6DETAILED ACTION
Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments Page 2 “Harjuhahto discloses a method for surface defect detection. However, Harjuhahto fails to teach "wherein the scanning includes moving the at least one laser scanner relative to the high voltage cable along a length direction of the high voltage cable." Harjuhahto describes detecting surface defects by moving a cable 2 along a manufacturing line (direction x) through a set of non- contact distance measurement sensors 6 (laser sensors), as shown in Figures 1-2. (Page 3 lines 20-33.) The scanning therefore moves the cable 2 relative to the laser scanner. This is opposite of the claimed invention.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
HARJUHAHTO discloses scanning a surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8 discloses the
sensors (6) such that beams (7) of the sensors are directable to the outer surface (8) of
the cable (2) abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) of a high voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2
Item 2 discloses the cable 2 to be inspected position abstract). The laser scanner is
shown to move in x direction as shown in Fig1. DOEDENS teaches a scanner (Fig. 1-4
Item 10 discloses a HV-cable end 1 with conductor 2 and outer
insulation layer 4 to determine the quality of the surface 5 of the insulation layer 4..The
measurement of the surface of the cable end, and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold. Contains surface scanner 10 is freely movable in any direction in Paragraph [0004, 0015 & 0029])
Applicant’s arguments Page 3 “Harjuhahto also fails to teach "comparing the generated model with a reference 3-dimensional model of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation." The Office Action at page 5 concedes that Harjuhahto does not teach comparing the generated model with a 3-dimensional model.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
HARJUHAHTO discloses generating a 3-dimensional model (c Figs. 1-2 Item
1 & 12 discloses creates thereof a continuous 3D topographic map and stored 3D data of the outer surface (8) of the cable (2), Cable 2 is a high voltage cable being inspected). HARJUHAHTO discloses (item 1 3D data and reference 3D data stored in memory 12)
DOEDENS teaches comparing the generated model with a
reference 3-dimensional model (Fig. 1-4 discloses, creating a continuous 3D surface
geometry measurement of the surface of the cable (inspect high voltage cable) end and
comparing, using the continuous 3D surface geometry [Abstract & 0008]) of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation (Fig. 1-4 discloses a HV-cable end 1 with conductor 2 and outer insulation layer 4 to determine the quality of the surface 5 of the insulation layer 4 The measurement of the surface of the cable end, and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold. Contains surface scanner 10 is freely movable in any direction in Paragraph [0004, 0015 & 0029]).
Applicant’s arguments Page 4 “The Proposed Combination of Harjuhahto and Doedens Is Improper” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
HARJUHAHTO discloses (The 3D surface scanner can inspect the resulting
cable of the cable and calculation using stored or predetermined data). DOEDENS teaches (The surface 5 of the insulation 4 is inspected to ensure that there are no irregularities in Paragraph [0004],). Both references are in same area of inspecting insulation of the cable.
DOEDENS teaches comparing the data to find (i Fig. 1-4 discloses comparing the data to find (comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold n Paragraph [0017],)
Applicant’s arguments Page 5 “Harjuhahto Does Not Teach Scanning Along a Length Direction of the Cable” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
HARJUHAHTO discloses (wherein the 3D surface scanner 1 is arranged after the cooling section 18 in the run direction x of the cable 2 as shown in Fig 1 below)
Applicant’s arguments Page 6 “Claims 5-7 further recite that "the reference 3-dimensional model is a partly predefined model of a surface of a high voltage cable's insulation and wherein the partly predefined model is adjusted based on the acquired data." The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
DOEDENS teaches comparing the data to find (i Fig. 1-4 discloses comparing the data to find (comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold n Paragraph [0017],)
Applicant’s arguments Page 7 “Claim 11 depends from claim 1 and further recites "wherein the scanned surface area has a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable." The Examiner relies on Ebisawa for this limitation, citing Ebisawa's disclosure of a "coaxial flexible piezoelectric member 2 (normally having a length of several hundreds m or more).." The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ebisawa teaches wherein the scanned surface area has
a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable. (Fig. 1-3 Item 2 &4 discloses, defect inspecting apparatus including an electrode 4 and therefore, the coaxial flexible piezoelectric member 2 (normally having a length of several hundreds of m or more) cannot be polarized. [0028]).
Applicant’s arguments Page 7 “Independent claim 12 recites a system including, inter alia, "at least one scanning assembly" with "a linear axis and a laser scanner attached to the linear axis, wherein the linear axis is configured to provide linear motion to the laser scanner" The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
wherein the at least one scanning assembly
HARJUHAHTO discloses includes a linear axis (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses voltage cable 2 to be inspected position moved in linear axis Fig. 1 and abstract),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3 Claim 1-3, 5-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS; et al. (EP 3901571 A1)
4 Regarding to claim 1, HARJUHAHTO discloses a method for inspecting an
Insulation of a high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high voltage
cable 2 to be inspected position abstract), the method comprising:
a data acquisition including:
scanning a surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8 discloses the sensors (6) such that
beams (7) of the sensors are directable to the outer surface (8) of the cable (2)
abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) of a high voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 2
discloses the cable 2 to be inspected conductor and wire position abstract), by at least one laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6
comprise laser displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam
emitted from a laser is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin
20-35), wherein the scanning includes moving the at least one laser scanner (Figs.
1-2 Item 6 discloses measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement sensors ln a
laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to the outer
surface 8 of the cable 2 Page 3 Lin 20-35) and relative to the high voltage cable
((Figs. 1-2 Item 2) along a length direction of the high voltage cable; and a data
evaluation (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part 4 comprises a receiver 9 for
the measurement data and a processor 10 for processing the measurement data
providing defect detection data abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) including:
generating a 3-dimensional model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses creates thereof
a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface (8) of the cable (2),) of the scanned surface based on the acquired data (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 discloses a continuous 3D topographic map and 12 stored 3D data of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4) of the surface of the high voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a 3D surface scanner is also able to detect properties of the outer surface 22 of a cable Page3 -4); and
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach comparing the generated
model with a reference 3-dimensional model of the surface of the high voltage
cable's insulation;
However, DOEDENS teaches comparing the generated model with a
Reference (i Fig. 1-4 discloses comparing the data to find (comparing the continuous
3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance
threshold n Paragraph [0017],) 3-dimensional model (Fig. 1-4 discloses, creating a
continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface of the cable end and
comparing, using the continuous 3D surface geometry [Abstract]) of the surface of the
high voltage cable's insulation (Fig. 1-4 discloses a HV-cable end 1 with conductor 2
and outer insulation layer 4 to determine the quality of the surface 5 of the insulation
layer 4The measurement of the surface of the cable end, and comparing the
continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry
acceptance threshold. Contains surface scanner 10 is freely movable in any direction in
Paragraph [0004, 0015 & 0029])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include creating a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface of the cable as taught by DOEDENS in order to determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage cable [Abstract]).
5 Regarding to claim 2 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the scanned surface comprises a full circumference of the high
voltage cable (Figure 2 the sensors 6 are arranged with substantially even intervals.
By arranging the sample areas 22 are at a circumference of the cable 2).
6 Regarding to claim 3 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein generating the 3-dimensional model includes combining
measurement data from at least two laser scanner (Figure 1-2 the 7 of non-contact
distance measurement sensors 6 are directed to the outer surface which are shown top
and bottom of cable 2).
7 Regarding to claim 5 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the reference 3-dimensional model is a partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 discloses creates thereof a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface (8) of the cable (2) the stored 3D processed data and/or the defect detection data) of a surface of a high voltage cable's insulation and wherein the partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values are used to find defect) is adjusted based on the acquired data. (Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation).
8 Regarding to claim 6 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 5, wherein a diameter of the partly predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12
shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values are used to find defect)
is adjusted based on the acquired data. (Compared to existing X-rays systems used
in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the
geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the
depth of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor
inside the insulation).
9 Regarding to claim 7 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 6, wherein the diameter is adjusted (Compared to existing X-rays systems
used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides diameter an accurate
monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are
adapted to measure the depth of different layers inside the cable as well as the
eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation). based on at least one of: a
minimum diameter and a maximum diameter of the high voltage cable determined
from the acquired data (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable such
as insulation layer thickness abstract Page 3 and 4)
10 Regarding to claim 8 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the data evaluation further includes determining a state (Figs. 1-2
Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting surface defects of the cable) of the
insulation (insulation layer thickness of cable 2) of the high voltage cable according
to predefined criteria (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable such
as insulation layer thickness abstract Page 3 and 4)
11 Regarding to claim 9 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 8, wherein the determination of a state (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses
analysis part is detecting surface defects of the cable) of the
insulation includes:
calculating distance values (insulation layer thickness of cable 2) between
points of the generated 3-dimensional model and the reference 3-dimensional model (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a continuous 3D topographic map of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4),
12 Regarding to claim 10 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the data evaluation further includes an identification of
irregularities (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses analysis part is detecting surface defects
of the cable) on the surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the insulation (insulation layer
thickness of cable 2) of the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2) according to
predefined criteria (Fig.1 discloses 3D topographic map providing defect detection
data from the cable, and the trained neural network of the analysis part is detecting
surface defects of the cable and outputs surface defect detection data of the cable).
13 Regarding to claim 16 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1, wherein the reference 3-dimensional model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows
continuous 3D model and stored 3D model 12) is a partly predefined model
(c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and measured values
are used to find defect) of a surface of a high voltage cable's (c Figs. 1-2 Item 2)
insulation, wherein the partly predefined model is adjusted based on the acquired data Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation)..
14 Regarding to claim 17 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 16, wherein a diameter (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the cable 2 a high voltage
cable comprises a cable diameter to be inspected position abstract), of the partly
predefined model (c Figs. 1-2 Item 1 & 12 shows continuous 3D model info stored and
measured values are used to find defect) is adjusted based on the acquired
data Compared to existing X-rays systems used in cable manufacturing the 3D surface
scanner 1 provides an accurate monitoring of the geometry of the outer surface 8 of a
cable 2. X-ray systems are adapted to measure the depth or diameter of different layers
inside the cable as well as the eccentricity of the conductor inside the insulation).
15 Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS et al. (EP 3901571 A1) in view of Ebisawa et al. (US 7199508 B2).
16 Regarding to claim 11 HARJUHAHTO discloses the method according to
claim 1,
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach wherein the scanned
surface area has a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable.
However, Ebisawa teaches wherein the scanned surface area has
a length of at least 0.2 m along a main direction of extension of the high voltage cable. (Fig. 1-3 Item 2 &4 discloses, defect inspecting apparatus including an electrode 4 and therefore, the coaxial flexible piezoelectric member 2 (normally having a length of several hundreds m or more) cannot be polarized. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a provides a defect inspecting apparatus as taught by Ebisawa in order to provide a defect inspecting apparatus for longer lengths of cable.
17 Claim 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS; et al. (EP 3901571 A1) in view of Mayumet al. (US 20170249727 A1
18 Regarding to claim 12 HARJUHAHTO discloses a system for inspecting an insulation of a high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high
voltage cable 2 to be inspected position abstract), the system comprising:
an apparatus comprising:
at least one scanning assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 4) for scanning a surface
(Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses the extra high voltage cable 2 to be inspected position
abstract), and
an attachment assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 4) configured for attaching the at
least one scanning assembly (Figs. 1-2 Item 6) to the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2), wherein the at least one scanning assembly
includes a linear axis (Figs. 1-2 Item 2 discloses voltage cable 2 to be inspected position moved in linear axis abstract), and a laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), attached to the linear axis and wherein the linear axis is configured to provide linear motion to the laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 7 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), wherein for evaluating data acquired by the at least one scanning assembly:
the apparatus has an electronic circuit (Figs. 1-2 Item 4 & 10 discloses
analysis part 4 comprises a receiver 9 for the measurement data and a processor 10 for processing the measurement data providing defect detection data. abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35) configured to carry out a method including:
a data acquisition (Figs. 1-2 Item 4, 10 & 12 discloses analysis part 4 comprises
a receiver 9 for the measurement data and a processor 10 and 12 memory for processing the measurement data providing defect detection data abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), including:
scanning the surface (Figs. 1-2 Item 8) of the high voltage cable's insulation
(Figs. 1-2 Item 2 includes insulation or cover layer) by at least one laser scanner
(Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser displacement
sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser is applied to
the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), wherein the scanning
includes moving the at least one laser scanner (Figs. 1-2 Item 6) and
relative to the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2) along a length direction of
the high voltage cable (Figs. 1-2 Item 2)); and
a data evaluation (Figs. 1-2 Item the analysis part 4 is receiving the
measurement data and the processor10), including:
generating a 3-dimensional model (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a continuous 3D
topographic map of the outer surface of the cable, said 3D topographic map providing
defect detection data from the cable Abstract Page 3 -4) of the surface of the high
voltage cable's insulation (Figs. 1-2 Item 1 discloses a 3D surface scanner is also
able to detect properties of the outer surface 22 of a cable 2 Page 3 -4)
based on the acquired data, or the apparatus is connectable to a computer (Figs.
1-2 Item 4& 12 the analysis part 4 comprises a transmitter 11 for transmitting the
processed data and/or the defect detection data to a cloud storage 12. Computerized
maintenance) for transferring (Figs. 1-2 Item 11 the analysis part 4 comprises a
transmitter 11 for transmitting the processed data and/or the defect detection data to a cloud storage 12), the acquired data to the computer and the system (Figs. 1-2 Item the analysis part 4 is receiving the measurement data and the processor10).
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach comparing the generated
model with a reference 3-dimensional model of the surface of the high voltage
cable's insulationl;
However, DOEDENS teaches comparing the generated model with a
reference 3-dimensional model (Fig. 1-4 discloses, creating a continuous 3D surface
geometry measurement of the surface of the cable end and comparing, using the
continuous 3D surface geometry [Abstract]) of the surface of the high voltage
cable's insulation (Fig. 1-4 discloses a HV-cable end 1 with conductor 2 and outer
insulation layer 4 to determine the quality of the surface 5 of the insulation layer 4.The
measurement of the surface of the cable end, and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold. Contains surface scanner 10 is freely movable in any direction in Paragraph [0004, 0015 & 0029])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include creating a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface of the cable as taught by DOEDENS in order to determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage cable [Abstract]).
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach computer and the system
further includes a computer program product comprising instructions which,
when the computer program product is executed by the computer, cause the
computer to carry out the data evaluation of the method.
However, Mayumet teaches computer and the system further includes a computer program product comprising instructions which,
when the computer program product is executed by the computer, cause the
computer to carry out the data evaluation of the method. (Fig. 1-3 discloses, an
image inspection program, and a computer-readable recording medium and recording
equipment of the invention can be utilized for outer appearance inspection of a
workpiece conveyed on a line.in paragraph 0158)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a computer software inspection program as taught by Mayumet in order to provide accurate and automated monitoring of the inspection cable.
19 Regarding to claim 13 HARJUHAHTO discloses the system according to
claim 12, wherein the apparatus includes at least two laser scanners (Figure 1-2
the 7 of non-contact distance measurement sensors 6 are directed to the outer surface
which are shown top and bottom of cable 2)., wherein the at least two laser
scanners (Figs. 1-2 Item 6 discloses the measurement sensors 6 comprise laser
displacement sensors ln a laser displacement sensor, a laser beam emitted from a laser
is applied to the outer surface 8 of the cable 2 abstract Page 3 Lin 20-35), are
configured to jointly scan a full circumference of the high voltage cable (Figure 2
the sensors 6 are arranged with substantially even intervals. By arranging the sample
areas 22 are at a circumference of the cable 2).
20 Claim 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over HARJUHAHTO et al. (WO 2019197530 A1) in view of DOEDENS; et al. (EP 3901571 A1) in view of Mayumet al. (US 20170249727 A1) in further view of WEI et al. (CN 105953756 A).
21 Regarding to claim 14 HARJUHAHTO discloses the system according to
claim 12,
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach wherein the attachment
assembly includes at least one pair of legs attached to the linear axis.
However, WEI teaches wherein the attachment assembly includes at least
one pair of legs attached to the linear axis (Fig. 1-3 Item 2 & 4 discloses, a mounting bracket 1 is fixedly connected with the cable, a synchronous belt assembly 2]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a pair of clamping synchronous belt drive mechanism and a probe assembly as taught by WEI in order to provide the connection pipe for altitude detection, and no harm to the detector body in abstract.
22 Regarding to claim 15 HARJUHAHTO discloses the system according to
claim 14,
However, HARJUHAHTO does not explicitly teach wherein the attachment
assembly includes a strap for attaching the at least one pair of legs to the high
voltage cable.
However, WEI teaches wherein the attachment
assembly includes a strap for attaching the at least one pair of legs to the high
voltage cable (Fig. 1-3 Item 2 & 4 discloses, a mounting bracket 1 is fixedly connected
with the cable, a synchronous belt assembly 2] connected to cable).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an invention which is employed for ice detection and measurement is unfoldedin HARJUHAHTO to include a pair of clamping synchronous belt drive mechanism and a probe assembly as taught by WEI in order to provide the connection pipe for altitude detection, and no harm to the detector body in abstract.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858