DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a rotating portion, a single power source, a switching mechanism in claim 1 and a first engaging portion, a second engaging portion in Claim 3, a moving mechanism in Claim 4 and a second rotating portion in Claim 5.
A rotating portion is interpreted as at least one of the second housing 22, the first rotating shaft 24, the first support cylinder 22a, the second support cylinder 22b according to [0058].
A single power source is interpreted as a motor 10 according [0048].
A switching mechanism is interpreted as at least one of gears and clutches according [0008].
A first engaging portion is interpreted as a protruding portion according to [0069].
A second engaging portion is interpreted as a protruding portion according to [0070].
A moving mechanism is interpreted as at least one of the air cylinder, the rod, the support shaft and the fork according to [0073].
A second rotating portion is interpreted as the second rotating shaft according to [0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (KR101457405) of which the attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches a machine tool comprising:
a rotating portion (Fig. 2, 200) that is configured to rotate around a first axis (Fig.1, vertical central axis of first shaft 110) ([0041]: the middle body (300) is configured to be installed so as to be angle-adjustable between the fixed body (100) and the spindle body (200));
a first arm (Fig. 1, 300) that extends from the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) ([0042]: the middle body (300) is fixedly connected to the lower portion of the first movable body (200));
a second arm (Fig. 1, 500) that is connected to the first arm (Fig. 1, 300) and supports an end effector (Fig. 1, 510);
a single power source ([0001]: spindle motor) that is configured to supply power to the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) ([0071]) and the second arm (Fig. 1, 500) ([0063]); and
a switching mechanism (Fig. 2, 150, 250, 160, 260; Fig. 1, 110, 310, 512) that is configured to switch a power supply destination from the power source ([0001]: spindle motor) from one of the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) ([0071]) or the second arm (Fig. 1, 500) ([0063]) to the other,
wherein the second arm (Fig. 1, 500) is configured to rotate around a second axis (Fig. 1, a central axis of the second shaft (310)) that intersects the first axis (Fig.1, a vertical central axis of first shaft 110).
Regarding Claim 2, Lim teaches the machine tool according to claim 1 further comprising:
a supporting portion (Fig. 1, 100) that supports the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200),
wherein the switching mechanism (Fig. 2, 111, 150, 250, 160, 260; Fig. 1, 110, 310, 512) includes:
a transmission mechanism (Fig. 1, 110, 310, 512) that is provided on the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) and the first arm (Fig. 1, 300) for transmitting power to the second arm (Fig. 1, 500);
a driving gear (Fig. 2, 111 & 150) that is configured to be driven by the power of the power source ([0063]) and connected to the transmission mechanism (Fig. 1, 110); and
a clutch (Fig. 2, 250 & 260) that is provided on the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) and configured to fix the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) to the supporting portion (Fig. 1, 100) (Fig. 1 shows the first moving part (200) fixed to the fixed body (100) via a pair of first couplings (160, 260) when the clutches (150) and (250) are disengaged.) or to connect the rotating portion (Fig. 1, 200) to the driving gear (Fig. 2, 111 & 150) ([0071]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lim teaches the machine tool according to claim 1,
wherein the switching mechanism (Fig. 2, 150, 250, 160, 260; Fig. 1, 310 & 512) includes a transmission gear unit (Fig. 1, 110, 310, 510) with four bevel gears (Fig. 1, 111, 311, 312, 512).
Claim(s) 1 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goulot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4657453).
Regarding Claim 1, Goulot teaches a machine tool comprising:
a rotating portion (Fig. 1, a portion of main body (2) near milling head (1)) that is configured to rotate around a first axis (Fig. 1, XX1);
a first arm (Fig. 1, a portion of main body (2) near spindle holder unit (3)) that extends from the rotating portion;
a second arm (Fig. 1, 3) that is connected to the first arm (Fig. 1, a portion of main body (2) near spindle holder unit (3)) and supports an end effector (Fig. 1, 4);
a single power source (Col. 2, line 58: motorized) that is configured to supply power to the rotating portion (Fig. 1, a portion of main body (2) near milling head (1)) and the second arm (Fig. 1, 3) (Col. 2, lines 32-40) (Col. 3, lines 28-31: rotation of the spindle 4 would inherently require a power source); and
a switching mechanism (Fig. 2, 15-20, 24, 25) that is configured to switch a power supply destination from the power source from one of the rotating portion (Fig. 1, a portion of main body (2) near milling head (1)) or the second arm (Fig. 1, 3) to the other (Col. 2, lines 43-47) (Col. 3, lines 10-16),
wherein the second arm (Fig. 1, 3) is configured to rotate around a second axis (Fig. 1, YY1) that intersects the first axis (Fig. 1, XX1) (Col. 2, lines 25-31: allowing the rotation of the unit 3 about axis YY1).
Regarding Claim 7, Goulot teaches he machine tool according to claim 1,
wherein an angle between the first axis (Fig. 1, XX1) and the second axis (Fig. 1, YY1) is greater than 45 degrees and equal to 90 degrees. (Col. 1, lines 65-66: perpendicular)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR101457405) of which the attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 5, Lim teaches the machine tool according to claim 2,
wherein the transmission mechanism (Fig. 1, 110, 310, 512) includes:
a second rotating portion (Fig. 1, 400) that is connected to the second arm (Fig. 1, 500) ([0056]) and configured to rotate around the second axis (Fig. 1, a central axis of the second shaft (310));
at least one intermediate shaft (Fig. 1, 310) that is provided between the second rotating portion (Fig. 1, 400) and the driving gear (Fig. 2, 111 & 150);
a first gear mechanism (Fig. 1, 311) that is provided between the intermediate shaft (Fig. 1, 310) and the driving gear (Fig. 2, 111 & 150); and
a second gear mechanism (Fig. 1, 312; Fig. 12, 350) that is provided at a position between the second rotating portion (Fig. 1, 400) and the intermediate shaft (Fig. 1, 310).
Although Lim does not explicitly teach a second gear mechanism has a higher reduction ratio than the first gear mechanism, examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to consider a reduction ratio in the design of a gear. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a reduction ratio of the second gear mechanism that could be higher or lower than the first gear mechanism depending on the desired rotational speed and force of the second rotating portion.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR101457405) of which the attached English translation is cited in view of Suyama (JP2013039633) of which attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 6, Lim does not explicitly teach a cover that covers the rotating portion, the first arm, and the second arm, wherein the power source is arranged at a position outside the cover.
Suyama teaches a cover (Fig. 1, 105) that covers the first arm (Fig. 1, 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cover that encloses the rotating portion, the first arm, and the second arm of Lim as taught by Suyama in order to contain cutting chips within the cover as suggested in Suyama page 2, lines 30-32.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place of the power source inside or outside of the cover depending on various design considerations (e.g. cooling of the power source, overall size of the cover, accessibility of the power source) as the location of the power source does not have a direction impact on functions of the machine tool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 2/12/2026