DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-10, and 14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-10, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht et al (US 20100161717 A1) hereafter Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad et al (US 20130111056 A1) hereafter Prasad
Regarding claim 1, Albrecht teaches an image generation system, comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (Para 0017, a memory 106); and one or more processors (Para 0019, web server 102 includes a processor 104) configured to execute the instructions to: execute a browser engine on the one or more processors, the browser engine configured to generate Web page rendering results from Web contents (Para 0011, a web browser at the requesting client interprets the web page's source code and sends a second request to retrieve the file from the specific URL listed within the web page); determine whether or not an external access URL received from a communication apparatus is registered in a database (Para 0034, when the web page "www.abc.com" is requested and received for the first time), wherein the communication apparatus is configured to display a Web page based on an image of a rendering result received from the image generation system and is characterized in that the communication apparatus cannot analyze the Web contents corresponding to the external access URL (Para 0017, client 118, as well as other systems communicably coupled to the network)(“ client 118” teaches “communication apparatus”); obtain Web contents corresponding to the external access URL in a case where it has been determined that the external access URL has not been registered (Para 0034, web browser 128 stores a cached version of the web page file 108 defining the requested web page in the web cache 134 along with a reference specifically associating the cached version with the web page of the URL "www.abc.com."); analyze the Web contents by the browser engine (Para 0062, which may perform certain steps using the web browser)(“perform certain steps” teaches “analyze the Web contents”); perform rendering processing based on the analyzed Web contents analyzed by the browser engine (Para 0062, which may perform certain steps using the web browser) (“perform certain steps” teaches “rendering processing”); generate one image file representing a rendering result obtained as a result of the rendering processing (Para 0062, an initial version of an image file is stored at the web server and associated with a particular web page); determine whether or not the Web contents are Web contents that should be registered in the database based on an analysis result of the Web contents (Para 0062, the interaction between the systems occurs after the web server receives an updated version of the image file)(“ updated version of the image file” teaches “Web contents that should be registered in the database”); register the external access URL and a URL for accessing the one image file to the database in association with each other, in a case where it is determined that the Web contents are Web contents that should be registered in the database (Para 0062, thus updates the image file reference associated with the web page); and perform transmission control for transmitting to the communication apparatus the URL that is for accessing the one image file corresponding to the external access URL, in a case where it has been determined that the external access URL has been registered (Para 0041, the client 118 stores the plurality of cached image files 136 in a web cache 134) (“web cache” teaches “performing transmission control”), wherein the transmission control causes the communication apparatus to display the rendering result of the Web contents that is based on the external access URL, without the communication apparatus performing analysis and rendering processing of the Web contents, thereby skipping the analysis, the rendering processing, and the generation of the image file by the browser engine on the one or more processors when the external access URL has been registered (Para 0043, the cached image file matching the current version specified in the received image file reference is retrieved from within the client's cache).
Albrecht teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine that the Web contents are not Web contents that should be registered in the database. However, Albrecht does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine that the Web contents are not Web contents that should be registered in the database in a case where i) cookie information is obtained in the Web contents, or ii) there is an element related to a login in the Web contents, wherein in the case regarding the cookie information, a determination is made based on whether or not a description of variable = document.cookie exists in html and a determination is made based on whether or not a description of $.cookie() exists in JavaScript, and in the case regarding the element related to a login, a determination is made based on whether or not a description of is_authenticated, httpServletRequest, or authentication. exists in html.
In analogous art, Stackoverflow teaches in a case where i) cookie information is obtained in the Web contents, or ii) there is an element related to a login in the Web contents (Page 1 , I need to check if the current site user is logged in), wherein in the case regarding the cookie information, a determination is made based on whether or not a description of variable = document.cookie exists in html and a determination is made based on whether or not a description of $.cookie() exists in JavaScript, and in the case regarding the element related to a login, a determination is made based on whether or not a description of is_authenticated, httpServletRequest, or authentication. exists in html (Page 1, request.user.is_authenticated). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albrecht to include the teaching of Stackoverflow. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to check if a user is logged in, as taught by Stackoverflow (Page 1, How to check if a user is logged in).
Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow does not appear to explicitly teach one JPEG file, which is a URL that ends with “.jpeg”.
In analogous art, Prasad teaches one JPEG file, which is a URL that ends with “.jpeg” (Para 0038, The URL inside a client HTTP request is mapped to a respective video file, so that the mobile browser may request the sequence of video image frames directly, for example, image-001.jpeg to image-165.jpeg for the above 11-second MPEG-4 video clip). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow to include the teaching of Prasad. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to extract image files, as taught by Prasad (Para 0038, The content server 240 integrated with the image extraction unit manages all video files and extracted images associated with each video file).
Regarding claim 3, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: upload the generated one JPEG file; and register the external access URL and a URL of for accessing the uploaded one JPEG file to the database in association with each other (Albrecht, Para 0049, the image file may be uploaded from a user).
Regarding claim 4, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to transmit the URL for accessing the uploaded one JPEG file corresponding to the external access URL to the communication apparatus (Albrecht, Para 0069, the client 118 retrieves the stored or cached image file 136 associated with an image file reference 110 exactly matching the image file reference 110 received at box 451.).
Regarding claim 5, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine, based on the analysis result, whether or not to register the external access URL, the URL for accessing the uploaded one JPEG file, and Web contents corresponding to the external access URL in association; and perform registration in a case where the determination to register is made (Albrecht, Para 0034, The web cache 134 generally, and the set of cached image files 136 specifically, store the cacheable web documents along with a listing of the URL associated with the particular web document).
Regarding claim 6, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 5, wherein the analysis result includes at least one of a cache control, cookie information, and user login information (Albrecht, Para 0011, This request reduction can be realized by modifying the information included within each web page file defining the cacheable files associated with or embedded within a particular web page).
Regarding claim 7, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: obtain Web contents corresponding to the external access URL; determine a difference between the obtained Web contents and Web contents registered in the database and corresponding to the external access URL; and delete, in a case where there is the difference, the Web contents registered in the database (Albrecht, Para 0014, server requests for the files associated with a certain web page are only sent by the client in order to retrieve new or update out-of-date versions of the file stored in the client's cache to ensure that the latest versions of the file are available at the client).
Regarding claim 8, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 7, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: not perform registration to the database for an external access URL corresponding to Web contents that have been deleted after the deletion even in a case where it has been determined that the external access URL has not been registered (Albrecht, Para 0014, server requests for the files associated with a certain web page are only sent by the client in order to retrieve new or update out-of-date versions of the file stored in the client's cache to ensure that the latest versions of the file are available at the client).
Regarding claim 9, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: obtain Web contents corresponding to the external access URL; determine a difference between the obtained Web contents and the Web contents registered in the database and corresponding to the external access URL; and register to the database identification information indicating that there is a difference between the Web contents for the external access URL in a case where there is a difference (Albrecht, Para 0014, server requests for the files associated with a certain web page are only sent by the client in order to retrieve new or update out-of-date versions of the file stored in the client's cache to ensure that the latest versions of the file are available at the client).
Regarding claim 10, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 9, wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine, in a case where an external access URL received from the communication apparatus is registered in the database, whether or not the identification information for the external access URL is registered, and obtain, in a case where it has been determined that the identification information is registered, Web contents corresponding to the external access URL (Albrecht, Para 0035, In those instances, elements stored in the web cache 134 can be retrieved by the client 118 or the web browser 128 instead of requiring the client 118 or web browser 128 to send an additional browser request to the web server 102).
Regarding claim 14, Albrecht in view of Stackoverflow further in view of Prasad teaches the image generation system according to claim 1, wherein a Web image that is not Web contents which should be registered is an image that is generated according to Web contents that are rendered depending on a user and whose contents therefore vary (Albrecht, Para 0039, The URL of the requested web page may be manually entered by a user of the client).
Conclusion
/B.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166