DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendment” filed on 06/22/2026 has been considered.
Claim 9 is amended. Claims 3 and 14 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-20 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant' s response by virtue of amendment to claim 9 has not overcome the Examiner' s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 USC 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because claim 9 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 10-12 fail to remedy these deficiencies.
The claim 9 recites receiving location data from location sensors, receiving image data, generating a prediction location of an inventory item, determining an actual location of the inventory item based on the location data, comparing the predicted location and the actual location, updating the location prediction application; and operating a vehicle in a predetermined route based on the predicted location.
The Claim 1 recites generating, determining, comparing, updating, and operating steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing personal behavior, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a vehicle, one or more location sensors and a camera system”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity. For example, but for the “the vehicle, the one or more location sensors and the camera system” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually generates/analyzes to determine a predicted location of an inventory item, determines an actual location based on the location data, compares the predicted location and the actual location, updates the location prediction application based on the comparison result, and manually operates a vehicle in a predetermined route based on the prediction result. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because receiving steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of receiving location data and image data step) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving, generating, determining, comparing, updating, and operating in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the vehicle, the one or more location sensors and the camera system are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform receiving, generating, determining, comparing, updating, and operating steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim 9 is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim 9 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the vehicle, the one or more location sensors and the camera system to perform receiving, generating, determining, comparing, updating, and operating steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claim 9 is not patent eligible.
Claims 10-12, disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as different type of location sensors for location determination and image data processing which are merely descriptive content to further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 10-12 are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because descriptive content in claims 10-12 further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 10-12 are directed to an abstract idea.
There are no additional claim element limitations recited in the claims 10-12. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 10-12 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0102686 to Yang et al.
With regard to claim 9, Yang discloses a method for training a location prediction application of a deep learning module, the method including:
receiving, at the deep learning module, location data from one or more location sensors (paragraph 37, the automated training 204 includes using sensors 204a to capture sensor readings 204b. In additional or alternative embodiments, the sensors 204a may also include other sensors, such as, for example, global positioning system (GPS) sensor); and
receiving, at the deep learning module, image data from a camera system (paragraphs 24 and 35, the planogram compliance system 200 may begin operation by using top-down view cameras 202a to capture image frames 202b in order to create a panorama view of a store for shelving unit tracking 202c for a shelving unit. In FIG. 1, the planogram shows desired placement of denim items 102, polo shirts 104, dress shirts 106, and t-shirts 108. );
generating, via the location prediction application, a predicted location of an inventory item or transaction based on the image data (abstract, paragraphs 24, 29-30, and 51, An example planogram is illustrated in FIG. 1. As shown, the planogram indicates dimensions of an example shelving unit and desired placement of items (e.g., apparel items in the example of FIG. 1) in locations within the shelving unit. Embodiments use a merchandise tracking model with machine learning techniques in order to learn from and make predictions on data. Embodiments provide advantages over conventional planogram compliance solutions that rely on deep learning. This is because deep learning not only requires significant amount of data, but also requires constant updating of a large training dataset in order to keep the performance up to date in response to ever-changing appearance of merchandise items. FIG. 5 shows example merchandise clustering results. As shown in FIG. 5 may serve as the training data for creating a supervised machine learning model to infer merchandise location. A system includes a self-learning module for creating a self-learned planogram based on images of shelving units at a location and shelving unit tracking. Examiner notes that the self-learned planogram with the desired placement of items is created via the supervised machine learning model based on the planogram images, which is considered as “generating, via the location prediction application, a predicted location of an inventory item or transaction based on the image data”);
determining an actual location of the inventory item or transaction of the inventory item based on the location data (paragraphs 2 and 39, A planogram is a visual representation of items at a location, such as, for example, products at a store. For instance, planograms are visual representations that indicate placement of retail products in stores or on store shelves. In certain embodiments, the RFID readings may be used in conjunction with GPS readings to capture sensor readings 204b that include precise location information for merchandise items within a shelving unit.);
comparing the predicted location and the actual location (paragraph 41, As shown in FIG. 2, the automated training 204 uses the sensor readings 204b to perform merchandise-shelving unit clustering 204c. The merchandise-shelving unit clustering 204c is based on comparing the desired shelving unit location in the planogram 202e to merchandise item locations indicated by the sensor readings 204b. For instance, the merchandise-shelving unit clustering 204c may identify locations for clusters of merchandise items (as indicated by sensor readings 204b) and compare those cluster locations to shelving unit locations in the stored planogram 202e.);
updating the location prediction application based on the comparison of the predicted location and the actual location (paragraph 36, a determination is made as to whether the location of the shelving unit has changed. If it is determined that there has been a location change, a stored planogram 202e is updated. In this way, the self-learned planogram 202 is created and saved as the stored planogram 202e that includes the current location of the shelving unit.); and
operating a vehicle in a predetermined route based on the predicted location (paragraphs 45, 53-54, and 105-106, Objectives for addressing planogram compliance issues may include restocking out of stock or low inventory merchandise items using the shortest routes, shortest turnaround time, lowest cost, or other objectives. The planogram compliance-actionable insights analytics 208b identify whether there are any actionable insights that may be provided to a store operator (e.g., a retailer). For instance, a planogram compliance decision may be recommended to the store operator based on the planogram compliance-actionable insights analytics 208b results. The planogram compliance decision may be presented as a notification in a user interface or sent as a communication to the store operator. For example, the decision may be presented by performing operation 208a to notify retailers of a recommended planogram compliance decision, where the decision is based on the planogram compliance-actionable insights analytics 208b results. The machine may be an onboard vehicle system, an ADAS, an apparatus of an autonomous driving vehicle, a wearable device, a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a hybrid tablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a mobile telephone (e.g., a smartphone), or any machine capable of executing instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine. In some embodiments, user interfaces to present the planogram and the occupancy projection described above with reference to FIGS. 4A and 4B may be displayed on the video display device 1010. In certain embodiments, the actionable insights described above with reference to FIG. 2 may be presented on the video display device 1010.).
With regard to claim 10, Yang discloses the one or more location sensors include at least one selected from a group consisting of a radar sensor, an infrared sensor, a lidar sensor, and a differential global positioning system (paragraph 37).
With regard to claim 11, Yang discloses confirming the actual location of the inventory item based on data from an additional location sensor different from the one or more location sensors (paragraph 37, According to additional or alternative embodiments, the sensors 204a may include sensors configured to capture sensor readings 204b from passive RFID tags.).
With regard to claim 12, Yang discloses determining an amount of the inventory item based on the image data (paragraph 25, Systems and methods for automated planogram compliance disclosed herein cover all aspects of planogram compliance and address the problem of lost sales caused by insufficient inventory levels, out-of-stock (OoS) and out of place items (e.g., misplaced merchandise items in the wrong department or shelving unit)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011779 to Kim et al, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0374659 to Ganapathi et al.
With regard to claims 1 and 13, Kim discloses an inventory management system for a manufacturing facility, the system comprising:
a camera system (paragraph 32, The image sensor 210 captures images of an environment of a storage site for navigation, localization, collision avoidance, object recognition and identification, and inventory recognition purposes.);
a central management server including a transceiver (paragraphs 30 and 47, The communication engine 255 and the I/O interface 260 are communication components to allow the robot 120 to communicate with other components in the system environment 100.); and
an electronic processor configured to receive identification information for an inventory item (paragraphs 32-33, The image sensor 210 may also capture pictures of labels (e.g., barcodes) on items for inventory cycle-counting purposes. a robot 120 may include a single processor or multiple processors 215 to carry out various operations. The memory 220 may also store images and videos captured by the image sensor 210. The images may include images that capture the surrounding environment and images of the inventory such as barcodes and labels.),
perform, via a vehicle configured to handle the inventory item, a transaction of the inventory item between a first location and a second location (paragraphs 20 and 43, An inventory robot may be used to track inventory items, move inventory items, and carry out other inventory management tasks. The robot 120 may receive inputs such as user commands to perform certain actions (e.g., scanning of inventory, moving an item, etc.) at certain locations. ),
verify the transaction based on image data from the camera system (paragraph 44, The planner 250 may plan the route of the robot 120 based on data provided by the visual reference engine 240 and the data provided by the state estimator 235. For example, the visual reference engine 240 estimates the current location of the robot 120 by tracking the number of regularly shaped structures in the storage site 110 passed by the robot 120. Based on the location information provided by the visual reference engine 240, the planner 250 determines the route of the robot 120 and may adjust the movement of the robot 120 as the robot 120 travels along the route.), and
generate, based on the plurality of images, a chain of custody record for the inventory item including a current location of the inventory item (paragraphs 23 and 33, An administrator may rely on the item coordinate data in the inventory management system 140 to ensure that items are correctly placed in the storage site 110 so that the items can be readily retrieved from a storage location. The memory 220 may also store images and videos captured by the image sensor 210. The images may include images that capture the surrounding environment and images of the inventory such as barcodes and labels).
However, Kim does not disclose verify the transaction based on the plurality of images, wherein verifying the transaction includes processing the plurality of images to determine an action performed on the inventory item and change in the inventory item at each location; and operate a handling device of the vehicle, wherein operating the handling device includes determining a position of the handling device based on image data from the camera system.
However, Ganapathi teaches verify the transaction based on the plurality of images, wherein verifying the transaction includes processing the plurality of images to determine an action performed on the inventory item and change in the inventory item at each location (A vehicle (such as a forklift truck, a pallet jack, an order picker, or a cart) capable of transporting the inventory and sometimes operated by a human operator (i.e. not an automatic vehicle or robot) moves throughout the warehouse and manipulates the inventory (referred to as the manipulation) or supports the manipulation of the inventory by the human operator. The manipulation is defined as one or more of the steps of moving the inventory with the vehicle or by the operator from an entry of the inventory into the warehouse, storing the inventory by the at least one vehicle at the inventory locations, picking up the inventory with the at least one vehicle from the inventory locations, to a departure of the inventory out of the warehouse. Images of the inventory are captured with at least one of the plurality of cameras on the vehicle during the manipulation of the inventory. At least one of the captured images are digitized and unique inventory information features are extracted from the captured images of the inventory during the manipulation. Count and verify the items picked from or placed into a box or inventory location through visual imagery of the activity performed. The scene is captured from multiple cameras to cover the activity from different perspectives. The aim is to identify and subsequently verify the number of items involved in the transaction to generate any potential discrepancies. paragraphs 14-15, 17-18, and 117); and operate a handling device of the vehicle, wherein operating the handling device includes determining a position of the handling device based on image data from the camera system ( These cameras and sensors are positioned strategically around the forklift so that they can capture the location of the forklift at any given instant and also the motion of the warehouse worker who is performing the picking action. As the warehouse worker drives the forklift to the location, the sensors track the location of the forklift, and when the worker arrives at the first pick location, the sensors detect that he has arrived at the location, and the cameras now start recording the motion of the worker and the items that he is picking. The image processing algorithms automatically verify that he is picking from the right location, picking the right item from the correct box, and also that he is picking the correct quantity of items from the box. Paragraphs 70-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include, verify the transaction based on the plurality of images, wherein verifying the transaction includes processing the plurality of images to determine an action performed on the inventory item and change in the inventory item at each location; and operate a handling device of the vehicle, wherein operating the handling device includes determining a position of the handling device based on image data from the camera system, as taught in Ganapathi, in order to enhance the accuracy of inventory, at a vastly reduced cost (Ganapathi, abstract).
With regard to claim 2, Kim discloses the one or more vehicles include at least one selected from a group consisting of a land-based vehicle, an air-based vehicle, and a crane system (paragraph 20, The robot 120 may take various forms such as an aerial drone, a ground robot, a vehicle, a forklift, and a mobile picking robot).
With regard to claims 3 and 14, Kim discloses the electronic processor is further configured to operate a handling device of the vehicle, wherein operating the handling device includes determining a position of the handling device based on image data from the camera system (paragraphs 20 and 32, robots 120 may specialize in moving items. The robot 120 may include a digital camera that captures optical images of the environment for the state estimator 235. For example, data captured by the image sensor 210 may also be provided to the VIO unit 236 that may be included in the state estimator 235 for localization purposes such as to determine the position and orientation of the robot 120 with respect to an inertial frame).
With regard to claims 4 and 15, the combination of references discloses the electronic processor is further configured to determine an amount of inventory item handled by the vehicle during the transaction based on the plurality of images as the change in the inventory item (Ganapathi, paragraphs 70, 117, and 130, The image processing algorithms automatically verify that he is picking from the right location, picking the right item from the correct box, and also that he is picking the correct quantity of items from the box. The image processing software automatically verifies that the correct quantity of the correct item from the correct box has been picked. this serves as an automatic Quality Control check on the pick event. Each object is tracked during the segment duration. An object that leaves the scene is counted as picked object. Objects added/returned to the scene is counted as returned item. All picked and placed items are summarized for each activity segment.).
With regard to claims 5 and 16, Kim discloses the electronic processor is further configured to, in response to determining an inconsistency within the transaction of the inventory item in verifying the transaction based on the plurality of images, perform a chain of custody correction including moving the inventory item to a third location (paragraphs 24 and 44-45, the computing server 150 may identify discrepancies in two sets of data and determine whether any items may be misplaced, lost, damaged, or otherwise should be flagged for various reasons. In turn, the computing server 150 may direct a robot 120 to remedy any potential issues such as moving a misplaced item to the correct position. For example, if the planner 250 determines that the robot 120 has passed a target aisle and traveled too far away from the target aisle, the planner 250 may send signals to the FCU 225 to try to remedy the path).
With regard to claims 6 and 17, Kim discloses performing and verifying the transaction of the inventory item includes identifying each of the plurality of images depicting a different stage of the transaction, determining, based on each of the plurality of images, inventory item information regarding at least one selected from the group consisting of a location of a stage of the transaction, a vehicle performing the transaction, and an amount of the inventory item (paragraphs 33-34, 42, and 44-45, the planner 250 determines the path of the robot 120 from a starting point to a destination and provides commands to the FCU 225. the planner 250 controls the robot 120 to move to the target location and take a picture of the inventory in the target location. When the robot 120 changes direction (e.g., rotations, transitions from horizontal movement to vertical movement, transitions from vertical movement to horizontal movement, etc.), the center offset information may be used to determine the accurate location of the robot 120 relative to an object. The images may include images that capture the surrounding environment and images of the inventory such as barcodes and labels.), and updating the chain of custody record to include the inventory item information (paragraphs 23 and 33, The inventory management system 140 may include a database that stores data regarding inventory items and the items' associated information, such as quantities in the storage site 110, metadata tags, asset type tags, barcode labels and location coordinates of the items.).
With regard to claims 7 and 18, Kim discloses the electronic processor determines the location depicted within the image based on a physical marker within an area depicted in at least one of the plurality of images (paragraphs 19 and 69, Regularly shaped structures may be structures, fixtures, equipment, furniture, frames, shells, racks, or other suitable things in the storage site 110 that have a regular shape or outline that can be readily identifiable, whether the things are permanent or temporary, fixed or movable, weight-bearing or not. The robot 120 analyzes 550 the images captured by the image sensor 210 to determine the current location of the robot 120 in the path 470 by tracking the number of regularly shaped structures in the storage site passed by the robot 120.).
With regard to claims 8 and 19, Kim discloses performing and verifying the transaction includes identifying a location of the physical marker within a first image of the plurality of images, identifying a location of the physical marker within a second image of the plurality of images, and determining an exact location of the vehicle based on a difference between a number of pixels between an edge of the first image and the location of the physical marker within the first image and a number of pixels between a same edge of the second image and the location of the physical marker within the second image (paragraphs 37, 39, and 74, The VIO unit 236 receives image data from the image sensor 210 (e.g., a stereo camera) and measurements from IMU 230 to generate localization information such as the position and orientation of the robot 120. The visual reference engine 240 may receive pixel data of a series of images and point cloud data from the image sensor 210. The location information generated by the visual reference engine 240 may include distance and yaw from an object and center offset from a target point (e.g., a midpoint of a target object). The VIO unit 236 may extract image feature points and tracks the feature points in the image sequence to generate optical flow vectors that represent the movement of edges, boundaries, surfaces of objects in the environment captured by the image sensor 210. Alternative to or in addition to using any machine learning techniques, other image segmentation algorithms such as edge detection algorithms).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011779 to Kim et al, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0374659 to Ganapathi et al., and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0102686 to Yang et al.
With regard to claim 20, the combination of references substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose a method for training a location prediction application of a deep learning module.
However, Yang teaches receiving, at the deep learning module, location data from one or more location sensors (paragraph 37);
receiving, at the deep learning module, image data from a camera system (paragraphs 24 and 35 );
generating, via the location prediction application, a predicted location of an inventory item or transaction based on the image data (paragraphs 24 and 29-30);
determining an actual location of the inventory item or transaction of the inventory item based on the location data (paragraphs 2 and 39);
comparing the predicted location and the actual location (paragraph 41); and
updating the location prediction application based on the comparison of the predicted location and the actual location (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, a method for training a location prediction application of a deep learning module, as taught in Yang, in order to improve efficiency of planogram compliance as compared to conventional vision-based methods (Yang, paragraph 29).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the previously references applied in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “Claim 9 reflects that technological improvement by reciting the specific interaction of camera data, location sensor data, deep-learning-based predicted location generation, updating of the location prediction application, and operation of a vehicle based on the predicted location. Accordingly, even if claim 9 were considered to recite an abstract idea, claim 9 integrates the alleged abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two. Claim 9 is therefore not directed to a judicial exception and is patent eligible”.
Examiner does not agree. The claim limitation does not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor does it effects an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Training a machine learning model/location prediction application and apply this trained model/application is generic data process. They do not describe any particular improvement in the manner a computer functions. Instead, the claim amounts to nothing significantly more than using machine learning techniques on a computer to determine a location of an inventory item and apply those determinations to efficiently manage inventory. Under our precedents, that is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention. The claimed computing components such as the camera, the location sensors, and the vehicle are not specially programmed and cannot be specially identified. Therefore, the additional computing components are not considered as “particular machine” (See HYPERLINK "https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/s2106.html#ch2100_d29a1b_13c11_1cb"MPEP § 2106.05(b)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicants remark that “The 2024 USPTO AI examples reinforce the distinction between claims that merely invoke AI to analyze data and claims that apply AI in a specific technological implementation. For example, Example 47 distinguishes between a claim that merely uses an ANN to detect and output anomaly data and a claim that applies ANN detection to improve network security through real-time remedial action. Claim 9 is analogous to the latter type of claim because it does not end with a predicted location as information; it uses the predicted location to operate a vehicle in a predetermined route in an industrial inventory system”.
Examiner does not agree. Claim 9 is not similar to Example 47. Example 47 improves network security through real-time remedial action. Instead, the claim amounts to nothing significantly more than using machine learning techniques on a computer to determine a location of an inventory item and apply those determinations to efficiently manage inventory. Merely training a model/application/algorithm is a generic data processing and does not make the abstract idea less abstract.
Applicants remark that “Yang's cited paragraphs disclose a planogram that specifies a desired placement of items on shelving units and a merchandise tracking model that does not use deep learning, which differs from generating, via a location prediction application of a deep learning module, a predicted location of an inventory item or transaction based on image data, as recited in claim 9. Yang's desired placement of items is not a predicted location, and Yang's merchandise tracking model is not a location prediction application of a deep learning module. Therefore, Yang fails to disclose at least the above-noted features of claim 9.”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Applicants remark that “Ganapathi's cameras merely record the motion of a warehouse worker, not position of a handling device of a vehicle. Second, Ganapathi's image processing algorithm verifies that the warehouse worker is picking from a correct location, which is distinct from determining a position of a handling device based on image data. Therefore, neither Kim nor Ganapathi discloses at least the above-noted feature of claim 1”.
Examiner does not agree. Kim discloses the images may include images that capture the surrounding environment and images of the inventory such as barcodes and labels (paragraphs 23 and 33). Ganapathi teaches Images of the inventory are captured with at least one of the plurality of cameras on the vehicle during the manipulation of the inventory. At least one of the captured images are digitized and unique inventory information features are extracted from the captured images of the inventory during the manipulation. The image processing algorithms automatically verify that he is picking from the right location. (paragraphs 14-15, 17-18, 70-72, and 117).
Therefore, the combination of references discloses and teaches the image processing algorithms automatically verify/determine the forklift operator is operating the forklift at the right location based on the captured surrounding environment images and the captured images of the inventory during the manipulation, which is considered as “operating the handling device includes determining a position of the handling device based on image data from the camera system”.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627