Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 2, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 8, and 20-21, and added claim 22. Claims 1-4 and 6-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed October 10, 2025. The examiner withdraws the Specification and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 13-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miraftab et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0204514 A1), hereinafter known as Miraftab.
Regarding claim 1, Miraftab discloses (Fig. 1 and 6-7) A multi-band antenna ([0061]), comprising a reflection plate (100, 600, 700) and a feed structure (108, 152, 704, 750), wherein: the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) is provided with a slot (612), the slot (612) defines a strip conductor (615, 710), the strip conductor (615, 710) is a part of the reflection plate (100, 600, 700), and one end of the strip conductor (615, 710) is connected to another part of the reflection plate (opposite 615, 715, 100, 600, 700); and the feed structure (108, 152, 704, 750) comprises a microstrip line (750) used in a high-frequency antenna element ([0061]) in the multi-band antenna ([0061]), wherein the microstrip line (750) is located on one side of the reflection plate (100, 600, 700), and at least a part of a projection of the microstrip line (750) on the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) falls within a contour range of the strip conductor (615, 710), wherein the projection of the microstrip line (750) on the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) is inserted through an opening of the slot (projection of 750 on 700 is inserted through the opening of 712) into an area partially enclosed by the slot (712).
Regarding claim 2, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 1 and 5-7) wherein the feed structure (108, 152, 704, 750) further comprises a feed line (552), the feed line (552) is configured to feed power to a radiation part of the high-frequency antenna element (562), a signal conductor of the feed line (730) is connected to the microstrip line (750), and a ground conductor (500, 504) of the feed line (552) is connected to the strip conductor (615).
Regarding claim 3, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 6-7) wherein the strip conductor (615) has a through hole (hole for 730), and the signal conductor (730) of the feed line passes through the through hole (hole for 730) and is connected to the microstrip line (750).
Regarding claim 7, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 6) wherein: the slot (612) comprises a first slot part (top 612) and a second slot part (bottom 612) that are separated from each other, and the strip conductor (615) comprises a first conductor part (top 615) and a second conductor part (bottom 615) that are connected to each other; and that the slot defines a strip conductor comprises: the first slot part (top 612) defines the first conductor part (top 615), and the second slot part (bottom 612) defines the second conductor part (bottom 615).
Regarding claim 13, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein: the feed structure (704, 750) further comprises a feed connector (730), wherein the feed connector (730) and the microstrip line (750) are disposed on a same side of the reflection plate (700); and the microstrip line (750) is connected to the feed connector (730).
Regarding claim 14, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 4) wherein: the reflection plate (400) has periodically arranged grid structures (426), wherein the strip conductor (428) is disposed between the periodically arranged grid structures (426); or the strip conductor is conductor (428) in the periodically arranged grid structures (426).
Regarding claim 15, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein in a direction perpendicular to cabling of the strip conductor (conductor between 712), a width of the strip conductor (conductor between 712) is a second value multiplying a width of the microstrip line (750), wherein the second value is in a range from 0.2 to 5.
Regarding claim 17, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein in a cabling direction of the strip conductor (160), a length of the strip conductor (160) is greater than one-twentieth of a wavelength of a low-frequency antenna element ([0100]; inter-element spacing is half a wavelength, 160 length is greater than inter-element spacing).
Regarding claim 18, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 6) wherein a ratio of a length of the strip conductor (615) in a cabling direction to a width of the strip conductor (615) in a direction perpendicular to the cabling direction of the strip conductor is greater than 5:1 (615 width is less than 1/5 length of 615).
Regarding claim 19, Miraftab further discloses wherein a maximum spacing between a low-frequency antenna element and the high-frequency antenna element of the multi-band antenna is less than 0.5 multiplying a wavelength of the low-frequency antenna element ([0100], half the high-frequency antenna element spacing is less than half the low-frequency antenna element spacing).
Regarding claim 20, Miraftab discloses (Fig. 1 and 6-7) A communication device, comprising a multi-band antenna ([0061]), wherein the multi-band antenna comprises a reflection plate (100, 600, 700) and a feed structure (108, 152, 704, 750), wherein: the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) is provided with a slot (612), the slot (612) defines a strip conductor (615, 710), the strip conductor (615, 710) is a part of the reflection plate (100, 600, 700), and one end of the strip conductor (615, 710) is connected to another part of the reflection plate (100, 600, 700); and the feed structure (108, 152, 704, 750) comprises a microstrip line (750) used in a high-frequency antenna element ([0061]) in the multi-band antenna ([0061]), wherein the microstrip line (750) is located on one side of the reflection plate (100, 600, 700), and at least a part of a projection of the microstrip line (750) on the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) falls within a contour range of the strip conductor (615, 710), wherein the projection of the microstrip line (750) on the reflection plate (100, 600, 700) is inserted through an opening of the slot (projection of 750 on 700 is inserted through the opening of 712) into an area partially enclosed by the slot (712).
Regarding claim 21, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein the slot (712) is disposed around the projection of the microstrip line (750) on the reflection plate (700).
Regarding claim 22, Miraftab further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein the multi-band antenna is disposed based on a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0068]), and wherein the reflection plate (700) and the microstrip line (750) are disposed on two different conductor layers of the PCB (700, 704; [0068]).
Claims 1 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maoz et al. (US Patent No. 6466176 B1), hereinafter known as Maoz.
Regarding claim 1, Maoz discloses (Fig. 10A, 10B) A multi-band antenna (100), comprising a reflection plate (103) and a feed structure (105b, 105c), wherein: the reflection plate (103) is provided with a slot (109), the slot (109) defines a strip conductor (110), the strip conductor (110) is a part of the reflection plate (103), and one end of the strip conductor (110) is connected to another part of the reflection plate (103); and the feed structure (105b, 105c) comprises a microstrip line (105b, 105c) used in a high-frequency antenna element (100) in the multi-band antenna (100), wherein the microstrip line (105b, 105c) is located on one side of the reflection plate (103), and at least a part of a projection of the microstrip line (105b, 105c) on the reflection plate (103) falls within a contour range of the strip conductor (110), wherein the projection of the microstrip line (105b, 105c) on the reflection plate (103) is inserted through an opening of the slot (109) into an area partially enclosed by the slot (109).
Regarding claim 20, Maoz discloses (Fig. 1, 10A, 10B) A communication device (2), comprising a multi-band antenna (100), wherein the multi-band antenna comprises a reflection plate (103) and a feed structure (105b, 105c), wherein: the reflection plate (103) is provided with a slot (109), the slot (109) defines a strip conductor (110), the strip conductor (110) is a part of the reflection plate (103), and one end of the strip conductor (110) is connected to another part of the reflection plate (103); and the feed structure (105b, 105c) comprises a microstrip line (105b, 105c) used in a high-frequency antenna element (100) in the multi-band antenna (100), wherein the microstrip line (105b, 105c) is located on one side of the reflection plate (103), and at least a part of a projection of the microstrip line (105b, 105c) on the reflection plate (103) falls within a contour range of the strip conductor (110), wherein the projection of the microstrip line (105b, 105c) on the reflection plate (103) is inserted through an opening of the slot (109) into an area partially enclosed by the slot (109).
Regarding claim 21, Maoz further discloses (Fig. 10A, 10B) wherein the slot (109) is disposed around the projection of the microstrip line (105b, 105c) on the reflection plate (103).
Regarding claim 22, Maoz further discloses (Fig. 3, 10A, 10B) wherein the multi-band antenna is disposed based on a printed circuit board (PCB) (101, 102; col. 9, line 51 and col. 10, line 44), and wherein the reflection plate (103) and the microstrip line (105b, 105c) are disposed on two different conductor layers of the PCB (101, 102; [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miraftab in view of Leung et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0388918 A1), hereinafter known as Leung.
Regarding claim 4, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 5, 7) wherein: the slot (712) is a continuous slot (712), the multi-band antenna further comprises a first jumper member (508, 708), a shape formed by the slot (712) has a bottom (middle end of 712) and an open end (left end 712), and the first jumper member (508, 708) is disposed between the bottom (middle end of 712) and the open end (left end 712); and the strip conductor is located between the first jumper member and the microstrip line, or the microstrip line (750) is located between the first jumper member (508, 708) and the strip conductor (conductor between 712), two ends of the first jumper member (508, 708) are respectively located on two sides that are of the slot (712) and that are away from the strip conductor (conductor between 712), but does not specifically teach and the two ends of the first jumper member are separately connected to the reflection plate.
However, Leung teaches (Fig. 2) two ends of the first jumper member (118) are separately connected to the reflection plate (110).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Leung to include “two ends of the first jumper member are separately connected to the reflection plate,” as taught by Leung, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 5, 7) wherein: the first jumper member (508, 708), the reflection plate (700), and the microstrip line (750) are separately located on different conductor layers of a printed circuit board (Abstract); but does not specifically teach and the first jumper member is connected to the reflection plate through a via provided on the printed circuit board.
However, Leung teaches (Fig. 2) the first jumper member (118) is connected to the reflection plate through a via ([0059]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Leung to include “the first jumper member is connected to the reflection plate through a via,” as taught by Leung, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 5, 7) wherein the multi-band antenna further comprises a second jumper member (508, 708), but does not specifically teach and two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part.
However, Leung teaches (Fig. 2) two ends of the second jumper member (118) are respectively connected to the first conductor part (left 112) and the second conductor part (right 112).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Leung to include “two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part,” as taught by Leung, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 5, 7) wherein: the reflection plate (700) and the microstrip line (750) are located on different conductor layers of a printed circuit board (Abstract), and the second jumper member (508, 708) and the microstrip line (750) are located on a same conductor layer of the printed circuit board (Abstract); but does not specifically teach and that the two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part comprises: the two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part through a via provided on the printed circuit board.
However, Leung teaches (Fig. 2) two ends of the second jumper member (118) are respectively connected to the first conductor part (left 112) and the second conductor part (right 112) comprises: the two ends of the second jumper member (118) are respectively connected to the first conductor part (left 112) and the second conductor part (right 112) through a via ([0059]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Leung to include “two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part comprises: the two ends of the second jumper member are respectively connected to the first conductor part and the second conductor part through a via,” as taught by Leung, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Miraftab does not specifically teach wherein two second jumper members are separately disposed on two sides of the microstrip line.
However, Leung teaches (Fig. 2) two second jumper members (118) are separately disposed on two sides of the microstrip line (116).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Leung to include “two second jumper members are separately disposed on two sides of the microstrip line,” as taught by Leung, for the purpose of impedance matching (see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 1, 5, and 7) wherein the printed circuit board comprises a dielectric substrate (102, 106) disposed between the reflection plate (100, 500, 700) and the microstrip line (750), and a spacing between the second jumper member (508, 708) and the microstrip line is a spacing that is a first value multiplying a thickness of the dielectric substrate (102, 106), wherein the first value is in a range from 0.1 to 10.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miraftab in view of Adachi et al. (US PGPUB 2004/0004571 A1), hereinafter known as Adachi.
Regarding claim 8, Miraftab further teaches (Fig. 7) the second slot part is a U-shaped slot (712), but does not specifically teach wherein the first slot part is a ring-shaped slot, and an opening of the U-shaped slot faces a side that is away from the ring-shaped slot.
However, Adachi teaches (Fig. 14A) wherein the first slot part (slot between 102, 103) is a ring-shaped slot (slot between 102, 103), and an opening of the U-shaped slot (501) faces a side that is away from the ring-shaped slot (slot between 102, 103).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Adachi to include “wherein the first slot part is a ring-shaped slot, and an opening of the U-shaped slot faces a side that is away from the ring-shaped slot,” as taught by Adachi, for the purpose of ease of manufacturing (see also [0085]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miraftab in view of Esselle et al. (WO 2005062422 A1), hereinafter known as Esselle.
Regarding claim 16, Miraftab does not specifically teach wherein in the direction perpendicular to the cabling of the strip conductor, the width of the strip conductor is in a range from 0.1 mm to 10 mm.
However, Esselle teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein in the direction perpendicular to the cabling of the strip conductor (220), the width of the strip conductor is in a range from 0.1 mm to 10 mm (Wf).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multi-band antenna of Miraftab with Esselle to include “wherein in the direction perpendicular to the cabling of the strip conductor, the width of the strip conductor is in a range from 0.1 mm to 10 mm,” as taught by Esselle, for the purpose of achieving desired impedance matching (see also page 27). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845