DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Amendment filed 18 Nov. 2025
Claims 1-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 18 Nov. 2025, Applicant amended claims 1, 8 and 15; against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 25 Nov. 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park (US 2008/0250354) in view of Krishnaraj et al. (US 2011/0126156; hereinafter Krishnaraj) in view of Malamud (US 5,664,133; IDS of 03/15/2024) in view of further in view of Hatanaka et al. (Pub. No.: US 2002/0078037 A1; Filed: Oct. 12, 2000)(hereinafter “Hatanaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches A method comprising:
displaying one or more tracks associated with the one or more albums via a graphical user interface (GUI) of a controller device(Fig. 4A & [0005], display song tracks of corresponding albums on GUI of a mobile device, e.g., song tracks "Let it Be" and "Panny Lane" from "Beatie" album; [0005] & [0042],
music files or song tracks), wherein the GUI is switchable between a multiselect
mode where multi-selection of tracks is enabled and a mode where multi-
selection of tracks is not enabled (Fig. 2 & [0037]-[0039], Multiple item select mode and normal/single item selection mode where multi-selection of tracks is not enabled),
wherein each track corresponds to a multi-selectable media item that, while the
GUI is in the multiselect mode, and when indicated to do so via the GUI, the track is transitioned to a multi-select state that facilitates application of one multi- select queue management action to every track that is in the multi-select state (Fig. 4A-4F: each song track in Fig. 4a is multi-selectable in Fig. 2; check box in [0036]
& Fig. 4B indicates the selected item 401 is transitioned to a multi-select state while GUI
is in the multiselect mode in step 213 of Fig. 2; [0042] & Fig. 4F & Fig. 2, menu options of "delete, copy, sequential play" commands are multi-select queue management, the selected list is the multi-select queue; see detailed steps in steps 213-225);
in response receiving an indication via the GUI to select a first track of the one or
more tracks, switching the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning the first track into the multi-select state (check box in [0036] & Fig. 4B indicates the selected item 401 is transitioned to a multi-select state while GUI is in the multiselect mode in step 213 of Fig. 2);
while the GUI is in the multiselect mode and the first track is in the multi-
select state, and in response receiving an indication via the GUI to select a second track of the one or more tracks, transitioning the second track into the multi-select state (Fig. 4C, item 401 is the first track selected and 405 is second selected track that is transitioned to a multi-select state; although Fig. 4C shows item 403 is also selected, Fig. 4D shows only 401 and 405 can be selected);
while the GUI is in the multiselect mode and the first track and the second track are in the multi-select state, displaying a menu via the GUI, wherein the menu comprises a plurality of multi-select queue management actions ([0042] & Fig. 4F & Fig. 2, select menu button 407 in Fig. 4E to display menu options of "delete, copy, sequential play" commands in Fig. 4F, that are multi-select queue management actions, see detailed steps in steps 213-225; although Fig. 4F shows item 403 is also selected, Fig. 4D shows only 401 and 405 can be selected before menu 411 is activated);
after receiving an indication to select one multi-select queue management action from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions of the menu
while the GUI is in the multiselect mode and while the first track and the second
track are in the multi-select state, performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first track and the second track ([0042] & Fig. 4F & Fig. 2, select menu button 407 in Fig. 4E to display menu options of "delete, copy, sequential play" commands in Fig. 4F, that are multi-select queue management actions, select a menu command from menu 411 will apply the selected menu command to all selected song tracks/queue in step 225 of Fig. 2 & [0042], such as two tracks selected in Fig. 4D);
after performing the selected multi select queue management aotion tor
both the first track and the second track, transitioning the first track and the
second track to a non selected state;
in response receiving an indication via the GUI to select a third track of the one or
more tracks, [after] switching the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning
the third track into the multi-select state (Fig. 2 & step 213, GUI can be in multiselect mode again; similar to Fig. 4B, a third song track different from previously selected first and second song tracks can be selected by checking a box of a listed items in [0036]; the selected third song track is transitioned to a multi-select state while in step 213 of
Fig. 2, similar to the highlighted 401 in Fig. 4B); and
after receiving an indication to select one multi-select queue management action from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions of the menu and while the third track is in the multi-select state, performing the selected multi-select queue management action for the third track ([0042] & Fig. 2, select menu button 407 in Fig. 4E to display menu options of "delete, copy, sequential play" commands in Fig. 4F, that are multi-select queue management commands, the selected song list is the multi-select queue; see detailed steps in steps 213-225; similar to Fig.
4F, a newly selected command from menu 411 can apply to the selected third track).
Although Park teaches "after receiving an indication via the GUI to select a media item/object, switching the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning the media object into the multi-select state" (Figs. 2-3), Park does not seem to expressly teach
"after receiving an indication via the GUI to select a media object, switching the GUI to
the multiselect mode and transitioning the media object into the multi-select state", to meet the claim limitation "after receiving an indication via the GUI to select a first track of the one or more tracks, switching the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning the first track into the multi-select state".
However, the prior art of Krishnaraj can be relied upon for a teaching of the limitation. Krishnaraj is directed to content viewing ([title]). Krishnaraj teaches graphic user interfaces for users to interact with content items ([0003]). Specifically, Krishnaraj teaches after receiving an indication via the GUI to select a media object, switching the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning the media object into the multi-select state ([0116] & Fig. 15, pressing an object and holding down for over
one second will trigger multi-select mode. In multi-select mode, single-tapping an object
will select the object and the user can select any number of objects; i.e., after pressing
& holding-down a first media object, switch the GUI to the multiselect mode and transitioning the first media object into the multi-select state; any additional media objects can by selected via single-tapping while in multi-select mode; Fig. 16, single album selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have modified the feature of providing multi-select mode from "before selecting the first media object" taught in Park to "after receiving an indication to select the first media object" taught by Krishnaraj to achieve the claim limitation, with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make such a combination since there exists "either before or after'' selecting a first media object to set multi-select mode, i.e., a finite number of predictable solutions to try (Krishnaraj:
[0030] & [0037], input device can be touchscreen or a pointing device; [0116], multi-
select mode, set multi-select mode after the first media item selection; Park: Figs. 2-3,
set multi-select mode before media item selection; obvious to implement one way or the
other to set multi-select mode).
Accordingly, Park/Krishnaraj teaches after receiving an indication via the GUI
to select a first track of the one or more tracks, switching the GUI to the
multiselect mode and transitioning the first track into the multi-select state (Park:
[0036] & Fig. 4B, enter multiselect mode in step 213 of Fig. 2 before selecting item 401;
Park, in view of switching to multiselect mode after selecting the first media item taught by [0116] of Krishnaraj, teaches the limitation);
while the GUI is in the multiselect mode and the first track and the second track are in the multi-select state, displaying a menu via the GUI, wherein the menu comprises a plurality of multi-select queue management actions; and after receiving an indication to select one multi-select queue management action from
the plurality of multi-select queue management actions of the menu while the GUI
is in the multiselect mode and while the first track and the second track are in the multi-select state, performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first track and the second track (Park: [0042] & Fig. 4F & Fig. 2, select menu button 407 in Fig. 4E to display menu options of "delete, copy, sequential play" commands in Fig. 4F, that are multi-select queue management actions, the selected list is the multi-select queue; see detailed steps in steps 213-225; although Fig. 4C shows item 403 is also selected, Fig. 4D shows only 401 and 405 can be selected before menu 411 is activated; Krishnaraj: Fig. 15 & [0116], like Fig. 3 & [0050]-[0052], "share",
"delete", "more" or other management actions can be selected and applied to all
multiple selected items, while the GUI is in the multiselect mode in Fig. 15; Park, in view
of perform a selected action on all selected objects, while the GUI is in the multiselect
mode of Krishnaraj, teaches the limitation);
Park/Krishnaraj seems to be silent on the feature "after performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first media object and the second media object, transitioning the first media object and the second media object to a non- selected state", to meet the claim limitation "after performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first track and the second track, transitioning the first track and the second track to a non-selected state".
However, the prior art of Malamud can be relied upon for a teaching of the feature. Malamud is directed toward context sensitive menu system/menu behavior ([title]). Malamud teaches in response to receiving a selection of a single object, displaying a first menu of actions comprising a plurality of the first actions that apply to the single object (Fig. 1OA & [col 2, line 35-38] & Figs. 2-3 & [col 4, line 30-36] and other related paragraphs). Malamud also teaches while the first object and the second object are in the multi-select state, displaying a menu via the GUI, wherein the menu comprises a plurality of multi-select queue management actions (Fig. 1OB & [col 2, line 35-38] & [col 9, line 50-63], while second menu 54 is displayed, select an action via button 17 and apply a selected action to each of the selected objects). Specifically, Malamud teaches after performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first media object and the second media object, transitioning
the first media object and the second media object to a non-selected state (Fig. 7 & [col 8, line 33-62], after objects 40 and 42 receive and after a selected menu action is applied to selected objects, object 42 is transitioned to a non-selected state in the fifth state of Fig. 7; noted that object 40 is disappeared since the selected menu action is a
"move here" action. Otherwise, both objects 40 and 42 would be in a non-selected state in the fifth state where selected state is highlighted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have modified the user interface of providing multi-select queue management actions on all selected objects in Park/Krishnaraj to include non-selected state display after selected action execution expressly taught in Malamud to achieve the claim limitation, with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide an intuitive user interface for user to interact with displayed content ([col 1, line 51-59).
Hatanaka teach a single click of a checkable area associated with a first track of the one or more tracks (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9);
multi-select state that causes the first track to be displayed with a check in the checkable area associated with the first track (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9);
a single click of a checkable area associated with a second track of the one or more tracks (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9);
multi-select state that causes the second track to be displayed with a check in the checkable area associated with the second track (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9);
non-selected state causes the first track to be displayed without a check in the checkable area associated with the first track and further cause the second track to be displayed without a check in the checkable area associated with the second track (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9);
multi-select state that causes the third track to be displayed with a check in the checkable area associated with the third track (0096; 0106; Figs 5, 8 & 9).
Therefore at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hatanaka with Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud for the benefit of searching for and display already-recorded contents information at the time of recording contents such as music data onto a recording medium (0006).
Regarding claim 5, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud teaches The method of claim 1. Park also teaches the limitation wherein the one multi-select queue management action selected from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions is a play now action (Fig. 4F & [0042], play option in menu 411).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: memory unit in Fig. 1) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: processors/Control-Unit of computers in Fig. 1 execute instructions to display as in Fig. 4A) cause a controller
device to perform a method of claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected with the same rationale as
claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Park: memory unit in Fig. 1) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: processors/Control- Unit of computers in Fig. 1 execute instructions to display as in Fig. 4A) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 5. Claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to A controller device (Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit) comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to A controller device (Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit) comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 5. Claim 19 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claims 2-4, 9-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud, and further in view of Dwek (US 6,248,946; IDS of 03/15/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud teaches The method of claim 1.
Park does not seem to expressly teach the limitation wherein the one multi-select queue management action selected from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions is an add to queue action, and wherein performing the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first track and the second track includes adding both the first track and the second track to a playback queue for playback by one or more playback devices.
However, the prior art of Dwek can be relied upon for a teaching of the limitation. Dwek is directed toward multimedia content delivery ([title]). Dwek teaches building a custom playlist of music selections desired by a listener ([abstract]). Dwek teaches a user interface for users to select multiple media items including albums and song tracks (Fig. 3A & [col 6, line 9-30] & [col 7, line 32-50], songs/tracks names under albums/CDs, displayed in subpane 344 or 354; Fig. 3A & [col 7, line 5-12] & [col 8, line 18-26], highlight a first selected song item to transition the system into multi-select state, before a second song item is selected while the first song item remains to be selected). Dwek also teaches a user interface for users to select single media item at a time ([col 9, line 58-67]-[col 10, line 1-3]). Specifically, Dwek teaches the limitation wherein the one multi-select queue management action selected from the plurality of multi-select
queue management actions is an add to queue action, and wherein performing
the selected multi-select queue management action for both the first track and the second track includes adding both the first track and the second track to a playback queue for playback by one or more playback devices (Fig. 3A & [col 7, line 5-12] & [col 8, line 19-26], after the user selects "add to Playlist" via button 347 or 357 from the at least one menu having multiple action buttons discussed above, while the first and second songs are highlighted/in-the-multi-select-state, perform the addition of the first and second songs into the playlist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have included the multi-select queue management actions in Dwek to the user interface of Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud to achieve the claim limitation, with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make such a combination so that users can build custom playlists of music selections desired for their playback ([abstract] & Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud/Dwek teaches The method of claim 2. For reasons cited and discussed in claim 2, Dwek also teaches the limitation wherein adding both the first track and the second track to a playback queue for playback by one or more playback devices comprises causing at least one playback device of the one or more playback devices to add a link to the first track and a link to the second track to a queue stored on the at least one playback device of the one or more playback devices (Dwek: [col. 6, line 53-67], The
highlighted item is a link to the database 114 via database index in [col 4, line 44-52] for
retrieving a song or songs in a CD through streaming across the internet, user can play
the highlighted music item in subpane 344 with button 345 of Fig. 3A via content
streaming across the internet to the music player 120, the same is true for highlighted items; Fig. 3A & [col. 7, line 5-12] & [col 8, line 18-26], highlighted first and second multi- selectable music selections are added to a playlist with the "add to playlist" button, to be
delivered to the user's music player 120, thus adding selected items are adding links to
the playlist; Fig. 3A, the playlist or queue is stored at least on the playback device, e.g., music player 130, shown in Fig. 3A & Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud/Dwek teaches The method of claim 2. For reasons cited and discussed in claim 2, Dwek also teaches the limitation further comprising: after adding both the first track and the second track to a playback queue for playback by one or more playback devices, displaying a graphical representation of the first track and a graphical representation of the second track in a first list(Fig. 3A & [col. 7, line 5-12] & [col 8, line 18-26], highlighted music selections in search pane 344 or Library pane 354 are added to a playlist, with the "add to playlist" button 347 or 357, the playlist 320c is displayed in the playlist pane 361 in [col 8, line 41-49]).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: Fig. 1, memory unit) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: Fig. 1 & [claim 11], execute instructions) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 2. Claim 9 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 2
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: Fig. 1, memory unit) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: Fig. 1 & [claim 11], execute instructions) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 3. Claim 10 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: Fig. 1, memory unit) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: Fig. 1 & [claim 11], execute instructions) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 4. Claim 11 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to A controller device (Park: Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit) comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 2. Claim 16 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to A controller device (Park: Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit)
comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 3. Claim 17 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to A controller device (Park: Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit) comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud as applied to claims 1,8 and 15 above, and further in view of Cassidy (US 2012/0059910; IDS of 03/15/2024).
Regarding claim 6, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud teaches The method of claim 1.
The combination does not seem to expressly teach the limitation wherein the one multi- select queue management action selected from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions is a replace queue action.
However, the prior art of Cassidy can be relied upon for a teaching of the one multi-select queue management action. Cassidy is directed toward providing unlimited access to media content like music ([title] & [abstract]). Cassidy teaches the limitation wherein the one multi-select queue management action selected from the plurality of multi-select queue management actions is a replace queue action (Fig.
14B & [0127], a replace queue button 1460).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have modified the user interface of Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud to include the features of queue management in Cassidy to achieve the claim limitation, with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide users an intuitive way of media management and playing back multiple selected music items (Cassidy: [0125] & Figs. 14A-14C, intuitive interfaces for selecting and operating on media and manage playback; Park: [0042] & Fig. 4F, sequentially play selected songs).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: Fig. 1, memory unit) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: Fig. 1 & [claim 11], execute instructions) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 6. Claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to A controller device (Park: Fig. 1, a computer) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 1, computer control-unit); and tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1, computer memory unit) comprising program instructions (Fig. 1 & [claim 11]) executable by the one or more processors such that the controller device is configured to perform the method of claim 6. Claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud as applied to claims 1,8 above, and further in view of Chinn et al. (US 2006/0250834; hereinafter Chinn).
Regarding claim 7, Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud teaches The method of claim 1. Park does not seem to expressly teach the limitation further comprising: after receiving an input via the GUI to select the third track, displaying contents associated with the third track in the GUI.
However, the prior art of Chinn can be relied upon for a teaching of the display in response to the third track selection. Chinn is directed toward display a set of data elements ([title]). Chinn teaches selecting multiple media items (Fig. 24 & [0098], 2410 & 2420 are selected). Chinn also teaches displaying a contextual menu (Fig. 22).
Specifically, Chinn teaches the limitation further comprising: after receiving an input via the GUI to select the third track, displaying contents associated with the third track in the GUI (Fig. 27A & [0109], the selection of song-2 2720 causes information related to song-2 2720 to be displayed in a related information line 2740 below song-2 2720. The related information includes a title 2750 of song-2 2720, an artist 2760 that is performing song-2 2720, an album 2770 that includes song-2 2720, and a length 2780 indicating the length (in time) of song-2 2720).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have modified the user interface of Park/Krishnaraj/Malamud to include the contextual information pop-up taught by Chinn to achieve the claim limitation, with reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide users an intuitive way of learning additional information of
interested music item in the context of other existing information (Chinn: Fig. 27A & [0109]).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a tangible, non-transitory computer- readable media (Park: Fig. 1, memory unit) comprising instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed (Park: Fig. 1 & [claim 11], execute instructions) cause a controller device to perform a method of claim 7. Claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768