DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The following instances lack proper introduction using an article (e.g., “a” or “an”):
Claim 1, line 18 recites the limitation "first structural glue"
Claim 2, line 2 recites the limitation "second structural glue"
Claim 3, line 2 recites the limitation "third structural glue"
Claim 4, line 2 recites the limitation "fourth structural glue"
Claim 5, line 2 recites the limitation "fifth structural glue"
Each of the limitations above should be introduced with an appropriate article (e.g. “a first structural glue,” “a second structural glue,” etc.), so that when these elements are referred to in later claims it is clear that the reference is to the respective portions of claims 1-5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (EP3919313A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
A battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Kim, abstract; claims; Fig. 4), the battery pack assembly comprising:
a top cover (Kim, cover case; specification, [0038]);
a cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200);
a bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500); and
a main body assembly (Kim, battery case 10) comprising a structural frame support assembly (Kim, inner frame 100, outer frame 400, and support part 30 make up the structural frame support assembly; Fig. 2), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam (Kim, specification, [0057]; Fig. 1-5);
a middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) that provides structural support to the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200; specification, [0165]; Fig. 4).
a front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 4) disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the front support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]);
a rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400, specification, [0057], [0099]-[0100]; Fig. 4) disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the rear support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate;
and first structural glue disposed between the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200), the first structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the front support member and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising second structural glue disposed between the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the second structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the front support member and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0118]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising third structural glue disposed between the rear support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200), the third structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the rear support member and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising fourth structural glue disposed between the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400, specification, [0099]-[0100]; Fig. 4) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the fourth structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the rear support member and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0118]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising fifth structural glue disposed between the middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200), the fifth structural glue configured to inhibit relative movement between the middle beam and the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all features of claim 1, including the battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) that provide structural support to a cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Claim 8 is a product-by-process claim (front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum). Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum, it is noted that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process”. Further, “the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, See MPEP §2113.
The structure resulting from the front and rear support members being formed of extruded aluminum, as claimed, is a battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members formed of aluminum. Kim (Fig. 4-5) discloses a battery pack assembly which reads on the structural limitations of the claim; there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kim teaches a battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) are formed of aluminum (Kim, specification, [0408]-[0409]) and additionally that such structural support members may be formed by extrusion (Kim, specification, [0349]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches:
A battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Kim, abstract), the battery pack assembly comprising:
a top cover (Kim, cover case; specification, [0038]);
a cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200);
a bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500); and
a main body assembly (Kim, battery case 10) comprising a structural frame support assembly (Kim, inner frame 100, outer frame 400, and support part 30 make up the structural frame support assembly; Fig. 2), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) that provides structural support to the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200; specification, [0074]), the middle beam having structural glue disposed thereon that fixes the middle beam to the cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0062], [0165]; Fig. 4).
a front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 4) disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the front support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]),
the front support member having structural glue disposed thereon that fixes the front support member to the cooling plate and to the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]); and
a rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400, specification, [0057], [0099]-[0100]; Fig. 4) disposed at least partially between the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) and the bottom plate (Kim, lower protective plate 500), the rear support member providing structural support between the cooling plate and the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]),
the rear support member having structural glue disposed thereon that fixes the rear support member to the cooling plate and to the bottom plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100], [0118]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches all features of claim 11, including the battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) that provide structural support to a cooling plate (Kim, specification, [0099]-[0100]).
Claim 14 is a product-by-process claim (front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum). Although Kim does not explicitly disclose the battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members are formed of extruded aluminum, it is noted that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process”. Further, “the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, See MPEP §2113.
The structure resulting from the front and rear support members being formed of extruded aluminum, as claimed, is a battery pack assembly comprising front and rear support members formed of aluminum. Kim (Fig. 4-5) discloses a battery pack assembly which reads on the structural limitations of the claim; there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Kim teaches a battery pack assembly wherein the front and rear support members (Kim, horizontal rib(s) 450 formed on the outer frame 400; Fig. 5) are formed of aluminum (Kim, specification, [0408]-[0409]) and additionally that such structural support members may be formed by extrusion (Kim, specification, [0349]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (EP3919313A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 2 as described above, but does not teach providing first insets on the front support member for receiving the second structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the front support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the front support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 4 as described above, but does not teach providing second insets on the rear support member for receiving a fourth structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the rear support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the rear support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all features of claim 1 as described above, but does not explicitly teach the battery pack assembly further comprising fasteners at the following locations:
a first fastener that couples the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the front beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
a second fastener that couples the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400) and the rear beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) to one of the first side beam and the second side beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4), wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
as Kim only discloses adhesive bonding at these locations (Kim, adhesive 600; specification [0098]-[0103]; Fig. 6-7).
However, Kim teaches that bonding structural frame components while simultaneously using both adhesive and fasteners more firmly couples the components together, thereby improving durability against external shock and further facilitating more precise coupling of structural components (Kim, specification, [0074-0075], [0157]-[0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim (hereby referred to as “modified Kim”) to include:
a first fastener that couples the front support member and the front beam;
a second fastener that couples the rear support member and the rear beam;
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate to one of the first side beam and the second side beam, wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
in addition to the adhesive already present at these locations. Since Kim teaches that adding fasteners in addition to an adhesive provides firmer and more secure attachment when applied to similar structural components, the modification would have involved applying the use of a known technique (i.e. adding fasteners) to a similar structure (i.e. front and rear support members, cooling plate, and side beams of the battery pack assembly which already have adhesive disposed thereon) and would have yielded the predictable results of more secure attachment between structural components, resulting in enhanced water-tightness, robustness, and improved structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches all features of claim 9 as described above, and further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fourth fastener that couples the middle beam (Kim, inner frames 110 within inner frame 100) and the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200), wherein the fourth fastener is distinct from the first, second and third fasteners (Kim, specification, [0074]- [0075]; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 11 as described above, but does not teach providing first insets on the front support member for receiving the second structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the front support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the front support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches all features of the battery pack assembly of claim 11 as described above, but does not teach providing second insets on the rear support member for receiving a fourth structural glue, as Kim does not explicitly disclose insets at that location.
However, Kim does teach defining insets on a structural component surface with an adhesive layer disposed thereon to improve adhesion between structural components (Kim, plurality of perforations 376 within cooling block 100; Fig. 7; specification, [0101]), and further teaches that such insets increase tensile strength between structural components, including through experimental results (Kim, specification [0101-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim to include insets on the rear support member for receiving structural glue, as Kim teaches that incorporating insets improves adhesive bonding. The modification would have involved the application of a known technique (i.e. adding insets) to a similar structure (i.e. the rear support member) to improve adhesion and would have yielded the predictable results of providing more secure attachment between structural components and enhancing water-tightness, robustness, and structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches all features of claim 11 as described above, but does not explicitly teach the battery pack assembly further comprising fasteners at the following locations:
a first fastener that couples the front support member (Kim, horizontal rib 450 formed on the outer frame 400) and the front beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
a second fastener that couples the rear support member (Kim, a horizontal rib 450 can be included on each side of the outer frame 400) and the rear beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4);
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate (Kim, cooling block 300 contains a heat dissipation plate 200) to one of the first side beam and the second side beam (Kim, outer frame 400 contains 4 beams; specification, [0057]; Fig. 4), wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
as Kim only discloses adhesive bonding at these locations (Kim, adhesive 600; specification [0098]-[0103]; Fig. 6-7).
However, Kim teaches that bonding structural frame components while simultaneously using both adhesive and fasteners more firmly couples the components together, thereby improving durability against external shock and further facilitating more precise coupling of structural components (Kim, specification, [0074-0075], [0157]-[0158]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Kim (hereby referred to again as “modified Kim”) to include:
a first fastener that couples the front support member and the front beam;
a second fastener that couples the rear support member and the rear beam;
and a third fastener that couples the cooling plate to one of the first side beam and the second side beam, wherein the first, second and third fasteners are distinct,
in addition to the adhesive already present at these locations. Since Kim teaches that adding fasteners in addition to an adhesive provides firmer and more secure attachment when applied to similar structural components, the modification would have involved applying the use of a known technique (i.e. adding fasteners) to a similar structure (i.e. front and rear support members, cooling plate, and side beams of the battery pack assembly which already have adhesive disposed thereon) and would have yielded the predictable results of more secure attachment between structural components, resulting in enhanced water-tightness, robustness, and improved structural stability of the battery pack assembly (Kim, specification, [0143], [0213]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim teaches all features of claim 15 as described above, and further teaches the battery pack assembly further comprising a fourth fastener that couples the middle beam and the cooling plate, wherein the fourth fastener is distinct from the first, second and third fasteners (Kim, specification, [0074]- [0075]; Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen X (CN115275473A): appears to disclose a battery pack assembly with a frame structure made with extruded aluminum containing a middle beam that supports a cooling plate and uses glue and fasteners to couple structural parts (Chen X, abstract; claims).
/A.R.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1789 /MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789