DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 24, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed June 22, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The information disclosure statement lists a non-patent literature document “Terlingen, et al. Immobilization of Surface Active Compound on Polymer Supports Using Glow Discharge Processes” has not been provided to the Office and therefore has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed June 22, 2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the information disclosure statement lists several non-patent literature documents which appear to be Foreign Patent Documents and have been submitted as such to the Office. The documents “Amitava Mazumder”, “Amity University Haryana” and “Thiner Technologies India PVT,. LTD” appear to be foreign patent documents from India but have been listed as non-patent literature documents in the information disclosures statement. Furthermore, the documents “Amity University Haryana” and “Thiner Technologies India PVT,. LTD” have not been provided with a publication date. Because of this ambiguities these documents have not been considered. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. The embedded hyperlinks are disclosed in Paragraphs 0016 and 0017 of the specification of the present application as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the final amount of active substance". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the term “active substance” has not been disclosed before.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. The claim discloses that the virucidal substance “may be any suitable substance” and it is not clear what substances would fall within this limitation or if the claim is limited to the disclosed substances.
Claim 5 contains the trademarks/trade names “Triton X-100” and “Tween”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe virucidal substances and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "most preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the dried mask textile". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "like polyactic acid" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "most preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the VUV photons" in step a) of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the gaseous plasma" in step a) of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the polymeric material" in step a). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this examination “the polymeric material” will be considered the same as the “polymer textile material”.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "most preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. The claim discloses that the virucidal substance “may be any suitable substance” and it is not clear what substances would fall within this limitation or if the claim is limited to the disclosed substances.
Claim 11 contains the trademarks/trade names “Triton X-100” and “Tween”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe virucidal substances and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "most preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the dried mask textile". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "like polyactic acid" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "most preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0320849) in view of Drake et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0166479) and Komvopoulos et al (U.S. Patent # 8,168,074).
In the case of claim 1, Biedermann teaches a method for preparation of virucidal polymer textile materials by preparing a fibrous substrate of polymeric material with anti-viral agents (Abstract and Page 1 Paragraph 0001). The method of Biederman comprised treating the substrate with a diluted solution of a virucidal substance in the form of an aqueous solution comprising an acidic polymer and a surfactant followed by drying the treated substrate at a temperature below 100 ℃ (Page 5 Paragraphs 0071-0074). Biederman further teaches that the surfactant comprised anti-viral properties and included Tween compounds (Page 4 Paragraph 0048) and was present in the solution in the amount of 1-2 wt% (Page 5 Paragraph 0076) which was within the claimed range of 0.05 to 15 wt%.
Biedermann does not teach having pre-treated the material prior to applying the solution using non-equilibrium gaseous plasma. However, as was discussed previously, Biedermann was directed toward a process of depositing a liquid coating onto a polymer substrate and that the polymer substrates comprised polypropylene or polyester (Abstract and Page 2 Paragraph 0014).
Drake teaches a method for forming a thin film on a substrate by plasma treating the substrate prior to applying a liquid coating (Abstract). Drake teaches that adhesion between the liquid coating and the substrate was increased by plasma treatment (Page 1 Paragraph 0002) and that the substrates treated included polymers including polypropylene and polyester (Page 3 Paragraph 0026). Drake teaches that the plasma treatment included a non-equilibrium gaseous plasma (Page 2 Paragraph 0016) wherein the plasma included oxygen or water in the amount of 1 to 10% or comprised pure oxygen (Page 3 Paragraphs 0021 and 0024). Furthermore, Drake teaches a low pressure plasma treatment wherein the plasma treatment was conducted at a pressure of 0.1 to 10 Pa (Page 3 Paragraph 0022), which was within the claimed range of below 1000 Pa.
Based on the teachings of Drake, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have conducted the plasma pre-treatment of Drake on the polymer substrate of Biedermann prior to applying the liquid solution in order to increase the adhesion between the substrate and the applied liquid coating.
Neither Biedermann nor Drake teach that the plasma comprised a fluence of reactive particles between 3x1022 m-2 and 3x1025 m-2. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP section 2144.05.II.A.
Furthermore, Komvopoulos teaches a method for modifying the surface of a polymer with plasma (Abstract) wherein the plasma included energetic particles of reactive particles and VUV photons which broke apart the C-H bonds on the polymer surface (Column 4 Line 65 through Column 5 Line 11). Komvopoulos further teaches that the fluence of the energetic particles affected the surface roughness and wettability of the polymer thereby affecting the adhesion strength properties (Column 17 Lines 25-49).
Based on the teachings of Komvopoulos, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined optimal fluence range for the reactive particles of the plasma of Biedermann in view of Drake through routine experimentation because the fluence of the particles affected the surface roughness and wettability properties of the plasma polymer surface.
As for claim 2, Biedermann teaches that prior to drying the substrate was drained or excess liquid (Page 7 Paragraph 0112).
As for claims 3 and 6, Biedermann does not specifically teach that the final amount of active substance was 0.05 to 3% by weight of the material nor that the mass of the virucidal substance on the textile was about 10 grams of virucidal substance per kilogram of dry textile. However, as was discussed previously, it would have been obvious to have determined optimal values for relevant process parameters through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, Biedermann teaches that the loading amount of active substance onto the textile was a relevant process parameters affecting the resistance to pathogens and the air permeability of the textile (Page 4 Paragraph 0050).
Therefore, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined an optimal loading amount for the active/virucidal substance of Biedermann in view of Drake and Komvopoulos through routine experimentation because the amount of substance on deposited onto the textile affected the pathogen resistance of the textile and the air permeability of the textile.
As for claim 4, as was discussed previously, the plasma of Biedermann in view of Drake and Komvopoulos comprised reactive oxygen particles and VUV photons and that it would have been obvious to have determined optimal fluence ranges for these particles through routine experimentation.
As for claim 5, as was discussed previously, the virucidal substance of Biedermann comprised a surfactant of Tween.
As for claim 8, Biedermann teaches that the textile material included woven or non-woven polymers including polyethylene, polypropylene and polyester (Page 2 Paragraph 0014).
In the case of claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons discussed previously in the rejection of claims 1 and 4.
As for claim 10, Biedermann teaches that the material/solution was applied by either dipping or spraying (Page 5 Paragraph 0074).
As for claims 11, 12 and 14, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 5, 6 and 8, respectively.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann in view of Drake et al and Komvopoulos et al as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Angres et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0400979).
The teachings of Biedermann in view of Drake and Komvopoulos as they apply to claims 1 and 9 have been discussed previously and are incorporated herein.
In the case of claims 7 and 13, through Biedermann teaches having dried the textile treated with the solution Biedermann does not specifically teach that the drying was conducted by any of the processes disclosed in claims 7 and 13.
Angres teaches a method for forming textiles/fabrics for anti-viral masks (Abstract and Page 1 Paragraph 0002). Angres teach an embodiment where a roll of non-woven polypropylene was treated with a solution of active material and then dried in an infrared dryer, microwave dryer or an air blower (Page 22 Paragraphs 0264-0265).
Based on the teachings of Angres, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have dried the treated textile of Biedermann in view of Drake and Komvopoulos by either IR, microwave or air blow drying because these were known drying processes in the art.
Conclusion
Claims 1 through 14 have been rejected. Claims 15 through 18 have been withdrawn. No claims were allowed.
/MICHAEL P WIECZOREK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712