DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/28/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the recitation “wherein the first material and the third material have a first stiffness and a third stiffness” should be modified to include the term “respectively” thereafter making clear that the first material has the first stiffness and the third material has the third stiffness. Appropriate correction is required. It should be noted that this objection was not addressed in the response of 10/28/25. No amendment was made to claim 1 to overcome or obviate the objection nor were any arguments or remarks made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 both recite the first width is equal to the second and the third widths which is unclear as claims 2 and 10 from which these claims depend now recite that the second width is “greater than” each of the first and third widths. It doesn’t then follow that the second width can be both equal to and greater than the first and third widths.
Claims 10 and 12-15 all recite “the impact surface” (in lines 1 or 1-2) which limitation lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Claim 9, which previously introduced “an impact surface” has been modified and the language removed.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the impact surface” in line 18 which lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The previously recited “an impact surface” has been deleted.
Claim 20, recites “the impact surface” which lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tay et al. (10059294) in view of Townsend et al.
For claim 1, Tay et al. discloses a vehicle comprising:
a door having an interior surface (FIG.1); and
an armrest (22) disposed on the interior surface of the door,
the armrest (FIGS.3A-B) comprising
a first material (24, at one side) configured to contact the user during the collision,
a second material (30) disposed adjacent to the first material, and
a third material (24, at the opposite side) attached to the vehicle and disposed on an opposing side of the second material,
wherein the second material separates the first and third material along a length and height of the armrest,
wherein the first material and the third material have a first stiffness and a third stiffness, respectively, that are both greater than a second stiffness of the second material.
For claims 9 and 17, the door of Tay et al. represents an impact surface as recited.
Tay et al. disclose the armrest having a height but fail to provide the second material being a continuous layer that extends across the planform of the armrest and separates the first and third materials along an entire length and height of the armrest, such that no portion of the first material is in direct contact with the third material.
Tay et al. do provide the overall width of the X or H shaped second material being greater than the width of either of the first or third materials. Further, Tay et al. provide alternatives to the lettered shapes shown, and specifically disclose the second material (30) may be of “any suitable shape” (Col 4, lines 53-55; Col 5, lines 29-34).
Townsend et al. (6142563) teach a vehicle comprising:
a door (38, FIG.2) having an interior surface; and
an armrest (36) disposed on the interior surface of the door,
the armrest comprising
a first material (28) configured to contact the user during the collision,
a second material (30) disposed adjacent to the first material, and
a third material (20) attached to the vehicle and disposed on an opposing side of the second material from the first material,
wherein the second material is a continuous layer that extends across the planform of the armrest and separates the first material and the third material along the entire length and height of the armrest, such that no portion (FIG.2) of the first material is in direct contact with the third material,
wherein the second material separates the first material and the third material along an entire length and height of the armrest,
wherein the armrest has a total width (WT), the first material has a first width (Wi), the second material has a second width (W2), and the third material has a third width (W3), and
wherein the first material and the third material have a first stiffness and a third stiffness, respectively, distinct from a second stiffness of the second material.
Townsend et al. further disclose various alternate embodiments (FIGS.3-6) having cladding or outer walls (76, 98) and an inner component for controlling deformation and dissipating collision energy to reduce the force delivered to an occupant. The outer walls would necessarily be stiffer to allow for dissipation as anticipated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the X or H shape of the armrest of Tay et al. to reflect that which is taught by Townsend et al. where the second material is a continuous layer having a constant width that extends across the planform of the armrest and separates the first and third materials along an entire length and height of the armrest, such that no portion of the first material is in direct contact with the third material, as an obvious expedient based on required deformation or impact energy absorption (ie suitability for the intended use, design, and functional performance specifications) as well as factors including cost optimization and capacity or ease to manufacture.
For claims 2 and 10, the armrest of Tay et al., as modified above, has a total width (50), the first material has a first width, the second material has a second width, and the third material has a third width. The width of the second material of Tay et al., as modified, being greater than each of the first and third widths.
For claim 18, the first stiffness is substantially equal to the third stiffness.
For claims 4 and 12, the armrest has a height (52, FIG.2) and
wherein the first width, the second width, and the third width are uniform across the height (52) of the armrest (Col 4, lines 46-49).
For claims 5, 13, and 20, the armrest has a height (52, FIG.2) and
wherein the first, second, and third widths are not uniform across the height of the armrest (Col 5, lines 61-67). As disclosed in Tay et al., the second material (plug 30) may be below or above the height (52) of the first and third materials (substrate 24). When the armrest is sectioned at one point along its length (48, FIG.3A), a cross section of the armrest would show the first and third widths are not uniform (at the same height) as the second width because the second width would either be protruding above or below the height (52) thereof.
For claims 7 and 15, the armrest has a length (48, FIG.3A) and
wherein the first, second, and third widths are not uniform across the length (48) of the armrest (as is evident when the second material (plug 30) is of an “X” or “H” shape.
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tay et al., as modified and applied above.
Tay et al., as modified, disclose the armrest has a length (48).
Tay et al. fail to disclose the first, second, and third widths being equal (claims 3 and 11) or uniform (claims 6 and 14) across the length of the armrest.
Tay et al. do disclose that the second material (30) and the gap within which the second material resides may be of “any suitable shape” (Col 4, lines 53-55; Col 5, lines 29-34). This makes the record clear that other configurations (shapes) are possible such as those involving a uniform shape across the entire length of the armrest.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the shape of Tay et al., as modified, to allow for a uniform shape/width of the materials across a length of the armrest as an obvious expedient in order to tune the energy absorption characteristics of the armrest for a desired benefit during impact.
Claims 8, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tay et al., as modified, and applied above.
Tay et al. disclose the first and third materials (24,24) being rigid relative to the second material (30) (Col 6, lines 1-12) but is silent on the specific stiffness of the first and third materials being at least twice that of the stiffness of the second material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the material or material characteristics of the first and third materials of Tay et al. to be twice as stiff as the second material thereof in order to allow for improved energy absorption characteristics of the armrest. Tuning the material stiffness in this manner is known to a PHOSITA in order to achieve desired impact benefits to an occupant of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. With regard to the claim objection set forth in the prior (non final) office action and reiterated here (above) applicant has made no attempt to address the issue or argue against it.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614