Claims 1-23 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The following is an explanation of the interpretation of the structures from Applicant’s specification that correspond to the claimed means plus function limitations of claim 11:
“means for issuing…” corresponds to scheduling stage circuit (see fig. 1 element 106(3), para. [0007]).
“means for identifying…” corresponds to execution stage circuit (see fig. 1 element 106(4), para. [0012]).
“means for retrieving…” corresponds to execution stage circuit (see fig. 1 element 106(4), para. [0012]).
“means for broadcasting…” corresponds to execution stage circuit (see fig. 1 element 106(4), para. [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al., US Patent Application Publication 2001/0037434 (hereinafter Hughes) in view of Sander et al., US Patent 7,937,569 (hereinafter Sander).
Regarding claim 1, Hughes teaches:
A processor-based device, comprising: a processor comprising an instruction processing circuit comprising a plurality of pipeline stage circuits including a scheduling stage circuit and an execution stage circuit (see e.g. fig. 1, 2, para. [0054], reservation unit and functional unit); the scheduling stage circuit comprising a reservation station circuit (see e.g. fig. 1, 2, para. [0054], reservation station); the execution stage circuit comprising a physical register (PR) swap table storing a plurality of PR swap table entries (see e.g. fig. 11, dependency link file); the scheduling stage circuit configured to issue a first instruction that is associated with a store dependency identifier (ID) (see e.g. para. [0054], [0069], [0143], a store instruction or an arithmetic instruction that implicitly includes a store memory operation); and the execution stage circuit configured to, responsive to the issuing of the first instruction: identify a PR swap table entry corresponding to the store dependency ID among the plurality of PR swap table entries of the PR swap table (see e.g. para. [0006], [0069], [0143], an entry corresponding to a store tag is identified in the dependency link file); retrieve a load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry (see e.g. para. [0143], a load tag is retrieved from the dependency link file); and broadcast the load dependency ID to the reservation station circuit to wake a second instruction that is associated with the load dependency ID (see e.g. para. [0055], [0057], [0070], [0143], tags and data are sent from result buses).
Hughes fails to explicitly teach forwarding data upon detection of the issuing of the first instruction.
Sander teaches forwarding data as a speculative operand source tag upon dispatching an instruction (see e.g. col. 8 lines 16-25).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hughes and Sander to include forwarding data upon detection of the issuing of the first instruction. This type of speculative forwarding would have provided an advantage such as discussed by Sander: “Since speculation allows execution to proceed without waiting for dependency checking to complete, significant performance gains may be achieved if the performance gained from correct speculations exceeds the performance lost to incorrect speculations.” (see col. 1 lines 56-60).
Regarding claim 2, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 1, wherein: the execution stage circuit further comprises a load-store unit (LSU) circuit comprising a load queue; and the LSU circuit is configured to: detect an address dependency between a store instruction and a load instruction; determine that the load instruction is resident in the load queue and is awaiting store data; and responsive to detecting the address dependency and determining that the load instruction is resident in the load queue, allocate the PR swap table entry in the PR swap table by being configured to: determine the store dependency ID based on the store instruction; determine the load dependency ID based on the load instruction; and store the store dependency ID and the load dependency ID as part of the PR swap table entry (see e.g. fig. 11, para. [0142-3]).
Regarding claim 10, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 1, integrated into a device comprising one of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (see e.g. para. [0227], computer system).
Claim 11 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 1.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 1-2.
Claims 21-22 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 1-2.
Claims 3, 14, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of Sander, further in view of Kanapathipillai et al., US Patent 10,437,595 (hereinafter Kanapathipillai).
Regarding claim 3, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of pipeline stage circuits further includes a decode stage circuit and a rename stage circuit (see e.g. para. [0053], para. [0143], reorder buffer in combination with dependency link file); the execution stage circuit further comprises a load-store unit (LSU) circuit (see e.g. fig. 1, 2, para. [0143]); the rename stage circuit is configured to allocate the PR swap table entry in the PR swap table by being configured to: determine the store dependency ID based on the store instruction; determine the load dependency ID based on the load instruction; and store the store dependency ID and the load dependency ID as part of the PR swap table entry (see e.g. para. [0143]).
Hughes in view of Sander fails to explicitly teach one of the decode stage circuit and the rename stage circuit is configured to predict an address dependency between a store instruction and a load instruction, and the LSU circuit is configured to verify the prediction of the address dependency during one of issuance of the load instruction and replay of the load instruction.
Kanapathipillai teaches predicting an address dependency between a store instruction and a load instruction, and verifying the prediction that a load receives its data from the store queue to increase the confidence of the prediction (see e.g. col. 8 line 65 – col. 9 line 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hughes, Sander, and Kanapathipillai such that one of the decode stage circuit and the rename stage circuit is configured to predict an address dependency between a store instruction and a load instruction, and the LSU circuit is configured to verify the prediction of the address dependency during one of issuance of the load instruction and replay of the load instruction. This would have helped in the training of the dependency predictor to more accurately make predictions and improve processing efficiency.
Claim 14 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 3.
Claim 23 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 3.
Claims 4, 6-7, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of Sander, further in view of Al-Otoom et al., US Patent 10,838,729 (hereinafter Al-Otoom).
Regarding claim 4, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 2, wherein: the store dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises a store data PR tag of the store instruction (see e.g. fig. 11, para. [0143]).
Hughes in view of Sander fails to explicitly teach wherein the load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises a load data PR tag of the load instruction.
Al-Otoom teaches a register file load-store dependence (RF-LSD) predictor table with load data register ID tags (see e.g. fig. 5, 9, col. 11 line 56 – col. 12 line 17, col. 18 lines 28-45).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hughes, Sander, and Al-Otoom such that the load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises a load data PR tag of the load instruction. This would have provided a way of tracking the operands of load instructions to better predict dependencies such as discussed by Al-Otoom (see col. 11 line 56 – col. 12 line 17).
Regarding claim 6, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of pipeline stage circuits further includes a writeback stage circuit; the execution stage circuit is further configured to execute the first instruction; and the writeback stage circuit is configured to: write a result of the execution of the first instruction into a first PR indicated by the first instruction in a register file; and write the result of the execution of the first instruction into a second PR in the register file, based on the load data PR tag of the PR swap table entry (see e.g. fig. 1, para. [0056], [0060], [0076]).
Hughes in view of Sander fails to explicitly teach wherein the PR swap table entry comprises a load data PR tag of a load instruction.
Al-Otoom teaches a register file load-store dependence (RF-LSD) predictor table with load data register ID tags (see e.g. fig. 5, 9, col. 11 line 56 – col. 12 line 17, col. 18 lines 28-45)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hughes, Sander, and Al-Otoom such that the load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises a load data PR tag of the load instruction. This would have provided a way of tracking the operands of load instructions to better predict dependencies such as discussed by Al-Otoom (see col. 11 line 56 – col. 12 line 17).
Regarding claim 7, Hughes in view of Sander and Al-Otoom teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 6, wherein the scheduling stage circuit is further configured to: issue the second instruction; and read data corresponding to the second PR from one of the register file and an intermediate bypass stage of the instruction processing circuit (see e.g. Hughes para. [0055], [0143]).
Claims 15, 17 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 4, 6-7.
Claims 5, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of Sander, further in view of Meier et al., US Patent Application Publication 2013/0298127 (hereinafter Meier).
Regarding claim 5, Hughes in view of Sander teaches or suggests:
The processor-based device of claim 2.
Hughes in view of Sander fails to explicitly teach wherein: the store dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises one of a reorder buffer (ROB) ID and a scheduler ID of the store instruction; and the load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises one of a ROB ID and a scheduler ID of the load instruction.
Meier teaches including a reorder buffer ID (RNUM) in a load-store dependency predictor table (see e.g. para. [0042], [0061-2]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hughes, Sander, and Meier such that the store dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises one of a reorder buffer (ROB) ID and a scheduler ID of the store instruction; and the load dependency ID of the PR swap table entry comprises one of a ROB ID and a scheduler ID of the load instruction. This would have provided a way of uniquely identifying instructions such as discussed by Meier (see para. [0067]) to prevent acting on incorrect instruction/dependency information.
Claims 16, 18 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended “upon detection of” language have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sander.
Applicant's further arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues a lack of teaching to “broadcast the load dependency ID to the reservation station circuit to wake a second instruction that is associated with the load dependency ID”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hughes teaches that tags are forwarded from the dependency link file (see e.g. para. [0143]). These tags are necessary for forwarding data to the proper location or reservation station entry, and are sent through result buses to the reservation station (see e.g. para. [0055], [0057], [0070], [0143]). “Reservation station 22A captures the operand tags and/or data and awaits delivery of any remaining operand data (identified by the operand tags) from result buses 38” (see para. [0070]). Sander also describes such broadcasting of a tag/ID (see e.g. col. 7 lines 54-62).
Conclusion
/JOHN M LINDLOF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183