DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “comprising a crimper” (claim 1, lines 2-3) should be changed to: --comprising: a crimper--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 5,752,405 to Gerst et al.
Regarding claim 1, Gerst et al disclose a crimping device (see Fig. 5) for securing a crimp barrel (47) on a conductor of a cable (45), the crimping device comprising: a crimper (44); an anvil (72) that interacts with the crimper; a cutter (70) (58) having a receiving surface configured to receive a cable (47) dielectric enclosing the conductor (not shown, see Col. 1, lines 49-51 discussed the conductor with insulation and crimping arm); a cutter actuator (58) configured to press the cutter (70/78) down at a reversal point and to be actuated jointly with the crimper (44); and a holding sheet (42) having a molded portion on a side facing toward the receiving surface of the cutter (78), and wherein the molded portion of the holding sheet and the receiving surface of the cutter substantially fully encompass the cable dielectric when the cutter actuator is at the reversal point (see Figs. 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Gerst et al disclose the cutter actuator (58) is configured to
press the cutter down at the reversal point counter to a bias of a spring clement (80, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3-5, Gerst et al disclose the receiving surface of the cutter (78) has a circle-segment-shaped cross-sectional profile, and wherein a radius of curvature of the cross-sectional profile and is adapted to a radius of the dielectric is formed as a surface portion that projects with respect to an adjoining surface of the cutter (see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Gerst et al disclose the cutter (78) is formed in one piece as a wire erosion part (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Gerst et al disclose a tension spring (not label) configured
to force the holding sheet in a direction of the receiving surface of the cutter so that the holding sheet is ahead of the cutter actuator (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Gerst et al disclose a catch is formed on the cutter
actuator, and wherein the catch (bolt) is received in a slot (60/62) in the holding sheet so as to be guidable between two end positions (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Gerst et al disclose A method for crimping a crimp barrel onto a conductor of a cable using the crimping device according to claim 1, the method comprising: deforming at least one portion of the crimp barrel by moving the crimper relative to the anvil in such a way that the deformed portion of the crimp barrel is secured on the conductor of the cable; and reducing a diameter of the cable dielectric while moving the crimper relative to the anvil (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Gerst et al disclose the diameter is reduced at ambient
Temperature (inherent, because not heat applied to the terminal is mentioned).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerst et al.
Gerst et al shown the curvature of both the molded portion and the receiving surface (see Fig. 1B) except for the corresponding curvature of both to the radius of the dielectric or are approximately 10% to approximately 20% smaller than the radius of the dielectric. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention by choosing any desired curvature of the molded portion and the receiving surface such as the corresponding curvature of both to the radius of the dielectric or are approximately 10% to approximately 20% smaller than the radius of the dielectric, since it has been held that where the general conditions (i.e., curving surfaces) of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art references cited for their general teaching of apparatus for crimping electrical terminal to the end of electrical cable/wire.
/DN/ /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/March 7, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729