Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 20 July 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claim objections regarding claims 7-10, 12, 15-16, and 19-20 have been overcome in view of the amendment to the claims. However, claim objections regarding claims 13-14 remain, as detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 20 July 2026 has been fully considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “a terrestrial based emitter, a water based emitter, an airborne based emitter, an extra-terrestrial based emitter” which is suggested to be amended to “a terrestrial-based emitter, a water-based emitter, an airborne-based emitter, an extraterrestrial-based emitter”.
Claim 14 recites “a terrestrial based receiver, a water based receiver, an airborne based receiver, an extra-terrestrial based receiver” which is suggested to be amended to “a terrestrial-based receiver, a water-based receiver, an airborne-based receiver, an extraterrestrial-based receiver”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 19-20, and 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya et al. (WO 2021/171499 A1 newly cited “FURUYA”), in view of Druffel et al. (US 2021/0012171 A1 previously cited “DRUFFEL”).
Examiner’s note: For purpose of citations, the Examiner will use US equivalence that is US 2022/0328973 A1 as English translation for WO 2021171499 A1.
Regarding claim 1, FURUYA discloses (Examiner’s note: What FURUYA does not explicitly disclose is strike-through) a frequency selective surface comprising: a substantially planar substrate including a radio frequency absorbing material and a radio frequency reflection element (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]), the radio frequency reflection element configured to reflect the board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [0029 & FIG. 1]); (FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), the radio frequency reflection element disposed on or partially within an interior volume of the substantially planar substrate and in contact with the radio frequency absorbing material (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]), wherein the frequency selective surface is configured to receive an emitted radio frequency signal, the radio frequency reflection element is configured to reflect FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), and the radio frequency absorbing material is configured to absorb non-reflected radio frequency energy from the emitted radio frequency signal (the electromagnetic wave absorber 10 selectively absorbs an electromagnetic wave in a specific frequency band [0029 & FIG. 1]).
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL further teaches that FSS tags may be configured, such as by individual shapes and/or by spatial arrangement and density of an array of shapes, to reflect signals (resonate) in the range of 3 KHz to 300 GHz, or in particular 1 GHz to 10 GHz or 2.4 GHz to 10 GHz in some embodiments. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag [0015]. Material selection is another parameter which may be used to control or influence the resonance or frequency response of an FSS [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 2, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL further teaches that an ID tag for unique labeling and identification comprises an array of one or more frequency selective surfaces (FSS) configured to produce a unique response when in the presence of a wireless signal. The unique response is usable to individually identify the producing array of FSS (e.g., as distinguished from other arrays of FSS) [0016]. Locations 1005 may also be determined for respective ID tags [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 5, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1, wherein the reflected radio frequency includes frequencies in a range between 3 MHz to 30 GHz (FSS tags may be configured, such as by individual shapes and/or by spatial arrangement and density of an array of shapes, to reflect signals (resonate) in the range of 3 KHz to 300 GHz, or in particular 1 GHz to 10 GHz or 2.4 GHz to 10 GHz [DRUFFEL 0015], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1, wherein the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the radio frequency reflection elements (the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the frequency selective surface unit elements [FURUYA 0009 & claim 1]),
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL teaches that a frequency selective surface (FSS) is an electromagnetic structure (or combination of structures) that resonates with a particular frequency [0012]. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag. Two or more FSS may be stacked together or arranged in the same/common substantially two-dimensional plane [0015]. One or more of several parameters of FSS may be varied to control spectrum response and make each tag's response unique. Such parameters may include but are not limited to geometric shape, geometric dimensions or size, arrangement, material(s), etc. [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 9, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating a remote object of Claim 26,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL teaches that association may comprise, for example, affixing to each of a plurality of items or products a different ID tag. Affixing may include adhering, stapling, or tying, for example, to a thing or its wrappings (e.g., packaging, casing, housing, clothing, etc.) [0058]. Furthermore, DRUFFEL teaches that personnel in a workplace may temporarily affix a badge or nametag which is or includes a FSS-based tag while on the job [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 10, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating the remote object of Claim 26,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL teaches that personnel in a workplace may temporarily affix a badge or nametag which is or includes a FSS-based tag while on the job [0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 12, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating the remote object of Claim 26, wherein the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the radio frequency reflection elements (the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the frequency selective surface unit elements [FURUYA 0009 & claim 1]),
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL teaches that a frequency selective surface (FSS) is an electromagnetic structure (or combination of structures) that resonates with a particular frequency [0012]. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag. Two or more FSS may be stacked together or arranged in the same/common substantially two-dimensional plane [0015]. One or more of several parameters of FSS may be varied to control spectrum response and make each tag's response unique. Such parameters may include but are not limited to geometric shape, geometric dimensions or size, arrangement, material(s), etc. [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 13, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating the remote object of Claim 26, wherein the radio frequency emitter includes a member selected from a group consisting of a terrestrial based emitter, a water based emitter, an airborne based emitter, an extra-terrestrial based emitter, and combinations thereof (a transmitter 104 configured to generate the wireless network signal 111 [DRUFFEL 0039], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 26); (the tracking system coverage is of a facility with four rooms, and it may be desired to locate an ID tag (and/or whatever entity is associated with that ID tag) specifically within that space (e.g., in one room versus one of the other rooms) [DRUFFEL 0077], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 26). It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight. In this case, the alternative “a terrestrial based emitter” corresponds to the “transmitter 104” as disclosed by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 14, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating the remote object of Claim 26, wherein the radio frequency receiver includes a member selected from a group consisting of a terrestrial based receiver, a water based receiver, an airborne based receiver, an extra-terrestrial based receiver, and combinations thereof (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [DRUFFEL 0040], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 26); (the tracking system coverage is of a facility with four rooms, and it may be desired to locate an ID tag (and/or whatever entity is associated with that ID tag) specifically within that space (e.g., in one room versus one of the other rooms) [DRUFFEL 0077], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 26). It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight. In this case, the alternative “a terrestrial based receiver” corresponds to the “receiver 103” as disclosed by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 16, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the method of identifying and locating the object of Claim 27, including providing a report including an identity of the object and the location of the object (an ID tag for unique labeling and identification comprises an array of one or more frequency selective surfaces (FSS) configured to produce a unique response when in the presence of a wireless signal. The unique response is usable to individually identify the producing array of FSS (e.g., as distinguished from other arrays of FSS) [DRUFFEL 0016], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 27); (locations 1005 may also be determined for respective ID tags [DRUFFEL 0065], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 27).
Regarding claim 19, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the method of identifying and locating the object of Claim 27, wherein the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the radio frequency reflection elements (the frequency selective surface includes a plurality of the frequency selective surface unit elements [FURUYA 0009 & claim 1]), the system 100 comprises one or more processors 104 [DRUFFEL 0037] having a computer readable storage medium 106 [DRUFFEL 0039]. The FSS tag spectrum responses being reduced to sets (e.g., pairs) of discrete coordinate values 1002, the coordinates are subjected to matching pairing 1003 against pre-existing/known reference values which tie each set of unique values to a specific ID tag [DRUFFEL 0069], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 27).
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL teaches that a frequency selective surface (FSS) is an electromagnetic structure (or combination of structures) that resonates with a particular frequency [0012]. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag. Two or more FSS may be stacked together or arranged in the same/common substantially two-dimensional plane [0015]. One or more of several parameters of FSS may be varied to control spectrum response and make each tag's response unique. Such parameters may include but are not limited to geometric shape, geometric dimensions or size, arrangement, material(s), etc. [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 20, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the method of identifying and locating the object of Claim 19, wherein: emitting the specific radio frequency of the radio frequency reflection element with the radio frequency emitter includes emitting the specific radio frequency of each of the radio frequency reflection elements with the radio frequency emitter (a transmitter 104 configured to generate the wireless network signal 111 [DRUFFEL 0039], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 27); reflecting the specific radio frequency with the radio frequency reflection element includes reflecting the specific radio frequency by each of the radio frequency reflection elements to form the multi-radio frequency reflection pattern (multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag. Two or more FSS may be stacked together or arranged in the same/common substantially two-dimensional plane [DRUFFEL 0015], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 19); (one or more of several parameters of FSS may be varied to control spectrum response and make each tag's response unique. Such parameters may include but are not limited to geometric shape, geometric dimensions or size, arrangement, material(s), etc. [DRUFFEL 0048], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 19); and receiving the reflected radio frequency with the radio frequency receiver includes receiving the multi-radio frequency reflection pattern with the radio frequency receiver (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [DRUFFEL 0040], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 27).
Regarding claim 22, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1, wherein the substantially planar substrate is formed from the radio frequency absorbing material (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [FURUYA 0028], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 22, wherein the radio frequency reflection element is disposed on a surface of the substantially planar substrate (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [FURUYA 0028], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); (this electromagnetic wave absorber 10 includes a board 11 and a conductor board 12. The board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [FURUYA 0029 & FIG. 1], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 24, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1, wherein the radio frequency reflection element and the radio frequency absorbing material are not disposed in separate structural layers (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [FURUYA 0028], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); (this electromagnetic wave absorber 10 includes a board 11 and a conductor board 12. The board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [FURUYA 0029 & FIG. 1], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 25, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1, wherein the frequency selective surface comprises a single integrated structure (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [FURUYA 0028], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); (this electromagnetic wave absorber 10 includes a board 11 and a conductor board 12. The board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [FURUYA 0029 & FIG. 1], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 26, FURUYA discloses a system for identifying and locating a remote object, the system comprising: a frequency selective surface a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]); and a radio frequency reflection element, the radio frequency reflection element configured to reflect the board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [0029 & FIG. 1]); (FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), the radio frequency reflection element disposed on or partially within an interior volume of the substantially planar substrate and in contact with the radio frequency absorbing material (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]), wherein the frequency selective surface is configured to receive an emitted radio frequency signal, the radio frequency reflection element is configured to reflect FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), and the radio frequency absorbing material is configured to absorb non-reflected radio frequency energy from the emitted radio frequency signal (the electromagnetic wave absorber 10 selectively absorbs an electromagnetic wave in a specific frequency band [0029 & FIG. 1]);
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL further teaches that FSS tags may be configured, such as by individual shapes and/or by spatial arrangement and density of an array of shapes, to reflect signals (resonate) in the range of 3 KHz to 300 GHz, or in particular 1 GHz to 10 GHz or 2.4 GHz to 10 GHz in some embodiments. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag [0015]. Material selection is another parameter which may be used to control or influence the resonance or frequency response of an FSS [0056]. Furthermore, DRUFFEL teaches a frequency selective surface configured to be maintained in proximity to the remote object (the tracking system coverage is of a facility with four rooms, and it may be desired to locate an ID tag (and/or whatever entity is associated with that ID tag) specifically within that space (e.g., in one room versus one of the other rooms) [0077]); a radio frequency emitter configured to emit the emitted radio frequency signal (a transmitter 104 configured to generate the wireless network signal 111 [0039]); a radio frequency receiver configured to receive the reflected radio frequency (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [0040]); and an operating system including a database and a location deriving capability, the reflected radio frequency associated with the remote object in the database, and the operating system configured to utilize the reflected radio frequency received by the radio frequency receiver to identify the remote object and determine a location of the remote object (the system 100 comprises one or more processors 104 [0037] having a computer readable storage medium 106 [0039]. The FSS tag spectrum responses being reduced to sets (e.g., pairs) of discrete coordinate values 1002, the coordinates are subjected to matching pairing 1003 against pre-existing/known reference values which tie each set of unique values to a specific ID tag [0069]. Locations 1005 may also be determined for respective ID tags [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Regarding claim 27, FURUYA discloses a method of identifying and locating an object, comprising: providing a frequency selective surface comprising: a substantially planar substrate including a radio frequency absorbing material (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]); and a radio frequency reflection element, the radio frequency reflection element configured to reflect the board 11 is, for example, a dielectric substrate. A front surface of this board 11 constitutes the FSS [0029 & FIG. 1]); (FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), the radio frequency reflection element disposed on or partially within an interior volume of the substantially planar substrate and in contact with the radio frequency absorbing material (a structure of an electromagnetic wave absorber 10 including FSS unit elements 21 [0028 & FIG. 1]), wherein the frequency selective surface is configured to receive an emitted radio frequency signal, the radio frequency reflection element is configured to reflect FSS can achieve a reflection or transmission characteristic [0085]), and the radio frequency absorbing material is configured to absorb non-reflected radio frequency energy from the emitted radio frequency signal (the electromagnetic wave absorber 10 selectively absorbs an electromagnetic wave in a specific frequency band [0029 & FIG. 1]); the electromagnetic wave absorber 10 selectively absorbs an electromagnetic wave in a specific frequency band [0029 & FIG. 1]);
In a same or similar field of endeavor, DRUFFEL further teaches that FSS tags may be configured, such as by individual shapes and/or by spatial arrangement and density of an array of shapes, to reflect signals (resonate) in the range of 3 KHz to 300 GHz, or in particular 1 GHz to 10 GHz or 2.4 GHz to 10 GHz in some embodiments. Multiple geometric shapes may be integrated together within a single tag to influence the reflected response of the tag [0015]. Material selection is another parameter which may be used to control or influence the resonance or frequency response of an FSS [0056]. Furthermore, DRUFFEL teaches associating the reflected radio frequency with the object (an ID tag for unique labeling and identification comprises an array of one or more frequency selective surfaces (FSS) configured to produce a unique response when in the presence of a wireless signal. The unique response is usable to individually identify the producing array of FSS (e.g., as distinguished from other arrays of FSS) [0016]); providing a radio frequency emitter configured to emit the emitted radio frequency signal (a transmitter 104 configured to generate the wireless network signal 111 [0039]); providing a radio frequency receiver configured to receive the reflected radio frequency (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [0040]); providing an operating system having a database and a location deriving capability, the reflected radio frequency associated with the object being stored in the database (the system 100 comprises one or more processors 104 [0037] having a computer readable storage medium 106 [0039]. The FSS tag spectrum responses being reduced to sets (e.g., pairs) of discrete coordinate values 1002, the coordinates are subjected to matching pairing 1003 against pre-existing/known reference values which tie each set of unique values to a specific ID tag [0069]. Locations 1005 may also be determined for respective ID tags [0065]); maintaining the frequency selective surface in proximity to the object (the tracking system coverage is of a facility with four rooms, and it may be desired to locate an ID tag (and/or whatever entity is associated with that ID tag) specifically within that space (e.g., in one room versus one of the other rooms) [0077]); deploying the object remotely from the radio frequency emitter (the tracking system coverage is of a facility with four rooms, and it may be desired to locate an ID tag (and/or whatever entity is associated with that ID tag) specifically within that space (e.g., in one room versus one of the other rooms) [0077]); emitting the emitted radio frequency signal with the radio frequency emitter (a transmitter 104 configured to generate the wireless network signal 111 [0039]); reflecting the selected portion of the emitted radio frequency signal with the radio frequency reflection element as the reflected radio frequency (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [0040]); receiving the reflected radio frequency with the radio frequency receiver (receiver 103 may be a detector specially configured for detecting the responses of tags 101a, 101b, 101c, etc. [0040]); and utilizing the reflected radio frequency with the operating system to identify the object and determine a location of the object (the FSS tag spectrum responses being reduced to sets (e.g., pairs) of discrete coordinate values 1002, the coordinates are subjected to matching pairing 1003 against pre-existing/known reference values which tie each set of unique values to a specific ID tag [0069]. Locations 1005 may also be determined for respective ID tags [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of DRUFFEL, because doing so would enable the system to uniquely tuned to interact with existing wireless signals and identifiable with appropriate detectors, thereby easing the cost and complexity of adoption for accurate object detection and tracking, as recognized by DRUFFEL.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FURUYA, in view of DRUFFEL, and further in view of Saleh (US 2023/0216181 A1 newly cited “SALEH”).
Regarding claim 4, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the frequency selective surface of Claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, SALEH teaches that the metamaterial (MTM) is flexible and can be worn without restricting movement, while at the same time improving the gain and the front-to-back ratio (FBR) of the antenna. The disclosed designs also allow for acceptable transmission performance and characteristics, despite the ability of the metamaterial to bend [0036]. The array of MTM unit cells includes an MTM that can be bent through at least 90 degrees [0016]. Furthermore, SALEH teaches that the array of MTM unit cells 120 is configured to reflect incident waves, from the antenna 150 at the first resonant frequency and the second resonant frequency, in-phase [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of SALEH, because doing so would enable the substrate to be worn without cracking and breaking, thereby reducing any physical deformation, as recognized by SALEH.
Regarding claim 8, FURUYA/ DRUFFEL discloses the system for identifying and locating a remote object of Claim 26,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, SALEH teaches that the metamaterial (MTM) is flexible and can be worn without restricting movement, while at the same time improving the gain and the front-to-back ratio (FBR) of the antenna. The disclosed designs also allow for acceptable transmission performance and characteristics, despite the ability of the metamaterial to bend [0036]. The array of MTM unit cells includes an MTM that can be bent through at least 90 degrees [0016]. Furthermore, SALEH teaches that the array of MTM unit cells 120 is configured to reflect incident waves, from the antenna 150 at the first resonant frequency and the second resonant frequency, in-phase [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FURUYA to include the teachings of SALEH, because doing so would enable the substrate to be worn without cracking and breaking, thereby reducing any physical deformation, as recognized by SALEH.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Waltho (US 2004/0119658 A1 previously cited) is cited as pertinent art for the disclosure overall, and in particular the details of wireless structure 100 which may be used as a frequency selective surface (FSS) structure; and a layer of conductive material such as, for example, copper, which may be formed overlying and adhesively bonded to surface 121 of substrate 120. This conductive layer on surface 121 may be a single layer or multiple layer of conductive material and may be patterned using, for example, an etch process, to form inductors 130 and conductive plates 140.
Wilhelm et al. (US 2003/0142036 A1 previously cited) discloses a frequency selective surface includes a pattern of electromagnetic material formed on a substrate suspendable over a ground plane for reflecting or transmitting electromagnetic waves at one or more particular frequencies. The frequency selective surface may include one or more meandering line inductors and/or one or more interdigitated capacitors formed within the pattern of electromagnetic materials for adjusting the frequencies at which the electromagnetic waves are reflected or transmitted. The frequency selective surface may also or instead include one or more inductors and/or one or more capacitors arranged in series within the pattern of electromagnetic materials to adjust the frequencies at which the electromagnetic waves are reflected or transmitted. In addition, the pattern of electromagnetic materials may be formed within the substrate in such a manner that the frequencies at which the electromagnetic waves are reflected or transmitted are tunable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 August 28, 2026