DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 15-18, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 7 and 9 have been canceled.
Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-22 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-22 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-16, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madisch et al. (US 2015/0264093, hereinafter “Madisch”).
In regards to claim 1, Madisch teaches a document processing method for causing a processor to execute a process, the document processing method comprising executing on the processor the steps of:
generating questionnaire information including a region where text can be freely input by a first user as an answer based on document information and question information, the question information being for use in acquiring information for reviewing the document information (Madisch; pars [0030]-[0032]); and
generating request information for requesting a second user, different from the first user, to review the document information, the request information including the document information and the questionnaire information in association with each other (Madisch; pars [0023]-[0024], [0029]-[0030], [0036]-[0037]).
In regards to claim 3, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the questionnaire information includes a pre-input answer, generated by the processor, to the question information, and the pre-input answer is extracted from content of a unit of divisions of the document information (Madisch; pars [0030]-[0032]).
In regards to claim 4, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the questionnaire information includes, as an answer, an option of referring to information responsive to a question in the question information and changing content of the question (Madisch; pars [0031]-[0032]).
In regards to claim 5, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the questionnaire information includes no questions included in the question information (Madisch; pars [0030], [0033]-[0034]).
In regards to claim 6, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the questionnaire information includes, as an answer, according to a question type predefined in the question information: an option (a) for using a pre-input answer, generated by the processor, to the question information; an option (b) for changing content of a question in the question information; and an option (c) for providing no questions included in the question information (Madisch; pars [0030]-[0032], [0034]).
Claims 10 and 12-15 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 3-6, respectively.
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 3, 4, and 6, respectively.
In regards to claim 22, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the question information is associated with a situation of the document information, and the situation of the document information represents whether the second user is on a requesting party or on a receiving party (Madisch; pars [0018], [0029]-[0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madisch in view of Nahamoo et al. (US 2021/0406293, hereinafter “Nahamoo”).
In regards to claim 2, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: issuing a request from the first user for the review, by the second user, of the document information in association with the answer information (Madisch; pars [0028]-[0030]).
Madisch does not explicitly teach receiving answer information, responsive to the generated questionnaire information, for the second user, the answer information including the answer prepared by the first user.
Nahamoo teaches receiving answer information, responsive to the generated questionnaire information, for the second user, the answer information including the answer prepared by the first user (Nahamoo; Abstact, par [0014], Fig. 6 – a second user receives question-and-answer data, which includes answer from previous user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the document review method of Madisch using the question-and-answer workflow taught by Nahamoo, whereby when a request for review is issued to a second user, the second user receives, as part of the review process, the answer information including the answer input by the first user. This would allow for higher quality, accuracy, and collaborative review (Nahamoo; Abstract, pars [0126]-[0127]).
In regards to claim 8, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, further comprising: issuing a request from the first user for the review, by the second user, of the document information based on the questionnaire information and the answer information (Madisch; pars [0028]-[0030]).
Madisch does not explicitly teach receiving answer information, responsive to the generated questionnaire information, for the second user, the answer information including the answer prepared by the first user.
Nahamoo teaches receiving answer information, responsive to the generated questionnaire information, for the second user, the answer information including the answer prepared by the first user (Nahamoo; Abstact, par [0014], Fig. 6 – a second user receives question-and-answer data, which includes answer from previous user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the document review method of Madisch using the question-and-answer workflow taught by Nahamoo, whereby when a request for review is issued to a second user, the second user receives, as part of the review process, the answer information including the answer input by the first user. This would allow for higher quality, accuracy, and collaborative review (Nahamoo; Abstract, pars [0126]-[0127]).
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madisch in view of Li et al. (US 12,014,309, hereinafter “Li”).
In regards to claim 21, Madisch teaches the document processing method according to claim 1, wherein the question information is associated with a type of the document information (Madisch; pars [0030]-[0032]).
Madisch does not explicitly teach the type of the document information including a non-disclosure agreement.
Li teaches, in the context of a document review workflow, the type of the document information including a non-disclosure agreement (col. 9, lines 5-11; col. 16, lines 14-31 – “NDA”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the document review method of Madisch on documents including non-disclosure agreements, as suggested by Li, in order to allow for the review of a wider variety of document types, including legal contracts such as NDAs (Madisch; par [0018]),
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVITA STANLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153