DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to application 18/339,716 filed 06/22/2023 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-14,16-18, 21, 22 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saily et al (US 2024/0163840 A1).
Regarding clam 1, Saily teaches a first wireless device for wireless communication (Saily: Fig. 7: Backscatter node BN1), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to:
receive control signaling that indicates a set of resources during which the first wireless device activates retroreflection communications between the first wireless device and a second wireless device (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; BN1 receives configuration information comprising frequency shifts and channels for transmitting/activating backscatter/retroreflection signal to the UE1/second wireless device);
monitor a first subset of the set of resources for a waveform in accordance with the control signaling (Saily: Fig. 7, step 4; [0074], [0078] BN1 monitors a frequency/first offset to receive the continuous signal from UE1); and
transmit, via a second subset of the set of resources, a retroreflected signal of the waveform based at least in part on monitoring for the waveform (Saily: Fig. 7: step 5, [0074], [0078], BN1 transmits the backscattered/retroreflected signal after performing a frequency shift to its frequency offset/second subset).
Regarding clam 16, Saily teaches an apparatus for wireless communications (Saily: Fig. 7; UE1), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit control signaling that indicates a set of resources during which a first wireless device activates retroreflection communications between the first wireless device and the apparatus device (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; BN1 receives configuration information comprising frequency shifts and channels for transmitting/activating backscatter/retroreflection signal to the UE1/first wireless device);
transmit, via a first subset of the set of resources, a waveform in accordance with the control signaling (Saily: Fig. 7, step 4; [0074], [0078] BN1 monitors a frequency/first offset to receive the continuous signal from UE1); and
receive, via a second subset of the set of resources, a retroreflected signal of the waveform based at least in part on transmitting the waveform (Saily: Fig. 7: step 5, [0074], [0078], BN1 transmits the backscattered/retroreflected signal after performing a frequency shift to its frequency offset/second subset).
Regarding clam 26, Saily teaches an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
identify a first wireless device and a second wireless device that support retroreflection communications (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; UE1 and BN1 performing backscattering/retroreflection communication); and
transmit, to the second wireless device and based on identifying of the second wireless device, a message indicating a set of resources for the retroreflection communications with the first wireless device (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; BN1 receives configuration information comprising frequency shifts and channels for transmitting/activating backscatter/retroreflection signal to the UE1/first wireless device).
Regarding clam 30, Saily teaches a method for wireless communications at a first wireless device, comprising:
receiving control signaling that indicates a set of resources during which the first wireless device activates retroreflection communications between the first wireless device and a second wireless device (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; BN1 receives configuration information comprising frequency shifts and channels for transmitting/activating backscatter/retroreflection signal to the UE1/second wireless device);
monitoring a first subset of the set of resources for a waveform in accordance with the control signaling (Saily: Fig. 7, step 4; [0074], [0078] BN1 monitors a frequency/first offset to receive the continuous signal from UE1); and
transmitting, via a second subset of the set of resources, a retroreflected signal of the waveform based at least in part on monitoring for the waveform (Saily: Fig. 7: step 5, [0074], [0078], BN1 transmits the backscattered/retroreflected signal after performing a frequency shift to its frequency offset/second subset).
Regarding claim 2, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: modulate the waveform with information based at least in part on monitoring the first subset of the set of resources, wherein the retroreflected signal of the waveform includes the information based at least in part on modulating the waveform with the information (Saily: Fig. 7; [0038], [0065]).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Saily teaches wherein the information comprises an identifier of the first wireless device, waveform information, service requests of the first wireless device, or both (Saily: Fig. 7; [0079] BN ID modulated in the ACK).
Regarding claim 4, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from the second wireless device, a broadcast control signal based at least in part on transmitting the retroreflected signal of the waveform (Saily: Fig. 7; [0065]).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of an antenna array to use for the retroreflection communications, wherein the retroreflected signal of the waveform is transmitted via the antenna array (Saily: Fig. 7; [0083], [0117] all antenna used).
Regarding claim 11, Saily teaches wherein activation of the retroreflection communications is based at least in part on a cell associated with the second wireless device (Saily: Fig. 7; [0087]), a channel raster associated with a channel between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, or both.
Regarding claim 12, Saily teaches wherein the first subset of the set of resources is associated with a first frequency band and the second subset of the set of resources is associated with a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (Saily: Fig. 7: step 5, [0074], [0078], BN1 transmits the backscattered/retroreflected signal after performing a frequency shift to its frequency offset/second subset).
Regarding claim 13, Saily teaches wherein the first subset of the set of resources and the second subset of the set of resources are associated with a same frequency band (Saily: [0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Saily teaches wherein the first wireless device is operating in a connected mode of operation, and the control signaling is received via a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, downlink control information, or a combination thereof (Saily: Fig. 7; UE1 and BN1 in connected mode and control information is received by the BN1).
Regarding claim 17, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: measure positioning information associated with the first wireless device based at least in part on receiving the retroreflected signal of the waveform; and transmit the positioning information associated with the first wireless device based at least in part on measuring the positioning information (Saily: Fig. 7; [0082]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: transmit a broadcast control signal in a direction of the first wireless device, the direction being based at least in part on the positioning information (Saily: Fig. 7; [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive a message indicating the set of resources for the retroreflection communications, the message further indicating a set of transmission parameters for transmission of the waveform from the apparatus to the first wireless device, wherein transmitting the control signaling is in accordance with receiving the set of resources, and wherein transmitting the waveform is in accordance with the set of transmission parameters (Saily: Fig. 7; [0074]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 22, Saily teaches wherein the set of transmission parameters comprise a waveform configuration, a transmission power of the waveform, an identifier associated with the first wireless device, or a combination thereof (Saily: Fig. 7; [0092], OFDM waveform).
Regarding claim 27, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the message, an indication of a set of transmission parameters for transmission of a waveform from the second wireless device to the first wireless device (Saily: Fig. 7; [0074]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 28, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the second wireless device, an indication of positioning information associated with the first wireless device, wherein the positioning information comprises an angle between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, a delay associated with communications between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, doppler information associated with the communications between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, or a combination thereof (Saily: [0034], [0065], [0091], see Figs. 7 and 13).
Regarding claim 29, Saily teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the second wireless device, a message indicating of a set of sidelink resources for sidelink communications between the first wireless device and the second wireless device based at least in part on receiving the positioning information (Saily: Fig. 7: step 4; [0074] ; BN1 receives configuration information comprising frequency shifts and sidelink channels for transmitting/activating backscatter/retroreflection signal to the UE1/second wireless device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saily et al (US 2024/0163840 A1) in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0089725 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Saily does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to: transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the first wireless device to support the retroreflection communications, wherein receiving the control signaling is based at least in part on the capability of the first wireless device.
Wang teaches transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the first wireless device to support the retroreflection communications, wherein receiving the control signaling is based at least in part on the capability of the first wireless device (Wang: Fig. 10; [0122], backscattering capability transmitted).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saily to transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the first wireless device to support the retroreflection communications, wherein receiving the control signaling is based at least in part on the capability of the first wireless device as disclosed by Wang to provide a system for backscattering modulation (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Saily in view of Wang teaches wherein the capability message further indicates supported modulation schemes for the retroreflection communications, supported frequency bands for the retroreflection communications, latency metrics associated with the retroreflection communications, a transmission gain associated with the retroreflection communications, or a combination thereof (Wang: [0122], capability comprising modulation scheme supported).
Regarding claim 8, Saily in view of Wang teaches wherein the capability message further indicates whether the first wireless device supports active retroreflection communications between, a power capability associated with the active retroreflection communications, or both (Wang: [0122], capability is capability of backscattering/retroreflection).
Regarding claim 9, Saily in view of Wang teaches wherein the capability message further indicates whether the first wireless device supports concurrent retroreflection communications and actively powered communications between the first wireless device and the second wireless device or a third wireless device Wang: [0122], capability of backscattering/retroreflection and communication with UE 120 and network node 110).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478