DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 17, 2026 has been filed. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection previously presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 19, 2025, with one exception outlined below.
Regarding the objection to the title for not being descriptive, applicant has not amended the title according to examiner’s suggestions, and has not presented any arguments that the objection is inappropriate. Therefore, the objection remains.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed February 17, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cassan et al. (Patent Publication Number WO 2009/060264 A1), hereafter referred to as Cassan.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Amplifier with Transmission Line Transformer Matching Network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first node" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “the second node” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2016/0336983 A1), as cited by applicant, hereafter referred to as Wang, in view of Cassan.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses:
An amplifier (Wang, Fig. 8A) comprising: a first transistor (Fig. 8A, 404) to which a radio-frequency signal is input (Fig.8A, see connection between 404 and input terminal IN); a second transistor (Fig. 8A, 408) from which the radio-frequency signal is output (Fig. 8A, see connection between 408 and output terminals OUT+ and OUT-), the first and second transistors being cascode connected (Fig. 8A, see that transistors 404 and 408 are cascode connected); an input matching network (Fig. 8A, 410) connected to an input of the first transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 410 and 404); and an output matching network (Fig. 8A, 440) connected to an output of the second transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 408 and 440), wherein the input matching network comprises a first transmission line transformer (Fig. 8A, 410), and wherein the first transmission line transformer comprises: a first line (Fig. 8A, 414) connected between a radio-frequency signal input terminal and the first transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 414 and node N1 between input and transistor 404), and a second line (Fig. 8A, 412) configured to couple to the first line via an electromagnetic field (Fig. 8A, see coupling 416), and having a first end connected to a first node between the first line and the radio-frequency signal input terminal (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and node N1 via N3, 812, and N4) and a second end connected to a ground potential (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and ground), but fails to disclose [the first line connected] in series [between the radio-frequency signal input terminal and the first transistor].
However, Cassan teaches [the first line connected] in series [between the radio-frequency signal input terminal and the first transistor] (Cassan, Fig. 4, see connection between 450 and input/output of circuit of Fig. 4).
Wang and Cassan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Cassan to include the transformer of Cassan in the circuit of Wang, which would have the effect of providing highly accurate impedance matching (Cassan, Page 7, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses:
An amplifier (Wang, Fig. 8A) comprising: a first transistor (Fig. 8A, 404) to which a radio-frequency signal is input (Fig.8A, see connection between 404 and input terminal IN); a second transistor (Fig. 8A, 408) from which the radio-frequency signal is output (Fig. 8A, see connection between 408 and output terminals OUT+ and OUT-), the first and second transistors being cascode connected (Fig. 8A, see that transistors 404 and 408 are cascode connected); an input matching network (Fig. 8A, 410) connected to an input of the first transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 410 and 404); and an output matching network (Fig. 8A, 440) connected to an output of the second transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 408 and 440), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the output matching network comprises a second transmission line transformer, and wherein the second transmission line transformer comprises: a third line connected in series between a radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor, and a fourth line configured to couple to the third line via an electromagnetic field, and having a first end connected to a second node between the third line and the radio-frequency signal output terminal and a second end connected to a ground potential.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to replace the output matching network of Wang with a matching network similar to the input matching network of Wang, which would have the effect of providing an output matching network to implement a single-ended output (Wang, Paragraph 44, lines 13-16) while providing matching over a wide range of frequencies (Paragraph 49, lines 10-15). After the modification is made, Wang further discloses:
wherein the output matching network comprises a second transmission line transformer (Wang, Fig. 8A, 410), and wherein the second transmission line transformer comprises: a third line (Fig. 8A, 414) connected between a radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 414 and node N1 between input and transistor 404), and a fourth line (Fig. 8A, 412) configured to couple to the third line via an electromagnetic field (Fig. 8A, see coupling 416), and having a first end connected to a second node between the third line and the radio-frequency signal output terminal (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and node N1 via N3, 812, and N4) and a second end connected to a ground potential (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and ground), but fails to disclose [the third line connected] in series [between the radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor].
However, Cassan teaches [the third line connected] in series [between the radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor] (Cassan, Fig. 4, see connection between 450 and input/output of circuit of Fig. 4).
Wang and Cassan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Cassan to include the transformer of Cassan in the circuit of Wang, which would have the effect of providing highly accurate impedance matching (Cassan, Page 7, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 3, Wang fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the output matching network comprises a second transmission line transformer, and wherein the second transmission line transformer comprises: a third line connected between a radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor, and a fourth line configured to couple to the third line via an electromagnetic field, and having a first end connected to a second node between the third line and the radio-frequency signal output terminal and a second end connected between the third line and the ground potential.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to replace the output matching network of Wang with a matching network similar to the input matching network of Wang, which would have the effect of providing an output matching network to implement a single-ended output (Wang, Paragraph 44, lines 13-16) while providing matching over a wide range of frequencies (Paragraph 49, lines 10-15). After the modification is made, Wang further discloses:
wherein the output matching network comprises a second transmission line transformer (Wang, Fig. 8A, 410), and wherein the second transmission line transformer comprises: a third line (Fig. 8A, 414) connected between a radio-frequency signal output terminal and the second transistor (Fig. 8A, see connection between 414 and node N1 between input and transistor 404), and a fourth line (Fig. 8A, 412) configured to couple to the third line via an electromagnetic field (Fig. 8A, see coupling 416), and having a first end connected to a second node between the third line and the radio-frequency signal output terminal (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and node N1 via N3, 812, and N4) and a second end connected between the third line and a ground potential (Fig. 8A, see connection between 412 and ground).
Regarding claim 9, Wang further discloses:
wherein the first line is a first inductor (Wang, Paragraph 40, lines 1-2), and wherein the second line is a second inductor (Paragraph 40, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses:
wherein the third line is a third inductor (Wang, Paragraph 40, lines 1-2), and wherein the fourth line is a fourth inductor (Paragraph 40, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further discloses:
further comprising: a fifth inductor (Wang, Fig. 8A, 414) and a third capacitor (Fig. 8A, 422) connected in series between the radio-frequency signal input terminal and the ground potential (Fig. 8A, see series path between node N1 and ground via 414 and 422).
Regarding claim 12, Wang further discloses:
further comprising: a fifth inductor (Wang, Fig. 8A, 414) and a third capacitor (Fig. 8A, 422) connected in series between a radio-frequency signal input terminal and the ground potential (Fig. 8A, see series path between node N1 and ground via 414 and 422).
Regarding claim 14, Wang fails to disclose:
wherein a first end of the first line is connected to the first node, and a second end of the first line is connected to a gate of the first transistor.
However, Cassan further teaches wherein a first end of the first line is connected to the first node (Cassan, Fig. 4, see connection between 450 and 420), and a second end of the first line is connected to a gate of the first transistor (Fig. 4, see connection between 450 and 410).
Wang and Cassan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Cassan to include the transformer of Cassan in the circuit of Wang, which would have the effect of providing highly accurate impedance matching (Cassan, Page 7, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 15, Wang further discloses:
further comprising: a sixth inductor (Wang, Fig. 8A, 412) connected between a source of the first transistor and the ground potential (Fig. 8A, see connection between source of 404 and ground via 412).
Regarding claim 16, Wang further discloses:
wherein a first end of the first line and the first end of the second line are each connected to the first node (Wang, Fig. 8A, see connection between 414 and 412 at node N4).
Regarding claim 17, Wang further discloses:
wherein a first end of the third line and the first end of the fourth line are each connected to the first node (Wang, Fig. 8A, see connection between 414 and 412 at node N4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Cassan as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sakusabe (Patent Publication Number JP H1168474 A), as cited by applicant, hereafter referred to as Sakusabe.
Regarding claim 4, Wang fails to disclose:
wherein an inductance of the first transmission line transformer is different from an inductance of the second transmission line transformer.
However, Sakusabe teaches wherein an inductance of the first transmission line transformer is different from an inductance of the second transmission line transformer (Sakusabe, Page 2, lines 20-23 [see English translation provided with this OA for page/line numbers] and Page 3, lines 3-4, consider that the inductances for the input and output matching networks are different).
Wang, Cassan, and Sakusabe are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Sakusabe to make the input and output matching networks of Wang have different inductances, which would have the effect of enabling appropriate impedance matching for the circuit of Wang (Sakusabe, Page 2, lines 20-23 and Page 3, lines 1-4)
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Cassan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Labanc et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2018/0026589 A1), hereafter referred to as Labanc.
Regarding claim 5, Wang fails to disclose:
wherein an inductance of the first line is equal to an inductance of the second line.
However, Labanc teaches wherein an inductance of the first line is equal to an inductance of the second line (Labanc, Paragraph 78, lines 5-9).
Wang, Cassan, and Labanc are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Labanc to set the inductances of the first and second lines of Wang to be equal, which would have the effect of providing a 1:1 transformer to enable a larger impedance range for the matching circuit of Wang (Labanc, Paragraph 78, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 6, Wang further discloses:
wherein a bias input terminal for the first transistor (Wang, Fig. 8A, VBIAS) is connected to the second end of the second line (Fig. 8A, see connection between VBIAS and 412 via 407, 422, and ground).
Regarding claim 8, Wang further discloses:
further comprising: a second capacitor (Wang, Fig. 8A, 612) connected between the second line and the ground potential (Fig. 8A, see connection between 612 and node coupling 412 to ground).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Cassan and Labanc as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sakusabe.
Regarding claim 7, Wang and Labanc fail to disclose:
further comprising: a first capacitor connected in series between the first node and the radio-frequency signal input terminal.
However, Sakusabe teaches further comprising: a first capacitor (Sakusabe, Fig. 2, 3) connected in series between the first node and the radio-frequency signal input terminal (Fig. 2, see connection between transistor 23 and input terminal 2 via capacitor 3).
Wang, Cassan, Labanc, and Sakusabe are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Sakusabe to include the capacitor of Sakusabe in the circuit of Wang, which would have the effect of providing DC blocking for the circuit of Wang (Sakusabe, Page 2, lines 11-13).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Cassan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (Patent Publication Number CN 101,183,878 A), hereafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 13, Wang further discloses:
further comprising: a fifth inductor (Wang, Fig. 8A, 414) and a third capacitor (Fig. 8A, 422) connected between the radio-frequency signal input terminal and the ground potential (Fig. 8A, see series path between node N1 and ground via 414 and 422), but fails to disclose wherein an inductance of the fifth inductor is different from an inductance of the second line.
However, Li teaches wherein an inductance of the fifth inductor is different from an inductance of the second line (Li, Page 5, Last Paragraph, lines 1-2).
Wang, Cassan, and Li are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Li to make the fifth inductor and second line of Li have different inductance values, which would have the effect of providing appropriate matching conditions for the circuit of Wang (Li, Page 5, Last Paragraph, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2021/0203296 A1) discloses (Fig. 2A) a transmission line based matching circuit for an amplifier.
Heston et al. (Patent Number US 7,898,340 B2) discloses (Fig. 2) a transmission line transformer based matching circuit for an amplifier.
Wallis (Patent Publication Number US 2017/0194918 A1) discloses (Fig. 2A) a transformer based matching circuit for an amplifier.
Lin et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2016/0233839 A1) discloses (Fig. 1) a transmission line based matching circuit for an amplifier.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843