DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the micropores extending through the thickness of the polymer core and intersecting each other to form a network of interconnected chambers within the thickness of the polymer core, wherein the micropores are partially filled by the metallic structures such that the micropores comprise voids” as claimed in claims 1+21 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specification, as originally filed, does not provide support for the claimed subject matter of “the micropores extending through the thickness of the polymer core and intersecting each other to form a network of interconnected chambers within the thickness of the polymer core, wherein the micropores are partially filled by the metallic structures such that the micropores comprise voids” as now cited in claims 21 and 12. As described in the specification paragraph [0033] of the application’s publication and shown in Figures 1 and 3, the polymer core comprises either micropores extending through the thickness of the polymer core, wherein the micropores are partially filled with metallic structures such that the micropores comprise voids, Fig. 1 OR micropores intersecting each other to form a network of interconnected chambers within the thickness of the polymer core, Fig. 3; but not both in one embodiment. Claims 13, 14, 22, and 23 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11, 15-19, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura (7737362) in view of Smith et al. (5631447).
Ogura discloses a cable comprising: an inner conductor (11); a dielectric layer (12) extending around the inner conductor; and a polymeric material (13-15) extending around the dielectric layer, the polymeric material comprising: a polymer core (14) comprising opposite first and second sides, the polymer core comprising a pore (col. 4, last two lines) that extends through the first and second sides of the polymer core (Fig. 2) such that the polymer core is porous; first and second metallic layers (13, 15) extending on the first and second sides, respectively, of the polymer core; and a metallic link (22, Fig. 2) extending through the pore from the first metallic layer to the second metallic layer such that the metallic link provides an electrically conductive path between the first and second metallic layers (re-claims 1 and 15).
Oruga does not disclose the pore being micropore and partially filled by the metallic link such that the pore comprises a void that extends through the first and second sides of the polymer core (re-claims 1 and 15).
Smith et al. discloses a polymeric material (Figs 2 & 4B) comprising a polymer core (10) comprising opposite first and second sides and including micropore (col. 4, lines 18-19, the through-holes are preferably not more than 200 micrometers, i.e., micropores), wherein the micropore is partially filled with a metallic link (conductive tubes 12) such that the micropore comprises a void that extends through the first and second sides.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pore of Ogura to be micropore as taught by Smith et al. to meet the specific end use since Ogura discloses that the shielding effect can be adjusted by adjusting the shape, size, or the number of through-holes (col. 2, lines 53-67).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the metallic link (22) of Ogura, to be a tube instead of a rod, as taught by Smith et al. such that a void is contained within the modified micropore, to meet the specific end use since Ogura discloses that the shielding effect can be adjusted by adjusting the shape of the conductors contained in the resin material (col. 2, lines 53-67).
Ogura, as modified, also discloses the micropore comprising an interior surface of the polymer core, the metallic link comprising a layer extending on the interior surface (see Smith, Fig. 4B) (re-claim 2); the metallic link conductively bridging the first and second metallic layers together (re-claim 6); the metallic link being configured such that the polymeric material is electrically conductive through the thickness of the polymeric material (re-claim 7); the polymer core comprising a tape or a film (re-claims 8 and 24); at least one of the first metallic layer, the second metallic layer, or the metallic link comprising at least one of copper or silver (col. 6, line 34) (re-claim 9); the polymeric material defining an outer conductor of the cable (re-claim 11); an outer conductor extending around the dielectric layer, the outer conductor including the polymeric material (13-15) (re-claim 15); the internal metallic layers (22) conductively bridge the first and second metallic layers together (re-claim 16); and the cable further comprises a jacket (16) extending around the outer conductor (re-claim 19).
Re-claims 17 and 18, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the cable of Ogura with a shield layer extending around the outer conductor or underlying the outer conductor (around the dielectric layer) to increase the shielding effect in the cable since a cable having a double-shield structure, an outer conductor and a shield layer, is well-known in the art.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (2018/0075948) in view of Ogura and Smith et al.
Kobayashi discloses a cable comprising first and second inner conductors (21); first and second dielectric layers (22) extending around the first and second inner conductors respectively; and an outer conductor (7) extending around the dielectric layers, wherein the outer conductor includes a polymeric material comprising a polymer core (7a), wherein the polymer core comprises opposite first and second sides, wherein first and second metallic layers (7b, 7c) extending on the first and second sides, respectively of the polymer core (re-claims 15 and 20).
Kobayashi does not disclose the polymer core being porous with micropores that extend through the first and second sides of the polymer core and internal metallic layers extending within the micropores and configured such that the polymeric material is electrically conductive through the thickness of the polymeric material, wherein the micropores are partially filled by the metallic layers such that the micropores comprise voids that extend through the first and second sides of the polymer core (re-claim 15).
Ogura and Smith et al., see the rejection above with respect to claim 1, disclose a polymeric material comprising a polymer core being porous with micropores that extend through the first and second sides of the polymer core and internal metallic layers extending within the micropores and configured such that the polymeric material is electrically conductive through the thickness of the polymeric material, wherein the micropores are partially filled by the metallic layers such that the micropores comprise voids that extend through the first and second sides of the polymer core.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the polymeric material (7) of Kobayashi with the polymeric material taught by the combination of Ogura and Smith et al., see the above rejection with respect to claim 1, such that the shielding effect can be adjusted to meet the specific end use by adjusting thickness of the polymer core, the number of pores, the shape of the conductors contained in the resin material (Ogura, col. 2, lines 53-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 21-23 are found to be allowable. However, they have new matter situations, see 112(a) rejection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841