DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Nomura et al. (US 2011/0155917 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Nomura discloses: a radiation imaging apparatus (par. [0007]) in which a scintillator (scintillator layer, 2) and a sensor substrate (sensor panel, 4) comprising a main surface with a plurality of pixels (substrate 4b with pixel region 4a, par. [0046]) arranged thereon are bonded by a bonding member (adhesive, 5), wherein in an orthogonal projection with respect to the main surface, a bubble extending over a first pixel and an adjacent pixel adjacent to the first pixel does not exist in the bonding member (“by gradually bonding the scintillator panel to the sensor panel 4 from one end to the other end thereof, bubbles are prevented from being generated in a contact region therebetween”, par. [0046]).
With respect to claim 11, Nomura discloses at least a first, second, and third pixel (“many pixels”, par. [0046]), wherein a bubble extending over a first pixel and adjacent pixels does not exist in the bonding member (“by gradually bonding the scintillator panel to the sensor panel 4 from one end to the other end thereof, bubbles are prevented from being generated in a contact region therebetween”, par. [0046]).
With respect to claim 14, Nomura discloses a signal processor configured to process a signal output from the radiation imaging apparatus (par. [0048]).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujioka et al. (WO 2019/155813, translation enclosed).
With respect to claim 10, Fujioka discloses: a radiation imaging apparatus in which a scintillator (1) and a sensor substrate comprising a main surface with a plurality of pixels arranged thereon (2, par. [0058]) are bonded by a bonding member (adhesive, par. [0052]), wherein in an orthogonal projection with respect to the main surface, a bubble extending over a first pixel and an adjacent pixel adjacent to the first pixel does not exist in the bonding member (reduced-pressure environment is used to prevent bubbles, par. [0055]).
With respect to claims 11-13, Fujioka discloses an array of pixel elements, wherein an inner element is surrounded by eight other pixels (shown in Fig. 4, array shown in element 2). Fujioka also describes preventing bubbles between the elements (reduced-pressure environment is used to prevent bubbles, par. [0055]).
With respect to claim 14, Fujioka discloses a signal processor configured to process a signal output from the radiation imaging apparatus (implicitly disclosed, par. [0022], as electric signal is provided as an output).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Nomura discloses an array comprising “many pixels” (par. [0046]) which correspond to scintillator elements which are shown in a two-dimensional arrangement (see Figures 4A and 4B). Assuming, in arguendo, that the statement of “many pixels” and the arrangements shown in Fig. 4A and 4B do not encompass the claimed fourth through ninth pixels, such a modification would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 6 January 2026