DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coeck et al. [Coeck] (US PGPub 2018/0169948) in view of Crane et al. [Crane] (US PGPub 2020/0184632).
As to claim 1
Coeck discloses a method for additively manufacturing a workpiece (object 424, see Fig. 4A), the method comprising:
obtaining a dataset (2-D or 3-D data; see paragraph 0025, line 4) that defines the workpiece in a plurality of workpiece layers (successive powder layers; see paragraph 0026, line 10) arranged one on top of another (see paragraph 0025, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0026, lines 7-11; built layer by layer with layer spread on top of each other);
producing the plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another in a plurality of sequential production steps using a layer forming tool (leveling drum 422, see Fig. 4A) controlled based on the dataset (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11), wherein:
the plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another form a layer stack (successive powder layers spread on top of each other; see paragraph 0026, lines 10-11) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11), and
the layer stack, at a defined point in time (precise time; see paragraph 0035, line 11), has a respective uppermost workpiece layer (top most layer of powder; see paragraph 0027, line 3) and a number of workpiece layers underneath (additional layers; see paragraph 0050, line 5) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11 and paragraph 0035, lines 10-14);
recording a plurality of images (captured pixelated images; see paragraph 0030, line 5) of the respective uppermost workpiece layer after the thermal excitation with an image recording rate of at least 1 kHz (see paragraph 0034, lines 10-13; paragraph 0044, lines 10-17; and paragraph 0047, lines 11-18); and
inspecting the layer stack using the plurality of images in order to obtain an inspection result (temperature fluctuations for each layer during the scanning and recoating process; see paragraph 0031, lines 15-16) that is representative of the workpiece (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-14),
wherein at least one of an individual deformation profile over time or an individual temperature profile over time (thermal history) of the respective uppermost workpiece layer in response to the thermal excitation is determined using the plurality of images (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-16), and
wherein the inspection result is obtained as a function of the at least one of the individual deformation profile over time or the individual temperature profile over time (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-16).
Though Coeck discloses the method obtaining the inspection results based on a temperature profile over time; Coeck fails to specifically disclose the method thermally exciting the layer stack at the defined point in time with a first pulsed thermal excitation having a pulse duration of between 0.5 ms and 50 ms, wherein the first pulsed thermal excitation includes a first spatially structured heating pattern that heats the respective uppermost workpiece layer in parallel at a plurality of mutually spatially distant excitation points.
Crane discloses a method for additively manufacturing a workpiece (3D printed part 130, see Fig. 7A) thermally exciting a layer stack (fused raw powder together layer-by-layer; see paragraph 0064, lines 5-6) at a defined point in time with a first pulsed thermal excitation (thermal energy pulse; see paragraph 0008, lines 4-5) having a pulse duration (pulse duration; see paragraph 0008, line 6) of between 0.5 ms and 50 ms (see paragraph 0008, lines 1-12; paragraph 0011, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0113, lines 1-6), wherein the first pulsed thermal excitation includes a first spatially structured heating pattern that heats the respective uppermost workpiece layer in parallel at a plurality of mutually spatially distant excitation points (see paragraph 0117, lines 7-14 and paragraph 0164, lines 6-12).
Coeck and Crane are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is defect detection of 3D parts produced by additive manufacturing. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coeck’s invention with Crane’s in order to use Pulse Thermography (PT) detect defects of Coeck’s 3D object 424, since doing so would minimize the number of defects within the final structure and improve the quality and reliability of the printed part (see Crane paragraph 0007, lines 12-15).
As to claim 4
Crane discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern has a spatial periodicity along the respective uppermost workpiece layer (see paragraph 0164, lines 6-9).
As to claim 5
Crane discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern has a matrix structure with a plurality of spaced-apart heating points distributed on the respective uppermost workpiece layer (see paragraph 0164, lines 6-12).
As to claim 6
Coeck discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is produced using a heating laser and an optical element arranged in a beam path of the heating laser (see paragraph 0027, lines 1-8).
As to claim 7
Crane discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is produced using a plurality of spatially distributed heating coils (radiant heat shields) (see claim 17).
As to claim 8
Crane discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is produced using a scanning electron beam (see paragraph 0064, lines 1-6 and paragraph 0164, lines 6-9).
As to claim 9
Coeck discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the plurality of images are recorded using a camera that forms part of an interferometric measurement system (see paragraph 0029, lines 1-7 and paragraph 0030, lines 6-14).
As to claim 10
Coeck discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the plurality of images are recorded using an infrared camera (see paragraph 0029, lines 1-7).
As to claim 11
Coeck discloses a method for additively manufacturing a workpiece (object 424, see Fig. 4A), the method comprising:
obtaining a dataset (2-D or 3-D data; see paragraph 0025, line 4) that defines the workpiece in a plurality of workpiece layers (successive powder layers; see paragraph 0026, line 10) arranged one on top of another (see paragraph 0025, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0026, lines 7-11; built layer by layer with layer spread on top of each other),
producing the plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another using a layer forming tool (leveling drum 422, see Fig. 4A) which is controlled in dependence on the dataset (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11), wherein the plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another form a layer stack (successive powder layers spread on top of each other; see paragraph 0026, lines 10-11) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11) which, at a defined point in time (precise time; see paragraph 0035, line 11), has a respective uppermost workpiece layer (top most layer of powder; see paragraph 0027, line 3) and a number of workpiece layers underneath (additional layers; see paragraph 0050, line 5) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11 and paragraph 0035, lines 10-14),
thermally exciting the layer stack at the defined point in time (see paragraph 0027, lines 8-15),
recording a plurality of measurement signals (captured pixelated images; see paragraph 0030, line 5) from the respective uppermost workpiece layer after the thermal excitation (see paragraph 0034, lines 10-13; paragraph 0044, lines 10-17; and paragraph 0047, lines 11-18), and
inspecting the layer stack using the plurality of measurement signals in order to obtain an inspection result (temperature fluctuations for each layer during the scanning and recoating process; see paragraph 0031, lines 15-16) which is representative of the workpiece (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-14),
wherein at least one of near-surface deformations of the layer stack or surface temperatures of the layer stack are determined (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-16).
Though Coeck discloses the method obtaining the inspection results based on a temperature profile over time; Coeck fails to specifically disclose the method wherein the layer stack is excited with a first spatially structured heating pattern that heats the respective uppermost workpiece layer at a first plurality of spatially separate regions at the defined point in time, and wherein the inspection result is determined in dependence on the first spatially structured heating pattern.
Crane discloses a method for additively manufacturing a workpiece (3D printed part 130, see Fig. 7A) wherein a layer stack (fused raw powder together layer-by-layer; see paragraph 0064, lines 5-6) is excited with a spatially structured heating pattern that heats the respective uppermost workpiece layer at a first plurality of spatially separate regions at a defined point in time (see paragraph 0008, lines 1-12; paragraph 0011, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0113, lines 1-6), and wherein the inspection result is determined in dependence on the spatially structured heating pattern (see paragraph 0117, lines 7-14 and paragraph 0164, lines 6-12).
Coeck and Crane are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is defect detection of 3D parts produced by additive manufacturing. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coeck’s invention with Crane’s in order to use Pulse Thermography (PT) detect defects of Coeck’s 3D object 424, since doing so would minimize the number of defects within the final structure and improve the quality and reliability of the printed part (see Crane paragraph 0007, lines 12-15).
As to claim 14
Crane discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern has a spatial periodicity along the respective uppermost workpiece layer (see paragraph 0164, lines 6-9).
As to claim 15
Crane discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern has a matrix structure with a plurality of spaced-apart heating points distributed on the respective uppermost workpiece layer (see paragraph 0164, lines 6-12).
As to claim 16
Coeck discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the measurement signals include a plurality of temporally successive images of the uppermost workpiece layer (see paragraph 0030, lines 4-14).
As to claim 17
Crane discloses the method of claim 16 wherein the plurality of images are recorded with an image recording rate > 1 kHz, and wherein the layer stack is thermally excited with a pulse-shaped thermal excitation with a pulse duration of between 0.5 ms and 50 ms (see paragraph 0008, lines 1-12; paragraph 0011, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0113, lines 1-6).
As to claim 18
Crane discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is varied over time (see paragraph 0070, lines 1-3).
As to claim 19
Crane discloses the method of claim 11 wherein at least one of an individual deformation profile over time or an individual temperature profile over time of the respective uppermost workpiece layer is determined in response to the thermal excitation (see paragraph 0070, lines 1-3).
As to claim 20
Coeck discloses an apparatus (system 100/additive manufacturing devices 106a, 106b; see Fig. 1) for additively manufacturing a workpiece (object 424, see Fig. 4A), the apparatus comprising:
a memory (memory 220, see Fig. 2) configured to obtain a dataset (2-D or 3-D data; see paragraph 0025, line 4) that defines the workpiece in a plurality of workpiece layers (successive powder layers; see paragraph 0026, line 10) arranged one on top of another (see paragraph 0025, lines 4-6 and paragraph 0026, lines 7-11; built layer by layer with layer spread on top of each other);
a manufacturing platform (powder bed; see paragraph 0029, line 6);
a layer forming tool (leveling drum 422, see Fig. 4A);
a heating tool (radiation heater; see paragraph 0027, line 12);
a measurement device (thermal imaging device 436, see Fig. 4B) directed at the manufacturing platform (see paragraph 0030, lines 7-23); and
an evaluation and control unit (control computer 434, see Fig. 4B) configured to:
produce a plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another on the manufacturing platform using the layer forming tool and the dataset (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11), wherein the plurality of workpiece layers arranged one on top of another form a layer stack (successive powder layers spread on top of each other; see paragraph 0026, lines 10-11) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11) which, at a defined point in time (precise time; see paragraph 0035, line 11), has a respective uppermost workpiece layer (top most layer of powder; see paragraph 0027, line 3) and a number of workpiece layers underneath (additional layers; see paragraph 0050, line 5) (see paragraph 0026, lines 7-11 and paragraph 0035, lines 10-14),
record a plurality of measurement signals (captured pixelated images; see paragraph 0030, line 5) from the respective uppermost workpiece layer using the measurement device (see paragraph 0034, lines 10-13; paragraph 0044, lines 10-17; and paragraph 0047, lines 11-18), the measurement signals representing at least one of near-surface deformations of the layer stack or surface temperatures of the layer stack, and
inspect the layer stack using the plurality of measurement signals to obtain an inspection result (temperature fluctuations for each layer during the scanning and recoating process; see paragraph 0031, lines 15-16) that is representative of the workpiece (see paragraph 0031, lines 10-14).
Though Coeck discloses the apparatus comprising an evaluation and control unit configured to obtain the inspection results based on a temperature profile over time; Coeck fails to specifically disclose the evaluation and control unit configured to use the heating tool in order to thermally excite the layer stack at the defined point in time with a first spatially structured heating pattern which heats the uppermost workpiece layer at a first plurality of spatially separate regions at the defined point in time,
wherein the evaluation and control unit is configured to determine the inspection result in dependence on the first spatially structured heating pattern.
Crane discloses an apparatus for additively manufacturing a workpiece (3D printed part 130, see Fig. 7A), the apparatus comprising an evaluation and control unit configured to:
use a heating tool in order to thermally excite a layer stack (fused raw powder together layer-by-layer; see paragraph 0064, lines 5-6) at the defined point in time with a first spatially structured heating pattern which heats the uppermost workpiece layer at a first plurality of spatially separate regions at the defined point in time (see paragraph 0008, lines 1-12; paragraph 0011, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0113, lines 1-6),
wherein the evaluation and control unit is configured to determine the inspection result in dependence on the first spatially structured heating pattern (see paragraph 0117, lines 7-14 and paragraph 0164, lines 6-12).
Coeck and Crane are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is defect detection of 3D parts produced by additive manufacturing. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coeck’s invention with Crane’s in order to use Pulse Thermography (PT) detect defects of Coeck’s 3D object 424, since doing so would minimize the number of defects within the final structure and improve the quality and reliability of the printed part (see Crane paragraph 0007, lines 12-15).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coeck et al. [Coeck] (US PGPub 2018/0169948), in view of Crane et al. [Crane] (US PGPub 2020/0184632), and further in view of Cher et al. [Cher] (US Patent No. 8,489,217).
As to claim 2
Coeck and Crane disclose the method as cited in claim 1; however, Coeck and Crane fail to specifically disclose the method wherein the respective uppermost workpiece layer is further thermally excited with a second spatially structured heating pattern, wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern and the second spatially structured heating pattern differ from one another, and wherein the inspection result is determined in dependence on both the first spatially structured heating pattern and in dependence on the second spatially structured heating pattern.
Cher discloses a method wherein a respective uppermost workpiece layer (device layer 302a, see Fig. 4A) is further thermally excited with a second spatially structured heating pattern (inverted heating pattern; see column 1, line 54), wherein a first spatially structured heating pattern (heating pattern; see column 1, line 44) and the second spatially structured heating pattern differ from one another (inverted), and wherein the inspection result (warping and cracking; see column 1, line 57) is determined in dependence on both the first spatially structured heating pattern and in dependence on the second spatially structured heating pattern (see column 1, lines 44-57).
Coeck, Crane, and Cher are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor which is 3D object defect minimization. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coeck’s and Crane’s invention with Cher’s in order to invert heating patterns between consecutive layers in Coeck’s 3D object 424 (see Cher column 1, lines 44-45), since doing so would minimize peak temperatures (see Cher column 1, lines 45-46).
As to claim 3
Cher discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is at least one of rotated or inverted in order to produce the second spatially structured heating pattern (see column 1, lines 44-57).
As to claim 12
Coeck and Crane disclose the method as cited in claim 11; however, Coeck and Crane fail to specifically disclose the method wherein the respective uppermost workpiece layer is further thermally excited with a second spatially structured heating pattern, wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern and the second spatially structured heating pattern differ from one another, and wherein the inspection result is determined in dependence on both the first spatially structured heating pattern and in dependence on the second spatially structured heating pattern.
Cher discloses a method wherein a respective uppermost workpiece layer (device layer 302a, see Fig. 4A) is further thermally excited with a second spatially structured heating pattern (inverted heating pattern; see column 1, line 54), wherein a first spatially structured heating pattern (heating pattern; see column 1, line 44) and the second spatially structured heating pattern differ from one another (inverted), and wherein the inspection result (warping and cracking; see column 1, line 57) is determined in dependence on both the first spatially structured heating pattern and in dependence on the second spatially structured heating pattern (see column 1, lines 44-57).
Coeck, Crane, and Cher are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor which is 3D object defect minimization. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coeck’s and Crane’s invention with Cher’s in order to invert heating patterns between consecutive layers in Coeck’s 3D object 424 (see Cher column 1, lines 44-45), since doing so would minimize peak temperatures (see Cher column 1, lines 45-46).
As to claim 13
Cher discloses the method of claim 12 wherein the first spatially structured heating pattern is at least one of rotated or inverted in order to produce the second spatially structured heating pattern (see column 1, lines 44-57).
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115