DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Since the Office Action mailed on 06 April 2026, claim 19 is added and new to the claims set, independent claims 1 and 13 were amended, and claims 1-3 and 5-19 remain pending in the application.
The 103 rejections are maintained, and applicant remarks filed are fully responded to in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koller et al (DE 102014200174 A1) in view of Matsumoto et al (JPH 06193782 A) and De Jesus (KR 101568793 B1). These prior art references respectively cited as Koller, Matsumoto, and De Jesus hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Koller discloses a battery module (“battery pack” [0001]) comprising:
a first cooling pipe (as pointed out in copy of Fig. 2 below);
a second cooling pipe (as pointed out in copy of Fig. 2 below) connected to the first cooling pipe (the first and second cooling pipes in the copy of Fig. 2 below are connected to each other) and arranged on a different plane than the first cooling pipe (the horizontal plane above the horizontal plane that the first cooling pipe extends, and defines the plane that the second cooling pipe extends in shown in copy of Fig. 2 below); and
a branch unit connecting the first cooling pipe and the second cooling pipe (the outlined portion of 10 labelled as ‘branch unit’ in copy of Fig. 2 below).
Koller does not disclose wherein the branch unit includes:
a lower connection pipe connected to the first cooling pipe and including a lower connection unit;
an upper connection pipe connected to the second cooling pipe and including an upper connection unit; and
a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe, the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit,
wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the lower connection pipe, and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the upper connection pipe,
wherein the upper connection unit is forcibly fitted into the connection member and is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe; and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe.
However, Matsumoto discloses a branch unit (“a pipe joint” [0001]).
Matsumoto teaches wherein the branch unit includes:
a lower connection pipe connected to a first cooling pipe (2C Fig. 5; “indoor unit diameter C of the piping 2C are thinly formed for small capacity” [0003]) and including a lower connection unit (5 Fig. 5; “second adapter 5” [0005]);
an upper connection pipe connected to a second cooling pipe (1 Fig. 5; “the joint body 1 of the outdoor unit is formed thick for high-capacity” [0003]) and including an upper connection unit (4 Fig. 5; “first adapter 4” [0004]); and
wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the lower connection pipe (5a Fig. 5; “a second having a tapered surface 5a place the adapter 5, between the tapered surface 4a of the tapered surface 5a and the first adapter 4 of the second adapter 5” [0004]), and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the upper connection pipe (4a Fig. 5; “first adapter 4 having a tapered surface 4a” [0004]),
wherein the upper connection unit is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe (the bottom surface of tapered surface 4a is an extension of the inner surface of first adapter 4 in Fig. 5, and the bottom surface of tapered surface 4a is bent inversely to face the outside of joint body 1); and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe (the top surface of taper surface 4a in Fig. 5 faces joint body 1) and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe (the top surface of taper surface 4a shown in Fig. 5, and outlined in the copy of annotations made to the figure shown below, faces the bottom surfaces of joint body 1 that are outer surfaces of joint body 1, and is exposed to joint body 1 by being directly adjacent to or making direct contact with joint body 1).
Matsumoto further teaches the branch unit utilizing this configuration connects pipes of different diameter that prevents cracking of the lower and upper connection units ([0007]), which essentially facilitates the connection of the lower and upper connection pipes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a lower connection pipe connected to the first cooling pipe and including a lower connection unit, and
an upper connection pipe connected to the second cooling pipe and including an upper connection unit, to the branch unit of Koller in view of Matsumoto wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the lower connection pipe, and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the upper connection pipe,
wherein the upper connection unit is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe; and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe.
The person of ordinary skill will thus be able to achieve connection of the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe that may have different diameters and cooling capacities while preventing cracks in the connection.
Additionally, De Jesus discloses a branch unit (“pipe connection structure” bottom paragraph of p. 2).
De Jesus teaches a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted (“The auxiliary connector 30 is provided at one end of the intubation part 31 fitted to the end of the pipe 10 and the intubation part 31 between the inner peripheral surface of the expansion pipe 11 and the bolt fastening part 41” p. 4-fifth paragraph where the bolt fastening part 41 of connection body 40, or the upper connection pipe, is inserted into auxiliary connector 30 in this case as illustrated in Fig. 2) and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe (“auxiliary connector 30 is coupled to the expanded end of the pipe 10” p. 4-fifth paragraph), the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit (“between the inner peripheral surface of the expansion pipe 11 and the bolt fastening part 41” p. 4-fifth paragraph), and
wherein the upper connection unit is forcibly fitted into the connection member (“the auxiliary connector 30 is densely installed at the end of the pipe to receive a strong compression force when assembling the pipe” p. 5-third paragraph, where the bolt fastening part 41, or upper connection unit, is fitted into the auxiliary connector 30, or connection member, in this case as illustrated in Fig. 2).
De Jesus further teaches the connection member receives a strong compression force when assembling pipes that improves airtightness within the pipe structure (p. 5, third paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to further add a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe, the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit, to the branch unit of modified Koller in view of De Jesus, and wherein the upper connection unit is forcibly fitted into the connection member, in order to achieve improved airtightness in the connection of the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe when a strong connection force is applied in the branch unit.
Regarding claim 2, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the lower connection unit is inclined to be away from an outer surface of the lower connection pipe away from the first cooling pipe (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that the incline of tapered surface 5a increases in a direction away from the outer wall of pipe 2C), and the upper connection unit is inclined to correspond to the lower connection unit (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that the incline of tapered surface 4a runs parallel to tapered surface 5a).
Regarding claim 3, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the upper connection unit is arranged inside the lower connection unit (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that first adapter 4 is located in the upper portion of second adapter 5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the connection member comprises:
a sealing unit arranged between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit (De Jesus “32” Figs. 1-3, “sealing part” p.4-fifth paragraph); and
a body unit extending from the sealing unit (De Jesus “31” Fig. 2, “intubation part” p.4-fifth paragraph) and inserted into the lower connection pipe (claim 1 above recites the limitation “a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe, the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit”, which is addressed by the modification of Koller in view of Matsumoto and further in view of De Jesus).
Regarding claim 6, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the connection member includes:
a core member (De Jesus “122” Fig. 5, “inner tube” p. 5-third paragraph); and
a shell member arranged to cover an outer surface of the core member (De Jesus “123” Fig. 5 where 123 is on the periphery of 122, “the outer tube” p. 5-third paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the lower connection unit is bent to extend from the lower connection pipe (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that tapered surface 5a is a portion of adapter 5 that bends to extend from pipe 2C), and the upper connection unit is bent from an outer surface of the upper connection pipe toward the second cooling pipe (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that tapered surface 4a is a portion of first adapter 4 that bends upward and toward joint body 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Koller discloses all of the limitations for the battery module as set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising a lower branch block arranged between the first cooling pipe and the lower connection pipe (Koller 13 Fig. 2, “branching point” or “one or more T-pieces” [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Koller discloses all of the limitations for the battery module as set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising an upper branch block arranged between the second cooling pipe and the upper connection pipe (Koller “one or more T-pieces to form a tube system 20” [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Koller discloses all of the limitations for the battery module as set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising a first cooling plate where the first cooling pipe is arranged (Koller 9 of the same plane as the first cooling pipe in Fig. 2, “cooling plates” [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Koller discloses all of the limitations for the battery module as set forth in claim 1 above, and further comprising a second cooling plate where the second cooling pipe is arranged (Koller 9 of the same plane as the second cooling pipe in Fig. 2, “cooling plates” [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Koller discloses a battery module (“battery pack” [0001]) comprising:
a first cooling pipe (as pointed out in copy of Fig. 2 above) arranged on a first plane (the horizontal plane that the first cooling pipe in Fig. 2, above, extends in) and comprising an input end (the left edge of the first cooling pipe outlines in the copy of Fig. 2 above because “battery pack 1 is configured in such a way that it has two connections 11 with supply lines and/or discharge lines for the coolant” [0041], and Fig. 2 shows that connections 11 is arranged on the left side of the battery pack) and an output end (the left edge of the first cooling pipe outlines in the copy of Fig. 2 above because “battery pack 1 is configured in such a way that it has two connections 11 with supply lines and/or discharge lines for the coolant” [0041]);
a second cooling pipe (as pointed out in copy of Fig. 2 above) connected to the first cooling pipe (the first and second cooling pipes in the copy of Fig. 2 above are connected to each other) and arranged on a second plane different from the first plane (the horizontal plane above the horizontal plane that the first cooling pipe extends, and defines the plane that the second cooling pipe extends in shown in copy of Fig. 2 above);
a branch unit connecting the first cooling pipe and the second cooling pipe (the outlined portion of 10 labelled as ‘branch unit’ in copy of Fig. 2 above);
an external connection pipe (the portion of 10 that connection 11 is arranged on in Fig. 2); and
at least one lower branch block in the first plane and to connect the external connection pipe, the input end of the first cooling pipe, the output end of the first cooling pipe, and the lower connection pipe (13 Fig. 2, “branching point” or “one or more T-pieces” [0039]).
Koller does not disclose wherein the branch unit includes:
a lower connection pipe connected to the first cooling pipe and including a lower connection unit;
an upper connection pipe connected to the second cooling pipe and including an upper connection unit; and
a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe, the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit,
wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined,
wherein the upper connection unit is fitted into the connection member and is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe; and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe.
However, Matsumoto discloses a branch unit (“a pipe joint” [0001]).
Matsumoto teaches wherein the branch unit includes:
a lower connection pipe connected to a first cooling pipe (2C Fig. 5; “indoor unit diameter C of the piping 2C are thinly formed for small capacity” [0003]) and including a lower connection unit (5 Fig. 5; “second adapter 5” [0005]);
an upper connection pipe connected to a second cooling pipe (1 Fig. 5; “the joint body 1 of the outdoor unit is formed thick for high-capacity” [0003]) and including an upper connection unit (4 Fig. 5; “first adapter 4” [0004]); and
wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the lower connection pipe (5a Fig. 5; “a second having a tapered surface 5a place the adapter 5, between the tapered surface 4a of the tapered surface 5a and the first adapter 4 of the second adapter 5” [0004]), and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined along a lengthwise direction of the upper connection pipe (4a Fig. 5; “first adapter 4 having a tapered surface 4a” [0004]),
wherein the upper connection unit is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe (the bottom surface of tapered surface 4a is an extension of the inner surface of first adapter 4 in Fig. 5, and the bottom surface of tapered surface 4a is bent inversely to face the outside of joint body 1); and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe (the top surface of taper surface 4a in Fig. 5 faces joint body 1) and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe (the top surface of taper surface 4a shown in Fig. 5, and outlined in the copy of annotations made to the figure shown below, faces the bottom surfaces of joint body 1 that are outer surfaces of joint body 1, and is exposed to joint body 1 by being directly adjacent to or making direct contact with joint body 1).
Matsumoto further teaches the branch unit utilizing this configuration connects pipes of different diameter that prevents cracking of the lower and upper connection units ([0007]), which essentially facilitates the connection of the lower and upper connection pipes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a lower connection pipe connected to the first cooling pipe and including a lower connection unit, and
an upper connection pipe connected to the second cooling pipe and including an upper connection unit, to the branch unit of Koller in view of Matsumoto wherein the lower connection unit of the lower connection pipe connected to the upper connection pipe and the upper connection unit of the upper connection pipe connected to the lower connection pipe is inclined,
wherein the upper connection unit is shaped so that the upper connection pipe has:
an inner surface comprising an inner surface portion exposed to an outside of the upper connection pipe; and
an outer surface opposite to the inner surface and comprising an outer surface portion, opposite to the inner surface portion, that faces the upper connection pipe and is exposed to the outside of the upper connection pipe.
The person of ordinary skill will thus be able to achieve connection of the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe that may have different diameters and cooling capacities while preventing cracks in the connection.
Additionally, De Jesus discloses a branch unit (“pipe connection structure” bottom paragraph of p. 2).
De Jesus teaches a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted (“The auxiliary connector 30 is provided at one end of the intubation part 31 fitted to the end of the pipe 10 and the intubation part 31 between the inner peripheral surface of the expansion pipe 11 and the bolt fastening part 41” p. 4-fifth paragraph where the bolt fastening part 41 of connection body 40, or the upper connection pipe, is inserted into auxiliary connector 30 in this case as illustrated in Fig. 2) and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe (“auxiliary connector 30 is coupled to the expanded end of the pipe 10” p. 4-fifth paragraph), the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit (“between the inner peripheral surface of the expansion pipe 11 and the bolt fastening part 41” p. 4-fifth paragraph), and
wherein the upper connection unit is fitted into the connection member (“the auxiliary connector 30 is densely installed at the end of the pipe to receive a strong compression force when assembling the pipe” p. 5-third paragraph, where the bolt fastening part 41, or upper connection unit, is fitted into the auxiliary connector 30, or connection member, in this case as illustrated in Fig. 2).
De Jesus further teaches the connection member receives a strong compression force when assembling pipes that improves airtightness within the pipe structure (p. 5, third paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to further add a connection member into which the upper connection pipe is inserted and which is inserted into the lower connection pipe, the connection member being between the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit and contacting the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit, to the branch unit of modified Koller in view of De Jesus, and wherein the upper connection unit is fitted into the connection member, in order to achieve improved airtightness in the connection of the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe when a strong connection force is applied in the branch unit.
Regarding claim 14, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 13 above, and wherein the lower connection unit and the upper connection unit are fixed to the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe, respectively (Matsumoto [0004] “to place the first adapter 4 having a tapered surface 4a, the inner circumference of the nut 3, a second having a tapered surface 5a place the adapter 5, between the tapered surface 4a of the tapered surface 5a and the first adapter 4 of the second adapter 5 is tightened flare 2a of the different diameter pipe 2C”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 13 above, and wherein a diameter of an inner surface of the lower connection unit increases along a lengthwise direction of the lower connection unit (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that tapered surface 5a increases in diameter in a direction from the right to the left of the pipe connection shown).
Regarding claim 16, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 13 above, and wherein:
the upper connection unit bends towards the second cooling pipe (Matsumoto Fig. 5 shows that tapered surface 4a is a bend a wall of first adapter 4 outward, away from pipe 2C and toward first adapter 4).
Regarding claim 17, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 13 above, but does not disclose wherein the upper connection unit is forcibly fitted into the connection member and is compressed by the forcible fit.
However, De Jesus teaches wherein the upper connection unit is forcibly fitted into the connection member (“the auxiliary connector 30 is densely installed at the end of the pipe…” p. 5-third paragraph, where the bolt fastening part 41, or upper connection unit, is fitted into the auxiliary connector 30, or connection member, in this case as illustrated in Fig. 2) and is compressed by the forcible fit (“…to receive a strong compression force when assembling the pipe” p. 5-third paragraph).
De Jesus further teaches that the compression force improves airtightness within the pipe structure (p. 5, third paragraph) that prevents common loosening due to impact (p. 2, last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to add a forcible fit of the upper connection unit connection member into the connection member of modified Koller in further view of De Jesus, and is compressed by the forcible fit, in order to achieve airtightness in the connection of the lower connection pipe and the upper connection pipe that prevents common loosening commonly experienced due to impact on the pipe structure.
Regarding claim 18, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 17 above, and wherein the at least one lower branch block includes a first lower branch and a second lower branch block arranged in the first plane (Koller 13 Fig. 2, “branching point” or “one or more T-pieces to form a tube system” [0039] where a person of ordinary skill is capable to include separate lower branch block for the inlet and the outlet portions of the first cooling pipe in the first plane to maintain branching points that connect the tube system integrally),
wherein the first lower branch block is to connect the external connection pipe, the input end of the first cooling pipe, and the lower connection pipe (Koller same position as 13 in Fig. 2), and
wherein the second lower branch block is to connect the output end of the first cooling pipe (Koller same position as 13 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, modified Koller discloses the battery module with all limitations set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the inner surface portion is directly contacting the connection member (De Jesus p. 4-fifth paragraph “The auxiliary connector 30 is provided at … the bolt fastening part 41” and p. 4-second paragraph “A tapered portion 44 is formed at the tip of the bolt fastening portion 41”, which corresponds to the outer surface of the claimed upper connection pipe, which Matsumoto teaches includes a first adapter 4 corresponding to the claimed upper connection unit in the rejection of claim 1 above, and De Jesus p. 4-second paragraph discloses “the tapered portion 44 should have an inclination and an area that can be in surface contact with the expanded tube portion 11 of the pipe” italics added for emphasis on the descriptor that corresponds to the claim limitation).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koller (DE 102014200174 A1) in view of Matsumoto (JPH 06193782 A) and De Jesus (KR 101568793 B1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Considine, Jr. et al (US 2016/0273688). Hereinafter referred to as Considine.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Koller discloses all of the limitations for the battery module as set forth in claim 6 above, but does not disclose wherein the core member and the shell member are different in hardness from each other.
However, Considine discloses a connection member (“hydraulic fluid line” Abstract) that includes a core member (“54” Fig. 4, “first elastomeric radial seal” [0026]) and a shell member (“50” Fig. 4, “female fitting” [0026]) arranged to cover an outer surface of the core member (“the first elastomeric radial seal 54 is sized so as to be inserted within the first internal radial groove 70 of the female fitting” [0027]). Considine teaches wherein the core member and the shell member are different in hardness from each other (“female fitting… manufactured from rigid materials” [0026] in comparison to “elastomeric seals 54 and 56 are manufacture from flexible materials such as…” [0026]), and that this material selection for the core member and the shell member of the connection member improves the sealing capability of the connection member ([0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add that the core member and the shell member of modified Koller are different in hardness from each other, in view of Considine where the shell member utilizes rigid materials and the core member utilizes flexible materials, in order to achieve a connection member with improved sealing capability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to remark that the prior art reference Matsumoto and the other cited references do not illustrate, disclose, or suggest the limitation of claims 1 and 13 of “an outer surface portion … that faces … the outside of the upper connection pipe”.
In response to applicant’s remark, and as addressed to in this Office Action, the top surface of taper surface 4a shown in Fig. 5, and outlined in the copy of annotations made to Matsumoto Fig. 5 included in the rejection of claim 1 above, faces the bottom surfaces of joint body 1 that are outer surfaces of joint body 1. In other words, taper surface 4a of first adapter 4 is connected to joint body 1 in a way that results in the top surface of taper surface 4a to face the bottom surfaces of joint body 1, which is shown in the figure to be surfaces located on the outside of the joint body 1, and therefore faces the outside of joint body 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721