DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holzmueller et al. (US 2017/0244294; IDS).
In claim 1, Holzmueller discloses (Fig. 3-4 and 7) an electric motor (700) comprising: a stator component (780) comprising a plurality of stator slots (sot portions of 780), each stator slot of the plurality of stator slots comprising a dielectric material (412, 772); and a magnet wire assembly (770) comprising a conductive wire (copper wire; [0114]) and an insulating member (404) that overlays the conductive wire ([0114]), wherein the insulating member (404) comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene ([0092]), and wherein the magnet wire assembly (770) is located at at least one of the plurality of stator slots to define a magnetic circuit that includes at least the magnet wire assembly (770) and the dielectric material (412, 772) at the at least one of the plurality of stator slots.
In claim 2, Holzmueller discloses wherein the magnet wire assembly (770) is located at each of the plurality of stator slots (sots shown in Fig. 7) to define a magnetic circuit that includes at least the magnet wire assembly (770) and the dielectric material (412, 772) at each of the plurality of stator slots.
In claim 3, Holzmueller discloses wherein the magnetic circuit, including the magnet wire assembly (770) applied at the dielectric material (412, 772) at the at least one of the plurality of stator slots, is configured to provide a path to conduct flux.
In claim 4, Holzmueller discloses wherein the dielectric material (412, 772) is provided as an insulating member (412 is a motor slot film liner; [0092]) around a perimeter of the at least one of the plurality of stator slots, and wherein the dielectric material (412, 772) is configured to provide electrical resistance to ground.
In claim 5, Holzmueller discloses wherein the magnet wire assembly (770) forms a continuously wound coil ([0044, 0047, 0052]) that defines the at least one of the plurality of stator slots.
In claim 8, Holzmueller discloses wherein the electric motor (700) is configured to operate in an operating environment having a pressure of up to 34 Kpsi and a temperature of up to 200⁰ C (see NOTE).
Applicant recites a functional recitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In claim 9, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) comprising ePTFE is configured to resist hydrolysis when the electric motor in the presence of an operating environment that has a pressure of up to 34 Kpsi and a temperature of up to 200⁰ C (see NOTE).
Applicant recites a functional recitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In claim 10, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) comprising ePTFE directly overlays the conductive wire such that the insulating member (404) comprising ePTFE forms a sleeve around the conductive wire ([0144]).
In claim 11, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) consists of ePTFE ([0092]).
In claim 12, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404; member coating the wire) directly contacts the dielectric material (412, 772) such that the ePTFE of the insulating member (404) directly contacts the dielectric material (412, 772; Fig. 7)).
In claim 13, Holzmueller discloses a magnet wire assembly (770) comprising: a conductive wire (copper wire; [0114]) and an insulating member (404) overlaying the conductive wire ([0114]), wherein the insulating member (404) comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene ([0092]).
In claim 14, Holzmueller discloses wherein the conductive wire comprises a copper wire ([0114]).
In claim 15, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) directly overlays the conductive wire ([0144]).
In claim 16, Holzmueller discloses wherein the ePTFE directly overlays the conductive wire ([0144]).
In claim 17, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) forms a sleeve around the conductive wire ([0144]).
In claim 18, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) is configured to resist hydrolysis when the electric motor in the presence of an operating environment that has a pressure of up to 34 Kpsi and a temperature of up to 200⁰ C (see NOTE).
Applicant recites a functional recitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In claim 19, Holzmueller discloses wherein the insulating member (404) consists of ePTFE ([0092]).
In claim 20, Holzmueller discloses wherein the magnet wire assembly (770), including the conductive wire and the ePTFE of the insulating member (404), forms a continuously wound magnetic coil ([0044, 0047, 0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzmueller et al. (US 2017/0244294; IDS) in view of Islam et al. (US 2019/0379251)
In claim 6, Holzmueller teaches the motor of claim 5, with the exception of wherein the magnet wire assembly forms a concentrated winding pattern at each of the plurality of stator slots.
However, Islam teaches that a fractional winding structure configuration is provided for a concentrated winding pattern at each of the plurality of stator slots ([0022]).
Therefore in view ofIslam, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a compact structure that helps with torque density, torque ripple, and core losses (Islam; [0022]).
In claim 7, Holzmueller teaches the motor of claim 5, with the exception of wherein the magnet wire assembly forms a distributed winding pattern at each of the plurality of stator slots.
However, Islam teaches that a fractional winding structure configuration is provided for a distributed winding pattern at each of the plurality of stator slots ([0022]).
Therefore in view ofIslam, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a compact structure that helps with torque density, torque ripple, and core losses (Islam; [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sercombe et al. (US 2020/0169136) teaches a winding system for use in an electrical, electronic or electromagnetic device or component including: one or more set of windings, each set of windings including an electrically-conductive element arranged in a winding pattern with multiple turns.
Hall et al. (US 9472987) teaches induction motor stator windings.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834