DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 21, 23-25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1).
As to claim 1, Olsson discloses a portable power supply (figure 6, battery pack module 600) comprising:
a housing (figure 7, capture shell 610 and bottom case assembly 620);
a power source (figure 2, battery assembly 200);
a first subsystem (figure 1, sealed battery enclosure 100) electrically connected to the power source [0089] and positioned within the housing (figure 7), the first subsystem including a first body (figure 2, housing 110) and a first lid coupled to the first body (figure 2, lid assembly 120);
a second subsystem (figure 2, printed circuit board (PCB) element 152) electrically connected to the power source [0102] and positioned within the housing (figure 7); and
a plurality of wires electrically connecting the power source, the first subsystem, and the second subsystem (figure 2, wires 206);
wherein the first subsystem and the second subsystem are ingress protected when positioned in the housing (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]).
However, Olsson does not disclose wherein the second subsystem includes a second body and a second lid coupled to the second body or wherein the plurality of wires are ingress protected.
Harris discloses portable power supply (figure 1, portable energy storage device 1), having a second subsystem (figure 2A, bottom housing assembly 200) that includes a second body (figure 2A, soft outer layer 206) and a second lid coupled to the second body (figure 12, soft covers 230, [0116]) to enclose and protect the charging device of the portable energy storage device. However, Harris does not disclose wherein the plurality of wires are ingress protected.
Wang discloses a mechanism for providing ingress protection for an electrical device wherein the plurality of wires extending within a housing (figure 1, housing 150) to connect with an electrical component (figure 1, electrical component 110) are ingress protected [0077] by coating the wires in potting material to assist in improving the ingress protection of the housing [0077-0079]. Wang is analogous art with the present application because it would be reasonably pertinent to use the teachings of Wang to solve the problem in the present application of needing the various components within a portable power supply, such as the wires, to be ingress protected to protect the internal electrical components from damage.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power supply disclosed within Olsson to further provide that the second subsystem includes a body with a lid attached to enclose and protect the subsystem within as disclosed within Harris and to additionally require ingress protection for the wiring within the housing as disclosed by Wang to further protect the internal components of the power supply.
As to claim 3, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first subsystem is ingress protected when removed from the housing (figure 5, sealing element 214, [0129]).
As to claim 4, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing.
Harris discloses portable power supply (figure 1, portable energy storage device 1) wherein a first subsystem (figure 4a, skeleton bracket 500) is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing. Harris discloses a skeleton bracket as a subsystem used to house rechargeable batteries (662) within one or more compartments 550 [0134]. As shown in figure 4a, the skeleton bracket does not fully enclose the rechargeable batteries with the bracket not being ingress protected until the top housing assembly is connected to the central housing body [0105].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the portable power supply disclosed by Olsson to additionally require that the first subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing as disclosed in Harris.
As to claim 8, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the housing is selectively perforated (figure 7, screw holes 706).
As to claim 9, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the first subsystem and the second subsystem are sealed against the housing (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]).
As to claim 21, Olsson discloses a portable power supply (figure 6, battery pack module 600) comprising:
a housing (figure 7, capture shell 610 and bottom case assembly 620);
a power source (figure 2, battery assembly 200);
a first subsystem (figure 1, sealed battery enclosure 100) electrically connected to the power source [0089] and positioned within the housing (figure 7);
a second subsystem (figure 2, printed circuit board (PCB) element 152) electrically connected to the power source [0102] and positioned within the housing (figure 7); and
a plurality of wires electrically connecting the power source, the first subsystem, and the second subsystem (figure 2, wires 206);
wherein the first subsystem and the second subsystem are ingress protected when positioned in the housing (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]), and
wherein the first subsystem is ingress protected when the first subsystem is removed from the housing and the second subsystem remains in the housing (figure 5, sealing element 214, [0129]).
However, Olsson does not disclose wherein the plurality of wires are ingress protected.
Wang discloses a mechanism for providing ingress protection for an electrical device wherein the plurality of wires extending within a housing (figure 1, housing 150) to connect with an electrical component (figure 1, electrical component 110) are ingress protected [0077] by coating the wires in potting material to assist in improving the ingress protection of the housing [0077-0079]. Wang is analogous art with the present application because it would be reasonably pertinent to use the teachings of Wang to solve the problem in the present application of needing the various components within a portable power supply, such as the wires, to be ingress protected to protect the internal electrical components from damage.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power supply disclosed within Olsson to further include ingress protection for the wiring within the housing as disclosed by Wang to further protect the internal components of the power supply.
As to claim 23, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the second subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]).
As to claim 24, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the second subsystem is ingress protected when the second subsystem is removed form the housing and the first subsystem remains in the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power supply as disclosed within Olsson to include that the second subsystem is ingress protected when the second subsystem is removed from the housing and the first subsystem remains in the housing because the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
As to claim 25, Olsson discloses a portable power supply (figure 6, battery pack module 600) comprising:
a housing (figure 7, capture shell 610 and bottom case assembly 620);
a first subsystem (figure 1, sealed battery enclosure 100) positioned within the housing (figure 7), the first subsystem including a power source (figure 2, battery assembly 200) disposed in a power source enclosure (figure 2, battery assembly 200);
a second subsystem (figure 2, printed circuit board (PCB) element 152) positioned within the housing (figure 7); and
a plurality of wires electrically connecting the power source, the first subsystem, and the second subsystem (figure 2, wires 206);
wherein the first subsystem and the second subsystem are ingress protected (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]).
However, Olsson does not disclose wherein the second subsystem includes a charger disposed in a charger enclosure or wherein the plurality of wires are ingress protected.
Harris discloses portable power supply (figure 1, portable energy storage device 1), having a second subsystem (figure 2A, bottom housing assembly 200) that includes a charger (figure 2A-2B, electrical connectors and assembly 226, USB output receptacles 608 and 610) disposed within a charger enclosure (figure 2A, soft outer layer 206) to protect and secure the electrical components [0110]. However, Harris does not disclose wherein the plurality of wires are ingress protected.
Wang discloses a mechanism for providing ingress protection for an electrical device wherein the plurality of wires extending within a housing (figure 1, housing 150) to connect with an electrical component (figure 1, electrical component 110) are ingress protected [0077] by coating the wires in potting material to assist in improving the ingress protection of the housing [0077-0079]. Wang is analogous art with the present application because it would be reasonably pertinent to use the teachings of Wang to solve the problem in the present application of needing the various components within a portable power supply, such as the wires, to be ingress protected to protect the internal electrical components from damage.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power supply disclosed within Olsson to further provide that the second subsystem includes a charger disposed in a charger enclosure to protect and secure the electrical components as disclosed within Harris and to additionally require ingress protection for the wiring within the housing as disclosed by Wang to further protect the internal components of the power supply.
As to claim 27, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 25, but does not disclose wherein the first subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing.
Harris discloses portable power supply (figure 1, portable energy storage device 1) wherein a first subsystem (figure 4a, skeleton bracket 500) is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing. Harris discloses a skeleton bracket as a subsystem used to house rechargeable batteries (662) within one or more compartments 550 [0134]. As shown in figure 4a, the skeleton bracket does not fully enclose the rechargeable batteries with the bracket not being ingress protected until the top housing assembly is connected to the central housing body [0105].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the portable power supply disclosed by Olsson to additionally require that the first subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing as disclosed in Harris.
As to claim 28, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 25, and further discloses wherein the second subsystem is only ingress protected when positioned within the housing (figure 12, internal ridge element 1110, [0152]).
As to claim 29, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 25, and further discloses wherein the first subsystem is ingress protected when the first subsystem is removed from the housing and the second subsystem remains in the housing (figure 5, sealing element 214, [0129]).
As to claim 30, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 25, but does not disclose wherein the second subsystem is ingress protected when the second subsystem is removed from the housing and the first subsystem remains in the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the portable power supply as disclosed within Olsson to include that the second subsystem is ingress protected when the second subsystem is removed from the housing and the first subsystem remains in the housing because the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and additionally in view of Ellis (US 20190207416, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024).
As to claim 2, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the portable power supply includes an ingress protection rating, and wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing.
Ellis discloses a portable power supply wherein the portable power supply (Figure 1, power supply unit 10) has an ingress protection rating [0047]. Ellis additionally discloses wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing as the seal used to create the ingress protection in Ellis may be located on the base, the top, or the sides of the housing independent of the subsystems (Figure 3, [0047]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the portable power supply disclosed by Olsson to additionally include an ingress protection rating that remains constant when either subsystem is removed from the housing as disclosed in Ellis.
5. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and additionally in view of Ellis (US 20190207416, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024).
As to claim 22, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the portable power supply includes an ingress protection rating, and wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing.
Ellis discloses a portable power supply wherein the portable power supply (Figure 1, power supply unit 10) has an ingress protection rating [0047]. Ellis additionally discloses wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing as the seal used to create the ingress protection in Ellis may be located on the base, the top, or the sides of the housing independent of the subsystems (Figure 3, [0047]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the portable power supply disclosed by Olsson to additionally include an ingress protection rating that remains constant when either subsystem is removed from the housing as disclosed in Ellis.
6. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and additionally in view of Ellis (US 20190207416, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024).
As to claim 26, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 25, but does not disclose wherein the portable power supply includes an ingress protection rating, and wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing.
Ellis discloses a portable power supply wherein the portable power supply (Figure 1, power supply unit 10) has an ingress protection rating [0047]. Ellis additionally discloses wherein the ingress protection rating of the portable power supply remains constant when the first subsystem or the second subsystem is removed from the housing as the seal used to create the ingress protection in Ellis may be located on the base, the top, or the sides of the housing independent of the subsystems (Figure 3, [0047]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the portable power supply disclosed by Olsson to additionally include an ingress protection rating that remains constant when either subsystem is removed from the housing as disclosed in Ellis.
7. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1) as applied to claim 1 above, additionally in view of Jackson et al. (US 20130273396).
As to claim 5, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first lid and the first body are joined with a gasket (Figure 2, sealing element 214). However, Olsson does not disclose wherein a grommet is positioned proximate the gasket to allow wires to pass from within the first body to a location external from the first body.
Jackson discloses a portable power supply having a first subsystem (figure 2, electronics housing 12) having a grommet (figure 2, grommet 22, [0016]) positioned proximate the gasket (figure 2, elastomeric sections 32 [0016]) to allow wires to pass from within the body to a location external from the body [0016] while maintaining a sealed connection.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the first subsystem as disclosed within Olsson to additionally include a grommet as disclosed in Jackson to allow wires to pass through the grommet while maintaining a sealed connection between the lid and the body of the first subsystem.
As to claim 6, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the first subsystem includes a gore valve positioned on the first body [0090], the gore valve configured to equalize an internal pressure within the first body [0090].
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US 20130164567A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 20190181407, provided in the IDS mailed on 1 February 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250169014A1) and Jackson et al. (US 20130273396) as applied to claim 6 above, additionally in view of Blumka et al. (US 20170187079).
As to claim 7, modified Olsson discloses the portable power supply of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the second subsystem includes a vent [0071]. However, Olsson does not disclose wherein the vent is louvered and is configured to divert water ingress away from the second subsystem.
Blumka discloses a battery pack having a louvered vent (figure 7, louver 80) that is configured to divert water ingress away [0018] while allowing air to flow through the louver without ingress material entering the vent.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the area before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vent in the second subsystem as disclosed within Olsson to be louvered as described in Blumka to prevent ingress from entering the vent while still allowing air to flow out.
Response to Amendment
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but are considered persuasive and are further moot because, in light of the amendment, a new ground of rejection is given in view of Harris.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727