DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11, 14-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al. (US 6,055,089; already of record) in view of Snyker et al. (US 2013/0241299).
Regarding claim 8, Schulz discloses, an insulated glass unit (IGU) (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a first lite (11);
a second lite (12);
wherein the first lite and the second lite are positioned substantially parallel to and aligned with one another (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below);
an electrochromic device (17) coupled to the first lite;
a window controller (19, 35, 43) coupled to the first lite (see Fig. 1 below); and
a photovoltaic cell (18) coupled to the window controller, the electrochromic device, and the first lite (see 19), wherein the window controller is positioned between a plane formed by the first lite and a plane formed by the second lite (see Figs. 1-4).
Schulz does not explicitly disclose the second lite having a notch, and the window controller is positioned in the notch of the second lite, wherein the notch is configured to permit passage of the window controller.
Snyker teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an insulated glass unit (IGU) (Fig. 14) that it would have been desirable to make the second lite (1012) having a notch (see annotated Fig. 14 below), and the window controller (1010, 1080) is positioned in the notch of the second lite (see Fig. 14), wherein the notch is configured to permit passage of the window controller (the Examiner interprets that the notch allows the wire from window controller (1010) to go across/past (passage) the second lite (1012) to be connected to the controller (1080)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second lite having a notch, and the window controller is positioned in the notch of the second lite as taught, wherein the notch is configured to permit passage of the window controller by the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Snyker in the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Schulz since Snyker teaches it is known to include these features in an insulated glass unit (IGU) for the purpose of providing an inexpensive insulated glass unit (IGU) with reduced wiring errors.
Regarding claim 9, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, a cover (see 35 of Fig. 4) proximate the window controller, wherein the cover can be opened to access the window controller.
Regarding claim 10, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, the cover (see 35 of Fig. 4) extends into a viewable area of the electrochromic device.
Regarding claim 11, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, a photovoltaic cell (18), wherein both the photovoltaic cell and the electrochromic device are positioned between a plane formed by the first lite and a plane formed by the second lite.
Regarding claim 14, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, a photovoltaic cell (18) coupled to the window controller (19, 35, 43).
Regarding claim 15, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, the electrochromic device has a first width and the first lite has a second width (see 11, 17).
Regarding claim 16, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, the first width is the same as the second width (see 11, 17).
Regarding claim 17, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, a spacer (15, 16) between the first lite and the second lite.
Regarding claim 19, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an IGU (FIG. 14) that it would have been desirable to make the window controller (1010, 1080) is positioned between the plane formed by the first lite (1013) and the plane formed (see annotated Fig. 14 above) by the second lite (1012), wherein second lite comprises a notch (see annotated Fig. 14 above) positioned on the plane formed by the second lite (see annotated Fig. 14 above), and wherein the window controller can be accessed through the notch (see annotated Fig. 14 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Snyker in the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Schulz since Snyker teaches it is known to include these features in an insulated glass unit (IGU) for the purpose of providing an inexpensive insulated glass unit (IGU) with reduced wiring errors.
Regarding claim 20, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further teaches, in a different embodiment from the same field of endeavor that in an IGU that it would have been desirable to make the photovoltaic cell is disposed on the first lite (see 74, 75 of Fig. 9) for the purpose of providing a reliable IGU.
Regarding claim 21, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Schulz further discloses, the photovoltaic cell is disposed on the second lite (see 18 of Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose the window controller is removably coupled to the first lite. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the window controller is removably coupled to the first lite for the purpose of providing a window controller that is easily replaced.
Regarding claim 23, Schulz in view of Snyker discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Snyker further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an insulated glass unit (IGU) (Fig. 14) that it would have been desirable to make the notch is disposed at an edge of the second lite (see Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Snyker in the insulated glass unit (IGU) of Schulz since Snyker teaches it is known to include these features in an insulated glass unit (IGU) for the purpose of providing an inexpensive insulated glass unit (IGU) with reduced wiring errors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the notch is configured so that the window controller can pass through it so that it can be manually removed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Examiner points out that Merriam-Webster’s dictionary (www.m-w.com) defines the term “passage” to mean --a way of exit or entrance : a road, path, channel, or course by which something passes; the action or process of passing from one place, condition, or stage to another; or to go past or across: CROSS--. Based on this definition, the Examiner interprets that the notch allows the wire from window controller (1010) to go across/past (passage) the second lite (1012) to be connected to the controller (1080). Therefore, the Examiner interprets that Snyker teaches the limitation “the notch is configured to permit passage of the window controller”.
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 02/21/2026