DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 05/07/2026.
Claims 1-19 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 3, 11-15 have been amended.
New claims 16-19 has been added and no claim has been canceled.
In view of the applicant’s argument and Translation of Foreign Priority Documents, objection to the priority date has been withdrawn.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filled on 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument--1:
Applicant argues in substance
“Ying discloses a framework for resource authorization in V2X services, focusing primarily on the policy control domain. It manages parameters to authorize and allocate PC5 (sidelink) resources within an existing group. In contrast, the present invention utilizes the AMF to perform physical-layer coordination that spans across independent operators. The AMF in the present invention performs a logical and physical reattachment of remote terminals from disparate networks to a unified serving RAN and core. This establishes a physical-layer antenna array extension, whereas Ying's grouping is merely an administrative or logical association for sidelink resource sharing, devoid of any teaching on cooperative PHY-layer modulation.”
“Jin focuses on the deployment of inference models for Distributed Deep Neural Networks (DDNN). Its objective is to manage distributed computing traffic by partitioning AI model layers across end devices, edge nodes, and cloud servers. While Jin orchestrates the distribution of model layers, its grouping logic is a computational task-offloading strategy. Conversely, the present invention is a cooperative transmission strategy where the AMF acts as a master controller to synchronize disparate terminals into a single, synchronized physical-layer antenna system. Jin manages computational associations for data processing, whereas the present invention bridges cross-operator boundaries to enable physical-layer cooperative coding (STBC), a domain entirely outside of Jin's scope.”.
“The combination of Ying and Jin fails to lead to the present claimed invention because they address distinct, non-overlapping domains of the network control plane. Ying is strictly limited to V2X resource authorization, and Jin is confined to optimizing AI inference deployment. Neither document discloses nor suggests the specific mechanism of utilizing an AMF to perform cross-operator logical and physical reattachment for establishing physical-layer cooperation (e.g., STBC column.
allocation). The present invention requires unique inter-core synchronization and RAN- level physical reattachment protocols that are fundamentally outside the scope of both resource authorization and computational task distribution.
In view of the foregoing, Applicants respectfully submit that the present claimed invention is fundamentally directed to physical-layer (PHY) cooperative transmission. Specifically, it enables an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) to generate a communication group for the purpose of cooperative transmission and to identify and instruct specific modulation methods for each individual terminal based on a code matrix.”
More specifically, page 8 of the Office Action contends that Ying teaches:
"request generation of the communication group (see REMARKs.).
Examiner’s Response--1:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. “Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)” (MPEP p 2100-8, c 2, I 45-48; p 2100-9, c 1, l 1-4). The Examiner has full latitude to interpret each claim in the broadest reasonable sense. The Examiner will reference prior art using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning.
The applicant amendment previously rejected claim limitation as “trigger generation of the communication group”. Said amended limitation is addressed by newly found prior art , CHOI, as shown below. Thus argument is moot.
Applicant’s Argument--2:
Applicant argues in substance that Ying teaches:
“control the communication unit to receive, from a distributed artificial intelligence entity (==PCF entry), information about terminals that are to perform cooperative transmission among the plurality of terminals included in the communication group.” ( see remarks).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation requires AMF “ receive, from a distributed artificial intelligence entity, information about terminals that are to perform cooperative transmission among the plurality of terminals included in the communication group”.
Per Fig. 3, Fig. 5 Paragraphs 0317, 0355-0356 of YING ( which is cited by the examiner, along with other supporting paragraphs as shown here), Group control device in Fig. 3 communicate with group member devices 1, 2, 3.
PCF entry (==a distributed artificial intelligence entity in claim ) sends transmits data or a message to access network device or group control device (fig. 3, fig. 5). Aforesaid data or message include all the group members information : ([0303]). “PCF entity corresponding to the group member device receives the indication information sent by the group member device, then obtains the V2X communication parameter of the group member device from the UDR, and sends the V2X communication parameter to the PCF entity corresponding to the group control device.” access network device (==AMF) as shown in fig. 5: [0355]).
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2026 IDS Considered have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, 15, 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11 recite amendment to the previous claim, i.e., inter alia, the AMF comprising “triggering generation of the communication group” .
However, there is no support in the specification and drawings for this feature. Without identifying “triggering” the properties claimed specifically “triggering generation of the communication group” is vague and uncertain to cause one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably be able to assume that applicant had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP 2163.01.
Applicant specification paragraphs 0010, 0020, 0142, 0217 has AMF “requesting generation of the communication group”. There is different between “requesting” and “triggering”. According to Google “Requesting” means “ is the present participle of the verb request, which means to ask for something or to ask someone to do something in a polite or formal way. As an action, it is the process of stating a desire or need for an item, action, or piece of information.”
Triggering means “Triggering means to start or set off an action, process, or strong reaction. In psychology, it describes a stimulus that brings back intense, involuntary symptoms or memories of past trauma. In general use, it means causing an event or a heavy emotional response to happen”
Thus, Applicant does not appear to be in possession of the claimed subject matter.
As such, the examiner has taken broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the above specification, to reject the independent claims with respect to a Triggering .
Applicant is welcome to point out where in the specification the Examiner can find written description for the above-mentioned limitations if Applicant believes otherwise
All Dependent claims are rejected accordingly as they don’t’ cure the above deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING et al. (US 20220078795 A1; hereinafter as “YING”) in view of JIN et al. (US 20230412513 A1; hereinafter as “JIN”) and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20230319780 A1; hereinafter as “Choi”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to YING unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 11, YING teaches, an access and mobility management function (AMF) for controlling communication of a plurality of terminals belonging to a communication group (see fig. 7 , “ network architecture may include but is not limited to including a radio access network (RAN) device, an AMF entity, a user plane function (UPF) entity, a PCF entity, user equipment (UE)” “ AMF entity is responsible for functions such as authentication of a terminal device, mobility management of the terminal device, network slice selection, and selection of a session management function (SMF) entity.”: :[0124]-[0125]); [0132]-[0133]), the AMF comprising:
a communication circuitry (transceiver in Fig. 15: [476]); and
at least one processor coupled to the communication circuitry (fig. 15: processing until : [0476]), wherein the at least one processor (fig. 15: processing until : [0476]) is configured to:
control the communication circuitry to receive, from information about terminals that are to perform cooperative transmission among the plurality of terminals included in the communication group (PCF entry invoke “a Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service” (==information about the terminal that information about terminals that are to perform cooperative transmission) to group of member devices using group control device via AMF : [0317]: “… PCF entity sends trigger the policy update of the group control device, to send the V2X communication parameter of the group member device to an access network device corresponding to the group control device. ”: [0353-0354]: “The PCF entity sends the V2X communication parameter to the access network device” about group devices : ”: [0355]-[0356]: NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below),
identify, based on the information about the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission and modulation methods to be requested for the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, for the cooperative transmission ( “the access network device (==AMF above) stores the V2X communication parameter of the group member device, the access network device notifies the PCF entity or the group control device, so that the PCF entity or the group control device determines that the access network device corresponding to the group control device has stored the V2X communication parameter of the group member device.”: [0320]), and
request the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, to perform data modulation according to the modulation methods (“group control device (==via AMF or access network device ) sends the group member identification number to the group member device” ;[0320]).
While YING teaches, PCF entry sends group members information to Access Network Device or AMF ;
YING does not expressively disclose:
triggering generation of the communication group;
PCF entry is a distributed artificial intelligence entity.
JIN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
PCF entry is a distributed artificial intelligence entity
(“the CN node acquires a distributed artificial intelligence AI model for a communication device, wherein the distributed AI model includes a cloud model portion and a cloud model weight, an edge model portion and an edge model weight, and a local model portion and a local model weight.”: [0017]; considering 5G system, PCF will setup for the distributed artificial intelligence traffic : [0063]; “UE transmits a request for a distributed AI model through the AMF to the SMF”: [0102]-[0105], [0146], [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING to include the above recited limitations as taught by JIN. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce impact on legacy operations/nodes/functions.: (JIN; [0018]).
YING in view JIN does not expressively disclose:
triggering generation of the communication group.
Choi , in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
triggering generation of the communication group (see fig. 6: AMF 611 element 627: AMF trigger/determin MF 611 determines that the UE-2 603 and the UE-3 605 belong to the same group as the UE-1 601 and triggers a CN-initiated paging to the UE-2 603 and the UE-3 605 (see block 627).: [0185]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN to include the above recited limitations as taught by Choi . The suggestion/motivation would be establish a connection to send collected data in response to receiving the RRC paging message. (Choi; [0007]).
Regarding claim 1, YING teaches, a method, performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF), of controlling communication of a plurality of terminals belonging to a communication group in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: requesting generation of the communication group;
Triggering , from a distributed artificial intelligence entity, information about terminals that are to perform cooperative transmission among the plurality of terminals included in the communication group; identifying, based on the information about the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission and modulation methods to be requested for the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, for the cooperative transmission; and requesting the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission, to perform data modulation according to the modulation methods (Regarding claim 1, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11).
With respect to dependence claim:
Regarding claim 2, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YING teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising:
invoking the distributed artificial intelligence entity;
requesting, from the distributed artificial intelligence entity, information about a code matrix to be used for the cooperative transmission (“”access network device sending an indication information (==code matrix ) of the group control device to the PCF entity, where the indication information is used to indicate that a connection has been established between the group member device and the group control device. In an embodiment, the access network device may further send the indication information of the group control device to the PCF entity, to notify the PCF entity that the connection has been established between the group member device and the group control device.”:[0018]); and
receiving, from the distributed artificial intelligence entity, the information about the code matrix indicating a number of terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission (number of terminal in a group for a service : [0143]-[0146]).
Regarding claim 5, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YING teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the requesting of the generation of the communication group comprises:
obtaining a policy control function (PCF) identification (ID) of a PCF for a terminal connected to another network (“PCF entity may associate the group member device with the group control device (==PCF ID), so that the PCF entity may store a connection relationship between the group member device and the group control device.”: [0039]; Group control device can be connected to different network : [0043]);
transmitting, to the terminal, participation request information for the communication group by using the PCF ID (see fig. 11 element 1112, element 1113: AMF/Access network device sends PC5 resource to individual group device to participate in that group : [0335]-[0340]); and
generating the communication group with the terminal, based on a response to the participation request information (“the access network device may allocate the PC5 resource to the group member device based on the stored V2X communication parameter of the group member device, so that the group member device can perform communication on the PC5 resource allocated by the access network device.”: [0341]).
Regarding claim 12, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 11 as set forth above. Further, YING teaches, The AMF of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
invoke the distributed artificial intelligence entity, and control the communication unit to request, from the distributed artificial intelligence entity, information about a code matrix to be used for the cooperative transmission, and
receive, from the distributed artificial intelligence entity, the information about the code matrix indicating a number of terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission (Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2).
Regarding claim 13, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 11 as set forth above. Further, YING teaches, The AMF of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a policy control function (PCF) identification (ID) of a PCF for a terminal connected to another network,
control the communication unit to transmit, to the terminal, participation request information for the communication group by using the PCF ID, and
generate the communication group with the terminal, based on a response to the participation request information (Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5).
Claims 4, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING in view of JIN, Choi and further in view of Ihm et al. (US 20100027487 A1; hereinafter as “Ihm”).
Regarding claim 4, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, YING in view of JIN does not teach, The method of claim 2,
wherein the information about the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission comprises information about terminals selected based on the code matrix, and
wherein the selected terminals are terminals included in a plurality of overlapping networks to perform the cooperative transmission.
YING does not expressively disclose:
wherein the information about the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission comprises information about terminals selected based on the code matrix, and
wherein the selected terminals are terminals included in a plurality of overlapping networks to perform the cooperative transmission.
Ihm, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the information about the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission comprises information about terminals selected based on the code matrix (“ cooperatively transmitting data includes listening to data transmitted from a main user equipment to the base station, the main user equipment belonging to a cluster, the cluster includes a plurality of user equipments each having a single antenna”: [0011]; “A cluster connection identifier (cluster CID) (==code matrix in claim ) can be allocated to a single cluster. A CID is a value through which connection of the base station and a user equipment in a medium access control (MAC) layer is confirmed. The base station and the user equipment are discriminated from each other using the CID. A cluster CID is allocated to each cluster such that the base station can recognize user equipments that transmit the same cluster CID as user equipments belonging to the same cluster.”: [0095]) , and
wherein the selected terminals are terminals included in a plurality of overlapping networks to perform the cooperative transmission “A cluster connection identifier (cluster CID) (==code matrix in claim ) can be allocated to a single cluster. A CID is a value through which connection of the base station and a user equipment in a medium access control (MAC) layer is confirmed. The base station and the user equipment are discriminated from each other using the CID. A cluster CID is allocated to each cluster such that the base station can recognize user equipments that transmit the same cluster CID as user equipments belonging to the same cluster.”: [0095]; “FIG. 8 is a flowchart showing a method for transmitting data according to an embodiment of the present invention. This is based on HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) scheme. Although it shows that a cluster includes first, second and third user equipments UE1, UE2 and UE3, there is no limit for the number of user equipments belonging to the cluster.”: [0096]; NOTE: cluster terminals /UE2 can be different overlapping networks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN, Choi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ihm. The suggestion/motivation would be to increase size of a user equipments in a MIMO system that can be easily constructed using the existing user equipment having at least one antenna. (Ihm; [0013]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING in view of JIN, Choi and further in view of XIONG et al. (US 20220225058 A1; hereinafter as “XIONG”).
Regarding claim 6, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, YING in view of JIN, Choi does not teach,
wherein the transmitting, to the terminal, of participation request information for the communication group by using the PCF ID comprises:
instantiating, as a Home-PCF, the PCF for the terminal connected to the other network, by using the PCF ID ,
instantiating, as a Visited-PCF, a PCF included in a network including the AMF, and
transmitting, to the Visited-PCF, participation request information for the communication group, and
wherein the participation request information for the communication group is transmitted from the Visited-PCF to the Home-PCF, and then transmitted to the terminal.
XIONG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the transmitting, to the terminal, of participation request information for the communication group by using the PCF ID comprises:
instantiating, as a Home-PCF, the PCF for the terminal connected to the other network, by using the PCF ID ,
instantiating, as a Visited-PCF, a PCF included in a network including the AMF, and
transmitting, to the Visited-PCF, participation request information for the communication group ( “ If the UE is in a roaming state, a Home-PCF (H-PCF) interacts with the AMF through a Visited-PCF (V-PCF), which, as shown in FIG. 11, includes the following steps: S1101, the AMF decides to establish a UE policy association; S1102, the AMF sends a UE policy control creation request to the V-PCF; S1103, the V-PCF sends the UE policy control creation request to the H-PCF; S1104, the H-PCF sends a UE policy control creation response to the V-PCF; S1105, the V-PCF sends the UE policy control creation response to the AMF;”: [0102]) , and
wherein the participation request information for the communication group is transmitted from the Visited-PCF to the Home-PCF, and then transmitted to the terminal (“ If the UE is in a roaming state, a Home-PCF (H-PCF) interacts with the AMF through a Visited-PCF (V-PCF), which, as shown in FIG. 11, includes the following steps: S1101, the AMF decides to establish a UE policy association; S1102, the AMF sends a UE policy control creation request to the V-PCF; S1103, the V-PCF sends the UE policy control creation request to the H-PCF; S1104, the H-PCF sends a UE policy control creation response to the V-PCF; S1105, the V-PCF sends the UE policy control creation response to the AMF;” “ V-PCF sends the UE policy control creation response to the AMF; S1106, the H-PCF sends a UE policy control update notification request to the V-PCF; S1107, the V-PCF sends a UE policy control update notification response to the H-PCF; S1108, the AMF and the V-PCF perform a UE configuration update process; S1109, the V-PCF sends a UE policy control update request to the H-PCF; S1110, the H-PCF sends a UE policy control update response to the V-PCF.”: : [0102], see fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN, Choi to include the above recited limitations as taught by XIONG. The suggestion/motivation would be to reducing the complexity of network deployment. (XIONG; [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7-8, 10, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING in view of JIN, Choi and further in view of DAO et al. (US 20190261260A1; hereinafter as “DAO”).
Regarding claim 7, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YING in view of JIN does not teach, wherein the requesting of the generation of the communication group comprises:
transmitting a logical attachment request to at least one terminal, which is connected to another network and has accepted a request to participate in the communication group; and
requesting handover from the at least one terminal, based on a response to the logical attachment request.
DAO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the requesting of the generation of the communication group comprises:
transmitting a logical attachment request to at least one terminal, which is connected to another network and has accepted a request to participate in the communication group; and
requesting handover from the at least one terminal, based on a response to the logical attachment request (AMF request handover request to SMF to relocate from 3gpp access network and non-3gpp access network : [0123]-[0124]; handover from one network to another network in V2X network : [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN, Choi to include the above recited limitations as taught by DAO. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve managing network resource usage, for example storage, computing and signalling. (DAO; [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YING in view of JIN does not teach, wherein a base station included in a network including the AMF is physically attached to at least one terminal, which is connected to another network and has accepted a request to participate in the communication group.
DAO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein a base station included in a network including the AMF is physically attached to at least one terminal, which is connected to another network and has accepted a request to participate in the communication group (base station with AMF function is connected to UE : [0055]; [0063], [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN, Choi to include the above recited limitations as taught by DAO. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve managing network resource usage, for example storage, computing and signalling. (DAO; [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, YING in view of JIN, Choi teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YING in view of JIN, Choi does not teach,, further comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, a scheduling request for the cooperative transmission for the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission,
wherein the transmitting of the scheduling request to the base station comprises transmitting the scheduling request to a mobility management entity (MME), and
wherein the scheduling request is transmitted from the MME to a proximity services function (PSF), and then transmitted from the PSF to the base station.
DAO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
further comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, a scheduling request for the cooperative transmission for the terminals that are to perform the cooperative transmission (scheduling time and date :[0167]),
wherein the transmitting of the scheduling request to the base station comprises transmitting the scheduling request to a mobility management entity (MME) (MME connects to UE : [0002], [0057]), and
wherein the scheduling request is transmitted from the MME to a proximity services function (PSF), and then transmitted from the PSF to the base station ([0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YING in view of JIN, Choi to include the above recited limitations as taught by DAO. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve managing network resource usage, for example storage, computing and signalling. (DAO; [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411