6DETAILED ACTION
1 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Remarks/Arguments
2 Applicant’s arguments, see 7-12 filed 08/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of DOEDENS et al. (US 20230411939 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3 Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS et al. (US 20230411939 A1).
4 Regarding to claim 1, HARJUHAHTO discloses a method for inspecting an
Insulation of a high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high voltage
cable 2 to be inspected position abstract), the method comprising:
a data acquisition including:
scanning a surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8 discloses the sensors (6) such that
beams (7) of the sensors are directable to the outer surface (8) of the cable (2)
abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) of a high voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 2
discloses the cable 2 to be inspected conductor and wire position abstract), by at least one laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6
comprise laser displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam
emitted from a laser is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin
20-35), wherein the scanning includes at least one laser scanner (Figs.
1-2 Item 6 discloses measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement sensors ln a
laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to the outer
surface 8 of the cable 2 Page 3 Lin 20-35) and relative to the high voltage cable
((Figs. 1-2 Item 2); and a data evaluation (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis
part 4 comprises a receiver 9 for the measurement data and a processor 10 for processing the measurement data providing defect detection data abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) including:
generating a 3-dimensional model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses creates thereof
a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface (8) of the cable (2),) of the scanned surface based on the acquired data (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 discloses a continuous 3D topographic map and 12 stored 3D data of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4) of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a 3D surface scanner is also able to detect properties of the outer surface 22 of a cable Page3 -4); and
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach moving the at least one
laser scanner and relative to the high voltage cable along a length direction of the high voltage cable.
comparing the generated model with a reference 3-dimensional model of
the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation.
However, DOEDENS teaches moving the at least one laser scanner and
relative to the high voltage cable along a length direction of the high voltage cable (Fig. 1-2 item 40 discloses non-contact surface scanner 40 is movable around the cable 1 such as scanner 40 may be mounted to a jig, e.g. mountable to the HV-cable, such that the non-contact surface scanner 40 may be moved up/down and around the surface 5 in Paragraph [0043]);
comparing the generated model with a reference 3-dimensional model of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation (Fig. 1-2 discloses comparing the 3D measurement model of the repaired cable with the basis 3D measurement n Paragraph [00121 & 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfolded in HARJUHAHTO to include creating a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface of the cable as taught by DOEDENS in order to determine the quality of the surface of the high voltage cable Paragraph [00121 & 0027]).
5 Regarding to claim 2 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the scanned surface comprises a full circumference of the high
voltage cable (Figure 2 the sensors 6 are arranged with substantially even intervals.
By arranging the sample areas 22 are at a circumference of the cable 2).
6 Regarding to claim 3 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein generating the 3-dimensional model includes combining
measurement data from at least two laser scanner (Figure 1-2 the 7 of non-contact
distance measurement sensors 6 are directed to the outer surface which are shown top
and bottom of cable 2).
7 Regarding to claim 5 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the reference 3-dimensional model is a partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 discloses creates thereof a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface (8) of the cable (2) the stored 3D processed data and/or the defect detection data) of a surface of a high voltage cable's insulation and wherein the partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values are used to find defect) is adjusted based on the acquired data. (Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation).
8 Regarding to claim 6 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 5, wherein a diameter of the partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12
shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values are used to find defect)
is adjusted based on the acquired data. (Compared to existing X-rays systems used
in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the
geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the
depth of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor
inside the insulation).
9 Regarding to claim 7 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 6, wherein the diameter is adjusted (Compared to existing X-rays systems
used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides diameter an accurate
monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are
adapted to measure the depth of different layers inside the cable as well as the
eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation). based on at least one of: a
minimum diameter and a maximum diameter of the high voltage cable determined
from the acquired data (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable such
as insulation layer thickness abstract Page 3 and 4)
10 Regarding to claim 8 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the data evaluation further includes determining a state (Figs. 1-2
Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting surface defects of the cable) of the
insulation (insulation layer thickness of cable 2) of the high voltage cable according
to predefined criteria (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable such
as insulation layer thickness abstract Page 3 and 4)
11 Regarding to claim 9 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 8, wherein the determination of a state (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses
analysis part is detecting surface defects of the cable) of the
insulation includes:
calculating distance values (insulation layer thickness of cable 2) between
points of the generated 3-dimensional model and the reference 3-dimensional model (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4),
12 Regarding to claim 10 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the data evaluation further includes an identification of
irregularities (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting surface defects
of the cable) on the surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the insulation (insulation layer
thickness of cable 2) of the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2) according to
predefined criteria (Fig.1 discloses 3D topographic map providing defect detection
data from the cable, and the trained neural network of the analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable).
13 Regarding to claim 16 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the reference 3-dimensional model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows
continuous 3D model and stored 3D model 12) is a partly predefined model
(c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values
are used to find defect) of a surface of a high voltage cable's (c Figs. 1-2 Item 2)
insulation, wherein the partly predefined model is adjusted based on the acquired data Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation)..
14 Regarding to claim 17 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 16, wherein a diameter (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the cable 2 a high voltage
cable comprises a cable diameter to be inspected position abstract), of the partly
predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and
measured values are used to find defect) is adjusted based on the acquired
data Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface
scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a
cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers
inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation).
15 Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS et al. (US 20230411939 A1) in view of Ebisawa et al. (US 7199508 B2).
16 Regarding to claim 11 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1,
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach wherein the scanned
surface area has a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable.
However, Ebisawa teaches wherein the scanned surface area has
a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable. (Fig. 1-3 Item 2 &4 discloses, defect inspecting apparatus including an electrode 4 and therefore, the coaxial flexible piezoelectric member 2 (normally having a length of several hundreds m or more) cannot be polarized. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a provides a defect inspecting apparatus as taught by Ebisawa in order to provide a defect inspecting apparatus for longer lengths of cable.
17 Claim 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS et al. (US 20230411939 A1) in view of Mayumet al. (US 20170249727 A1
18 Regarding to claim 12 HARJUHAHTO discloses a system for inspecting an insulation of a high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high
voltage cable 2 to be inspected position abstract), the system comprising:
an apparatus comprising:
at least one scanning assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 4) for scanning a surface
(Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high voltage cable 2 to be inspected position
abstract), and
an attachment assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 4) configured for attaching the at
least one scanning assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 6) to the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2),
wherein the at least one scanning assembly includes a laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), wherein for evaluating data acquired by the at least one scanning assembly:
the apparatus has an electronic circuit (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses
analysis part 4 comprises a receiver 9 for the measurement data and a processor 10 for processing the measurement data providing defect detection data. abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) configured to carry out a method including:
a data acquisition (Figs. 1-2 Item 4, 10 & 12 discloses analysis part 4 comprises
a receiver 9 for the measurement data and a processor 10 and 12 memory for processing the measurement data providing defect detection data abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), including:
scanning the surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the high voltage cable's insulation
(Figs. 1-2 Item 2 includes insulation or cover layer) by at least one laser scanner
(Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement
sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to
the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), wherein the scanning
includes moving the at least one laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6) and
relative to the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2) along a length direction of
the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2)); and
a data evaluation (Figs. 1-2 Item the analysis part 4 is receiving the
measurement data and the processor10), including:
generating a 3-dimensional model (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a continuous 3D
topographic map of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing
defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4) of the surface of the high
voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a 3D surface scanner is also
able to detect properties of the outer surface 22 of a cable 2 Page 3 -4)
based on the acquired data, or the apparatus is connectable to a computer (Figs.
1-2 Item 4& 12 the analysis part 4 comprises a transmitter 11 for transmitting the
processed data and/or the defect detection data to a cloud storage 12. Computerized
maintenance) for transferring (Figs. 1-2 Item 11 the analysis part 4 comprises a
transmitter 11 for transmitting the processed data and/or the defect detection data to a cloud storage 12), the acquired data to the computer and the system (Figs. 1-2 Item the analysis part 4 is receiving the measurement data and the processor10).
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one
scanning assembly includes a linear axis and a laser scanner attached to the linear axis, wherein the linear axis is configured to provide linear motion to the laser scanner,
comparing the generated model with a reference 3-dimensional model of
the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation.
However, DOEDENS teaches wherein the at least one scanning assembly
includes a linear axis and a laser scanner (Fig. 1-2 item 40 discloses non-contact surface scanner 40 may be moved up/down considered linear and around the surface 5 in Paragraph [0043]) attached to the linear axis, wherein the linear axis is configured to provide linear motion to the laser scanner (Fig. 1-2 item 40 discloses non-contact surface scanner 40 is movable around the cable1 such as scanner 40 may be mounted to a jig, e.g. mountable to the HV-cable, such that the non-contact surface scanner 40 may be moved up/down and around the surface 5 in Paragraph [0043]);
comparing the generated model with a reference 3-dimensional model of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation (Fig. 1-2 discloses comparing the 3D measurement model of the repaired cable with the basis 3D measurement n Paragraph [00121 & 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfolded in HARJUHAHTO to include creating a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface of the cable as taught by DOEDENS in order to determine the quality of the surface of the high voltage cable Paragraph [00121 & 0027]).
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach computer and the system
further includes a computer program product comprising instructions which,
when the computer program product is executed by the computer, cause the
computer to carry out the data evaluation of the method.
However, Mayumet teaches computer and the system further includes a computer program product comprising instructions which,
when the computer program product is executed by the computer, cause the
computer to carry out the data evaluation of the method. (Fig. 1-3 discloses, an
image inspection program, and a computer-readable recording medium and recording
equipment of the invention can be utilized for outer appearance inspection of a
workpiece conveyed on a line.in paragraph 0158)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a computer software inspection program as taught by Mayumet in order to provide accurate and automated monitoring of the inspection cable.
19 Regarding to claim 13 HARJUHAHTO discloses the system according to
claim 12, wherein the apparatus includes at least two laser scanners (Figure 1-2
the 7 of non-contact distance measurement sensors 6 are directed to the outer surface
which are shown top and bottom of cable 2)., wherein the at least two laser
scanners (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser
displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser
is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), are
configured to jointly scan a full circumference of the high voltage cable (Figure 2
the sensors 6 are arranged with substantially even intervals. By arranging the sample
areas 22 are at a circumference of the cable 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection set forth above.
Claim 15 is also objected to as they further limit claim 14.
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858