DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted June 23rd, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 12 are amended, claims 9-11 are cancelled, and claim 18 is newly added, resulting in claims 1-8 and 12-18 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "first and second" is repeated twice in succession ("at the first and second first and second protrusion supports"; line 26 of claim 1; line 27 of claim 12). The Applicant must amend the claim to remove the redundant phrase to restore proper metes and bounds to the claim limitation. Appropriate correction includes amending these lines of the claims by deleting the extra words as follows: "...at the first and second
Claim Interpretation
Regarding newly amended claim 1, the amendment of the claim recites “the holding pad having a thickness that does not engage the cooling plate at the first and second protrusion supports at the first and second protrusion support planes.” The Applicant’s specification does not provide an explicit, verbatim definition for the term "engage" or "does not engage" in the context of the holding pad's thickness. In accordance with the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) standard, claim terms must be given their ordinary and customary meaning as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the disclosure as a whole (see MPEP § 2111). In a mechanical and structural assembly context, "engage" is broadly interpreted to mean to bring into contact, interlock, or physically touch; therefore, the term "does not engage" is interpreted to mean having no direct physical contact. Further, "a thickness that does not engage" is interpreted to mean that a given cross-sectional thickness, layer, or segment of the holding pad material is sized or otherwise configured such that no portion of that specific material thickness physically contacts or interfaces with the adjacent cooling plate surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN115528363A) and further in view of Godthi (EP3747736A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches:
a battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Chen, Abstract), the battery pack assembly (Chen, Fig. 8) comprising:
a main body assembly comprising a structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a floor module support frame (Chen, Fig. 3; the frame 7 including the inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9; specification, pg. 5, line 43) that supports an upper battery housing (Chen, reinforced battery tray with a case cover that holds at least one battery; specification, pg. 8, lines 40-41), the floor module support frame having:
a central body (Chen, Fig. 3; supporting plate 2) having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane; and
a first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8, see annotated Fig. 3 below) that is integrally formed with the central body (Chen, the outer edge of the supporting plate 2 (i.e. the central body) is connected to the lower end of the inner frame 8, specification, pg. 5 lines 54-55) and configured along a first edge and having an upper surface that extends along a first support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the first support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, Fig. 3; the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2); and
and a second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8, see annotated Fig. 3 below), that is integrally formed with the central body (Chen, the outer edge of the supporting plate 2 (i.e. the central body) is connected to the lower end of the inner frame 8, specification, pg. 5 lines 54-55) and configured along a second edge and having an upper surface that extends along a second support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the second support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, Fig. 3; the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2);
a cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) supported by the floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7 and supporting plate 2),
the cooling plate having a first lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the first protrusion (Chen, inner frame part 8), and
a second lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8),
the first and second protrusion supports (Chen, inner part 8) inhibiting relative movement between the cooling plate and floor module support frame (Chen, a blind rivet nut 47 and connecting bolt 48 runs through the inner frame portion 8 to connect the liquid cooling plate 200 and the frame 7; specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10), and
a holding pad (Chen, honeycomb panel 1) formed of vibration resistant material (Chen, specification, pg.3, lines 34-37) and disposed between the floor module support frame and the cooling plate at the central body (Chen, abstract; honeycomb panel 1 is in between the floor module support frame (which include the frame 7 and the supporting plate 2) and the liquid cooling plate 200, see Fig. 3), the holding pad having a thickness that does not engage the cooling plate at the first and second first and second protrusion supports at the first and second protrusion support planes (see annotated Fig. 5 from Chen below; a vertical thickness portion of the honey comb panel 1 does not directly contact or engage the surface of the liquid cooling plate 200 at the planes corresponding to inner frame portions 8).
However, Chen does not expressly teach a holding pad formed of vibration resistant material, wherein the vibration resistant material is an expanded polypropylene material.
Godthi teaches a holding pad (Godthi, Fig. 1, energy absorbing device 100) to absorb energy (i.e. suppress vibrations) from impacts affecting various vehicle components such as the battery module during vehicle operation (Godthi, specification, [0019]); Godthi further teaches that the polymeric component of the material of the vibration-suppressing holding pad is formed of expanded polypropylene (Godthi, specification, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Chen by forming the vibration resistant holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) from expanded polypropylene, as taught by Godthi, because Godthi teaches that expanded polypropylene is suitable for vibration dampening due to its elastomeric and energy-absorbing properties (Godthi, specification, [0011] and [0016]). Since Chen requires a material for the holding pad capable of suppressing vibration, substituting the known vibration resistant material (i.e. expanded polypropylene) of Godthi for the material of the holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) of Chen would have involved the use of one known material for another to perform the same function of suppressing vibrations to protect the battery components in a predictable manner.
Annotated Fig. 5 from Chen
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Chen further teaches the first and second support planes (Chen, upper surfaces of inner frame part 8) are co-planar (Chen, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Chen further teaches:
the floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7 and supporting plate 2) includes a plurality of first apertures defined through the first protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
and a second plurality of apertures defined through the second protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 3 as described above. Chen further teaches the cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) defines cooling plate apertures that align with the plurality of first and second apertures for receiving fasteners (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 4 as described above. Chen further teaches the fasteners threadably mate with receiving structure (Chen, the frame 7, which includes inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9, includes fasteners that connect the frame to the liquid cooling plate; specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10) provided on the structural frame support assembly (Chen, the frame 7 plus supporting plate 2; see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. Chen further teaches the structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100) further comprises a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam (Chen, the frame 7; see Fig. 3 below).
Annotated Figure 3 from Chen
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches:
A battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Chen, Abstract), the battery pack assembly (Chen, Fig. 8) comprising:
a main body assembly comprising a structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100),
the structural frame support assembly comprising: a floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7 which includes inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9; specification, pg. 5, line 43) that supports an upper battery housing (Chen, reinforced battery tray with a case cover that holds at least one battery; specification, pg. 8, lines 40-41), the floor module support frame having:
a central body (Chen, supporting plate 2; Fig. 3) having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane;
a first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 above) integrally formed with the floor module support frame (Chen, inner frame portion 8 is connected to the frame 7, which is part of the floor module support frame; specification, pg. 5, line 43) and extending upward from the central body along a first interior edge thereof (Chen, inner frame portion 8 extends upwards from the central body, which includes supporting plate 2, and along an interior edge of the frame 7; Fig. 8),
the first protrusion support having an upper surface that extends along a first support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the first support plane being parallel to and offset above the central body plane by a first offset distance (Chen, the upper surface of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2; Fig. 3); and
a second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 above) integrally formed with the floor module support frame (Chen, inner frame portion 8 is connected to the frame 7, which is part of the floor module support frame; specification, pg. 5, line 43) and extending upward from the central body along a second interior edge thereof opposite the first interior edge (Chen, inner frame portion 8 extends upwards from the central body, which includes supporting plate 2, and along an interior edge of the frame 7; the inner frame 8 is present on all sides of the floor module support frame, Fig. 8),
the second protrusion support having an upper surface that extends along a second support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8 on all sides of the frame 7),
the second support plane being parallel to and offset above the central body plane by a second offset distance (Chen, the upper surfaces of inner part 8 are offset from the plane of the supporting plate 2; Fig. 3), wherein the first and second support planes are co-planar (Chen, the upper surfaces of inner part 8 are coplanar; Fig. 3);
a cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) supported by the floor module support frame (the frame 7 which includes inner frame 8 and outer frame 9; Fig. 3) and positioned between the first protrusion support and the second protrusion support (Chen, the first and second protrusion supports are the inner frame(s) 8; the cooling plate 200 is positioned in the space between them, Fig. 3),
the cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) having a first lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) in direct abutting engagement with and structurally supported by the upper surface of the first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8) and a second lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) in direct abutting engagement with and structurally supported by the upper surface of the second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8), the first and second protrusion supports thereby eliminating gaps between the cooling plate and the floor module support frame at the first and second lateral sides and inhibiting relative movement between the cooling plate and the floor module support frame during vehicle operation (Chen, flow channel plate 3 is supported by the upper surface of inner frame(s) 8 on all sides of the frame 7; blind rivet nut 47 is installed in the inner frame portion 8, and the connecting bolt 48 passes through the flange edge 46 and is screwed into the blind rivet nut 47 to lock the flange edge 46, which would eliminate gaps and inhibit relative movement between the cooling plate 200 and the frame 7; specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10; Fig. 8);
a holding pad (Chen, honeycomb panel 1) disposed between the central body of the floor module support frame and the cooling plate (Chen, honeycomb panel 1 is in between the central body of the floor module support frame, i.e. the frame 7 and the central body of the floor module support frame, which includes supporting plate 2, and the liquid cooling plate 200; see Fig. 3),
the holding pad formed of a vibration resistant material (Chen, honeycomb panel 1; specification, pg.3 lines 34-37);
and a plurality of fasteners (Chen, blind rivet nuts 47 are installed in the inner frame portions 8, and the connecting bolts 48 pass through the flange edges 46 and are screwed into the blind rivet nuts 47 to lock the flange edges 46; specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10; Fig. 8) extending through cooling plate apertures defined in the cooling plate and through first and second apertures defined through the first and second protrusion supports (see annotated Fig. 3 from Chen above), respectively,
the fasteners threadably mating with receiving structure of the structural frame support assembly to secure the cooling plate to the floor module support frame (Chen, specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10; Fig. 8).
However, Chen does not expressly teach that the holding pad is formed of a vibration resistant polymeric material.
Godthi teaches a holding pad (Godthi, Fig. 1, energy absorbing device 100) to absorb energy (i.e. suppress vibrations) from impacts affecting various vehicle components such as the battery module during vehicle operation (Godthi, specification, [0019]); Godthi further teaches that the polymeric component of the material of the vibration-suppressing holding pad is formed of expanded polypropylene (Godthi, specification, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Chen by forming the vibration resistant holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) from expanded polypropylene, as taught by Godthi, because Godthi teaches that expanded polypropylene as the polymeric material is suitable for vibration dampening due to its elastomeric and energy-absorbing properties (Godthi, specification, [0011] and [0016]). Since Chen requires a material for the holding pad capable of suppressing vibration, substituting the known vibration resistant material (i.e. expanded polypropylene) of Godthi for the material of the holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) of Chen would have involved the use of one known material for another to perform the same function of suppressing vibrations to protect the battery components in a predictable manner.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Godthi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stephens (US11155150B2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above. However, Chen does not expressly teach a plurality of first floor cooling plates that occupy a first layer in the main body assembly.
Stephens teaches a battery pack with a plurality of first floor cooling plates that occupy a first layer in the main body assembly (Stephens, Fig. 10 and Fig. 10a; integral coolant channels 482 within the battery modules 414 of the tray floor structure 720; specification, [0004], [0007], [0052] lines 1-2).
Chen teaches the use of a cooling plate positioned relative to a battery module for the purposes of dissipating heat during operation and therefore avoiding the degradation of battery performance caused by high temperatures (Chen, specification, pg. 3, lines 23-29), and Stephens teaches incorporating a plurality of cooling plates within a common cooling plate layer for removing heat from the battery module(s) during operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first layer of the main assembly of the battery pack of Chen to include a plurality of cooling plates as taught by Stephens. Because incorporating additional cooling plates into the cooling layer of Chen would have constituted the duplication of a known element (i.e. the cooling plate) to increase the capacity of its known function (i.e. heat dissipation), and cooling plates are known to transfer heat, increasing the number of cooling plates would have predictably increased heat dissipation capacity and/or provided additional thermal pathways within the battery pack to enhance overall thermal management in regards to the battery module(s).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Godthi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuno (US11189877B2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above except a first floor module support frame wherein the floor module support frame comprises a second floor module support frame that is arranged generally parallel and offset relative to the first floor module support frame.
Kuno teaches a first floor module support frame (Kuno, lower case 300) wherein the floor module support frame comprises a second floor module support frame (Kuno, the second floor 360) that is arranged generally parallel and offset relative to the first floor module support frame (Kuno, Fig. 3).
Since Kuno teaches that a battery pack structural frame configuration with an upper and lower housing frame connected by a support member is beneficial for improving structural stability and suppressing vibrations (Kuno, abstract; specification, pg.1, [0007]), and because vibration suppression is a recognized mechanical design consideration, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Chen to incorporate an upper and lower housing frame configuration with a support member as taught by Kuno to obtain a battery pack assembly with the predictable benefit of reducing vibration and preventing movement between structural portions in order to protect the battery components during vehicle operation.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN115528363A), and further in view of Godthi (EP3747736A1) and Corona (WO2023096803A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches:
a battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Chen, Abstract) the battery pack assembly (Chen, Fig. 8) comprising:
a main body assembly comprising a structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
an upper floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7 which includes inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9; specification, pg. 5, line 43) that supports an upper battery housing (Chen, reinforced battery tray with a case cover that holds at least one battery; specification, pg. 8, lines 40-41), the upper floor module support frame having:
a central body (Chen, supporting plate 2; Fig. 3) having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane; and
a first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 above) that is integrally formed with the central body (Chen, the outer edge of the supporting plate 2 (i.e. the central body) is connected to the lower end of the inner frame 8, specification, pg. 5 lines 54-55) and configured along a first edge and having an upper surface that extends along a first support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the first support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2; Fig. 3);
a second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 above) that is integrally formed with the central body (Chen, the outer edge of the supporting plate 2 (i.e. the central body) is connected to the lower end of the inner frame 8, specification, pg. 5 lines 54-55) configured along a second edge and having an upper surface that extends along a second support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the second support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2; Fig. 3);
an upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) supported by the upper floor module support frame,
the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) having a first lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the first protrusion (Chen, inner frame part 8), and
a second lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8),
the first and second protrusion supports (Chen, inner part 8) inhibiting relative movement between the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) and upper floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7), and
a holding pad (Chen, honeycomb panel 1) formed of vibration resistant material (Chen, specification, pg.3, lines 34-37) and disposed between the floor module support frame and the cooling plate at the central body (Chen, abstract; honeycomb panel 1 is in between the floor module support frame (which include the frame 7 and the supporting plate 2) and the liquid cooling plate 200, see Fig. 3), the holding pad having a thickness that does not engage the cooling plate at the first and second first and second protrusion supports at the first and second protrusion support planes (see annotated Fig. 5 from Chen above).
However, Chen does not expressly teach a holding pad formed of vibration resistant material, wherein the vibration resistant material is an expanded polypropylene material.
Godthi teaches a holding pad (Godthi, Fig. 1, energy absorbing device 100) to absorb energy (i.e. suppress vibrations) from impacts affecting various vehicle components such as the battery module during vehicle operation (Godthi, specification, [0019]); Godthi further teaches that the polymeric component of the material of the vibration-suppressing holding pad is formed of expanded polypropylene (Godthi, specification, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Chen by forming the vibration resistant holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) from expanded polypropylene, as taught by Godthi, because Godthi teaches that expanded polypropylene is suitable for vibration dampening due to its elastomeric and energy-absorbing properties (Godthi, specification, [0011] and [0016]). Since Chen requires a material for the holding pad capable of suppressing vibration, substituting the known vibration resistant material (i.e. expanded polypropylene) of Godthi for the material of the holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) of Chen would have involved the use of one known material for another to perform the same function of suppressing vibrations to protect the battery components in a predictable manner.
However, Chen as modified by Godthi does not disclose that the structural frame support assembly contains an upper battery housing and a separate lower battery housing. In particular, modified Chen does not expressly disclose:
a lower floor module support frame that supports a lower battery housing;
a lower cooling plate supported by the lower floor module support frame.
Corona discloses a battery pack assembly containing multiple housings vertically stacked, each housing enclosing a battery module with a cooling plate coupled to the bottom surface of the battery module (Corona, Fig. 4G and 5E; specification, pg. 14, [0088]). Corona further discloses:
an upper floor module support frame (Corona, bottom surface of battery module 300-2, first side panel 204, second side panel 206, third side panel 208 and fourth side panel 210) that supports an upper battery housing (Corona, Fig. 4G, module containing volume 212 for battery module 300-2)
an upper cooling plate (Corona, Fig. 4G, cold plate 302 coupled to bottom surface of battery module 300-2) supported by the upper floor module support frame
a lower floor module support frame (Corona, bottom panel 216, first side panel 204, second side panel 206, third side panel 208 and fourth side panel 210; specification, pg. 8, [0061], lines 19-21) that supports a lower battery housing (Corona, module containing volume 212 for battery module 300-1, Fig. 4G; specification, pg. 7, [0058]) and
a lower cooling plate supported by the lower floor module support frame (cold plate 302 coupled to bottom surface of battery module 300-1; specification, pg. 14, [0088])
Since Corona teaches that high-voltage battery safety necessitates reinforced protective battery assemblies by incorporating structural ribs into stacked battery housings (Corona, vertical stiffening rib 268; specification, [0072]) to protect against mechanical damage during vehicle operation (Corona, specification, pg.1, [0005]; pg. 7, [0054]), and the number and orientation of the battery cells, and size and shape of the module housing can be tailored (Corona, specification, pg. 12, lines 2-4), it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single housing configuration of Chen to adopt the stacked, protective housing configuration of Corona in order to enhance structural rigidity and improve protection of battery components, thereby mitigating damage during vehicle operation. The modification would have involved applying a known stacked housing configuration to a similar battery system for its known benefit of further protecting the battery components from mechanical damage, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 12 as described above. Chen further teaches the first and second support planes (Chen, upper surfaces of inner frame part 8) are co-planar (Chen, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 12 as described above. Chen further teaches:
the upper floor module support frame (Chen, includes the frame 7) includes a plurality of first apertures defined through the first protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above)
and a second plurality of apertures defined through the second protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 14 as described above. Chen further teaches the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) defines cooling plate apertures that align with the plurality of first and second apertures for receiving fasteners (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 15 as described above. Chen further teaches the fasteners threadably mate with a receiving structure (Chen, the frame 7 which includes inner frame part 8 and outer frame part 9) provided on the support frame assembly (Chen, the frame 7; see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chen teaches all features of claim 12 as described above. Chen further teaches the structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100) further comprises a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam (Chen, the frame 7; see Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Response – Drawing Objections
The objection to the drawings is overcome by Applicant’s amendments to the drawings in the response received on June 23rd, 2026. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Response – Specification Objections
The objection to the specification due to informalities is overcome by Applicant’s amendments to the specification in the response received on June 23rd, 2026. The objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 102 and 103
Regarding independent claims 1, 12, and 18, Applicant's arguments filed on June 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
On page 14 of the response, the Applicant states that the Examiner refers to Chen's supporting plate 2 as a "central body,” but that in Chen, the supporting plate 2 is separately formed and connected to the lower end of the outer frame assembly 100 while the liquid cooling plate 200 is connected to the upper end, with the honeycomb panel 1 disposed between them. Thus, Applicant states the supporting plate 2 is not a component of a "floor module support frame" in the claimed sense, nor does it have a defined central body plane relative to which protrusion supports are offset.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that during patent examination, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification. For example, Applicant’s claim 1 recites, "a floor module support frame that supports an upper battery housing, the floor module support frame having: a central body having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane"; the claim does not further recite any explicit structural load metrics for the frame assembly. Therefore, a “floor module support frame” is reasonably interpreted as an assembly of components that holds, stabilizes, positions, or bears the weight of other components.
In Chen, the outer frame assembly 100 and the supporting plate 2 are fixedly connected (soldered or glued) to form a unified, cohesive structural floor assembly that comprises frames, and encloses and supports the honeycomb panel, cooling plate, and other battery components (Chen, specification, pg. 5 lines 14-18; fasteners also further secure the frame together, Fig. 8). Therefore, the supporting plate 2 of Chen provides the primary lower boundary and structural support for the battery pack and is inherently part of the "floor module support frame" assembly. Regarding the limitations, “the central body,” and “the central body plane,” the Examiner notes that the horizontal expanse of the supporting plate 2 of Chen (or alternatively, the lower boundary plane where the supporting plate 2 connects to the lower end of the frame assembly 100) establishes a clear, well-defined central body and central body plane (Chen, Fig. 3).
Regarding the argument that the components (outer frame assembly 100 and the supporting plate 2) are distinct parts prior to assembly, and therefore are not “integrally formed,” it is noted that structural elements do not need to be manufactured from a single piece of material to be considered "integrally formed" or part of a singular functional frame structure in the patent sense, unless explicitly restricted by the claim language. As illustrated in Fig. 3 of Chen, the outer frame assembly (100) comprises an outer profile (the frame 7 and outer part 9) and an inner frame profile (inner frame part 8), which function as the claimed first and second protrusion supports (see rejection of claim 1 above; inner frame part 8 is mapped to the first and second protrusion supports). According to Chen, the outer perimeter edge of the supporting plate (2) directly connects to the lower end of the inner frame part (8) (Chen, specification, pg. 5 lines 54-55). Further, when the battery pack is assembled, the alignment apertures present in the outer frame assembly (100), supporting plate (2), and cooling plate (200) receive securing fasteners (such as bolts and nuts) to further clamp and unify these subcomponents (Chen, specification, pg. 9 lines 8-10; Fig. 8). Therefore, this collective mechanical joining rigidifies the pieces into a single, cohesive, functionally integrated floor module support frame, with a central body being the supporting plate 2.
In addition, the claimed requirement that the first support plane is offset from the central body plane is fully satisfied by Chen's “stepped” configuration:
the central body plane is defined by the horizontal plane of the supporting plate (2),
the inner frame part (8) forms a distinct, raised internal ledge or shoulder extending along a first edge of the outer frame assembly (100),
the upper surface of inner part (8) defines a first support plane designed to receive upper layers (such as the cooling plate 200),
and as shown in Fig. 3 of Chen, this first support plane is vertically elevated and structurally offset relative to the lower horizontal plane of the supporting plate (2) (Chen, Fig. 3; the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2).
Accordingly, because Chen teaches a base frame assembly that structurally mirrors the multi-planar, offset support surfaces claimed by Applicant, the rejection is maintained.
On pages 14-15 of the response, the Applicant states that the honeycomb panel 1 of Chen is disposed between the liquid cooling plate 200 and the supporting plate 2 (tray), not between a floor module support frame and a cooling plate at a central body of that frame, as Chen's outer frame assembly and supporting plate are structurally distinct from the claimed floor module support frame with a central body.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that in view of the amendment to claims 1 and 12, Chen further discloses that the holding pad (honeycomb panel 1) has a thickness that does not engage the cooling plate at the first and second first and second protrusion supports at the first and second protrusion support planes (see rejection of claim 1; see annotated Fig. 5 of Chen above). In addition, as discussed above in the response to arguments, Chen's outer frame assembly 100 and supporting plate 2 are structurally the same as the claimed floor module support frame with a central body and central body plane, where the central body is the supporting plate 2. Thus, Chen discloses the structural arrangement of the claimed battery pack in terms of the positioning of the floor module support frame(s), the holding pad, first and second protrusions, and the cooling plate.
On page 15 of the response, regarding the structural arrangement and functional interaction of the battery pack of Chen, the Applicant further states that the structural arrangement and functional interaction of the claimed holding pad and protrusion supports are not disclosed or suggested by Chen. Specifically, Applicant contends that the honeycomb panel of Chen is formed of aluminum or steel and functions primarily to provide load-bearing support, whereas the claimed holding pad works in conjunction with protrusion supports to resist relative vibration-induced movement, and therefore, the claimed structural arrangement and functional interaction is not disclosed in Chen.
In response, the Examiner maintains that Chen discloses the claimed structural arrangement and functional interaction. It is well-established that a prior art reference is available for all that it teaches, and the recognition of an additional or alternative advantage or function does not patentably distinguish a structure that is otherwise identical or structurally equivalent (MPEP § 2144.04). The fact that Chen may characterize the load-bearing support as a primary function and the NVH benefits as secondary does not negate the explicit disclosure that the honeycomb panel inherently and structurally performs both functions. Further, Chen explicitly teaches that the honeycomb panel 1 contains honeycomb-shaped holes which reduce weight while increasing supporting strength. Chen further discloses that because the gas layer within the honeycomb panel is divided into numerous closed spaces, the flow of gas is prevented, obstructing the propagation of sound waves and heat. Chen explicitly states that this structure improves sound insulation, noise reduction and heat insulation, and that by arranging honeycomb panels of different specifications and sizes, the natural frequency of the honeycomb panels can be adjusted, problems such as resonance and noise can be improved, and NVH performance can be improved (Chen, pg. 9 lines 14-28). Therefore, Chen directly discloses a structure that mitigates relative vibration-induced movement and noise, dynamically functioning in the exact structural arrangement and functional interaction as the claimed holding pad.
Since Chen discloses every element of the claimed structural arrangement and functional interaction of the holding pad, floor module support frame, first and second protrusions, and cooling plate, the rejection is maintained. It is also worth noting that in view of the amendments to independent claims 1 and 12, the new 35 USC §103 rejection(s) of Chen in view of Godthi teaches a holding pad formed of a vibration resistant material such as expanded polypropylene (see rejection of claim 1 and claim 12 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andre (US20150249238A1): appears to disclose a battery pack assembly for a vehicle including a structural frame configuration with an upper and lower housing frame that supports a plurality of battery modules and cooling plates (Abstract, Fig. 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXIS R OSTWALT/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789