DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 15, 23, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2021/0007089 to Chen in view of US Pub. 2022/0386292 to Hajri et al. (hereinafter Hajri).
In regard claim 1, Chen teaches or discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Fig. 3, paragraph [0041], UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig. 3, element 307)
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig. 3, elements 303 and 307) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, via a physical uplink shared channel, a message (see paragraphs [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols) comprising a plurality of data segments of a video frame, each of the plurality of data segments mapped to a respective physical resource of the physical uplink shared channel (see paragraphs [0041], the data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH);
receive, based at least in part on transmitting the plurality of data segments, a combined channel state feedback message (see paragraphs [0042], [0046], signals are also received at system 300 on antenna 305 from other devices. The UE determines a value of a CRS RE signaling field in a DCI signal received from a base station), the combined channel state feedback message (see paragraphs [0024], CSI-RS are a set of non-precoded signals on which UE 105 performs channel state information measurement and feedback) comprising channel state information and video state information associated with each of the plurality of data segments of the video frame (see paragraphs [0039], [0041], a timing assumption could be either associated with the CRS or to one of the N configured CSI-RS resources in the CSI-RS measurement set. The data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH),
wherein the combined channel state feedback message indicates a predicted quantity of physical resources to successfully decode one or more second video frames, the one or more second video frames being subsequent to the video frame (see paragraphs [0024], feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator. Rank indicator (RI) is the number of data streams that UE 105 can reliably receive. A precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponds to a precoding vector that the UE 105 recommends for downlink precoding. A channel quality indicator (CQI) reflects the channel quality/strength, and is often quantized as the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or size of the transport block recommended for downlink transmission);
transmit, via the physical uplink shared channel, a second plurality of data segments of the one or more second video frames via a quantity of physical resource, the quantity of physical resources being in accordance with the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraphs [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols. The transmit processor 302 may also perform spatial processing or precoding on the data symbols and/or the control symbols and reference symbols).
Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the predicted quantity of physical resources.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraphs [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including the predicted quantity of physical resources suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
In regard claim 8, Chen teaches or discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig. 3, element 307); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories see Fig. 3, elements 303 and 307) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, via a physical uplink shared channel, a message (see paragraphs [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols) comprising plurality of data segments of a video frame to a network entity, each of the plurality of data segments mapped to a respective physical resource of the physical uplink shared channel (see paragraph [0041], the data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH);
receive, based at least in part on transmitting the plurality of data segments, a segment feedback message (see paragraphs [0042], and [0046], signals are also received at system 300 on antenna 305 from other devices. The UE determines a value of a CRS RE signaling field in a DCI signal received from a base station) associated with one or more data segments of the plurality of data segments that were unsuccessfully decoded at the network entity (see paragraphs [0024], CSI-RS are a set of non-precoded signals on which UE 105 performs channel state information measurement and feedback), the segment feedback message indicating a predicted quantity of physical resources to successfully decode the one or more data segments at the network entity (see paragraph [0024], the UE 105 does not directly feed-back the wireless channel, but feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator. Rank indicator (RI) is the number of data streams that UE 105 can reliably receive. A precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponds to a precoding vector that the UE 105 recommends for downlink precoding. A channel quality indicator (CQI) reflects the channel quality/strength, and is often quantized as the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or size of the transport block recommended for downlink transmission);
transmit, via the physical uplink shared channel, a second plurality of data segments including at least the one or more data segments via a second quantity of physical resources, the second quantity of physical resources being in accordance with the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraph [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols. The transmit processor 302 may also perform spatial processing or precoding on the data symbols and/or the control symbols and reference symbols).
Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the predicted quantity of physical resources.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraphs [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including the predicted quantity of physical resources suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
In regard claim 15, Chen teaches or discloses a network entity for wireless communication (see Figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig. 3); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (see Figs. 1 and 3):
receive, via a physical uplink shared channel, a message comprising a plurality of data segments of a video frame, each of the plurality of data segments mapped to a respective physical resource of the physical uplink shared channel (see paragraph [0041], system 300 receives data to be transmitted from an interface 301 at transmit processor 302. The data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH);
transmit, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of data segments, a combined channel state feedback message (see paragraph [0024], UE 105 performs channel state information measurement and feedback. In LTE, the UE 105 does not directly feed-back the wireless channel, but feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator), the combined channel state feedback message (see paragraphs [0024], CSI-RS are a set of non-precoded signals on which UE 105 performs channel state information measurement and feedback) comprising channel state information and video state information associated with each of the plurality of data segments of the video frame (see paragraphs [0039], and [0041], a timing assumption could be either associated with the CRS or to one of the N configured CSI-RS resources in the CSI-RS measurement set. The data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH), wherein the combined channel state feedback message indicates a predicted quantity of physical resources to successfully decode one or more second video frames that are subsequent to the video frame (see paragraphs [0024], feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator. Rank indicator (RI) is the number of data streams that UE 105 can reliably receive. A precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponds to a precoding vector that the UE 105 recommends for downlink precoding. A channel quality indicator (CQI) reflects the channel quality/strength, and is often quantized as the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or size of the transport block recommended for downlink transmission); and
receive, via the physical uplink shared channel, a second plurality of data segments of the one or more second video frames via a quantity of physical resources, the quantity of physical resources being in accordance with the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraph [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols. The transmit processor 302 may also perform spatial processing or precoding on the data symbols and/or the control symbols and reference symbols).
Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the predicted quantity of physical resources.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraphs [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including the predicted quantity of physical resources suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
In regard claim 23, Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the network entity of claim 15, wherein the predicted quantity of physical resources are predicted via one or more
machine learning models.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses wherein the predicted quantity of physical resources are predicted via one or more machine learning models (see paragraphs [0029], CSI prediction may be performed at the UE side using any of the suitable algorithms, which may be machine learning algorithms or simple filtering or interpolation operations).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including wherein the predicted quantity of physical resources are predicted via one or more machine learning models suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
In regard claim 25, Chen teaches or discloses a network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig. 3); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (see Figs. 1 and 3):
receive, via a physical uplink shared channel, a message comprising a plurality of data segments of a video frame, each of the plurality of data segments mapped to a respective physical resource of the physical uplink shared channel (see paragraphs [0041], system 300 receives data to be transmitted from an interface 301 at transmit processor 302. The data may include, for example, audio or video information or other data file information to be transmitted on a PUSCH);
transmit, based at least in part on receiving the plurality of data segments, a segment feedback message (see paragraph [0024], UE 105 performs channel state information measurement and feedback. In LTE, the UE 105 does not directly feed-back the wireless channel, but feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator) associated with one or more data segments of the plurality of data segments that were unsuccessfully decoded, the segment feedback message indicating a predicted quantity of physical resources to successfully decode the one or more data segments (see paragraph [0024], feeds back a set of recommended Multiple-Input/Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission properties including rank indicator, precoding matrix indicator, channel quality indicator. Rank indicator (RI) is the number of data streams that UE 105 can reliably receive. A precoding matrix indicator (PMI) corresponds to a precoding vector that the UE 105 recommends for downlink precoding. A channel quality indicator (CQI) reflects the channel quality/strength, and is often quantized as the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or size of the transport block recommended for downlink transmission); and
receive, via the physical uplink shared channel, a second plurality of data segments including at least the one or more data segments via a second quantity of physical resources, the second quantity of physical resources being in accordance with the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraph [0041], the transmit processor 302 may also receive control information to be transmitted on a PUSCH from a controller 303. Transmit processor 302 processes (e.g., encode and symbol map) the data and control information to obtain data symbols, control symbols, and reference symbols. The transmit processor 302 may also perform spatial processing or precoding on the data symbols and/or the control symbols and reference symbols).
Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the predicted quantity of physical resources.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses the predicted quantity of physical resources (see paragraphs [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including the predicted quantity of physical resources suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
In regard claim 28, Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the network entity of claim 25, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to calculate the predicted quantity of physical resources associated with the one or more data segments.
However, Hajri teaches or discloses calculate the predicted quantity of physical resources associated with the one or more data segments (see paragraph [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
However, Hajri teaches or discloses the predicted quantity of physical resources associated with the one or more data segments (see paragraphs [0038], wherein at least one CSI reporting configuration includes CSI quantities for which prediction is configured/enabled. In the CSI reporting configuration, a prediction-dedicated format (e.g. prediction model feedback or multiple instances feedback) may be configured for a CSI quantity (e.g. model-based feedback)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen by including the predicted quantity of physical resources associated with the one or more data segments suggested by Hajri. This modification would provide for channel state information prediction.
Claims 7, 11-13, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hajri as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pub. 2022/0416939 to Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu).
In regard claim 7, Chen and Hajri may not explicitly teach or disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses wherein each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block (see paragraphs [0003], the PHY layer performs code block segmentation to obtain a plurality of code blocks (CBs), and adds CRC information to each CB).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
In regard claim 11, Chen and Hajrimay explicitly teach or disclose the UE of claim 8, wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a first data segment of the plurality of data segments.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses the segment feedback message is associated with a first data segment of the plurality of data segments (see paragraphs [0003], the RLC layer segments a service data unit (RLC SDU) based on the determined size of the TB to generate an RLC PDU. The PHY layer performs code block segmentation to obtain a plurality of code blocks (CBs), and adds CRC information to each CB).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including the segment feedback message is associated with a first data segment of the plurality of data segments suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
In regard claim 12, Chen and Hajri may not explicitly teach or disclose the UE of claim 8, wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a group of data segments of the plurality of data segments.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a group of data segments of the plurality of data segments (see paragraph [0003], the PHY layer performs code block segmentation to obtain a plurality of code blocks (CBs), and adds CRC information to each CB).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a group of data segments of the plurality of data segments suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
In regard claim 13, Chen and Hajrimay not explicitly teach or disclose the UE of claim 8, wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a code block of the physical uplink shared channel, and the code block is associated with a subset of the one or more data segments.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a code block of the physical uplink shared channel, and the code block is associated with a subset of the one or more data segments (see paragraphs [0003], the PHY layer performs code block segmentation to obtain a plurality of code blocks (CBs), and adds CRC information to each CB. Then, after performing channel coding and rate matching on each CB, the PHY layer performs operations such as code block concatenation, scrambling, modulation, and resource mapping on the CB, and then sends the CB to the receive end).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including wherein the segment feedback message is associated with a code block of the physical uplink shared channel, and the code block is associated with a subset of the one or more data segments suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
In regard claim 21, Chen and Hajri may not explicitly teache or disclose the network entity of claim 15, wherein the combined channel state feedback message is transmitted in accordance with a periodicity, semi- persistently, or a combination thereof.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses wherein the combined channel state feedback message is transmitted in accordance with a periodicity, semi- persistently, or a combination thereof (see paragraphs [0003], [0134], and [0135], the first original data segments in the group of code block may have a same size or different sizes. For example, a network side device may limit or perform semi-persistent configuration on the size (a quantity of bits or a quantity of bytes) of the first original data segment, or may obtain the first original data segment in a predefined manner).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including wherein the combined channel state feedback message is transmitted in accordance with a periodicity, semi- persistently, or a combination thereof suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
In regard claim 24, Chen may not explicitly teach or disclose the network entity of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block.
However, Zhu teaches or discloses wherein each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block (see paragraphs [0003], after adding cyclic redundancy check (CRC) information to the received TB, the PHY layer performs code block segmentation to obtain a plurality of code blocks (CBs), and adds CRC information to each CB. Then, after performing channel coding and rate matching on each CB, the PHY layer performs operations such as code block concatenation, scrambling, modulation, and resource mapping on the CB, and then sends the CB to the receive end).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify systems for fall-back rate-machine and timing for UD of Chen and apparatus for CSI prediction control of Hajri by including wherein each of the plurality of data segments is mapped to a respective code block suggested by Zhu. This modification would provide to avoid a waste of spectrum resources and improve spectrum efficiency read in paragraph [0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9-10, 14, 16-20, 22, 26-27, and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476