DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 3/30/26. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/339,976. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the pending application are encompassed by the claims of the copending provisional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2023/0215283 A1 to Sha et al. (hereinafter “Sha”).
Concerning claim 1, Sha discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
accessing, by a content server, historical consumption information and historical comprehension information, wherein the historical consumption information describes historical educational content consumption behaviors of a set of historical users, wherein the historical comprehension information comprises a historical measure of comprehension of historical educational content by the set of historical users (paragraphs [0017], [0030], [0044], [0046] – historical consumption behaviors relating to education and comprehension of users are stored and accessed by a machine learning engine);
generating, by the content server, a training dataset based on the historical consumption information and the historical comprehension information (paragraphs [0046]-[0049]) – training dataset is generated);
training, by the content server, a machine-learned model configured to predict a measure of comprehension for a user based on behaviors of the user as the user consumes educational content (paragraphs [0057]-[0061] – patterns in learning effectiveness are determined for the set of users);
obtaining, by the content server, interaction data of a target user consuming target educational content according to interactions with interactive elements, wherein the interactive elements are displayed on an educational content interface, wherein obtaining the interaction data comprises: adjusting the interactive elements on the educational content interface according to the interactions (paragraphs [0065]-[0072] – presentation parameters of the content may be adjusted based on the user interaction with the various elements);
applying, by the content server, the machine-learned model to the interaction data to determine a target measure of comprehension for each of a plurality of portions of the target educational content (paragraphs [0063]-[0065] – personalized materials are generated for users based on a collective target measure of comprehension); and
for a portion of the target educational content corresponding to a below-threshold target measure of comprehension: identifying, by the content server, one or more characteristics of the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0065], [0066] – relevant content delivery adaptations may be provided for underrepresented learning styles);
applying, by the content server, a content identification model to the one or more characteristics of the portion of the target educational content to identify supplemental educational content related to the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0070]-[0076] - additional content is adjusted and provided to the user based on their personal learning style); and
generating, by the content server, a supplemental content display in the educational content interface to present the supplemental educational content to the target user (paragraphs [0038], [0051], [0070]-[0076] - additional content is adjusted and provided to the user on a display).
Concerning claims 2, 11, and 17, Sha discloses wherein the behaviors include one or more of reading rates, pause time, number of re-read times, delays in content consumption, highlighting, types of highlighting, highlight coverage, time of day, switch outs, and switch duration (paragraphs [0055], [0063]-[0067] – content consumption includes reading rates and switch outs).
Concerning claims 3, 12, and 18, Sha discloses wherein the measure of comprehension includes one or more of test scores, user evaluations of comprehension, types of highlighting, post- comprehension quiz results (paragraphs [0017], [0030], [0044], [0046] – past learning records measure comprehension of the users).
Concerning claim 4, Sha discloses wherein the content identification model is trained with a second dataset comprising historical educational content consumed by historical users, and the historical educational content includes one or more target educational content and supplemental educational content associated with each target educational content consumed by the historical users (paragraphs [0017], [0030], [0044], [0046] – historical consumption behaviors relating to education and comprehension of users are stored and accessed by a machine learning engine).
Concerning claim 5, Sha discloses further comprising: accessing the second dataset; and training the content identification model to predict a likelihood of supplemental educational content that improves a user's measure of comprehension for the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0057]-[0061] – patterns in learning effectiveness are determined for the set of users).
Concerning claims 6, and 19, Sha discloses wherein applying the machine-learned model to determine a measure of comprehension comprises: determining the measure of comprehension in real time as the target user consumes the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0047], [0051], [061], [0063], [0065], [0067] – real time measures of comprehension of the user are determined).
Concerning claims 7, and 14, Sha discloses wherein generating the educational content interface to present the supplemental educational content to the target user comprises: displaying the supplemental educational content to the target user in real time as the target user consumes the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0047], [0051], [061], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0070]-[0076] – content is displayed in real time).
Concerning claim 8, Sha discloses wherein generating the educational content interface to present the supplemental educational content to the target user comprises: displaying the supplemental educational content to the target user after the target user consumes the portion of the target educational content (paragraphs [0047], [0051], [061], [0063], [0065], [0067], [0070]-[0076] – content is displayed based on user interaction).
Concerning claims 9, 15, and 20, Sha discloses further comprising: identifying second supplemental educational content related to a second portion of the target educational content, wherein the second portion and the portion of the target educational content are related to a low-comprehension dedicated section; and modifying the educational content interface to add the second supplemental educational content for display (paragraphs [0065], [0066] – relevant content delivery adaptations may be provided for underrepresented learning styles).
Concerning claims 10 and 16, see the rejection of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered and the Office Action cites additional explanations and citations with respect to the amended subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715