DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because reference numerals 132 (lower battery housing) and 134 (upper battery housing), described in the specification, are not shown in the drawings.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as "Annotated Sheet" and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the corrected drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“withing” should read “within” in:
Pg. 2, [0019], line 49
Pg. 3, [0023], line 29
“cam” should read “can” on pg. 2, [0008], line 2
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN115528363A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches:
a battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Chen, Abstract), the battery pack assembly (Chen, Fig. 8) comprising:
a main body assembly comprising a structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
a floor module support frame (Chen, Fig. 3; the frame 7 including the inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9; specification, pg. 5, line 43) that supports an upper battery housing (Chen, reinforced battery tray with a case cover that holds at least one battery; specification, pg. 8, lines 40-41), the floor module support frame having:
a central body (Chen, Fig. 3; supporting plate 2) having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane; and
a first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured along a first edge and having an upper surface that extends along a first support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the first support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, Fig. 3; the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2); and
and a second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured along a second edge and having an upper surface that extends along a second support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the second support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, Fig. 3; the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2); and
a cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) supported by the floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7)
the cooling plate having a first lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the first protrusion (Chen, inner frame part 8), and
a second lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8),
the first and second protrusion supports (Chen, inner part 8) inhibiting relative movement between the cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) and floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further teaches the first and second support planes (Chen, upper surfaces of inner frame part 8) are co-planar (Chen, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches:
the floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7) includes a plurality of first apertures defined through the first protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
and a second plurality of apertures defined through the second protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further teaches the cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) defines cooling plate apertures that align with the plurality of first and second apertures for receiving fasteners (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen further teaches the fasteners threadably mate with receiving structure (Chen, outer frame part 9) provided on the support frame assembly (Chen, the frame 7).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen further teaches the structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100) further comprises a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam (Chen, the frame 7; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen further teaches a holding pad (Chen, honeycomb panel 1) disposed between the floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7) and the cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) at the central body (Chen, Abstract; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen further teaches the holding pad (Chen, honeycomb panel 1) is formed of a vibration resistant material (Chen, specification, pg.3, lines 34-37).
Annotated Figure 3 from Chen
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Stephens (US11155150B2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except a plurality of first floor cooling plates that occupy a first layer in the main body assembly.
Stephens teaches a battery pack with a plurality of first floor cooling plates that occupy a first layer in the main body assembly (Stephens, Fig. 10 and Fig. 10a; integral coolant channels 482 within the battery modules 414 of the tray floor structure 720; specification, [0004], [0007], [0052] lines 1-2).
Chen teaches the use of a cooling plate positioned relative to a battery module for the purposes of dissipating heat during operation and therefore avoiding the degradation of battery performance caused by high temperatures (Chen, specification, pg. 3, lines 23-29), and Stephens teaches incorporating a plurality of cooling plates within a common cooling plate layer for removing heat from the battery module(s) during operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first layer of the main assembly of the battery pack of Chen to include a plurality of cooling plates as taught by Stephens. Because incorporating additional cooling plates into the cooling layer of Chen would have constituted the duplication of a known element (i.e. the cooling plate) to increase the capacity of its known function (i.e. heat dissipation), and cooling plates are known to transfer heat, increasing the number of cooling plates would have predictably increased heat dissipation capacity and/or provided additional thermal pathways within the battery pack to enhance overall thermal management in regards to the battery module(s).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kuno (US11189877B2).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches all features of claim 1 as described above except a first floor module support frame wherein the floor module support frame comprises a second floor module support frame that is arranged generally parallel and offset relative to the first floor module support frame.
Kuno teaches a first floor module support frame (Kuno, lower case 300) wherein the floor module support frame comprises a second floor module support frame (Kuno, the second floor 360) that is arranged generally parallel and offset relative to the first floor module support frame (Kuno, Fig. 3).
Since Kuno teaches that a battery pack structural frame configuration with an upper and lower housing frame connected by a support member is beneficial for improving structural stability and suppressing vibrations (Kuno, abstract; specification, pg.1, [0007]), and because vibration suppression is a recognized mechanical design consideration, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack assembly of Chen to incorporate an upper and lower housing frame configuration with a support member as taught by Kuno to obtain a battery pack assembly with the predictable benefit of reducing vibration and preventing movement between structural portions in order to protect the battery components during vehicle operation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Godthi (EP3747736A1).
Chen teaches a battery pack assembly with all features of claim 10 as described above, and the holding pad located between the floor module support frame and cooling plate is formed of a vibration resistant material that suppresses vibrations to protect the battery components during vehicle operation. However, Chen does not expressly disclose that the holding pad is formed of expanded polypropylene.
Godthi teaches a holding pad (Godthi, Fig. 1, energy absorbing device 100) to absorb energy (i.e. suppress vibrations) from impacts affecting various vehicle components such as the battery module during vehicle operation (Godthi, specification, [0019]); Godthi further teaches that the polymeric component of the material of the vibration-suppressing holding pad is formed of expanded polypropylene (Godthi, specification, [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vibration resistant holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) of Chen from expanded polypropylene as taught by Godthi, because Godthi teaches that expanded polypropylene is suitable for vibration dampening due to its elastomeric and energy-absorbing properties (Godthi, specification, [0011] and [0016]). Since Chen requires a material for the holding pad capable of suppressing vibration, substituting the known vibration resistant material (i.e. expanded polypropylene) of Godthi for the material of the holding pad layer (honeycomb panel 1) of Chen would have involved the use of one known material for another to perform the same function of suppressing vibrations to protect the battery components in a predictable manner.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Corona (WO2023096803A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen teaches:
a battery pack assembly for an electrified vehicle (Chen, Abstract) the battery pack assembly (Chen, Fig. 8) comprising:
a main body assembly comprising a structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100), the structural frame support assembly comprising:
an upper floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7 which includes inner frame portion 8 and outer frame portion 9; specification, pg. 5, line 43) that supports an upper battery housing (Chen, reinforced battery tray with a case cover that holds at least one battery; specification, pg. 8, lines 40-41), the upper floor module support frame having:
a central body (Chen, supporting plate 2; Fig. 3) having an upper surface that extends along a central body plane; and
a first protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured along a first edge and having an upper surface that extends along a first support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the first support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2; Fig. 3);
a second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8; see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured along a second edge and having an upper surface that extends along a second support plane (Chen, upper surface of inner part 8),
the second support plane offset from the central body plane (Chen, the plane of inner part 8 is offset from the plane of supporting plate 2; Fig. 3);
an upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) supported by the upper floor module support frame,
the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) having a first lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the first protrusion (Chen, inner frame part 8), and
a second lateral side (Chen, flow channel plate 3) that engages and is structurally supported by the upper surface of the second protrusion support (Chen, inner frame part 8),
the first and second protrusion supports (Chen, inner part 8) inhibiting relative movement between the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) and upper floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7).
Chen does not disclose that the structural frame support assembly contains an upper battery housing and a lower battery housing. In particular:
a lower floor module support frame that supports a lower battery housing;
a lower cooling plate supported by the lower floor module support frame.
Corona discloses a battery pack assembly containing multiple housings vertically stacked, each housing enclosing a battery module with a cooling plate coupled to the bottom surface of the battery module (Corona, Fig. 4G and 5E; specification, pg. 14, [0088]). Corona further discloses:
an upper floor module support frame (Corona, bottom surface of battery module 300-2, first side panel 204, second side panel 206, third side panel 208 and fourth side panel 210) that supports an upper battery housing (Corona, Fig. 4G, module containing volume 212 for battery module 300-2)
an upper cooling plate (Corona, Fig. 4G, cold plate 302 coupled to bottom surface of battery module 300-2) supported by the upper floor module support frame
a lower floor module support frame (Corona, bottom panel 216, first side panel 204, second side panel 206, third side panel 208 and fourth side panel 210; specification, pg. 8, [0061], lines 19-21) that supports a lower battery housing (Corona, module containing volume 212 for battery module 300-1, Fig. 4G; specification, pg. 7, [0058])
a lower cooling plate supported by the lower floor module support frame (cold plate 302 coupled to bottom surface of battery module 300-1; specification, pg. 14, [0088])
Since Corona teaches that high-voltage battery safety necessitates reinforced protective battery assemblies by incorporating structural ribs into stacked battery housings (Corona, vertical stiffening rib 268; specification, [0072]) to protect against mechanical damage during vehicle operation (Corona, specification, pg.1, [0005]; pg. 7, [0054]), and the number and orientation of the battery cells, and size and shape of the module housing can be tailored (Corona, specification, pg. 12, lines 2-4), it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single housing configuration of Chen (hereby referenced as “modified Chen”) to adopt the stacked protective housing configuration of Corona in order to enhance structural rigidity and improve protection of battery components, thereby mitigating damage during vehicle operation. The modification would have involved applying a known stacked housing configuration to a similar battery system for its known benefit of further protecting the battery components from mechanical damage, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen further teaches the first and second support planes (Chen, upper surfaces of inner frame part 8) are co-planar (Chen, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen further teaches:
the upper floor module support frame (Chen, the frame 7) includes a plurality of first apertures defined through the first protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above)
and a second plurality of apertures defined through the second protrusion support (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chen further teaches the upper cooling plate (Chen, liquid cooling plate 200) defines cooling plate apertures that align with the plurality of first and second apertures for receiving fasteners (Chen, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen further teaches the fasteners threadably mate with receiving structure (Chen, outer frame part 9) provided on the support frame assembly (Chen, the frame 7).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chen further teaches the structural frame support assembly (Chen, outer frame assembly 100) further comprises a front beam, a rear beam, a first side beam and a second side beam (Chen, the frame 7; Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andre (US2015249238A1): appears to disclose a battery pack assembly for a vehicle including a structural frame configuration with an upper and lower housing frame that supports a plurality of battery modules and cooling plates (Abstract, Fig. 2).
/ALEXIS R OSTWALT/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789