DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 5-8 are cancelled. Claims 9-10 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. CN112201607.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 lines 2-3 state the contact members include a first contact member (first abutting member), a second abutting member and a third abutting member. The abutting members are not described in the specification nor are they shown in the figures.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 indicates in line 2 “a first contact member, a second abutting member and a third abutting member” then later in lines 4-5 refers to a “the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and a third abutting member”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that “a first contact member” is meant to read as “a first abutting member”.
Claim 9 repeats the limitation “the moving mechanism includes one or more movers configured to move the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member”.
Claim 9 state that “the contact members include a first contact member, a second abutting member and a third abutting member”. This reads that each individual contact member has three abutting members. This is contradictory to the limitation of claim 1 that states that the contact surface of the contact members are linear. However, for the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that the contact members have only one abutting member each.
Claims 9-10 refer to strokes. It is unclear whether a stroke is a direction, a movement (or distance) amount, or a physical device that is causing the movement of the abutting members. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting a stroke as a movement amount.
Claim 9 states that “the movements of the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member” are repeated “while maintaining the equal distances from the center of the substrate support”. This is contradictory to claim 10 which states that the second stroke and the third stroke (or the distance that the second and third abutting members have moved) are greater than an amount of the first stroke.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN112201607 (henceforth referred to as Liu) in view of Amano et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0365422 (henceforth referred to as Amano).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Liu teaches a centering device for horizontally moving and positioning a disk-like substrate such that a center of the substrate is aligned with a center of a substrate support while the substrate is placed in a horizontal posture on an upper surface of the substrate support, the centering device comprising:
three or more contact members each having a contact surface, the three or more contact members being arranged to surround the substrate support in a horizontal plane in such a posture that, when the substrate is placed on the substrate support, the contact surfaces are configured to face and contact an end face of the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0068] clamping component 50 would read on the contact members, and groove 59 would read on the contact surface. The clamping components would contact an end face of the substrate);
a moving mechanism configured to move the contact members toward the substrate in mutually different directions (paragraph [0068] rotary drive mechanism 20 moves the clamping components 50 in mutually different directions); and
a controller configured to control the moving mechanism to sandwich the substrate by moving the contact members toward the substrate (paragraph [0068] the rotary drive mechanism 20 is connected to a controller), wherein
each contact surface includes a contactable region that intersects the horizontal plane (FIG. 1 the groove 59 intersects the horizontal plane), has a linear shape (FIG. 3 the groove 59 of clamping component 50 is a linear shape),
wherein each of the contact members is arranged such that the contact surface is orthogonal to the horizontal plane and a surface normal of the contact surface faces the center of the substrate support (FIGS. 1 and 3 the surfaces of groove 59 are orthogonal to the horizontal plane and a surface normal of the groove 59 faces the center of the substrate support).
Liu differs from the instant claim in failing to teach that the substrate having a cut in a peripheral edge part of the substrate; each contact surface is longer than an arc formed by cutting out a circumference of the substrate by the cut.
Amano teaches a similar centering device (FIG. 5 paragraph [0077] position adjusting devices 33 and 43). Amano teaches the substrate having a cut in a peripheral edge part of the substrate (FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] notch of the wafer W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alignment device of Liu with a cut in a peripheral edge part of the substrate as taught by Amano. It is known in the art to have notches in the wafer in order to detect the orientation of the wafer.
Liu and Amano do not teach that the contact surfaces are longer than an arc formed by cutting out a circumference of the substrate by the cut. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
As to claim 2, (Previously Presented) Liu further teaches the contact members includes:
a first contact member separated from the center of the substrate support by a reference distance longer than a radius of the substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0045] each moving clamping assembly 50 is also at the same distance from the reference center point) and movable in a first horizontal direction from a first reference position toward the center of the substrate support in the horizontal plane (FIG. 1 paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally in a direction that approaches each other (toward the center of the substrate support));
a second contact member deviated from a virtual line extending in the first horizontal direction from the center of the substrate support on a side opposite to the first contact member with respect to the center of the substrate support (see following Figure 2), separated from the center of the substrate support by the reference distance (FIG. 2 paragraph [0045] each moving clamping assembly 50 is also at the same distance from the reference center point) and movable in a second horizontal direction different from a direction from a second reference position toward the center of the substrate support and approaching the substrate in the horizontal plane (FIG. 1 paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally in a direction that approaches each other (toward the center of the substrate support)); and
a third contact member separated by the reference distance (FIG. 2 paragraph [0045] each moving clamping assembly 50 is also at the same distance from the reference center point) from the center of the substrate support on the side opposite to the first contact member with respect to the center of the substrate support and on a side opposite to the second contact member with respect to the virtual line (See following Figure 2) and movable in a third horizontal direction different from a direction from a third reference position toward the center of the substrate support and approaching the substrate in the horizontal plane (FIG. 1 paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally in a direction that approaches each other (toward the center of the substrate support)),
the moving mechanism is configured to move the first contact member, the second contact member and the third contact member respectively in the first horizontal direction, the second horizontal direction and the third horizontal direction (FIG. 1 paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally in a direction that approaches each other), and
the controller is configured to repeat fine movements to move the first contact member, the second contact member and the third contact member respectively by a first movement amount, a second movement amount and a third movement amount so that distances to the first contact member, the second contact member and the third contact member from the center of the substrate support are kept equal (paragraph [0071] through the transmission of the ball screw assembly 40 and the bevel gear assembly 30, the high-precision movement of multiple moving clamping components 50 can be realized. High-precision movement reads on the claimed fine movements), and stop the fine movements upon confirming that the substrate is sandwiched by the first contact member, the second contact member and the third contact member (paragraph [0068] the controller controls the rotation angle of the rotary drive mechanism 20 according to the encoded value to control the clamping component 50 to move a preset distance from the initial position, so that the moving clamping component 50 can just clamp and fix the wafer without excessive clamping force).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First contact member)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third contact member deviated from first horizontal direction)][AltContent: textbox (Second contact member deviated from first horizontal direction)][AltContent: connector]
As to claim 9, (New) Liu further teaches:
the contact members include a first contact member, a second abutting member and a third abutting member (FIG. 1 paragraph [0068] clamping component 50 would read on the contact members, and groove 59 would read on the abutting members);
the moving mechanism includes one or more movers configured to move the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member (paragraph [0068] rotary drive mechanism 20 moves the clamping components 50);
the controller is configured to control the moving mechanism to move the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member in a horizontal plane in a first horizontal direction, a second horizontal direction, and a third horizontal direction, respectively (paragraph [0068] the rotary drive mechanism 20 is connected to a controller. Paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally);
before the controller begins moving the first to third abutting members, the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member are respectively positioned at a first reference position, a second reference position, and a third reference position that are located equal distances from the center of the substrate support, each of the equal distances being greater than a radius of the substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0045] each moving clamping assembly 50 is also at the same distance from the reference center point);
the first horizontal direction aligns with a radial direction from the center of the substrate support through the first reference position (See previously annotated Figure 2);
the second reference position is located on an opposite side of the first reference position with respect to the center of the substrate support and deviates from a virtual line extending in the first horizontal direction from the center of the substrate support (See previously annotated Figure 2);
the third reference position is located on the opposite side of the first reference position with respect to the center of the substrate support and on the opposite side of the second reference position with respect to the virtual line (See previously annotated Figure 2);
the second horizontal direction is different from the radial direction extending from the center of the substrate support through the second reference position (FIG. 2 the second horizontal direction is different from the radial direction extending from the center of the substrate);
the third horizontal direction is different from the radial direction extending from the center of the substrate support through the third reference position (FIG. 2 the third horizontal direction is different from the radial direction extending from the center of the substrate); and
the controller is configured to control the moving mechanism to:
move the first abutting member in the first horizontal direction from the first reference position toward the center of the substrate support by a first stroke, the second abutting member in the second horizontal direction from the second reference position toward the center of the substrate support by a second stroke, and the third abutting member in the third horizontal direction from the third reference position toward the center of the substrate support by a third stroke, the first stroke being different from the second and third strokes and the second and third strokes being equal to each other so that the equal distances (FIG. 2 the first abutting member (first contact member) is separate from the second and third abutting members (second and third contact members), this means that the first stroke is different than the second and third strokes) from the center of the substrate support are maintained while the first, second, and third abutting members move toward the center of the substrate support (FIG. 1 paragraph [0044] rotary drive mechanism 20 drives the moving clamping assemblies 50 to move horizontally in a direction that approaches each other); and
repeat the movements of the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member while maintaining the equal distances from the center of the substrate support until the controller determines that the substrate placed on an upper surface of the substrate support is nipped by the first abutting member, the second abutting member, and the third abutting member, thereby causing the center of the substrate to align with the center of the substrate support upon nipping the substrate (paragraph [0068] the controller controls the rotation angle of the rotary drive mechanism 20 according to the encoded value to control the clamping component 50 to move a preset distance from the initial position, so that the moving clamping component 50 can just clamp and fix the wafer without excessive clamping force).
As to claim 10, (New) Liu and Amano do not teach that the amounts of the second stroke and the third stroke are greater than an amount of the first stroke. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. CN112201607 (henceforth referred to as Liu) and Amano et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0365422 (henceforth referred to as Amano) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Oono U.S. Publication 2013/0206726 (henceforth referred to as Oono).
As to claim 3, (Original) Liu and Amano further teach a substrate processing apparatus, comprising:
a substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a disk-like substrate provided with a cut in a peripheral edge part (Amano FIG. 1 paragraph [0087] notch of the wafer W) in a horizontal posture (Liu FIG. 1 paragraph [0059] platform 14 supports the wafer horizontally);
the centering device according to claim 1 (see above claim rejection).
Liu and Amano differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a suction unit configured to suck and hold the substrate on the substrate support by exhausting air between the substrate positioned by the centering device and the substrate support; a rotation driver configured to rotate the substrate support sucking and holding the substrate about a center of the substrate support; and a processing liquid supply mechanism configured to supply a processing liquid to the peripheral edge part of the substrate rotated about the center of the substrate support integrally with the substrate support.
Oono teaches a similar centering device (paragraph [0051] a positioning mechanism 3). Oono teaches a suction unit configured to suck and hold the substrate on the substrate support by exhausting air between the substrate positioned by the centering device and the substrate support (FIG. 3 paragraph [0044] vacuum chuck unit 233 may evacuate the inside of gas flow path 234 to adsorptively hold wafer W on vacuum chuck unit 233);
a rotation driver configured to rotate the substrate support sucking and holding the substrate about a center of the substrate support (paragraph [0042] wafer holding unit 230 rotates wafer W about a vertical axis); and
a processing liquid supply mechanism configured to supply a processing liquid to the peripheral edge part of the substrate rotated about the center of the substrate support integrally with the substrate support (FIG. 3 paragraph [0042] first and second nozzles 240, 250 configured to supply the processing liquid from the top side and bottom side of the bevel portion of wafer W, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alignment device of Liu and Amano with a suction unit, rotation driver, and processing liquid supply as taught by Oono. It is known in the art to use a suction unit to hold a wafer. It would have been obvious to rotate the substrate support in order to ensure that a processing liquid can be supplied to the entire surface of the wafer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no motivation to combine Liu with a reference regarding the second horizontal direction and the third horizontal direction are directions parallel to the virtual line; that the second movement amount and the third movement amount are the same value; and the first movement amount is a different value from the second movement amount and the third movement amount.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711