DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the production of hydrocarbons" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the operational modus" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the transmitting of pressure based signals" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 1. Claims 2-18 are also indefinite.
Claim 5 recites "the recognised condition change" in line 2. It is unclear and indefinite to which recognised condition change is referred to? Is it the recognised condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline is significantly reduced or is stopped? Or the recognised condition change associated with the flowline and then controlling the flow control device of claim 4?.
Claim 5 recites “the signal” in line 4. It is unclear and indefinite to which signal is referring to? Is it the pressure based signal? Or is it the optimum signal? Or is it a new signal?
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the period of ceased transmission" in lines 2-3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the production of hydrocarbons" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the transmitting of pressure based signals" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 19. Claim 20 is also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
1. Claims 1-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Godager (US 8319657B2) in view of Schultz et al. (US 5,279,363) hereafter Schultz, and further in view of Lewis et al. (US 6845563B2) hereafter Lewis.
Regarding claim 1, Godager discloses a method for use in controlling pressure based signal transmission within a fluid in a flowline in a well associated with the production of hydrocarbons, comprising:
transmitting a pressure based signal through a fluid (fig 3-4; col 13 ln 47-54, ln 57-63: FIG. 3 shows an example on an embodiment of the invention where two devices 31 and 32 communicate by means of fluctuations in the flow in the production line 33. As an example, assume that a measurement was requested from the first device 31 by the second device 32, and the first device 31 returns the requested data. Both communications are performed by pressure modulating a data set (message frame) onto the production line. In this embodiment the time constant, i.e. time delay from transmitting a pulse on the production line until this pulse is detected at the other unit, is depending on the volume of the process system as well as the properties of the fluid in the line. To achieve a sufficient time delay for a pulse to propagate from one end to another, a transfer model may be derived which mathematically describes the system.) within the flowline (fig 1a-1b:1 and fig 3:13; col 11 ln 48-51, col 13 ln 47-49: FIG. 1a is a simplified diagram of an embodiment of the invention comprising a process flow line 1 which is terminated in both ends by two restrictions 2, 3. FIG. 3 shows an example on an embodiment of the invention where two devices 31 and 32 communicate by means of fluctuations in the flow in the production line 33 technically equivalent to the flow line) using a flow control device (col 14 ln 27-34: The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison.);
recognising a condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline (col 14 ln 21-33, ln 38-46: A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. In order to provide the best possible control due to the dead time, a timer 43 allows the process to settle to the change before the controller takes corrective action. The timer 43 may also be integrated in a state/event variable controller 44. In this configuration the restriction 45 may be an on/off control and directly driven by any of the controllers 43, 44. The restriction 45 may be programmed to activate and lock into one of two positions depending on the input variable from the controller); and
controlling the operational modus of the flow control device in accordance with the recognised condition change (col 14 ln 29-33, ln 38-46: A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. In order to provide the best possible control due to the dead time, a timer 43 allows the process to settle to the change before the controller takes corrective action. The timer 43 may also be integrated in a state/event variable controller 44. In this configuration the restriction 45 may be an on/off control and directly driven by any of the controllers 43, 44. The restriction 45 may be programmed to activate and lock into one of two positions depending on the input variable from the controller).
Godager does not explicitly disclose the method wherein a condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline is significantly reduced or is stopped; and to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped.
Schultz discloses the method wherein a condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline is significantly reduced or is stopped (col 12 ln 39-54: A downhole shut-in system comprise, a master controller 226 associated with the shut-in tool 224 to monitor the formation pressure or any other formation parameter or feedback, and automatically open and close the multiple shut-in valve when the controlling parameter undergoes a specific pattern of change, or reaches a critical value...the shut-in valve closed until downhole pressure has stabilized and built up substantially to a peak value. With that teaching, the pressure critical value means pressure had changed to a lowest value (e.g. significant reduction value) which against the pressure peak value after buildup, based upon the pressure changed the controller 226 monitors the pressure (flow) in the flow line, that the monitor is recognized when the pressure is significantly reduced to a point that the shut-in valve should be closed).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Godager and Schultz references since both pertain to the field of pressure systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Godager with the feature of having a controller that controls the flow control device in accordance with the condition change as disclosed by Schultz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing pressure based signals can be controlled during the low pressure detection, for the purpose of optimizing transmission signals, because transmission at low pressure would be more interference or noise in the signals.
Godager in view of Shultz does not explicitly disclose the method for use in controlling pressure based signal transmission wherein to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power.
Lewis discloses the method for use in controlling pressure based signal transmission wherein to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped (col 5 ln 65-67 and col 6 ln 1-5: Once the data has been received and recorded at the surface normal drilling operations may be resumed with tool 1 remaining in place until such time as a further survey is desired. After the pulsar has been activated and transmits the data to the surface, the downhole tool will essentially enter a sleep mode to conserve power until again activated through a cessation of drilling operations and the lack of vibration as sensed by the vibration sensor).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Godager, Schultz and Lewis references since all pertain to the field of pressure systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Godager with the power usage feature as disclosed by Lewis to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing power consumption, that the power supply of flow control device can be controlled based upon condition changed associated with the flowline, such as reduced in flow or pressure of fluid within the flowline.
Regarding claim 2, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the pressure based signal comprises at least one pressure variation imparted within the fluid by the flow control device (Godager col 14 ln 27-33: The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison.).
Regarding claim 3, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the pressure based signal comprises or defines at least one signal parameter including at least one of amplitude, a pulse width and a pulse separation (Godager col 10 ln 46-54: The pressure sensor is located downstream the pulse generator for the downhole components, and upstream the pulse generator for the surface components, respectively, and used in order to monitor and control the pulse transmission in a closed-loop configuration. Hence, an internal interrogation protocol utilizes the feedback from the pressure sensor to adjust the choke position in order to enable an optimal pulse length, phase and amplitude in time domain that matches the process system.).
Regarding claim 4, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising recognising a condition change associated with the flowline and then controlling the flow control device (Godager col 10 ln 50-54, col 14 ln 27-33, ln 38-46: The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. In order to provide the best possible control due to the dead time, a timer 43 allows the process to settle to the change before the controller takes corrective action. The timer 43 may also be integrated in a state/event variable controller 44. In this configuration the restriction 45 may be an on/off control and directly driven by any of the controllers 43, 44. The restriction 45 may be programmed to activate and lock into one of two positions depending on the input variable from the controller).
Regarding claim 5, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 4, comprising controlling the flow control device in accordance with the recognised condition change to optimise the pressure based signal (Godager col 10 ln 46-54, col 14 ln 27-34: A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. The pressure sensor is located downstream the pulse generator for the downhole components, and upstream the pulse generator for the surface components, respectively, and used in order to monitor and control the pulse transmission in a closed-loop configuration. Hence, an internal interrogation protocol utilizes the feedback from the pressure sensor to adjust the choke position in order to enable an optimal pulse length, phase and amplitude in time domain that matches the process system.), optionally wherein optimisation is achieved in terms of creating and/or maintaining an optimum signal which permits detection of the signal by a receiver (Godager col 10 ln 46-54: The pressure sensor is located downstream the pulse generator for the downhole components, and upstream the pulse generator for the surface components, respectively, and used in order to monitor and control the pulse transmission in a closed-loop configuration. Hence, an internal interrogation protocol utilizes the feedback from the pressure sensor to adjust the choke position in order to enable an optimal pulse length, phase and amplitude in time domain that matches the process system.).
Regarding claim 6, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising recognising a flow rate variation and associating this with a flowline shut-in event, recognising a pressure variation and associating this with a flowline shut-in event, or recognising a pressure variation beyond a threshold value and associating this with a flowline shut-in event (Shultz fig 9; col 13 ln 1-20: Curve 236 represents the buildup of pressure in the lower portion of the production tubing string below shut-in tool 224. Similarly, the time interval from T.sub.4 to T.sub.5 represents an interval in which the pressure has again substantially stabilized at a minimum level. The recorder/master controller 226 may be programmed to recognize this stabilization and to promptly reclose shut-in tool 224 at time T.sub.5 to start yet another buildup period as indicated by the curve 240. This can be repeated as often as necessary. At time T.sub.7, the shut-in tool 224 is again closed to begin yet another buildup interval.).
Regarding claim 7, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising reinitiating signal transmission in response to a recognised condition change (Lewis col 5 ln 35-53, col 5 ln 54-60: As the drilling processes resumes technically means after ceasing signal transmission and mud once again starts to flow the vibration sensor will detect the flow of the mud and sends a signal to microprocessor control 4 which then activates pulsar 11. The pulsar will then transmit the data received and stored from the accelerometers by means of mud pulse telemetry (generally referred to as a tool position signal). if a drill operator wishes to conduct a survey of the inclination of the borehole all that is required is to stop the drilling operation for a relatively short period of time, allowing the vibration sensors to activate microprocessor 4. The collection of data from the accelerometers and the storage of that data within the microprocessor will typically take from one to two minutes to complete, after which the pumping of drilling fluid or mud may be reinstated by the drill operator technically equivalent to retransmitting signal transmission collected by the accelerometers).
Regarding claim 8, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising controlling the flow control device to cease signal transmission and collecting and storing data during the period of ceased transmission (Lewis col 5 ln 35-44: the drift measurement tool includes a vibration sensor that is able to detect the cessation of drilling operations by means of a lack of vibration when the flow of drilling mud or fluid is stopped. When readings from the vibration sensor indicate that drilling has ceased, microprocessor control 4 will cause accelerometers 8 to be queried and signals corresponding to the angle of inclination of the inclination sensors on the accelerometers will be generated by the accelerometers and received by and stored within the microprocessor.), optionally comprising controlling the flow control device to reinitiate signal transmission and composing one or more signals to transmit at least a portion of the data stored during the period of ceased transmission (Lewis col 5 ln 35-53, col 5 ln 54-60: As the drilling processes resumes technically means after ceasing signal transmission and mud once again starts to flow the vibration sensor will detect the flow of the mud and sends a signal to microprocessor control 4 which then activates pulsar 11. The pulsar will then transmit the data received and stored from the accelerometers by means of mud pulse telemetry (generally referred to as a tool position signal). if a drill operator wishes to conduct a survey of the inclination of the borehole all that is required is to stop the drilling operation for a relatively short period of time, allowing the vibration sensors to activate microprocessor 4. The collection of data from the accelerometers and the storage of that data within the microprocessor will typically take from one to two minutes to complete, after which the pumping of drilling fluid or mud may be reinstated by the drill operator technically equivalent to retransmitting signal transmission collected by the accelerometers).
Regarding claim 9, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising controlling the flow control device by modifying operational parameters stored within the flow control device (Godager col 13 ln 55-67 and col 14 ln 1-47: The nature of the process line, and thus the communication link may vary from system to system due to process and pipe properties. In this embodiment the time constant, i.e. time delay from transmitting a pulse on the production line until this pulse is detected at the other unit, is depending on the volume of the process system as well as the properties of the fluid in the line. To achieve a sufficient time delay for a pulse to propagate from one end to another, a transfer model may be derived which mathematically describes the system. From the model the characteristic time constant of that particular process and configuration may be established), optionally wherein the flow control device is operated in accordance with specific algorithms or protocols, wherein such algorithms or protocols are modified in accordance with a recognised condition change within the flowline (Godager col 13 ln 55-67 and col 14 ln 1-47: The nature of the process line, and thus the communication link may vary from system to system due to process and pipe properties. In this embodiment the time constant, i.e. time delay from transmitting a pulse on the production line until this pulse is detected at the other unit, is depending on the volume of the process system as well as the properties of the fluid in the line. To achieve a sufficient time delay for a pulse to propagate from one end to another, a transfer model may be derived which mathematically describes the system. From the model the characteristic time constant of that particular process and configuration may be established),.
Regarding claim 10, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the flow control device comprises a parameter matrix, and the method comprises modifying parameters within the matrix in accordance with a recognised condition change (Godager Equation 1: col 13 ln 55-67 and col 14 ln 1-47: To achieve a sufficient time delay for a pulse to propagate from one end to another, a transfer model may be derived which mathematically describes the system. From the model the characteristic time constant of that particular process and configuration may be established. The flow line production line) is a complicated dynamic system, but may be approximated by a single linear lag plus a distance-velocity lag. This model assumes infinite source capacity from the reservoir and a negligible end volume. Where T is the time constant of the system, R represents the resistance in the system, C is capacitance, Q is flow rate, and V is the volume. In summary, the characteristic time constant depends on the composition of the fluid, the fluid's upstream resistance against movement in the process line, and the bulk volume of the fluid flow (process flow).).
Regarding claim 11, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising monitoring a condition associated with the flowline via use of one or more sensors to provide for recognising a condition change (Godager fig 1b:11; col 12 ln 48-52: The system comprises a control unit 10, and a down hole instrument 11, e.g. a pressure gauge for monitoring pressure in the production line 13 and/or the reservoir 14, and there is a need for communication between the units.), optionally wherein at least one sensor is provided exclusively for such monitoring or for both data collection to be transmitted and monitoring (Godager fig 1b:11; col 12 ln 48-52: The system comprises a control unit 10, and a down hole instrument 11, e.g. a pressure gauge for monitoring pressure in the production line 13 and/or the reservoir 14, and there is a need for communication between the units.).
Regarding claim 12, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising recognising at least one of a pressure condition change (Godager col 4 ln 45-52: Data sources, i.e. devices that provide data to be communicated could be any kind of commercial data sensor related to measuring process parameters, for example quartz sensors to monitor downhole pressure and temperature, as well as sensors to monitor the status of devices as valves and similar In addition, data sources could be command centers or equivalent, that is used to monitor and control the flow process), a temperature condition change (Godager col 4 ln 45-52: Data sources, i.e. devices that provide data to be communicated could be any kind of commercial data sensor related to measuring process parameters, for example quartz sensors to monitor downhole pressure and temperature, as well as sensors to monitor the status of devices as valves and similar In addition, data sources could be command centers or equivalent, that is used to monitor and control the flow process), a flow rate condition change (Godager col 5 ln 53-57, col 11 ln 53-60: Such sensors are process flow rate and/or velocity measurement devices. The restrictions 2, 3 may be fixed or adjustable types, and when active, have a choking effect on the process flow rate in the flow 1. This means that a change of position of one of the restrictions 2, 3, will cause a change in the flow rate Q which in turn will induce a change in the operating pressure P of the same process flow line 1. Pressure P and flow rate Q is thus determined or controlled by the position or net choking effect of the restrictions 2, 3.) and a fluid composition condition change (Godager col 1 ln 12-16, col 10 ln 55-63, col 14 ln 12-15: Numerous of today's wells related to the production of hydrocarbons are completed with permanently installed monitoring devices for measuring data such as pressure, temperature, flow rate, flow composition, flow direction, sand and other. Typically the active transmitters will tune according to the process system time constant and change the characteristics of the start pulse enabling the receiver device to calibrate amplitude and phase to the actual signal transmission rate. The reason for this is that oil reservoirs deplete over time, hence the fluid composition, flow rate, pressure states and consequently the time constant for a well of interest might change as a function of time. the characteristic time constant depends on the composition of the fluid, the fluid's upstream resistance against movement in the process line, and the bulk volume of the fluid flow (process flow). Numerous of today's wells related to the production of hydrocarbons are completed with permanently installed monitoring devices for measuring data such as pressure, temperature, flow rate, flow composition, flow direction, sand and other.).
Regarding claim 19, Godager discloses a communication apparatus for communication within a flowline in a well associated with the production of hydrocarbons (Fig. 1b, col. 8, lines 12-22), comprising:
a flow control device (fig 4:41; col 14 ln 27-33: The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. ) configured for transmitting a pressure based signal through a production fluid within a flowline (fig 3-4; col 14 ln 21-33: The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison);
a monitoring system (fig 4:40) for monitoring at least one condition associated with fluid flow within the flowline (col 14 ln 21-33, ln 38-46: A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. In order to provide the best possible control due to the dead time, a timer 43 allows the process to settle to the change before the controller takes corrective action. The timer 43 may also be integrated in a state/event variable controller 44. In this configuration the restriction 45 may be an on/off control and directly driven by any of the controllers 43, 44. The restriction 45 may be programmed to activate and lock into one of two positions depending on the input variable from the controller)); and
a controller configured to control an operational modus of the flow control device in accordance with a condition change recognised by the monitoring system (col 10 ln 45-54; col 14 ln 29-33, ln 38-46: A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. In order to provide the best possible control due to the dead time, a timer 43 allows the process to settle to the change before the controller takes corrective action. The timer 43 may also be integrated in a state/event variable controller 44. In this configuration the restriction 45 may be an on/off control and directly driven by any of the controllers 43, 44. The restriction 45 may be programmed to activate and lock into one of two positions depending on the input variable from the controller).
Godager does not explicitly disclose the apparatus wherein to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped.
Schultz discloses the apparatus wherein a condition change when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped (col 12 ln 39-54: A downhole shut-in system comprise, a master controller 226 associated with the shut-in tool 224 to monitor the formation pressure or any other formation parameter or feedback, and automatically open and close the multiple shut-in valve when the controlling parameter undergoes a specific pattern of change, or reaches a critical value...the shut-in valve closed until downhole pressure has stabilized and built up substantially to a peak value. With that teaching, the pressure critical value means pressure had changed to a lowest value (e.g. significant reduction value) which against the pressure peak value after buildup, based upon the pressure changed the controller 226 monitors the pressure (flow) in the flow line, that the monitor is recognized when the pressure is significantly reduced to a point that the shut-in valve should be closed).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Godager and Schultz references since both pertain to the field of pressure systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Godager with the feature of having a controller that controls the flow control device in accordance with the condition change as disclosed by Schultz to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing pressure based signals can be controlled during the low pressure detection, for the purpose of optimizing transmission signals, because transmission at low pressure would be more interference or noise in the signals.
Godager in view of Shultz does not explicitly disclose to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power.
Lewis discloses the method for use in controlling pressure based signal transmission wherein to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped (col 5 ln 65-67 and col 6 ln 1-5: Once the data has been received and recorded at the surface normal drilling operations may be resumed with tool 1 remaining in place until such time as a further survey is desired. After the pulsar has been activated and transmits the data to the surface, the downhole tool will essentially enter a sleep mode to conserve power until again activated through a cessation of drilling operations and the lack of vibration as sensed by the vibration sensor).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Godager, Schultz and Lewis references since all pertain to the field of pressure systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Godager with the power usage feature as disclosed by Lewis to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing power consumption, that the power supply of flow control device can be controlled based upon condition changed associated with the flowline, such as reduced in flow or pressure of fluid within the flowline.
Regarding claim 20, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, comprising a receiver which is positioned remotely from the flow control device (Godager col 14 ln 63-67 and col 15 ln 1-10: FIG. 6 shows an example on an application in a multi-lateral well system. This configuration comprises an assembly of measurement and inflow control devices 61-63, each comprising a communication unit. The devices 61-63 are all fitted to respective branches of the wellbore completion 64. At the surface a device including a choke valve and communication unit is located, eg. as a part of the wellhead assembly. Data from the downhole sensors are transmitted to surface and is translated into corrective action when the well requires inflow control. The tasks of the surface station are to communicate with the wellbore devices. By appending a unique address to each device attached to the wellbore completion, a fully functional bus and bi-directional communication link is established.) and which is configured for detection/reception of a transmitted signal (Godager col 14 ln 63-67 and col 15 ln 1-10: FIG. 6 shows an example on an application in a multi-lateral well system. This configuration comprises an assembly of measurement and inflow control devices 61-63, each comprising a communication unit. The devices 61-63 are all fitted to respective branches of the wellbore completion 64. At the surface a device including a choke valve and communication unit is located, eg. as a part of the wellhead assembly. Data from the downhole sensors are transmitted to surface and is translated into corrective action when the well requires inflow control. The tasks of the surface station are to communicate with the wellbore devices. By appending a unique address to each device attached to the wellbore completion, a fully functional bus and bi-directional communication link is established.).
2. Claims 13-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis, and further in view of Huang et al. (US2005/0168349) hereafter Huang.
Regarding claim 13, Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising determining or composing an optimised signal for detection at a remote location (Godager fig 4:41, col 10 ln 50-64, col 14 ln 26-33: FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of a communication unit 40 for example for use in the embodiment in FIG. 3. The unit comprises a control loop 41 for generating pressure drops over a variable restriction. A position controller 42 controls the performance of the control loop by comparing the value of a variable, such as a measured process parameter, for example flow line pressure, with a set-point and takes corrective action based on this comparison. Typically the active transmitters will tune according to the process system time constant and change the characteristics of the start pulse enabling the receiver device to calibrate amplitude and phase to the actual signal transmission rate.), and transmitting the optimised signal using the flow control device (Godager col 10 ln 50-64: Hence, an internal interrogation protocol utilizes the feedback from the pressure sensor to adjust the choke position in order to enable an optimal pulse length, phase and amplitude in time domain that matches the process system. Throughout the lifetime of the system, typically the active transmitters will tune according to the process system time constant and change the characteristics of the start pulse enabling the receiver device to calibrate amplitude and phase to the actual signal transmission rate. The reason for this is that oil reservoirs deplete over time).
Godager in view of Shultz and Lewis does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: optionally wherein the composing or determining an optimised signal is in accordance with a simulation associated with the flowline.
Huang discloses the method comprising: optionally wherein the composing or determining an optimised signal is in accordance with a simulation associated with the flowline (fig 5A-5B; par[0072], [0075], [0076]: a tuning procedure can be run after the deployment of the tool down-hole and prior to the operation and data transmission. FIGS. 5A,B illustrate the steps of an example of such a tuning procedure, with FIG. 5A detailing the steps performed in the surface units and FIG. 5B those performed by the down-hole units. The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals. Thus once it identifies the right frequency, the surface system can inform the down-hole unit to change mode, rather than to continue the stepping through all remaining test frequencies.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Godager, Schultz, Lewis and Huang references since all pertain to the field of pressure systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the method of Godager with the optimization feature as disclosed by Huang to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing a reliable simulation generating the best optimal signal characteristics that can be found with any appropriate condition changed in flowline.
Regarding claim 14, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis and Huang discloses the method according to claim 13, comprising composing or determining an optimised signal by transmitting one or more test signals (Huang fig 5A-5B, par[0074], [0076]: The test procedure for best telemetry frequency, the testing procedure would include a plurality of test signals and a positive determination of an optimal signal (e.g. confirmation). Further fine-tuning may be done by transmitting frequencies in smaller steps around the frequency selected in the first pass, and repeating the process. During such a process, the down-hole pressure can also be recorded through an acoustic down-hole receiver. The frequency that gives maximum difference in down-hole wave phase (and minimum difference in amplitude) between digit state "1" and "0" is the right frequency. This frequency can be sent to the surface in a "confirmation" mode following the initial tunings steps, in which the frequency value, or an index number assigned to such frequency value, is encoded on to the reflected waves and sent to the surface. The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals.).
Regarding claim 15, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis and Huang discloses the method according to claim 13, comprising:
transmitting a plurality of pressure based test signals (Huang fig 5A; par[0074]: Further fine-tuning may be done by transmitting frequencies in smaller steps around the frequency selected in the first pass, and repeating the process.);
receiving at least one test signal at a receiver (Huang fig 5A; par[0074]: During such a process, the down-hole pressure can also be recorded through an acoustic down-hole receiver. The frequency that gives maximum difference in down-hole wave phase (and minimum difference in amplitude) between digit state "1" and "0" is the right frequency. This frequency can be sent to the surface in a "confirmation" mode following the initial tunings steps, in which the frequency value, or an index number assigned to such frequency value, is encoded on to the reflected waves and sent to the surface.);
determining or selecting an optimal signal from the at least one received test signal (Huang fig 5A-5B; par[0075], [0076]: The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals. The tuning process can be done more efficiently if a down-link is implemented. Thus once it identifies the right frequency, the surface system can inform the down-hole unit to change mode, rather than to continue the stepping through all remaining test frequencies.); and
transmitting a determined or selected optimal pressure based signal through the fluid within the flowline (Huang par[0074], par[0075], [0076]: This frequency can be sent to the surface in a "confirmation" mode following the initial tunings steps, in which the frequency value, or an index number assigned to such frequency value, is encoded on to the reflected waves and sent to the surface. par[0075], [0076]: The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals. The tuning process can be done more efficiently if a down-link is implemented. Thus once it identifies the right frequency, the surface system can inform the down-hole unit to change mode, rather than to continue the stepping through all remaining test frequencies.).
Regarding claim 16, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis and Huang discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising receiving a plurality of test signals at the receiver and determining or selecting an optimal signal from the plurality of received test signals (Huang fig 5A-5B, par[0074], [0076]: The test procedure for best telemetry frequency, the testing procedure would include a plurality of test signals and a positive determination of an optimal signal (e.g. confirmation). Further fine-tuning may be done by transmitting frequencies in smaller steps around the frequency selected in the first pass, and repeating the process. During such a process, the down-hole pressure can also be recorded through an acoustic down-hole receiver. The frequency that gives maximum difference in down-hole wave phase (and minimum difference in amplitude) between digit state "1" and "0" is the right frequency. This frequency can be sent to the surface in a "confirmation" mode following the initial tunings steps, in which the frequency value, or an index number assigned to such frequency value, is encoded on to the reflected waves and sent to the surface. The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals.).
Regarding claim 17, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis and Huang discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein two or more test signals are composed with at least one different signal parameter (Huang fig 5A-5B; par[0073], [0074], [0075]: a borehole telemetry system comprises a test or tuning procedure to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel, wherein the test procedure is a simulation which composed of different frequencies and selected the right frequency (e.g. signal)).
Regarding claim 18, Godager in view of Shultz, Lewis and Huang discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising communicating a positive determination of an optimal signal from the receiver to the flow control device (Huang fig 5A-5B, par[0074], [0076]: The test procedure for best telemetry frequency, the testing procedure would include a plurality of test signals and a positive determination of an optimal signal (e.g. confirmation). Further fine-tuning may be done by transmitting frequencies in smaller steps around the frequency selected in the first pass, and repeating the process. During such a process, the down-hole pressure can also be recorded through an acoustic down-hole receiver. The frequency that gives maximum difference in down-hole wave phase (and minimum difference in amplitude) between digit state "1" and "0" is the right frequency. This frequency can be sent to the surface in a "confirmation" mode following the initial tunings steps, in which the frequency value, or an index number assigned to such frequency value, is encoded on to the reflected waves and sent to the surface. The test and tuning procedure may also help to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel and to develop channel equalization algorithm that could be used to filter in the received signals.), optionally comprising communicating a positive determination by wireless transmission of a signal, such as a pressure based signal, for example the determined optimal signal, and/or communicating a positive determination by performance or initiation of a recognisable event within the flowline, such as a shut-in event (Huang par[0072], [0074], [0075], [0076]: a borehole telemetry system comprises a test or tuning procedure to identify characteristics of the telemetry channel, the tuning for a right frequency in an event of pressure condition is changed in down-hole, that the pressure condition can be changed in any appropriate event including shut-in event.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11722228B2 hereafter Co-1.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and the patent application teach the same concept of invention transmitting a pressure based signal through a fluid within the flowline using a flow control device; recognising a condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline is significantly reduced or is stopped; and controlling the operational modus of the flow control device in accordance with the recognised condition change so as to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped.
Instant Application # 18340487
Patent # Co-1
1. A method for use in controlling pressure based signal transmission within a fluid in a flowline in a well associated with the production of hydrocarbons, comprising: transmitting a pressure based signal through a fluid within the flowline using a flow control device; recognising a condition change associated with the flowline in which flow within the flowline is significantly reduced or is stopped; and controlling the operational modus of the flow control device in accordance with the recognised condition change so as to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the pressure based signal comprises at least one pressure variation imparted within the fluid by the flow control device.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the pressure based signal comprises at least one pressure variation imparted within the production fluid by the flow control device.
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the pressure based signal comprises or defines at least one signal parameter including at least one of amplitude, a pulse width and a pulse separation.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the pressure based signal comprises or defines at least one signal parameter including at least one of amplitude, a pulse width and a pulse separation.
4. The method according to claim 1, comprising recognising a condition change associated with the flowline and then controlling the flow control device.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
5. The method according to claim 4, comprising controlling the flow control device in accordance with the recognised condition change to optimise the pressure based signal, optionally wherein optimisation is achieved in terms of creating and/or maintaining an optimum signal which permits detection of the signal by a receiver.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the flow control device is controlled to optimise the pressure based signal.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein optimisation is achieved in terms of creating and/or maintaining an optimum pressure based signal which permits detection of the signal by the receiver.
6. The method according to claim 1, comprising recognising a flow rate variation and associating this with a flowline shut-in event, recognising a pressure variation and associating this with a flowline shut-in event, or recognising a pressure variation beyond a threshold value and associating this with a flowline shut-in event.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
7. The method according to claim 1, comprising reinitiating signal transmission in response to a recognised condition change.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
8. The method according to claim 1, comprising controlling the flow control device to cease signal transmission and collecting and storing data during the period of ceased transmission, optionally comprising controlling the flow control device to reinitiate signal transmission and composing one or more signals to transmit at least a portion of the data stored during the period of ceased transmission.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
9. The method according to claim 1, comprising controlling the flow control device by modifying operational parameters stored within the flow control device, optionally wherein the flow control device is operated in accordance with specific algorithms or protocols, wherein such algorithms or protocols are modified in accordance with a recognised condition change within the flowline.
8. The method according to claim 1, comprising: controlling the flow control device by modifying operational parameters stored within the flow control device.
9. The method according to claim 8, wherein the flow control device is operated in accordance with specific algorithms or protocols, wherein such algorithms or protocols are modified in accordance with a recognised condition change within the flowline.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the flow control device comprises a parameter matrix, and the method comprises modifying parameters within the matrix in accordance with a recognised condition change.
10. The method according to claim 8, wherein the flow control device comprises a parameter matrix, and the method further comprises: modifying parameters within the parameter matrix in accordance with the condition change.
11. The method according to claim 1, comprising monitoring a condition associated with the flowline via use of one or more sensors to provide for recognising a condition change, optionally wherein at least one sensor is provided exclusively for such monitoring or for both data collection to be transmitted and monitoring.
11. The method according to claim 1, wherein monitoring is provided by use of one or more sensors.
12. The method according to claim 11, wherein at least one sensor is provided exclusively for the monitoring.
13. The method according to claim 11, wherein at least one sensor is provided for both data collection to be transmitted and the monitoring.
12. The method according to claim 1, comprising recognising at least one of a pressure condition change, a temperature condition change, a flow rate condition change and a fluid composition condition change.
14. The method according to claim 1, wherein the recognising comprises: recognising at least one of a pressure condition change, a temperature condition change, a flow rate condition change and a fluid composition condition change.
13. The method according to claim 1, comprising determining or composing an optimised signal for detection at a remote location, and transmitting the optimised signal using the flow control device, optionally wherein the composing or determining an optimised signal is in accordance with a simulation associated with the flowline.
15. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining or composing an optimised signal for detection at a remote location; and transmitting said optimised signal using the flow control device.
16. The method according to claim 15, further comprising: composing or determining an optimised pressure based signal in accordance with a simulation associated with the flowline.
14. The method according to claim 13, comprising composing or determining an optimised signal by transmitting one or more test signals.
17. The method according to claim 15, further comprising: composing or determining an optimised pressure based signal by transmitting one or more test signals.
15. The method according to claim 13, comprising:
transmitting a plurality of pressure based test signals;
receiving at least one test signal at a receiver;
determining or selecting an optimal signal from the at least one received test signal; and
transmitting a determined or selected optimal pressure based signal through the fluid within the flowline.
18. The method according to claim 15, further comprising: transmitting a plurality of pressure based test signals; receiving at least one of the pressure based test signals at the receiver; determining or selecting an optimal signal from the received pressure based test signals; and transmitting a determined or selected optimal pressure based signal through the production fluid within the flowline.
16. The method according to claim 15, comprising receiving a plurality of test signals at the receiver and determining or selecting an optimal signal from the plurality of received test signals.
19. The method according to claim 18, wherein the receiving at least one pressure based test signal includes receiving a plurality of pressure based test signals at the receiver, and the determining or selecting determines or selects an optimal pressure based signal from the received pressure based test signals.
17. The method according to claim 15, wherein two or more test signals are composed with at least one different signal parameter.
20. The method according to claim 18, wherein the least one pressure based test signal includes two or more pressure based test signals composed with at least one different signal parameter.
18. The method according to claim 15, comprising communicating a positive determination of an optimal signal from the receiver to the flow control device, optionally comprising communicating a positive determination by wireless transmission of a signal, such as a pressure based signal, for example the determined optimal signal, and/or communicating a positive determination by performance or initiation of a recognisable event within the flowline, such as a shut-in event.
21. The method according to claim 18, further comprising: communicating a positive determination of an optimal pressure based signal from the receiver to the flow control device.
22. The method according to claim 21, wherein the communicating comprises: communicating a positive determination by wireless transmission of the determined optimal pressure based signal.
23. The method according to claim 21, wherein the communicating comprises: communicating a positive determination by performance or initiation of a recognisable event within the flowline, such as a shut-in event.
19. A communication apparatus for communication within a flowline in a well associated with the production of hydrocarbons, comprising:
a flow control device configured for transmitting a pressure based signal through a production fluid within a flowline;
a monitoring system for monitoring at least one condition associated with fluid flow within the flowline; and
a controller configured to control an operational modus of the flow control device in accordance with a condition change recognised by the monitoring system, so as to cease the transmitting of pressure based signals through the fluid in order to control system power usage of the flow control device to avoid wasting system power when the flow is recognised as being significantly reduced or stopped.
1. A method for autonomously controlling communication from a downhole communication system located downhole within a production well, the downhole communication system including a monitoring system, a controller and a flow control device, wherein the method comprises: (i) obtaining data relating to at least one downhole parameter using the monitoring system; (ii) using the controller to operate the flow control device to impart a pressure based signal on production fluid flowing along a flowline within the production well such that the pressure based signal is transmitted through the flowing production fluid towards a receiver, the pressure based signal being representative of the data; (iii) regularly repeating steps (i) and (ii) to transmit multiple pressure based signals through the flowing production fluid; (iv) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flowline shut-in event by (a) measuring a wellbore pressure associated with the production well during normal production, (b) monitoring the wellbore pressure to determine if an increase in the wellbore pressure relative to the wellbore pressure during the normal production exceeds a threshold, (c) measuring a length of time the increase in the wellbore pressure exceeds the threshold, and (d) recognizing the flowline shut-in event in response to the length of time the increase in wellborn pressure exceeds the threshold being greater than a set characteristic time factor; (v) in response to recognising the flowline shut-in event, using the controller to control the flow control device to cease signal transmission through the production fluid and to measure the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event and store at least a maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event; (vi) using the monitoring system and the controller to monitor for a condition change within the production well indicative of a flow initiating event; and (vii) in response to recognising the flow initiating event repeating at least steps (i) and (ii) and transmitting data indicating at least the maximum value of the wellbore pressure during the flowline shut-in event via the pressure based signal.
20. The apparatus according to claim 19, comprising a receiver which is positioned remotely from the flow control device and which is configured for detection/reception of a transmitted signal.
15. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining or composing an optimised signal for detection at a remote location; and transmitting said optimised signal using the flow control device.
Conclusion
US2001/0040033A1 to Schnatzmeyer discloses a self-regulating lift fluid injection tool (100) adapted for placement within production tubing (30) is disclosed. The tool (100) has a control valve (126) that controls the rate of injection of a lift fluid (102) into the formation fluids(104) being produced through the production tubing (30). A sensor (140) monitors the flow rate of the formation fluids (104) through the production tubing (30). The sensor (140) generates a signal indicative the flow rate of the formation fluids (104) which is sent to an electronics package (142). The electronics package (142) generates a control signal in response to the signal received from the sensor (140) that is received by an actuator (176). The actuator (176) adjusts the position of the control valve (126) to regulate the flow rate of the lift fluid (102) therethrough in response to the control signal, thereby optimizing the flow rate of the formation fluids (104).
US6714138B1 to Turner discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting information to the surface from down hole in a well in which a pulser is incorporated into the bottom hole assembly of a drill string that generates pressure pulses encoded to contain information concerning the drilling operation. The pressure pulses travel to the surface where they are decoded so as to decipher the information. The pulser includes a stator forming passages through which drilling fluid flows on its way to the drill bit. The rotor has blades that obstruct the flow of drilling fluid through the passages when the rotor is rotated into a first orientation and that relieve the obstruction when rotated into a second orientation, so that oscillation of the rotor generates the encoded pressure pulses.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688