DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites "wherein the liquid crystal compound is horizontally aligned”, because there is no reference being set forth for the horizontal direction as recited. In this office action, it is taken that the horizontal direction is in-plane direction of the light absorption anisotropic film, wherein the longest dimension of liquid crystal molecule is parallel with top or bottom surface of the light absorption anisotropic film. Claims 2-10 and 15-20 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al (US 2020/0318011, of record, see IDS 11/25/25, ‘011 hereafter) in view of Namikawa et al (JP 2008225281, of record, see IDS 08/10/23 and attached English translation, ‘281 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 11, 16 and 18, ‘011 discloses a light absorption anisotropic film formed of a liquid crystal composition that contains a liquid crystal compound, which includes a polymer liquid crystal compound as in present claims 7 and 18 ([0008]-[0012], [0077]-[0081], [0215]-[0249], M1 in Examples P1 to P9, Table 1, [0547]); and a dichroic substance ([0109]-[0191], D1, D2 as in Examples P1 to P9, Table 1, [0547]); wherein the liquid crystal compound is horizontally aligned ([0324]-[0325], Interface modifier F1 for horizontal alignment, Examples as in Table 1, [0547]). ‘011 does not disclose that the liquid crystal composition further contains a boronic acid compound having a polymerizable group. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘281 discloses a liquid crystal composition comprising a liquid crystal compound ([0005]-[0006], [0022]-[0053]), wherein a boronic acid compound containing a polymerizable group represented by each of following chemical formulae ([0023]-[0034]) is used to render an optical film having better adhesion and durability ([0022]):
The formulae read upon the instantly claimed compound represented by Formula (B-1) and Formula (B-2) as in present claims 2-3 and 16; wherein RB11 and RB21 each is hydrogen; LB1 and LB2 each is a single bond or a divalent group; RB12, RB13, RB22, RB23, and RB24 each is hydrogen. In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the boric acid as taught by ‘281, to modify the liquid crystal composition of ‘011, in order to render a liquid composition being capable of forming an optical film having better adhesion to a substrate and better durability.
Regarding claims 4, 13 and 17, modified ‘011 teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, ‘281 also disclose the preferred content of the boronic acid compound containing a polymerizable group is in a range of 0.005% to 8% by mass with respect to a total mass of a solid content of the liquid crystal composition, which significantly overlaps instantly claimed range ([0034]).
Regarding claims 8-10, 15 and 19-20, modified ‘011 teaches all the limitations of claims 1, ‘011 also discloses a laminate comprising the light absorption anisotropic film and a λ/4 plate on a side of the light absorption anisotropic film opposite, which are laminated together by an adhesive including polyvinyl alcohol-based adhesive ([0420], [0423]-[0425], [0472]-[0474]); and an image display device comprising the laminate ([0474]-[0487]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome 112 rejections as set forth above and including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose, teach or fairly suggest a liquid crystal composition as recited in the present claims 1 and 11, comprises a boronic acid compound represented by Formula BX-1 or Formula BX-2.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782