms, from the location information received from the controller, that the vehicle has once left from an area near the charge and discharge apparatus and returned again. Nakasone discloses that when the command device (HEMS controller 14) confirms, from the location information received from the controller, that the vehicle has once left from an area near the charge and discharge apparatus and returned again (FIGS. 7A-7B – vehicle leaves then returns; ¶41 – presentation unit presents history information to the vehicle user on the basis of the vehicle’s ID) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the location history of Nakasone to the system of Kojima in order to predict future information that affects the charging and results in a more efficient charge (Nakasone, ¶2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima US20160368391A1 in view of Masaki WO2016059897A1 further in view of Ando US20210245610A1 . Regarding claim 3. Although Kojima discloses that information regarding the battery is sent from the ECU 300 to the Key 30 and the key 30 sends the lock command when the key is within range, Kojima does not explicitly teach that the vehicle further includes a monitoring device configured to identify an SOC of the electrical storage device; the information sent from the controller is the SOC identified by the monitoring device to the command device; and the information that the key 30 of Kojima is configured to receive is the SOC, and set, by using the received SOC, a criterion based on which the command device determines that the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked. Ando discloses that the vehicle (200) further includes a monitoring device configured to identify an SOC of the electrical storage device (¶160 – SOC is determined) ; the information gathered by the controller the SOC identified by the monitoring device (¶109 – charger/discharger 3 acquires the amount of charge stored in vehicle 4) set, by using the received SOC, a criterion based on which the command device determines that the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked (¶161 – SOC of battery is less than or equal to the threshold value then lock mechanism is in unlocked state) . Because the controller of Kojima transfers information to the user, It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for a controller of the vehicle to send SOC information, as taught by Ander, to the command device of Kojima in order to prevent discharging of a drained battery (Ander; ¶161). Regarding claim 4. Although Kojima discloses that the key 30 provides a command, Kojima does not explicitly teach the condition that when the SOC is lower than a predetermined value, reduce the number of times the command device requests to resend the lock command when the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked, as compared to when the SOC is higher than or equal to the predetermined value (¶161 – SOC of battery is less than or equal to the threshold value then lock mechanism is maintained in the unlocked state thus the command to lock is smaller in amount than if the SOC is higher than the predetermined value) . Ando teaches that when the SOC is lower than a predetermined value, reduce the number of times the command device requests to resend the lock command when the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked, as compared to when the SOC is higher than or equal to the predetermined value (¶161 – SOC of battery is less than or equal to the threshold value then lock mechanism is maintained in the unlocked state thus the command to lock is smaller in amount than if the SOC is higher than the predetermined value) . Because the controller of Kojima transfers information to the user, It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for a controller of the vehicle to send SOC information, as taught by Ander, to the command device of Kojima in order to prevent discharging of a drained battery (Ander; ¶161). NOTE: it should be noted that the term “when” is conditional language such that there is a condition when the SOC does not fall below a predetermined value or the command device does not fail to confirm the connector is locked. Thus, because there is an event where the claimed language does not occur, the claimed language is met. Regarding claim 5. Kojima discloses that when not receiving the completion signal after a lapse of a predetermined period (prescribed time period) from initial sending of the lock command, determine that the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked (¶25 – cable lock switch 10 outputs request for switching between lock and unlock of connecter 410; ¶28 – ECU does not receive response signal before a prescribed period of time has elapsed;) Although Kojima discloses that the key 30 provides a command, Kojima does not explicitly teach the condition that when the SOC is lower than a predetermined value, shorten the predetermined period as compared to when the SOC is higher than or equal to the predetermined value. Ando discloses that when the SOC is lower than a predetermined value, shorten the predetermined period as compared to when the SOC is higher than or equal to the predetermined value (¶161 – SOC of battery is less than or equal to the threshold value then lock mechanism is maintained in the unlocked state thus the command to lock is smaller in amount than if the SOC is higher than the predetermined value – the period is reduced by the fact that the unlocked state is maintained, thus, reducing the time period) . Because the controller of Kojima transfers information to the user, It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for a controller of the vehicle to send SOC information, as taught by Ander, to the command device of Kojima in order to prevent discharging of a drained battery (Ander; ¶161). NOTE: it should be noted that the term “when” is conditional language such that there is a condition when the command device receives the completion signal after an elapsed time and an event where the SOC is higher than the predetermined value. Thus, because there is an event where the claimed language does not occur, the claimed language is met . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima US20160368391A1 in view of Masaki WO2016059897A1 further in view of Ando et al. US20190199037A1 (hereinafter Ando2) . Regarding claim 6. Kojima does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to, when the controller or the command device fails to confirm that the connector is locked, provide the power supplier with notification that the exchange of electric power is not allowed to be started. Ando2 discloses that the controller (100) is configured to, when the controller fails to confirm that the connector is locked (FIG. 6 – S110 [Wingdings font/0xE0] NO) , provide the power supplier with notification that the exchange of electric power is not allowed to be started (FIG. 6 - S110[Wingdings font/0xE0]NO[Wingdings font/0xE0]S130[Wingdings font/0xE0] S140 display about manual locking) . It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the confirmation of Ando2 to the locking of Kojima in order to provide notification when the locking cannot occur such that charging cannot occur (Ando2; ¶6-7 Related Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kovacs EP3858658A1 discloses a locking mechanism for a charging system but does not provide sufficient details regarding the control system Hidakaa US20180072266A1 discloses a locking and unlocking control, however, the control is not for a charging lock, but rather for a door system . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMELA JEPPSON whose telephone number is (571)272-4094. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/339,481 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859