Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 and 06/22/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an obtaining section configured to obtain article information…”, and
“an estimating section configured to estimate…” in Claim 1.
Claims 12 recites similar limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 limitation “an obtaining section configured to obtain article information…”, and “an estimating section configured to estimate…”, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
At most the specification filed 06/22/2023 merely cites examples in para. [0016], of estimating and obtaining sections that may be part of a control unit that is a “program-controlled device such as a central processing unit (CPU)”. In para. [0019], the specification further cites that, “The program may be a program that is stored and provided on a computer readable and non-transitory recording medium and is copied into the storage unit 12”, further fails to limit the limitations explicitly to hardware. Open ended language used “such as” and “may be” fail to explicitly describe the structure. As such, the claims and the specification are devoid of any structure that explicitly performs the functions in the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, & 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20190236614 “Burgin”.
Claim 1:
Burgin teaches a detecting device comprising:
a second machine learning model provided for mutual learning together with a first machine learning model, the first machine learning model being subjected to machine learning so as to generate genuine or fraudulent article information having a plurality of modalities, and the second machine learning model being subjected to machine learning so as to discriminate whether article information having a plurality of modalities is genuine or not (i.e. para. [0038], “The Generative Adversarial Network (GAN) subsystem 130, discussed in more detail with respect to FIG. 5, may include a generator that generates simulated counterfeit images and a discriminator that trains on these and/or images of actual fake items to classify input images as those of faked or genuine items”, wherein the BRI for article information having a plurality of modalities encompasses the how a photograph image with text may be an article of information, in which the generated images and associated information generated by a first generator MLM is ingested by a second discriminator MLM with an OCR module); an obtaining section configured to obtain article information having a plurality of modalities (i.e. para. [0047], The generator 502 may generate simulated counterfeit images 503, which may be used to train the discriminator 506. The discriminator 506, trained from the simulated counterfeit images 503 and/or actual counterfeit images 505 from the counterfeit images repository 504); and an estimating section configured to estimate whether the article information that is obtained by the obtaining section and has the plurality of modalities is genuine or not, by using the second machine learning model (i.e. para. [0061], the discriminator 506 may generate an output based on convolutional processing of an input image of an item being undergoing counterfeit analysis, the output including a prediction of whether the item is a counterfeit).
Claim 2:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1,
wherein the first machine learning model is subjected to machine learning so as to generate fraudulent article information obtained by editing and processing at least part of genuine article information having a plurality of modalities (i.e. para. [0020], , the generator may take as input parameters from human users that direct the generator to make certain changes to a genuine image to create a simulated counterfeit image. For instance, the parameter may specify that a font recognized on a genuine image of a pill be adjusted to create a simulated counterfeit image of the pill).
Claim 3:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1,
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes image data representing an article image (i.e. para. [0035], supervised learning is done through a database maintained containing item information such as description and unique identifier information. This is linked to photographs and text examples and explanations of counterfeiting of that item. This is in addition to images and text descriptions of the genuine item).
Claim 5:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1,
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes text data representing an article descriptive sentence (i.e. para. [0035], “a database maintained containing item information such as description and unique identifier information. This is linked to photographs and text examples and explanations of counterfeiting of that item. This is in addition to images and text descriptions of the genuine item”, wherein the BRI for an article descriptive sentence encompasses a text description).
Claim 7:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1, wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes attribute data representing an article category (i.e. para. [0028], “the discriminator 506 may compare the features of the counterfeit images with the features identified from the known good images of the item. For example, the discriminator 506 may compare specific regions of an imaged item. Such regions may correspond to circularity or shape features of a pill, a partition of the pill, a specific attribute of the pill, and/or other features”, wherein the BRI for article category encompasses attribute information regarding the article of information such as the type or shape of medicine being analyzed).
Claim 8:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1,
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing a shipment timing (i.e. para. [0030], statistical models based on geography, shipping route, and frequency of fraud for an item can also generate a probability of fraud and feed into classification and probability determination techniques. Also, shipping route information such as start of item journey and intermediaries may also be used).
Claim 11:
Claim 11 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 is the medium claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 is the device claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 is the method claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 is the model claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20190236614 “Burgin” and further in light of Hu, L., Wei, S., Zhao, Z., & Wu, B. (2022). Deep learning for fake news detection: A comprehensive survey. AI Open. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aiopen.2022.09.001, hereinafter “Hu”.
Claim 4:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1.
However, Burgin may not explicitly teach
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes text data representing an article title.
However, Hu teaches
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes text data representing an article title (i.e. [6.1 Dataset], “We summarize representative datasets in the field of fake news as follows… Ti-CNN (Yang et al., 2018) is a multimodal dataset for detecting fake news. The dataset contains a total of 20,015 news items, of which 11,941 are fake and 8074 are true. Each news article in the dataset includes a title, text, image, and author information”, wherein a GAN or CNN-based approach may receive event posts as a dataset to generate representations of the events).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes text data representing an article title, to Burgin’s system that generates articles with a plurality of information including text data, a generator may intake real and fake article titles and generate representative article data in order to take a GAN or CNN-based approach to training a model to detect and differentiate fake and genuine news articles, as taught by Burgin. One would have been motivated to combine Hu with Burgin, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as using techniques such as the introduction of multi-modal information, external knowledge, and integration strategy have been explored to carry out better performance.
Claim 9:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1.
Burgin may not explicitly teach
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes attribute data representing an attribute of an exhibitor or a seller.
However, Hu teaches
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes attribute data representing an attribute of an exhibitor or a seller (i.e. [5.1.2 Weak Social Supervision], “The following work (Shu et al., 2019b) is a typical work to leverage social context information as constraints… Secondly, politically biased publishers are more probably to create fake stories. Thirdly, users with low trustworthiness are more likely to propagate fake news… the presentation of news must take into consideration the publisher’s political leaning; on the other hand, for the spreading relationship, constraining that the news presentation and user representation are close to each other if the news is fake and the user is less-credible, and vice versa”, wherein information attributes affecting if an article is genuine or fake encompasses social context attributes related to a publisher or publisher’s network of an article).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes attribute data representing an attribute of an exhibitor or a seller, to Burgin’s system that generates articles with a plurality of information including text data, with how a discriminator may user attribute data of an exhibitor publisher to detect and differentiate fake and genuine news articles, as taught by Burgin. One would have been motivated to combine Hu with Burgin, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as using techniques such as the introduction of multi-modal information, external knowledge, and integration strategy have been explored to carry out better performance.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20190236614 “Burgin” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210125031 “Keng”.
Claim 6:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1.
Burgin may not explicitly teach
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an article price.
However, Keng teaches
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an article price (i.e. para. [0051], “Other approaches generate plausible customer e-commerce orders for a given product using a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN). Given a product embedding, some approaches generate a tuple containing a product embedding, customer embedding, price, and date of purchases, which summarizes a typical order. This approach using a GAN can provide insights into product demand, customer preferences, price estimation and seasonal variations by simulating what are likely potential order”, wherein the G aims to produce realistic samples from this distribution while a discriminator D tries to differentiate fake samples from real samples. By alternating optimization steps between the two components, the generator ultimately learns the distribution of the real data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an article price, to Burgin’s system that generates articles with a plurality of information in order to discriminate real and fake items, with how a GAN may use numerical price data differentiate real and fake articles of data, as taught by Keng. One would have been motivated to combine Keng with Burgin, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as the additional consideration of price results in better generated samples that are more similar to a real data distribution.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20190236614 “Burgin” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210019339 “Ghulati”.
Claim 10:
Burgin teaches the detecting device according to claim 1.
Burgin may not explicitly teach
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an evaluation given to an exhibitor or a seller.
However, Ghulati teaches
wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an evaluation given to an exhibitor or a seller (i.e. para. [0253], “a method and system for assessing the quality of content generated by a user and their position within a credibility graph in order to generate a reliable credibility score is provided. The credibility score may be determined for a person, organization, brand or piece of content by means of calculation using a combination of extrinsic signals, content signals… The method may be further capable of determining a credibility score of the user of the generated content by the combination of the score indicative of the credibility of the content and the score indicative of the credibility of the user”, wherein the BRI numerical data encompasses the credibility score associated with an article published by an organization).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the article information having a plurality of modalities includes numerical data representing an evaluation given to an exhibitor or a seller, to Burgin’s system that generates articles with a plurality of information including text data, with how a discriminator may include intaking associate article information including a numerical data value representing a credibility given to an organization or person related to the article, as taught by Ghulati. One would have been motivated to combine Burgin with Ghulati, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as the additional consideration of credibility scoring may encourage the prevention of abuse and toxicity within online platforms.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200184212 “Anthony” teaches in para. [0028], , the synthetic training documents generated in the previous step are used to train a fraud classification model. The fraud classification model may be any Al or machine learning model that takes one or more documents as input and outputs a classification for the one or more documents. The classification may identify the document(s) as potentially fraudulent or not.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145