DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted June 23rd, 2026 have been entered into have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1-5 and 11 are amended, and new claims 17 and 18 are added, resulting in claims 1-18 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “that provides structural support to the cooling plate” in line 11 of claim 1 appears to be duplicated as a result of the amendment. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (EP3919313A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
A battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Kim, abstract; claims; Fig. 4), the battery pack assembly comprising:
a top cover (Kim, cover case; specification, [0038]);
a cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form a cooling plate, [0055]-[0056]);
a bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500); and
a main body assembly (Kim, battery case 10) comprising a structural frame support assembly (Kim, inner frame 100, outer frame 400, and support part 30 make up the structural frame support assembly; Fig. 2), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam collectively forming a perimeter frame of the main body assembly (Kim, outer frame 400 may include a first side frame 410, a second side frame 420, a rear frame 430, and a front frame 440 that form a perimeter frame of the main body assembly; specification, [0057]; Figs. 1-5);
a middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) that provides structural support to the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200; specification, [0165]; Fig. 4);
a front support member that is a discrete structural component separate from the front beam (Kim, horizontal rib 450 is a discrete, directly named component [0536] formed on each front, rear, and side frames of the outer frame 400, see Fig. 4), the front support member disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500) in direct contact with each of the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on the opposite surface by adhesive [0118]), the front support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]);
a rear support member that is a discrete structural component separate from the rear beam (Kim, horizontal rib 450 is a discrete, directly named component [0536] formed on each front, rear, and side frames of the outer frame 400, see Fig. 4), the rear support member disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500) in direct contact with each of the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]), the rear support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]);
and a first structural glue (Kim, adhesive 600) disposed between the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 which also contains a heat dissipation plate 200), the first structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the front support member and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]), and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the front support member and the cooling plate.
Regarding the newly added limitation, "and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the front support member and the cooling plate," Kim discloses a structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the front and rear support members (horizontal ribs 450) and the cooling plate that inhibits relative movement (specification, [0099]-[0100]). It is well-established that a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, the battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations; thus, an adhesive layer rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between the front and rear support members and the cooling plate will naturally absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through this region. Under MPEP §2112, since Kim discloses the identical structure (adhesive 600 in the required claimed locations of the battery pack assembly) functioning in an identical environment (an EV battery pack assembly) to secure the same battery pack components (front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate), Kim's adhesive inherently provides the claimed vibration-dampening function.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 above. Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly comprising a second structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the second structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the front support member and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]) and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the front support member and the bottom plate.
Kim further teaches wherein the first structural glue and the second structural glue (which both map to the adhesive 600) together bond the front support member to both the cooling plate and the bottom plate such that the front support member, the cooling plate, and the bottom plate form a composite load-bearing structure (horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]; with all the components secured together using adhesives/fasteners, it forms a composite load bearing structure, Fig. 4).
Regarding the newly added limitation, "and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the front support member and the bottom plate," Kim discloses a structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the front and rear support members (horizontal ribs 450) and the bottom plate (lower protective plate 500) that inhibits relative movement (Kim, [0099]-[0100], [0118]). It is well-established that a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, the battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations; thus, an adhesive layer rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between the front and rear support members and the bottom plate will naturally absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through this region. Under MPEP §2112, since Kim discloses the identical structure (adhesive 600 in the required claimed locations of the battery pack assembly) functioning in an identical environment (an EV battery pack assembly) to secure the same battery pack components (front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate), Kim's adhesive inherently provides the claimed vibration-dampening function.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all features of claim 2 as described above. Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a third structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the rear support member (horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200), the third structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the rear support member and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]) and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the rear support member and the cooling plate, wherein the third structural glue bonds the rear support member directly to the cooling plate (Kim, adhesive 600 directly bonds cooling block 300 and outer frame 400 together wherein the outer frame 400 includes the horizontal rib 450, [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding the newly added limitation, "and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the rear support member and the cooling plate," Kim discloses a structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the front and rear support members (horizontal ribs 450) and the cooling plate (cooling block 300) that inhibits relative movement (Kim, [0099]-[0100]). It is well-established that a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, the battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations; thus, an adhesive layer rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between the front and rear support members and the cooling plate will naturally absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through this region. Under MPEP §2112, since Kim discloses the identical structure (adhesive 600 in the required claimed locations of the battery pack assembly) functioning in an identical environment (an EV battery pack assembly) to secure the same battery pack components (front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate), Kim's adhesive inherently provides the claimed vibration-dampening function.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all features of claim 3 as described above. Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fourth structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400, specification, [0099]-[0100]; Fig. 4) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the fourth structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the rear support member and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0118]). and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the rear support member and the bottom plate, wherein the third structural glue and the fourth structural glue together (which both map to the adhesive 600) bond the rear support member to both the cooling plate and the bottom plate such that the rear support member, the cooling plate, and the bottom plate form a composite load-bearing structure (horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]; with all the components secured together using adhesives/fasteners, it forms a composite load bearing structure, Fig. 4).
Regarding the newly added limitation, "and to dampen vibration loads transmitted between the rear support member and the bottom plate," Kim discloses a structural glue (adhesive 600) disposed between the front and rear support members (horizontal ribs 450) and the bottom plate (lower protective plate 500) that inhibits relative movement (Kim, [0099]-[0100], [0118]). It is well-established that a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, the battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations; thus, an adhesive layer rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between the front and rear support members and the bottom plate will naturally absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through this region. Under MPEP §2112, since Kim discloses the identical structure (adhesive 600 in the required claimed locations of the battery pack assembly) functioning in an identical environment (an EV battery pack assembly) to secure the same battery pack components (front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate), Kim's adhesive inherently provides the claimed vibration-dampening function.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all features of claim 4 as described above. Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fifth structural glue (adhesive 600, [0074]) disposed between the middle beam (inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) and the cooling plate (cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200), the fifth structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the middle beam and the cooling plate (Kim, the adhesive may be applied between the inner frame 100, the heat dissipation plate 200, and the cooling block 300, and they may simultaneously be coupled all together by a fastening member, [0074]), wherein the first structural glue, the second structural glue, the third structural glue, the fourth structural glue, and the fifth structural glue (which all map to the adhesive 600) collectively cooperate to minimize relative movement between the cooling plate, the bottom plate, and the structural frame support assembly (horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099], horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118], and the adhesive may be applied between the inner frame 100, the heat dissipation plate 200, and the cooling block 300, and they may simultaneously be coupled all together by a fastening member, [0074]; therefore, when all the components are secured together using adhesives/fasteners, it forms a composite load bearing structure that inhibits relative movement between the bonded components, Fig. 4) to protect the cooling plate from vibration- induced deformation during operation of the electrified vehicle.
Regarding the newly added limitation, "to protect the cooling plate from vibration- induced deformation during operation of the electrified vehicle," it is well-established that a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, the battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations; thus, an adhesive layer rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between the front and rear support members, the cooling plate, the bottom plate, and the middle beam of the frame assembly, will naturally absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through these regions. Under MPEP §2112, since Kim discloses the identical structure (adhesive 600 in the required claimed locations of the battery pack assembly) functioning in an identical environment (an EV battery pack assembly) to secure the same battery pack components (front/rear support members, cooling plate, bottom plate, and structural frame assembly), Kim's adhesive inherently provides the claimed protection of the cooling plate from vibration-induced deformation during operation of the electrified vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, including the battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) that provide structural support to a cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Claim 8 is a product-by-process claim (“front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum”). Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum, it is noted that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process”. Further, “the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, see MPEP §2113.
The structure resulting from the front and rear support members being formed of extruded aluminum, as claimed, is a battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members formed of aluminum. Kim (Fig. 4-5) discloses a battery pack assembly which reads on the structural limitations of the claim; there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kim teaches a battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) are formed of aluminum (Kim, specification, [0408]-[0409]) and additionally that such structural support members may be formed by extrusion (Kim, specification, [0349]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches:
A battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Kim, abstract), the battery pack assembly comprising:
a top cover (Kim, cover case; specification, [0038]);
a cooling plate (Kim, the cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form a cooling plate, [0055]-[0056]);
a bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500); and
a main body assembly (Kim, battery case 10) comprising a structural frame support assembly (Kim, inner frame 100, outer frame 400, and support part 30 make up the structural frame support assembly; Fig. 2), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 and 130 of inner frame 100) extending laterally across the main body assembly (Kim, inner frames 110 and 130 extend laterally across the battery case 10; Figs. 1-3) that provides structural support to the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200; specification, [0074]), the middle beam being a discrete structural component (Kim, the inner frames may be separately made of a metal material and then be welded to each other; [0053]-[0054]) having a structural glue disposed on a surface thereof (adhesive 600 is disposed on the inner frame, [0062]), the structural glue fixing the middle beam directly to the cooling plate to inhibit relative movement between the middle beam and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0062], [0165]; Fig. 4).
a front support member that is a discrete structural component separate from any perimeter beam of the main body assembly (Kim, horizontal rib 450 is a discrete, directly named component [0536] formed on each front, rear, and side beams of the outer frame 400, see Fig. 4) the front support member disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500) in direct physical contact with each of the cooling plate and the bottom plate on a first surface thereof facing the cooling plate and on a second surface thereof facing the bottom plate (Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]), the structural glue on the first surface fixing the front support member directly to the cooling plate and the structural glue on the second surface fixing the front support member directly to the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]); and
a rear support member that is a discrete structural component separate from any perimeter beam of the main body assembly (Kim, horizontal rib 450 is a discrete, directly named component [0536] formed on each front, rear, and side frames of the outer frame 400, see Fig. 4), the rear support member disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), in direct physical contact with each of the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]), the rear support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]),
the rear support member having structural glue disposed on a first surface thereof facing the cooling plate and on a second surface thereof facing the bottom plate (Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the cooling block 300 on its upper surface by adhesive [0099] and horizontal rib 450 directly contacts the lower protective plate 500 on its opposite surface by adhesive [0118]), the structural glue on the first surface fixing the rear support member directly to the cooling plate and the structural glue on the second surface fixing the rear support member directly to the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches all features of claim 11 as described above, including the battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) that provide structural support to a cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Claim 14 is a product-by-process claim (front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum). Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum, it is noted that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process”. Further, “the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, See MPEP §2113.
The structure resulting from the front and rear support members being formed of extruded aluminum, as claimed, is a battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members formed of aluminum. Kim (Fig. 4-5) discloses a battery pack assembly which reads on the structural limitations of the claim; there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kim teaches a battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) are formed of aluminum (Kim, specification, [0408]-[0409]) and additionally that such structural support members may be formed by extrusion (Kim, specification, [0349]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Kim further teaches wherein both the front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450) extend continuously between the first side beam and the second side beam in a direction transverse to a longitudinal axis of the battery pack assembly (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 continuously span the width of the battery pack assembly and extend from the rear frame 430 to the front frame 440, Fig. 3; horizontal rib(s) 450 run perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the battery pack where the longitudinal axis runs from the rear frame 430 to the front frame 440).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Kim further teaches wherein the front support member and the rear support member (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450) are each disposed between the front beam and the rear beam in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack assembly (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 are located between the rear frame 430 and the front frame 440 in the longitudinal direction, Fig. 3; the longitudinal axis of the battery pack runs from the rear frame 430 to the front frame 440), and wherein the middle beam is disposed between the front support member and the rear support member in the longitudinal direction (Kim, the third inner frame 130 of the inner frame 100 is disposed between the horizontal rib(s) 450 on the front and rear beams in the longitudinal direction, see Figs. 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (EP3919313A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 2 as described above, but does not expressly teach providing first insets on the front support member for receiving the second structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the front support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the front support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 4 as described above, but does not expressly teach providing second insets on the rear support member for receiving a fourth structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the rear support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the rear support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not explicitly teach the battery pack assembly further comprising fasteners at the following locations:
a first fastener that couples the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the front beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
a second fastener that couples the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400) and the rear beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) to one of the first side beam and the second side beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4), wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
as Kim only discloses adhesive bonding at these locations (Kim, adhesive 600; specification [0098]-[0103]; Fig. 6-7).
However, Kim teaches that bonding structural frame components while simultaneously using both adhesive and fasteners more firmly couples the components together, thereby improving durability against external shock and further facilitating more precise coupling of structural components (Kim, specification, [0074-0075], [0157]-[0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim (hereby referred to as “modified Kim”) to include:
a first fastener that couples the front support member and the front beam;
a second fastener that couples the rear support member and the rear beam;
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate to one of the first side beam and the second side beam, wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
in addition to the adhesive already present at these locations. Since Kim teaches that adding fasteners in addition to an adhesive provides firmer and more secure attachment when applied to similar structural components, the modification would have involved applying the use of a known technique (i.e. adding fasteners) to a similar structure (i.e. front and rear support members, cooling plate, and side beams of the battery pack assembly which already have adhesive disposed thereon) and would have yielded the predictable results of more secure attachment between structural components, resulting in enhanced water-tightness, robustness, and improved structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches all features of claim 9 as described above, and further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fourth fastener that couples the middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200), wherein the fourth fastener is distinct from the first, second and third fasteners (Kim, specification, [0074]- [0075]; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 11 as described above, but does not teach providing first insets on the front support member for receiving the second structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the front support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the front support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 11 as described above, but does not teach providing second insets on the rear support member for receiving a fourth structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the rear support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the rear support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches all features of claim 11 as described above, but does not explicitly teach the battery pack assembly further comprising fasteners at the following locations:
a first fastener that couples the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the front beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
a second fastener that couples the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400) and the rear beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) to one of the first side beam and the second side beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4), wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
as Kim only discloses adhesive bonding at these locations (Kim, adhesive 600; specification [0098]-[0103]; Fig. 6-7).
However, Kim teaches that bonding structural frame components while simultaneously using both adhesive and fasteners more firmly couples the components together, thereby improving durability against external shock and further facilitating more precise coupling of structural components (Kim, specification, [0074-0075], [0157]-[0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim (hereby referred to again as “modified Kim”) to include:
a first fastener that couples the front support member and the front beam;
a second fastener that couples the rear support member and the rear beam;
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate to one of the first side beam and the second side beam, wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
in addition to the adhesive already present at these locations. Since Kim teaches that adding fasteners in addition to an adhesive provides firmer and more secure attachment when applied to similar structural components, the modification would have involved applying the use of a known technique (i.e. adding fasteners) to a similar structure (i.e. front and rear support members, cooling plate, and side beams of the battery pack assembly which already have adhesive disposed thereon) and would have yielded the predictable results of more secure attachment between structural components, resulting in enhanced water-tightness, robustness, and improved structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim teaches all features of claim 15 as described above, and further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fourth fastener that couples the middle beam and the cooling plate, wherein the fourth fastener is distinct from the first, second and third fasteners (Kim, specification, [0074]- [0075]; Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Response — Claim Objections
The objections to claims 1-5 due to informalities are overcome by Applicant's amendments to claims 1-5 in the response received on June 23rd, 2026. The objections to claims 1-5 are withdrawn.
Response — Claim Rejections 35 USC §102 and §103
Applicant's arguments filed on June 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
On page 10 of the response, Applicants argue that Kim fails to teach or render obvious the claimed battery pack assembly because Kim is directed to a lower protecting plate focusing on fiber-reinforced plastic (FRP) composite structures for weight reduction, rather than a vibration-mitigating structural support assembly with discrete front/rear extruded support members and structural glue.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains that Kim discloses all the structural features of the claimed battery pack in the exact spatial configuration claimed. Specifically, Kim discloses horizontal ribs 450 (which correspond to the claimed front and rear support members) disposed between a cooling plate (Kim, the cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form a cooling plate, [0055]-[0056]) and a bottom plate (lower protecting plate 500), utilizing an adhesive 600 at those interfaces, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. While Applicants argue that Kim’s primary concern is material composition (FRP composite structures), a reference is not limited to its primary or preferred embodiment but must be evaluated for everything it fairly teaches to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2123). Kim clearly teaches the structural assembly and relative placement of the front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate, with adhesive bonding the components together (see rejection of claim 1); in this case, a structural adhesive used in an electric vehicle battery pack to inhibit relative movement between structural parts inherently and necessarily dampens vibration loads transmitted between those parts. During vehicle operation, EV battery pack components are continuously subjected to dynamic mechanical stresses and road vibrations. An adhesive layer(s) rigid enough to inhibit relative movement between Kim's front/rear support members, cooling plate, and bottom plate, will naturally and inherently absorb energy and attenuate vibrations passing through these regions. Therefore, the fact that Kim emphasizes weight reduction via fiber-reinforced plastic (FRP) structures does not preclude Kim from also mitigating vibration. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
On pages 10-11 of the response, Applicants state Kim's horizontal rib 450 is a rib formed on and integral with the outer frame 400 and is not a separate, discrete support member disposed between the cooling plate and the bottom plate as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. During patent examination, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (MPEP § 2111). The term "discrete" denotes an entity that is distinct, individually distinct, or identifiable by its own boundaries; it does not inherently require physical detachment or separate manufacturability unless explicitly defined as such in Applicant’s disclosure.
Kim explicitly discloses that a horizontal rib 450 is a distinct, individually identified, and directly named component formed on each of the front, rear, and side frames of the outer frame 400 (see Fig. 4; horizontal rib 450 is an explicitly named battery pack component [0536]). Kim further notes the horizontal rib 450 is structurally differentiated from the main body of the outer frame, extending inwards to serve a targeted mechanical function: providing direct structural support between the cooling plate (Kim, the cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form a cooling plate, [0055]-[0056]) and the lower protective plate 500 (bottom plate) (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim teaches the spatial and physical separation of this component’s interactions, noting that the top surface of the horizontal rib 450 is coupled to the bottom surface of the edge portion of the cooling block 300 via adhesive 600 ([0099]), while its opposite surface directly contacts and couples to the lower protective plate 500 via adhesive (Kim, horizontal rib 450 is formed on the outer frame 400 [0099]-[0100] and outer frame 400 is coupled to both the cooling block 300 and the lower protective plate 500 [0118]).
Further, the fact that the horizontal rib 450 may be "formed on" (Kim, [0099]-[0100]) or structurally contiguous with the outer frame 400 does not preclude it from being a distinct, identifiable structural component or element that satisfies the functional and spatial limitations of the claimed "discrete structural component." In compact structural assemblies such as battery packs, components that are formed together or integrated structurally still maintain their identity as separate structural elements when they possess defined boundaries, distinct nomenclature, and dedicated structural interfaces as shown in Figure 4 of Kim. In addition, Kim teaches that horizontal rib 450 extends continuously between the first side beam and the second side beam in a direction transverse to a longitudinal axis of the battery pack assembly (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 continuously span the width of the battery pack assembly and extend from the rear frame 430 to the front frame 440, Fig. 3; horizontal rib(s) 450 run perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the battery pack where the longitudinal axis runs from the rear frame 430 to the front frame 440). Accordingly, because Kim’s horizontal rib 450 structurally and functionally meets every limitation of the claimed discrete front/rear support members, the rejection is maintained.
On page 12 of the response, Applicant states there is no clear disclosure in Kim of discrete front and rear support members that are each individually disposed at least partially between the cooling plate and the bottom plate. More significantly, the adhesive disclosed in Kim at this location is not "disposed between the front support member and the cooling plate" as claimed, because the horizontal rib 450 is integral with the outer frame, not a discrete front support member, and the cooling block 300 in Kim is not the cooling plate of the instant application in the same structural relationship.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding the argument that the horizontal rib 450 is integral with the outer frame and not a discrete front support member, the Examiner notes that Kim’s horizontal rib 450 structurally and functionally meets every limitation of the claimed front/rear support members, including that horizontal rib 450 is a discrete support member component that provides support to the cooling plate and the bottom plate, as discussed above in the response to arguments.
Regarding the assertion that the cooling block 300 in Kim is not the cooling plate of the instant application in the same structural relationship, the Examiner notes that during patent examination, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (MPEP § 2111). Unless defined otherwise, claim terms are given their ordinary and customary meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2111.01). Here, the instant application does not assign a specialized structural definition to the term "cooling plate." Therefore, it is interpreted that the cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form the claimed “cooling plate” (Kim, [0055]-[0056]).
In particular, as disclosed by Kim, heat generated from the battery module (BM) is transferred through the heat dissipation plate 200 and cooled via the cooling path 310 of the cooling block 300 (Kim [0212]). Structurally, Kim teaches that the cooling block 300 is coupled directly to the bottom of the heat dissipation plate 200, where the uneven cooling path 310 is formed on the top surface of the cooling block and sealed by the bottom surface of the heat dissipation plate 200 (Kim, [0055]). A cooling fluid circulates through this path to absorb heat (Kim, [0055]-[0056]).
Because Kim's cooling block 300 is a substantially flat, rigid body that is bonded by adhesive to heat dissipation plate 200 and further conducts heat and circulates cooling fluid to cool the battery module, it structurally performs the exact same function and operates in the exact same structural relationship as the claimed "cooling plate." Calling a structure a "block" rather than a "plate" does not patentably distinguish the structure when its physical configuration, layout, and function dynamically mirror the claimed element.
Accordingly, as also discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Kim discloses horizontal ribs 450 (which correspond to the claimed front and rear support members) disposed between a cooling plate (Kim, the cooling block 300 and heat dissipation plate 200 are coupled together to form a cooling plate, [0055]-[0056]) and a bottom plate (lower protecting plate 500), utilizing an adhesive 600 at all of the claimed structural interfaces. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen X (CN115275473A): appears to disclose a battery pack assembly with a frame structure made with extruded aluminum containing a middle beam that supports a cooling plate and uses glue and fasteners to couple structural parts (Chen X, abstract; claims).
/A.R.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789