DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7,8,10-13,16-18,21,22,24-27,29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-111078003-A) in view of Berliner (US 20220255995 A1).
Claim 1. Huang teaches a method of sharing perception information between a first device and a second device, the method comprising:
obtaining one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of the first device
(Page 8- calculating the pose data of the first device. wherein the pose data for characterizing the first device at the first device position and posture corresponding to the space coordinate system, such as position may be represented by spatial coordinates, posture can be represented by using a rotation angle. mode, of course,);
obtaining one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of the second device
(Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
the perception information comprising a type of environment of the second device, a position of the second device, an orientation of the second device, image data, or a combination thereof
(Page 2- The image, constructing a map corresponding to the first real scene, obtaining map data, the map data is transmitted to the second device, the map data used for indicating said second device according to said map data and second object relocation, (e.g. image data and position),
Page 18- In some embodiments, the data processing device 400 may also include a content module, which is used for the transmitting the map is transmitted to the second device, when receiving the indication information to the second device, to control the first device in the first real scene superimposing virtual object, wherein, said indication information is used for indicating the second device re-orientation success, a content display module for displaying the virtual object. (e.g. orientation)).
Huang further discloses the process of determining the location of the first and second device using a shared position system (Page 4- need to share a common coordinate system) but does not specifically disclose receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device, wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established.
However, Berliner teaches receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device, wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established
([0293] In some embodiments, the operations may further include receiving a request from the second wearable extended reality appliance to share the virtual content, and upon receiving confirmation from the first wearable extended reality appliance, transmitting second data representing the at least a portion of the virtual content in an unobscured form to the second wearable extended reality appliance. A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may be generated either automatically or through user input...a request that is triggered to be sent based on a distance between the first wearable extended reality appliance and the second wearable extended reality appliance, a location of the first wearable extended reality appliance or the second wearable extended reality appliance,..
(e.g. distance is a condition relating to the first device and the second device)
[0288]Here, because the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617 is in proximity to the first wearable extended reality appliance 1615, a portion 1626 of the first virtual content 1622 may be transmitted to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617.
(e.g. verification and result of the verification)
[0291] The user interface may be presented to another user if a second wearable extended reality appliance is in proximity to a first wearable extended reality appliance.
[0287] Since the first wearable extended reality appliance 1515 is not in proximity to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1517, none of the first virtual content 1522 may be transmitted to the second user 1516.
(e.g. distance is too far and thus, not received when the result of the verification indicates that the distance condition is not established)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established and the perception information as taught by Berliner within the system of Huang for the purpose of ensuring that both devices are within acknowledged proximity in order to expand the perception data shared between both devices.
Claim 2. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a user equipment (UE), the second device comprises a wearable device, and the condition comprises a positional relationship between the UE and the wearable device
(Huang Page 5- In some embodiments, the electronic device may be a head-mounted display device, also can be mobile phone, tablet computer and mobile device. electronic device is a head-mounted display device, headmounted display device can be a whole head mounted display device. electronic device also can be a smart terminal such as mobile phone and external connected/connectable head-mounted display device, that is, electronic device can be used as processing and storage device of the head-mounted display device,).
Claim 3. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 2, wherein the wearable device comprises a head- mounted display, a heads-up display, a wrist-worn device, or a finger-worn device
(Huang Page 5- In some embodiments, the electronic device may be a head-mounted display device, also can be mobile phone, tablet computer and mobile device. electronic device is a head-mounted display device, headmounted display device can be a whole head mounted display device.).
Claim 4. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 2, the positional relationship comprises a position of the first device relative to the position of the second device, a proximity between the first device and the second device, a co-location of the first device and the second device, an orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device, or a combination thereof
(Berliner [0545] Any number (such as three) wearable extended reality appliances may be co-located in the same room or common space. ).
Claim 5. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 4, further comprising determining the position of the first device relative to the position of the second device based on an optical image obtained using the second device, an inertial measurement of the first device, or a combination thereof
(Huang Page 8 - the first device may comprises a first object according to the collected, and data (movement data) collected by the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU), c).
Claim 7. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 4, further comprising determining the proximity between the first device and the second device based on at least one ranging measurement between the first device and the second device
(Huang Page 2- The execution subject of the communication method may be a control device or a first device. Wherein, the first device and the second device are both ultra-wideband devices, and both the first device and the second device are in the target area...the first device can locate the second device to obtain the position information of the second device, and the first device can interact with the second device to obtain the field of view of the second device).
Claim 8. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 4, further comprising determining the co-location of the first device and the second device based on a correlation of one or more inertial measurements of the first device and one or more inertial measurements of the second device
(Huang Page 8 - the first device may comprises a first object according to the collected, and data (movement data) collected by the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU)).
Claim 10. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 1, wherein :obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device comprises receiving the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device from the second device; and
receiving the perception information comprises receiving the perception information from the second device
(Berliner [0408] The simulated user interaction may have one or more features same as or similar to the initiated user interaction, such as a location of a user interaction relative to content interacted with, an orientation of a user interaction relative content interacted with, a motion of a user interaction, a texture of a user interaction, or any other characteristic of a user interaction.
[0532] For example, the sensor data may be in the form of images from an image sensor associated with a wearable extended reality appliance or may be in the form of values representing motion from a motion sensor associated with the wearable extended reality appliance.).
Claim 11. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 10, further comprising sending a request for the perception information to the second device; wherein the receiving the perception information is responsive to the request
(Berliner [0293] A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may also be sent through a user input. A user input request may be generated when a user of the second wearable extended reality appliance interacts with the second wearable extended reality device or any other device connected to the second wearable extended reality device.).
Claim 12. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 1, further comprising performing an application using the received perception information, the application comprising switching from a first wireless communication protocol to a second wireless communication protocol, selecting an access point from a plurality of access points, selecting a beam from a plurality for beams associated with one or more base stations, or performing a position- based operation using the received perception information
(Page 12- In addition, when obtaining the re-location success indication information for indicating the second device, generating a virtual object and to display, then the pose data of the virtual object and the display data transmitted to the second device so that the second device to synchronously display the virtual object to realize the synchronous display of multi-person in the AR.
Page 13 - can analyze the position relationship between the first device and the second device, and according to the position relation, can determine the conversion relation between space coordinate space coordinate system corresponding to the first equipment and the second equipment corresponding to, so as to realize the alignment of the coordinate system. also to finish the re-location. e.g. position based operation).
Claim 13. Huang and Berliner teach the teach the method of claim 1, wherein the type of the environment comprises an indoor environment or an outdoor environment, the type of the environment detected using one or more sensors of the second device
([0319] The determination of the location of the first wearable extended reality appliance may be based on one or more positioning systems included in the first wearable extended reality appliance, such as Global Positioning System (GPS) sensors, indoor positioning systems, ).
Claim 16. Huang teaches an apparatus comprising:
one or more wireless communication interfaces
(Page 20- electronic device 100...a modem is used for processing wireless communication);
one or more memory
(Page 20- memory 120)
one or more sensors
(Page 6- the image collecting device / page 8 inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU));
; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more wireless communication interfaces
(processor 110)
, the one or more sensors, and the one or more memory, and configured to:
obtain one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a first device
(Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
obtain one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a second device
(Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
and the perception information comprising a type of environment of the second device, a position of the second device, an orientation of the second device, image data, or a combination thereof
(Page 2- The image, constructing a map corresponding to the first real scene, obtaining map data, the map data is transmitted to the second device, the map data used for indicating said second device according to said map data and second object relocation, (e.g. image data and position),
Page 18- In some embodiments, the data processing device 400 may also include a content module, which is used for the transmitting the map is transmitted to the second device, when receiving the indication information to the second device, to control the first device in the first real scene superimposing virtual object, wherein, said indication information is used for indicating the second device re-orientation success, a content display module for displaying the virtual object. (e.g. orientation)).
Huang further discloses the process of determining the location of the first and second device using a shared position system (Page 4- need to share a common coordinate system) but does not specifically disclose receive perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device, wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established.
However, Berliner teaches receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device, wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established
([0293] In some embodiments, the operations may further include receiving a request from the second wearable extended reality appliance to share the virtual content, and upon receiving confirmation from the first wearable extended reality appliance, transmitting second data representing the at least a portion of the virtual content in an unobscured form to the second wearable extended reality appliance. A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may be generated either automatically or through user input...a request that is triggered to be sent based on a distance between the first wearable extended reality appliance and the second wearable extended reality appliance, a location of the first wearable extended reality appliance or the second wearable extended reality appliance,..
(e.g. distance is a condition relating to the first device and the second device)
[0288]Here, because the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617 is in proximity to the first wearable extended reality appliance 1615, a portion 1626 of the first virtual content 1622 may be transmitted to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617.
(e.g. verification and result of the verification)
[0291] The user interface may be presented to another user if a second wearable extended reality appliance is in proximity to a first wearable extended reality appliance.
[0287] Since the first wearable extended reality appliance 1515 is not in proximity to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1517, none of the first virtual content 1522 may be transmitted to the second user 1516.
(e.g. distance is too far and thus, not received when the result of the verification indicates that the distance condition is not established)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established and the perception information as taught by Berliner within the system of Huang for the purpose of ensuring that both devices are within acknowledged proximity in order to expand the perception data shared between both devices.
Claim 17. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the apparatus comprises the first device or the second device; and wherein the first device comprises a user equipment (UE), the second device comprises a wearable device, and the condition comprises a positional relationship between the UE and the wearable device
(Huang Page 5- In some embodiments, the electronic device may be a head-mounted display device, also can be mobile phone, tablet computer and mobile device. electronic device is a head-mounted display device, headmounted display device can be a whole head mounted display device.).
Claim 18. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the positional relationship comprises a position of the first device relative to the position of the second device, a proximity between the first device and the second device, a co-location of the first device and the second device, an orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device, or a combination thereof
((Berliner [0545] Any number (such as three) wearable extended reality appliances may be co-located in the same room or common space.).
Claim 19. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the position of the first device relative to the position of the second device based on an optical image obtained using the second device, an inertial measurement of the first device, or a combination thereof
(Huang Page 8 - the first device may comprises a first object according to the collected, and data (movement data) collected by the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU), c).
Claim 21. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the proximity between the first device and the second device based on at least one ranging measurement between the first device and the second device
(Huang Page 2- The execution subject of the communication method may be a control device or a first device. Wherein, the first device and the second device are both ultra-wideband devices, and both the first device and the second device are in the target area...the first device can locate the second device to obtain the position information of the second device, and the first device can interact with the second device to obtain the field of view of the second device).
Claim 22. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the co-location of the first device and the second device based on a correlation of one or more inertial measurements of the first device and one or more inertial measurements of the second device
(Huang Page 8 - the first device may comprises a first object according to the collected, and data (movement data) collected by the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU))..
Claim 24. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 16, wherein:
obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device comprises receiving the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device from the second device; and receiving the perception information comprises receiving the perception information from the second device
(Berliner [0408] The simulated user interaction may have one or more features same as or similar to the initiated user interaction, such as a location of a user interaction relative to content interacted with, an orientation of a user interaction relative content interacted with, a motion of a user interaction, a texture of a user interaction, or any other characteristic of a user interaction.
[0532] For example, the sensor data may be in the form of images from an image sensor associated with a wearable extended reality appliance or may be in the form of values representing motion from a motion sensor associated with the wearable extended reality appliance.).
Claim 25. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform an application using the received perception information, the application comprising switching from a first wireless communication protocol to a second wireless communication protocol, selecting an access point from a plurality of access points, selecting a beam from a plurality for beams associated with one or more base stations, or performing a position-based operation using the received perception information
(Huang Page 12- In addition, when obtaining the re-location success indication information for indicating the second device, generating a virtual object and to display, then the pose data of the virtual object and the display data transmitted to the second device so that the second device to synchronously display the virtual object to realize the synchronous display of multi-person in the AR.
Page 13 - can analyze the position relationship between the first device and the second device, and according to the position relation, can determine the conversion relation between space coordinate space coordinate system corresponding to the first equipment and the second equipment corresponding to, so as to realize the alignment of the coordinate system. also to finish the re-location. e.g. position based operation).
Claim 26. Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable apparatus comprising a storage medium, the storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions configured to, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
obtain one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a first device
(Page 8- calculating the pose data of the first device. wherein the pose data for characterizing the first device at the first device position and posture corresponding to the space coordinate system, such as position may be represented by spatial coordinates, posture can be represented by using a rotation angle. mode, of course,);
obtain one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a second device
(Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
; and the perception information comprising a type of environment of the second device, a position of the second device, an orientation of the second device, image data, or a combination thereof
(Page 2- The image, constructing a map corresponding to the first real scene, obtaining map data, the map data is transmitted to the second device, the map data used for indicating said second device according to said map data and second object relocation, (e.g. image data and position),
Page 18- In some embodiments, the data processing device 400 may also include a content module, which is used for the transmitting the map is transmitted to the second device, when receiving the indication information to the second device, to control the first device in the first real scene superimposing virtual object, wherein, said indication information is used for indicating the second device re-orientation success, a content display module for displaying the virtual object. (e.g. orientation)).
Huang further discloses the process of determining the location of the first and second device using a shared position system (Page 4- need to share a common coordinate system) but does not specifically disclose receive perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device.
However, Berliner teaches receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device , wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established
([0293] In some embodiments, the operations may further include receiving a request from the second wearable extended reality appliance to share the virtual content, and upon receiving confirmation from the first wearable extended reality appliance, transmitting second data representing the at least a portion of the virtual content in an unobscured form to the second wearable extended reality appliance. A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may be generated either automatically or through user input...a request that is triggered to be sent based on a distance between the first wearable extended reality appliance and the second wearable extended reality appliance, a location of the first wearable extended reality appliance or the second wearable extended reality appliance,..
(e.g. distance is a condition relating to the first device and the second device)
[0288]Here, because the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617 is in proximity to the first wearable extended reality appliance 1615, a portion 1626 of the first virtual content 1622 may be transmitted to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617.
(e.g. verification and result of the verification)
[0291] The user interface may be presented to another user if a second wearable extended reality appliance is in proximity to a first wearable extended reality appliance.
[0287] Since the first wearable extended reality appliance 1515 is not in proximity to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1517, none of the first virtual content 1522 may be transmitted to the second user 1516.
(e.g. distance is too far and thus, not received when the result of the verification indicates that the distance condition is not established)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established and the perception information as taught by Berliner within the system of Huang for the purpose of ensuring that both devices are within acknowledged proximity in order to expand the perception data shared between both devices.
Claim 27. Huang and Berliner teach the non-transitory computer-readable apparatus of claim 26, wherein the condition comprises a positional relationship between the first device and the second device; and the positional relationship comprises a position of the first device relative to the position of the second device, a proximity between the first device and the second device, a co-location of the first device and the second device, an orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device, or a combination thereof
((Huang Page 5- In some embodiments, the electronic device may be a head-mounted display device, also can be mobile phone, tablet computer and mobile device. electronic device is a head-mounted display device, headmounted display device can be a whole head mounted display device. electronic device also can be a smart terminal such as mobile phone and external connected/connectable head-mounted display device, that is, electronic device can be used as processing and storage device of the head-mounted display device,).co=loc
(Berliner [0545] Any number (such as three) wearable extended reality appliances may be co-located in the same room or common space. )).
Claim 29. Huang teaches an apparatus comprising:
means for obtaining one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a first device
(Page 8- calculating the pose data of the first device. wherein the pose data for characterizing the first device at the first device position and posture corresponding to the space coordinate system, such as position may be represented by spatial coordinates, posture can be represented by using a rotation angle. mode, of course,);
means for obtaining one or more measurements indicative of a motion or a position of a second device
(Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
the perception information comprising a type of environment of the second device, a position of the second device, an orientation of the second device, image data, or a combination thereof
(Page 2- The image, constructing a map corresponding to the first real scene, obtaining map data, the map data is transmitted to the second device, the map data used for indicating said second device according to said map data and second object relocation, (e.g. image data and position),
Page 18- In some embodiments, the data processing device 400 may also include a content module, which is used for the transmitting the map is transmitted to the second device, when receiving the indication information to the second device, to control the first device in the first real scene superimposing virtual object, wherein, said indication information is used for indicating the second device re-orientation success, a content display module for displaying the virtual object. (e.g. orientation)).
Huang further discloses the process of determining the location of the first and second device using a shared position system (Page 4- need to share a common coordinate system) but does not specifically disclose means for receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device.
However, Berliner teaches receiving perception information responsive to a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established, the verification of the condition being based on the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the first device and the one or more measurements indicative of the motion or the position of the second device , wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established
([0293] In some embodiments, the operations may further include receiving a request from the second wearable extended reality appliance to share the virtual content, and upon receiving confirmation from the first wearable extended reality appliance, transmitting second data representing the at least a portion of the virtual content in an unobscured form to the second wearable extended reality appliance. A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may be generated either automatically or through user input...a request that is triggered to be sent based on a distance between the first wearable extended reality appliance and the second wearable extended reality appliance, a location of the first wearable extended reality appliance or the second wearable extended reality appliance,..
(e.g. distance is a condition relating to the first device and the second device)
[0288]Here, because the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617 is in proximity to the first wearable extended reality appliance 1615, a portion 1626 of the first virtual content 1622 may be transmitted to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1617.
(e.g. verification and result of the verification)
[0291] The user interface may be presented to another user if a second wearable extended reality appliance is in proximity to a first wearable extended reality appliance.
[0287] Since the first wearable extended reality appliance 1515 is not in proximity to the second wearable extended reality appliance 1517, none of the first virtual content 1522 may be transmitted to the second user 1516.
(e.g. distance is too far and thus, not received when the result of the verification indicates that the distance condition is not established)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a verification that a condition relating to the first device and the second device is established and the perception information as taught by Berliner within the system of Huang for the purpose of ensuring that both devices are within acknowledged proximity in order to expand the perception data shared between both devices.
Claim 30. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the condition comprises a positional relationship between the first device and the second device; and the positional relationship comprises a position of the first device relative to the position of the second device, a proximity between the first device and the second device, a co-location of the first device and the second device, an orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device, or a combination thereof
(Huang Page 5- In some embodiments, the electronic device may be a head-mounted display device, also can be mobile phone, tablet computer and mobile device. electronic device is a head-mounted display device, headmounted display device can be a whole head mounted display device. electronic device also can be a smart terminal such as mobile phone and external connected/connectable head-mounted display device, that is, electronic device can be used as processing and storage device of the head-mounted display device,).
Berliner [0545] Any number (such as three) wearable extended reality appliances may be co-located in the same room or common space.)).
Claim(s) 6, 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Berliner and further in view of Bai (WO 2022135026 A1).
Claim 6. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 4, and further discloses the position of devices using field angles and signal strength reflections but do not specifically disclose determining the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device.
However, Bai teaches determining the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device.
(Page 14- Step 1. The first device sends configuration information of the sensing signal to the second device, including at least one of information such as time-frequency resource location, angle of departure (AoD), and waveform.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device as taught by Bai within the system of Huang for the purpose of quickly determining the location of the device based on a phase change of the transmitted signal.
Claim 20. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 18, and further discloses the position of devices using field angles and signal strength reflections but do not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device.
However, Bai teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device
(Page 14- Step 1. The first device sends configuration information of the sensing signal to the second device, including at least one of information such as time-frequency resource location, angle of departure (AoD), and waveform.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device as taught by Bai within the system of Huang for the purpose of quickly determining the location of the device based on a phase change of the transmitted signal.
Claim 28. Huang and Berliner teach the non-transitory computer-readable apparatus of claim 27, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine the position of the first device relative to the position of the second device based on an optical image obtained using the second device, an inertial measurement of the first device, or a combination thereof
(Huang Page 8 - the first device may comprises a first object according to the collected, and data (movement data) collected by the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU), c);
determine the proximity between the first device and the second device based on at least one ranging measurement between the first device and the second device
(Huang Page 2- The execution subject of the communication method may be a control device or a first device. Wherein, the first device and the second device are both ultra-wideband devices, and both the first device and the second device are in the target area...the first device can locate the second device to obtain the position information of the second device, and the first device can interact with the second device to obtain the field of view of the second device
Bai Page 18- For example, the control device may gradually move the position of the second device toward the direction of the radar coverage blind area in the target area, so as to ensure that the first radar coverage and the second radar coverage overlap, so that the second device New radar coverage covers radar coverage blind spots. (e.g. proximity));
determine the co-location of the first device and the second device based on a correlation of one or more inertial measurements of the first device and one or more inertial measurements of the second device; or a combination thereof
(Berliner [0545] Any number (such as three) wearable extended reality appliances may be co-located in the same room or common space. ).
Huang and Berliner further discloses the position of devices using field angles and signal strength reflections but do not specifically disclose determine the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device;
However, Bai teaches determining the orientation of the first device relative to the orientation of the second device based on an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device.
(Page 14- Step 1. The first device sends configuration information of the sensing signal to the second device, including at least one of information such as time-frequency resource location, angle of departure (AoD), and waveform.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use an angle of arrival or an angle of departure of a radio frequency (RF) signal between the first device and the second device as taught by Bai within the system of Huang for the purpose of quickly determining the location of the device based on a phase change of the transmitted signal.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Berliner and further In view of Qiu (US 20130102324 A1).
Claim 9. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 1, wherein: obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the first device comprises obtaining one or more first measurements comprising an acceleration measurement, a rotation measurement, or a combination thereof, the one or more first measurements measured using at least one inertial sensor of the first device
(Huang Page 8- the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU)...as position may be represented by Spatial coordinates, posture can be represented by using a rotation angle. mode, of course);
obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device comprises obtaining one or more second measurements comprising an acceleration measurement, a rotation measurement, or a combination thereof, the one or more second measurements measured using at least one inertial sensor of the second device
(Huang Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,)
but do not specifically disclose the verification of the condition is based on a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements.
However, Qiu teaches the verification of the condition is based on a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements
([0025] The location information may include data, such as a rotation matrix from the accelerometer, gyroscope, and/or the digital compass. [0043] the localized signal(s) 110 sent by the first device 102 and the second device 104 respectively may exhibit low cross correlation, which is lower than a threshold, and high auto correlation, which is higher than another threshold, such that if the two localized signal(s) 110 overlap, they can still be easily detected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements as taught by Qiu within the system of Huang for the purpose of determining whether the locations of the devices are close enough to receive perception data with less errors.
Claim 23. Huang and Berliner teach the apparatus of claim 16, wherein:
obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the first device comprises obtaining one or more first measurements comprising an acceleration measurement, a rotation measurement, or a combination thereof, the one or more first measurements measured using at least one inertial sensor of the first device
(Huang Page 8- the inertia measuring unit (Inertial measurement unit, IMU)...as position may be represented by Spatial coordinates, posture can be represented by using a rotation angle. mode, of course);
obtaining the one or more measurements indicative of the motion of the second device comprises obtaining one or more second measurements comprising an acceleration measurement, a rotation measurement, or a combination thereof, the one or more second measurements measured using at least one inertial sensor of the second device
(Huang Page 13- determining the map content corresponding to the characteristic information, and then obtaining the pose data of the second device, position and pose data of the second device,);
but do not specifically disclose the verification of the condition is based on a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements.
However, Qiu teaches the verification of the condition is based on a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements
([0025] The location information may include data, such as a rotation matrix from the accelerometer, gyroscope, and/or the digital compass. [0043] the localized signal(s) 110 sent by the first device 102 and the second device 104 respectively may exhibit low cross correlation, which is lower than a threshold, and high auto correlation, which is higher than another threshold, such that if the two localized signal(s) 110 overlap, they can still be easily detected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use a correlation of one or more first measurements and the one or more second measurements as taught by Qiu within the system of Huang for the purpose of determining whether the locations of the devices are close enough to receive perception data with less errors.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Berliner and further in view of Cui (WO 2022028314 A1).
Claim 14. Huang and Berliner teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
And discloses the process of obtaining perception by a device but do not specifically disclose receiving information about one or more types of perception information that is capable of being shared; sending a request for at least one of the one or more types of perception information; and initiating the verification of the condition responsive to a request to initiate the verification of the condition.
However, Cui teaches receiving information about one or more types of perception information that is capable of being shared
(Page 15- In S182 of FIG. 18 , the electronic device 1600 receives the sensing capability sent by the sensing electronic device.);
sending a request for at least one of the one or more types of perception information
(Page 15- In S181 of FIG. 18 , the electronic device 1600 requests the sensing electronic device for the sensing capability of the sensing electronic device in the form of unicast.)
; and
initiating the verification of the condition responsive to a request to initiate the verification of the condition
(Page 15- In S183 of FIG. 18 , when the electronic device 1600 confirms that the sensing electronic device can sense predetermined situation sensing information based on the received sensing capability, the electronic device 1600 establishes communication with the sensing electronic device in the form of unicast. In S184 of FIG. 18 , the sensing electronic device transmits predetermined situation sensing information to the electronic device 1600 .).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use receiving information about one or more types of perception information that is capable of being shared, sending a request and initiating the verification of the condition responsive to a request to initiate the verification of the condition as taught by Cui within the system of Huang for the purpose of selecting devices having certain abilities to effectively send environment related data required by the user.
Claim 15. Huang, Berliner and Cui teach the method of claim 14, further comprising receiving a user input configured to confirm the initiating of the verification of the condition
([0293] In some embodiments, the operations may further include receiving a request from the second wearable extended reality appliance to share the virtual content, and upon receiving confirmation from the first wearable extended reality appliance,.. A request from the second wearable extended reality appliance may be generated either automatically or through user input).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed 19 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang (CN-111078003-A) in view of Berliner (US 20220255995 A1).
For claims 1, 16, 26 and 29, Applicant states the prior art fails to specifically teach the limitation,” wherein the perception information is received based on a result of the verification, the perception information being received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is established and not received when the result of the verification indicates that the condition is not established,”. However, the prior art of Berliner provides the obviousness improvement for this limitation.
Moreover, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Therefore, the teachings of Huang (CN-111078003-A) in view of Berliner (US 20220255995 A1) are obvious over the claimed inventions of 1, 16, 26 and 29.
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689