DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0086554 to Suzuki in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0057437 A1 to Kato et al.
As to claim 1, Suzuki discloses a light emission control device comprising at least one processor that performs dimming control on a light emitting device of a light emitter by interrupt processing (Fig. 2-3B, paragraphs 0041 and 0052-0059, where arithmetic circuit sections (100, 200) are processors that perform dimming control on light source (310), which is a light emitter (LED)).
Suzuki is deficient in disclosing wherein the processor activates a monitoring function of a heavy load state of the light emitter while performing the dimming control.
However, Kato discloses wherein the processor activates a monitoring function of a heavy load state of the light emitter while performing the dimming control (Fig. 5, 10 and 11, paragraphs 0108-0114 and 0177-0208, where a heavy load state monitoring operation is performed in step (S5) and illumination of the LCD (121d) is controlled).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the light emission control device as taught by Suzuki by including a processor activating a monitoring function of a heavy load state as taught by Kato. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumption (Kato, paragraph 0198).
As to claim 2, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein the processor ends the dimming control in the interrupt processing (Fig. 4, paragraph 0062, where dimming control is interrupted in step (S118)).
As to claim 3, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein the processor
starts the monitoring function of the heavy load state of the light emission control device to start the dimming control (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0054-0055, where dimming control is started in steps (S102, S104, S106)),
sets, in the interrupt processing at the end of the dimming control, an end request to end the monitoring function (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0056-0060, where in steps (S108, S110, S112, S114) the ending of dimming control is performed), and
based on the end request, ends the monitoring function in normal action control other than the interrupt processing (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0060-0062, where monitoring is ended in step (S116) until interruption is performed in step (S118)).
As to claim 4, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein the processor:
obtains a reception signal corresponding to a predetermined input operation on an input interface (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraph 0054, where in step (S102) the device is turned on), and
performs the dimming control for a set time in response to the predetermined input operation on the input interface (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0055-0060, where dimming control is performed in steps (S104, S106, S108, S110, S112, S114)).
As to claim 5, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein the processor:
determines, in normal action control other than the interrupt processing, whether a need to stop the dimming control before the set time elapses exists, and
stops the dimming control in response to the existence of the need (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0055-0060, where in steps (S104, S108, S114) it is determined whether dimming control needs to stop).
As to claim 6, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein the light emitting device is a light emitting diode (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0041, where light source (310) is a plurality of LEDs).
As to claim 7, Suzuki discloses an electronic timepiece comprising:
the light emission control device according to claim 1 (Fig. 2-3B, paragraphs 0040-0041, where light source section (300) performs control of light source (310)); and
the light emitting device on which the processor performs the dimming control (Fig. 2-3B, paragraphs 0052-0059, where arithmetic circuit sections (100, 200) are processors that perform dimming control on light source (310)).
As to claim 8, Suzuki and Kato disclose limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claims 9-13, Suzuki discloses limitations similar to claims 2-6, respectively.
As to claim 14, Suzuki and Kato disclose limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Suzuki discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform dimming control (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0032 and 0052-0059, where memory section (140) is a storage medium). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 15, Suzuki is deficient in disclosing the light emission control device, wherein the monitoring function of the heavy load state comprises monitoring a decrease in an input voltage of power that is supplied from a battery of the light emitter to the processor.
However, Kato discloses the light emission control device, wherein the monitoring function of the heavy load state comprises monitoring a decrease in an input voltage of power that is supplied from a battery of the light emitter to the processor (Fig. 10 and 11, paragraphs 0177-0208, where the control unit (13e) monitors the decrease in an input voltage from secondary battery (2) via voltage step-down circuit (12)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 16, Suzuki discloses the light emission control device, wherein, as the dimming control, the processor increases or decreases a luminous intensity of the light emitter multiple times such that a change in the luminous intensity of the light emitter becomes uniform (Fig. 4, paragraphs 0057-0060, where the intensity is uniform in steps (S108, S114)).
As to claims 17 and 19, Suzuki is deficient in disclosing limitations similar to claim 15. However, Kato discloses similar limitations. In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claims 18 and 20, Suzuki discloses limitations similar to claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627