DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1 and 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the power switches " in lines 11 and 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of solid-state power switches " as there is antecedent basis.
5. Claims 2-8 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
6. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the power switches " in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of solid-state power switches " as there is antecedent basis.
7. Claims 9 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the power switches " in lines 15 and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of solid-state power switches " as there is antecedent basis.
9. Claims 10-17 are rejected as depending from claim 9.
10. Claim 13 recites the limitation "the power switches " in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of solid-state power switches " as there is antecedent basis.
11. Claims 18 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
12. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the power switches " in lines 10, 15, 17, and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the solid-state power switches " as there is antecedent basis.
13. Claims 19-20 are rejected as depending from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-10, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25.
Regarding claim 1, Ge discloses a battery electric system(abstract), comprising: a direct current (DC) voltage bus (318p and 318n, Fig. 3, [0020]); a battery pack having a battery temperature(battery pack 124 with temperature sensor 208, Figs. 2 and 3, [0018]); an inverter connected to the DC voltage bus (power electronics module 126, Fig. 3, [0012]) and including a plurality of solid-state power switches (K1 310, K2 312, K3 314 and K4 316, Fig. 3, [0020]) operable for outputting an alternating current (AC) waveform(Fig. 4, [0022], [0024]); and a battery controller in communication with the plurality of solid-state power switches([0019]-[0020]), but does not explicitly disclose a first electrical switch connected between the inverter and the battery pack, the first electrical switch being configured to open during an AC self-heating mode of the battery pack; a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch, and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode of the battery pack.
Ling teaches a control method of the energy conversion device which includes: controlling the first switch module to be turned off and the second switch module to be turned on in response to receiving an instruction to enter a heating mode, to cause a battery pack, the second switch module, the motor, the motor controller, and the bus capacitor to form a charging and discharging circuit of a battery pack([0013]-[0014], Fig. 3). Ling teaches a first electrical switch (first switch module 104, Fig. 3) connected between the inverter (motor controller 101, Fig. 3, [0040]-[0041]) and the battery pack(103, Fig. 3), the first electrical switch being configured to open during an AC self-heating mode of the battery pack(step S20, Fig. 4, [0055]); a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch (second switch module 105, Fig. 3), and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode of the battery pack(step S20, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery electric system of Ge with a first electrical switch connected between the inverter and the battery pack, the first electrical switch being configured to open during an AC self-heating mode of the battery pack; a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch, and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode of the battery pack as taught by Ling as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 1, modified Ge discloses wherein the battery controller is configured, prior to charging the battery pack, to selectively open the first electrical switch, close the second electrical switch (Ling, step S20, Fig. 4), and control individual ON/OFF conducting states of the plurality of solid-state power switches(Ge [0022]), and thereby heat the battery pack via the AC waveform, when the battery temperature is less than a calibrated temperature limit(Ge [0018]-[0019], [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ge discloses the DC voltage bus has a positive voltage rail (Ge, 318p, Fig. 3) and a negative voltage rail(Ge, 318n, Fig. 3), two of the plurality of solid-state power switches are configured as upper switches connected to the positive voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3), two of the plurality of solid-state power switches are configured as lower switches connected to the negative voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3), and the battery controller is configured to close only one of the upper switches and only one of the lower switches during the AC self-heating mode(Ge [0022]-[0023]) but does not explicitly disclose six power switches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery electric system of modified Ge, six power switches in order to enable more faster switching and higher reliability, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ge discloses further comprising: a DC load connected to the inverter(Ge, variable voltage converter [0013]) , wherein the battery controller is configured to power the DC load concurrently with the AC self-heating mode(Ge, Figs. 1-3, [0018]).
Regarding claim 9, Ge discloses a vehicle(abstract, Fig. 1), comprising: a vehicle body (Fig. 1, [0011]); and a battery electric system connected to the vehicle body (Fig. 1, [0005]) and comprising: a direct current (DC) voltage bus (318p and 318n, Fig. 3, [0020]); a battery pack (battery pack 124, Figs. 2 and 3, [0018]); an inverter connected to the DC voltage bus (power electronics module 126, Fig. 3, [0012]) and having a plurality of solid-state power switches (K1 310, K2 312, K3 314 and K4 316, Fig. 3, [0020]); a battery controller in communication with the plurality of solid-state power switches ([0019]-[0020]), but does not explicitly disclose a first electrical switch connected between the inverter and the battery pack, the first electrical switch being configured to open during an alternating current (AC) self-heating mode of the battery pack, wherein the AC self-heating mode includes generating an AC waveform through the battery pack at a controlled amplitude; a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch, and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode.
Ling teaches a control method of the energy conversion device which includes: controlling the first switch module to be turned off and the second switch module to be turned on in response to receiving an instruction to enter a heating mode, to cause a battery pack, the second switch module, the motor, the motor controller, and the bus capacitor to form a charging and discharging circuit of a battery pack([0013]-[0014], Fig. 3). Ling teaches a first electrical switch (first switch module 104, Fig. 3) connected between the inverter (motor controller 101, Fig. 3, [0040]-[0041]) and the battery pack(103, Fig. 3), the first electrical switch being configured to open during an AC self-heating mode of the battery pack(step S20, Fig. 4, [0055]); a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch (second switch module 105, Fig. 3), and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode of the battery pack(step S20, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of Ge with a first electrical switch connected between the inverter and the battery pack, the first electrical switch being configured to open during an AC self-heating mode of the battery pack; a second electrical switch connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch, and configured to close during the AC self-heating mode of the battery pack as taught by Ling as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 9, modified Ge discloses wherein the AC self-heating mode includes generating an AC waveform through the battery pack at a controlled amplitude (Ge [0022], [0024]), wherein the battery controller is configured, in response to calibrated entry criteria, to open the first electrical switch, close the second electrical switch, and control ON/OFF conducting states of the plurality of solid-state power switches to thereby self-heat the battery pack to a predetermined temperature using the AC waveform(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4, [0046], [0055]-[0057]), wherein the entry criteria include a required charging of the battery pack while a battery temperature of the battery pack is less than a calibrated temperature limit(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4, [0014]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ge discloses the vehicle is a recreational vehicle(Ge, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ge discloses the DC voltage bus has a positive voltage rail (Ge, 318p, Fig. 3) and a negative voltage rail(Ge, 318n, Fig. 3), two of the plurality of solid-state power switches are configured as upper switches connected to the positive voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3), two of the plurality of solid-state power switches are configured as lower switches connected to the negative voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3), and the battery controller is configured to close only one of the upper switches and only one of the lower switches during the AC self-heating mode(Ge [0022]-[0023]) but does not explicitly disclose six power switches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery electric system of modified Ge, six power switches in order to enable more faster switching and higher reliability, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 18, Ge discloses a method for performing alternating current (AC) self-heating mode of a battery pack([0004], [0018], [0024]) in a battery electric system having a direct current (DC) voltage bus(318p and 318n, Fig. 3, [0020]), wherein: the DC voltage bus has a positive voltage rail and a negative voltage rail (318p and 318n, Fig. 3, [0020]); but does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: in response to calibrated entry criteria, opening a first electrical switch, closing a second electrical switch.
Ling teaches a control method of the energy conversion device which includes: controlling the first switch module to be turned off and the second switch module to be turned on in response to receiving an instruction to enter a heating mode, to cause a battery pack, the second switch module, the motor, the motor controller, and the bus capacitor to form a charging and discharging circuit of a battery pack([0013]-[0014], Fig. 3). Ling teaches the method comprising: in response to calibrated entry criteria, opening a first electrical switch (first switch module 104, Fig. 3), closing a second electrical switch(second switch module 105, Fig. 3, step S20, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of Ge with the method comprising: in response to calibrated entry criteria, opening a first electrical switch, closing a second electrical switch as taught by Ling as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 18, modified Ge discloses controlling ON/OFF conducting states of solid-state power switches of an inverter via a battery controller(Ge, [0022], [0012], Fig. 3), wherein the first electrical switch is connected between the inverter and the battery pack(Ling, see first switch module 104, motor controller 101and battery 103 in Fig. 3), and wherein the second electrical switch is connected to the inverter and the first electrical switch(Ling, see second switch module 105, Fig. 3); and generating an AC waveform through the battery pack at a controlled amplitude through the second electrical switch and a set of the solid-state power switches having an OFF conducting state to thereby self-heat the battery pack to a predetermined temperature(Ge, [0022], [0024], Ling, step S20, Fig. 4), wherein the entry criteria include a required charging of the battery pack while a battery temperature of the battery pack is less than a calibrated temperature limit(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4, [0014]); two of the solid-state power switches are upper switches connected to the positive voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3); two of the solid-state power switches are lower switches connected to the negative voltage rail(Ge, Fig. 3); and the set of the solid-state power switches having an OFF conducting state includes only one of the upper switches and only one of the lower switches(Ge, [0022]-[0023]) but does not explicitly disclose six power switches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the battery electric system of modified Ge, six power switches in order to enable more faster switching and higher reliability, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ge discloses further comprising: powering a DC load (Ge, variable voltage converter [0013]) via the inverter concurrently with performing the AC self-heating mode(Ge, Figs. 1-3, [0018]).
18. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Binder et al. (AT513335) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 with citations from equivalent (US 2015/0249349).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ge discloses enter the AC self-heating mode when the battery pack requires charging(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine whether the battery pack requires charging.
Binder teaches a method and to a device for charging batteries, in particular lead-acid batteries, having a predetermined end-of-charge voltage (ULS)(abstract). Binder teaches the charge state of the battery may be determined by measuring the current open-circuit voltage([0015]). Binder teaches the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV([0015]), compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine whether the battery pack requires charging([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery electric system of modified Ge with the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine whether the battery pack requires charging as taught by Binder as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
19. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN116231160A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ge does not explicitly disclose the inverter includes a transformer having a primary winding and a secondary winding, and a capacitor connected in parallel with the battery pack between the secondary winding and the battery pack.
Li teaches a vehicle mounted battery charging and heating control method based on phase shifted full bridge synchronous rectification, which is characterized in that a circuit structure required by the method can be built only by adding a power switch device and two relays on the secondary side of a transformer on the basis of existing power electronic components in a common vehicle mounter charger; corresponding topologies for executing battery alternating current internal heating and direct current charging and discharging control can be flexibly obtained through the relays (abstract). Li teaches by executing closed loop feedback control on the PWM process, the battery of the vehicle can be rapidly heated in the extremely cold environment (abstract). Li teaches the inverter includes a transformer (T1, Fig. 2, [n0020]-[n0025]) having a primary winding and a secondary winding(Fig. 2), and a capacitor (C2 and C3, Fig. 2) connected in parallel with the battery pack (battery modules E1 and E2, Fig. 2) between the secondary winding and the battery pack(Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery electric system of modified Ge with the inverter includes a transformer having a primary winding and a secondary winding, and a capacitor connected in parallel with the battery pack between the secondary winding and the battery pack as taught by Li in order to rapidly heat the battery in extremely cold environment.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ge discloses a current output node of the second electrical switch (Li, SW2, Fig. 2) is connected to a current input node of the first electrical switch(Li, SW1, Fig. 2), such that the second electrical switch is arranged in series with the first electrical switch(Li, Fig. 2), and wherein the AC waveform is generated in part through the secondary winding(Li, Figs. 2 and 6, [n0041]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ge discloses the AC waveform is generated in part using the capacitor(Li, Figs. 2 and 6, [n0041]).
20. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hermann et al. (US 2012/0153901).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ge discloses lithium-ion (Li-ion) batteries are often used in BEVs and HEVs ([0002]) but does not explicitly disclose the battery pack is a lithium-ferrophosphate (LFP) battery.
Hermann teaches the vehicle propulsion battery 108 is a subcomponent of an energy storage system (“ESS”)(Fig. 1, [0015]). Hermann teaches an ESS includes various components associated with transmitting energy to and from the vehicle propulsion battery 108, including, but not limited to, safety components, cooling components, heating components, rectifiers and combinations thereof([0015]). Hermann teaches various secondary battery chemistries are contemplated, including lithium ion chemistries such as lithium polymer, lithium iron phosphate, nickel metal hydride, lead acid, and other chemistries([0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery pack is a lithium ferrophosphate battery as taught by Hermann since prior art of Ge discloses genus of lithium ion battery. MPEP 2144.08.
21. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cornelli et al. (US 2021/0043894).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ge discloses battery electric vehicles (BEV) and/or hybrid electric vehicles (HEV) use high voltage batteries to provide energy for vehicle propulsion and various types of vehicle loads([0002]) but does not explicitly disclose the vehicle is a boat.
Cornelli teaches rechargeable energy storage system with different cell chemistries (title). Cornelli teaches the vehicle 60 may include, but is not limited to, mobile objects such as automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, boats, trains and/or aircraft(Fig. 1, [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the vehicle is a boat as taught by Cornelli since prior art of Ge discloses genus of vehicle. MEP 2144.08.
22. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Binder et al. (AT513335) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 with citations from equivalent (US 2015/0249349).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ge discloses enter the AC self-heating mode when the battery pack requires charging(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, and to compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine the required charging.
Binder teaches a method and to a device for charging batteries, in particular lead-acid batteries, having a predetermined end-of-charge voltage (ULS)(abstract). Binder teaches the charge state of the battery may be determined by measuring the current open-circuit voltage([0015]). Binder teaches the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV([0015]), compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine whether the battery pack requires charging([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of modified Ge with the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, and to compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine the required charging as taught by Binder as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
23. Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN116231160A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 14, modified Ge does not explicitly disclose the inverter includes a transformer having a primary winding and a secondary winding, and a capacitor connected in parallel with the battery pack between the secondary winding and the battery pack.
Li teaches a vehicle mounted battery charging and heating control method based on phase shifted full bridge synchronous rectification, which is characterized in that a circuit structure required by the method can be built only by adding a power switch device and two relays on the secondary side of a transformer on the basis of existing power electronic components in a common vehicle mounter charger; corresponding topologies for executing battery alternating current internal heating and direct current charging and discharging control can be flexibly obtained through the relays (abstract). Li teaches by executing closed loop feedback control on the PWM process, the battery of the vehicle can be rapidly heated in the extremely cold environment (abstract). Li teaches the inverter includes a transformer (T1, Fig. 2, [n0020]-[n0025]) having a primary winding and a secondary winding(Fig. 2), and a capacitor (C2 and C3, Fig. 2) connected in parallel with the battery pack (battery modules E1 and E2, Fig. 2) between the secondary winding and the battery pack(Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the vehicle of modified Ge with the inverter includes a transformer having a primary winding and a secondary winding, and a capacitor connected in parallel with the battery pack between the secondary winding and the battery pack as taught by Li in order to rapidly heat the battery in extremely cold environment.
Regarding claim 15, modified Ge discloses a current output node of the second electrical switch (Li, SW2, Fig. 2) is connected to a current input node of the first electrical switch(Li, SW1, Fig. 2), such that the second electrical switch is arranged in series with the first electrical switch(Li, Fig. 2), and wherein the AC waveform is generated in part through the secondary winding(Li, Figs. 2 and 6, [n0041]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ge discloses the AC waveform is generated in part using the capacitor(Li, Figs. 2 and 6, [n0041]).
24. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25, in further view of Li et al. (CN116231160A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claims 9, 14, and 15 above, and further in view of Hermann et al. (US 2012/0153901).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ge discloses lithium-ion (Li-ion) batteries are often used in BEVs and HEVs ([0002]) but does not explicitly disclose the battery pack is a lithium-ferrophosphate (LFP) battery.
Hermann teaches the vehicle propulsion battery 108 is a subcomponent of an energy storage system (“ESS”)(Fig. 1, [0015]). Hermann teaches an ESS includes various components associated with transmitting energy to and from the vehicle propulsion battery 108, including, but not limited to, safety components, cooling components, heating components, rectifiers and combinations thereof([0015]). Hermann teaches various secondary battery chemistries are contemplated, including lithium ion chemistries such as lithium polymer, lithium iron phosphate, nickel metal hydride, lead acid, and other chemistries([0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery pack is a lithium ferrophosphate battery as taught by Hermann since prior art of Ge discloses genus of lithium ion battery. MPEP 2144.08.
25. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US 2021/0218085) in view of Ling et al. (US 2023/0038790) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Binder et al. (AT513335) as cited in IDS dated 6/6/25 with citations from equivalent (US 2015/0249349).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ge discloses enter the AC self-heating mode when the battery pack requires charging(Ling, step S20, Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose measuring an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, and comparing the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV limit to determine the required charging.
Binder teaches a method and to a device for charging batteries, in particular lead-acid batteries, having a predetermined end-of-charge voltage (ULS)(abstract). Binder teaches the charge state of the battery may be determined by measuring the current open-circuit voltage([0015]). Binder teaches the battery controller is configured to measure an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV([0015]), compare the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV to determine whether the battery pack requires charging([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the method of modified Ge with measuring an open-circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery pack as a measured OCV, and comparing the measured OCV to a predetermined OCV limit to determine the required charging as taught by Binder as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724