DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-14, 26-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent claim 9, applicant asserts that: “Claim 9 has been rewritten into independent form incorporating the features of original claim 1 and intervening claim 8, from which claim 9 formerly depended. Claim 9 (amended) is therefore allowable. Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9 and is allowable because claim 9 is allowable.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Claim 9 has not been rewritten into independent form incorporating the features of original claim 1 and intervening claim 8, from which claim 9 formerly depended. Intervening claims 2 and 3, from which claim 9 formerly depended, have not been incorporated into amended claim 9. Therefore, amended claim 9 is not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2025/0158571) in view of Xue (US 2017/0026009).
As to claim 9, Huang discloses circuitry (see at least figure 3 below) comprising: a first amplifier 340; differential coupled lines having a first pair of coupled lines connected to a first output terminal of the first amplifier 340, and a second pair of coupled lines connected to a second output terminal of the first amplifier 340. See paragraph [0039] which discloses “Features of the cascading wideband coupler balun structure 300 may include using a smaller electrical length for each set of coupled line couplers to reduce footprint of the overall structure”.
Huang fails to disclose a second amplifier configured to receive a signal via the differential coupled lines, wherein the second amplifier includes a first input terminal coupled to a second end of the second conductive path; and a second input terminal coupled to a second end of the fourth conductive path. Xue discloses a second amplifier 104 (see figure 1) configured to receive a signal via differential coupled lines 108 (see paragraph [0037]), wherein the second amplifier 104 includes a first input terminal coupled to a second end of a second conductive path; and a second input terminal coupled to a second end of a fourth conductive path (see figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Xue to Huang, in order to yield predictable results of a multi-stage power amplifier such as achieving high gain and impedance matching flexibility.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2025/0158571) in view of Xue (US 2017/0026009) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mei (US 2014/0253246).
As to claim 10, the combination of Huang and Xue fails to disclose a first differential transmission line coupled between the first amplifier and the differential coupled lines; and a second differential transmission line coupled between the differential coupled lines and the second amplifier. Mei discloses a first differential transmission line 5 (see figure 7) coupled between an amplifier 3 and differential coupled lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Mei to the differential coupled lines in the combination of Huang and Xue, in order to yield predictable results such as improving dynamic range of the matching impedance.
As to claim 11, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to claim 10 as set forth above.
As to claim 12, Huang discloses the combination of Huang and Xue discloses that the differential coupled lines are configured to provide impedance matching between the first and second amplifiers (see Huang, paragraphs [0037], [0038]; Xue, paragraph [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-8, 13-14, 26-38 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646