DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 14 January 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are pending;
Claim 1 is currently amended;
Claims 2-6 and 8-16 were previously presented;
Claim 7 is canceled;
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 14 January 2026 have been fully considered. Examiner understand applicant’s approach with the new limitations but terms like “attached to” do not necessarily require direct connections. All the elements in Ming and Kopecky are indirectly connected to one another. In the case of “between”, in Ming the main pipe 31 is connected to 11 and 11 is between the auxiliary pipes and in Kopecky the main pipe 105 is connected to 109 and 109 is between the auxiliary pipes so under the broadest reasonable interpretation the main pipe in each reference is hydraulically connected between the auxiliary pipes. Applicant should use “directly attached to” to define the connections clearly in order to differentiate from the prior art and successfully overcome it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10-12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ming (China Patent Publication No. 108301821).
As to Claim 1, Ming discloses a unit system for displaying a restart of time-dependent fluid flow in a transient regime, comprising:
A first reservoir tank (18) containing a first fluid;
A second reservoir tank (12 or 3) containing a second fluid, wherein the first reservoir tank comprises a fluid and the second reservoir tank comprises another fluid;
A first auxiliary pipe (Pipe between 18 and 11) hydraulically connected to the first reservoir tank (18), wherein a first end of the first auxiliary pipe is attached to the first reservoir (indirectly);
A second auxiliary pipe (Pipe between 12 and 11 or Pipe between 3 and 11) hydraulically connected to the second reservoir tank (11), wherein a first end of the second auxiliary pipe is attached to the second reservoir (indirectly);
A main pipe (31) hydraulically connected between the first and second auxiliary pipes, wherein a second end of the first auxiliary pipe is attached to a first end of the main pipe (indirectly) and a second end of the second auxiliary pipe is attached to a second end of the main pipe (indirectly), wherein the main pipe is made of a transparent acrylic material that allows viewing of the fluid inside the main pipe (Pipe 31 is described as a lucite tube in the disclosure and lucite is a transparent acrylic material);
A viewing box (29 or 30, 32) surrounding at least a portion of the main pipe (31) and allows its viewing (It allows viewing of the main pipe since the box does not block the main pipe);
A pressurization system (1, 14, 20) connected to the first and second reservoir tanks; and
A particle image velocimetry system (24) positioned adjacent the viewing box to measure a fluid flow in the main pipe (31).
As to Claim 2, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein the first and second reservoir tanks (12, 18) are hydraulically connected to the main pipe (31) through the auxiliary pipes (Pipes between 12 and 18 and 11) that allow the flow of fluid from the reservoir tanks to the main pipe.
As to Claim 4, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein the main pipe (31) is made of polymethylmethacrylate (Pipe 31 is described as a lucite tube in the disclosure and lucite is an acrylic, specifically polymethylmethacrylate).
As to Claim 10, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein each of the first and second auxiliary pipes (Pipes between 12 and 18 and 11) further comprises a pressure sensor (16, 22, 9, 27) to measure an operating pressure and/or a pressure variation at the restart of the flow, wherein the measurements are used to determine a wall shear stress of the first and second auxiliary pipes.
As to Claim 11, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein each of the first and second auxiliary pipes (Pipes between 12 and 18 and 11) further comprise a shut-off valve installed at an inlet (15, 21) and an outlet (17, 23) of the first and second auxiliary pipes, wherein the shut off valves control the fluid flow during the tests of fluid restart.
As to Claim 12, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein the main pipe (31) further comprises four thermocouples (28), wherein the thermocouples are positioned outside and inside the viewing box (29).
As to Claim 15, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses wherein the particle image velocimetry (24) processing and treatment software (26) of the system calculates a velocity profiles and velocity gradients, wherein a yield stress is calculated directly from the velocity profiles by means of their first derivative.
As to Claim 16, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Holbrook also discloses wherein the main pipe (31) is immersed in water (Main pipe contains a liquid with water so the inner wall of the main pipe is immersed in water).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kopecky (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0172310).
As to Claim 1, Kopecky discloses a unit system for displaying a restart of time-dependent fluid flow in a transient regime, comprising:
A first reservoir tank (A) containing a first fluid;
A second reservoir tank (C) containing a second fluid, wherein the first reservoir tank comprises a fluid and the second reservoir tank comprises another fluid;
A first auxiliary pipe (111) hydraulically connected to the first reservoir tank (A), wherein a first end of the first auxiliary pipe is attached to the first reservoir (indirectly);
A second auxiliary pipe (116) hydraulically connected to the second reservoir tank (C), wherein a first end of the second auxiliary pipe is attached to the second reservoir (indirectly);
A main pipe (105) hydraulically connected between the first and second auxiliary pipes (111, 116), wherein a second end of the first auxiliary pipe is attached to a first end of the main pipe (indirectly) and a second end of the second auxiliary pipe is attached to a second end of the main pipe (indirectly), wherein the main pipe is made of a transparent acrylic material that allows viewing of the fluid inside the main pipe (Paragraph 0013: “In accordance with embodiments of the disclosure, the cylindrical housing/test stand pipe 105 is constructed partly or entirely of a see-through material. Suitable material that may be used for the test stand pipe 105 include Plexiglas, Lucite, and other transparent plastics known to those skilled in the art as well as glass materials. The term “transparent” is used herein to also encompass translucent materials”);
A viewing box surrounding at least a portion of the main pipe and allows its viewing (Paragraph 0015: “In preferred embodiments, one or more of gas separator 107, multistage pump 109, and mechanical gas separator 106 also have an outer housing that is constructed partly or entirely of a transparent material to enable visual observation thereof”. Elements 106, 107 and 109 are part of main pipe 105 as per the figures. The outer housing of any of the elements is the viewing box);
A pressurization system (109) connected to the first and second reservoir tanks; and
A particle image velocimetry system positioned adjacent the viewing box to measure a fluid flow in the main pipe (Paragraph 0010: “In some embodiments, the same sensors and instruments typically used in steel or metal test loops may be incorporated into the see-through housings as well. The ability to clearly observe the flow regimes unassisted allows for accurate study of individual equipment effects, vortices interactions and formation, the effects of different velocities of fluid flow, the optimization of flow paths, remixing and flow regimes external of a system, slug creation, and other parameters known to those skilled in the art”; Paragraph 0023: “One or more resealable holes 108 may be formed at selected locations longitudinally and/or circumferentially along the test stand pipe 105 for inserting the pressure sensor and other sensors into the test stand pipe 105”).
As to Claim 2, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein the first and second reservoir tanks are hydraulically connected to the main pipe (105) through the auxiliary pipes (111, 116) that allow the flow of fluid from the reservoir tanks to the main pipe.
As to Claim 4, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein the main pipe (105) is made of polymethylmethacrylate (Paragraph 0013: “In accordance with embodiments of the disclosure, the cylindrical housing/test stand pipe 105 is constructed partly or entirely of a see-through material. Suitable material that may be used for the test stand pipe 105 include Plexiglas, Lucite, and other transparent plastics known to those skilled in the art as well as glass materials. The term “transparent” is used herein to also encompass translucent materials”).
As to Claim 10, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein each of the first and second auxiliary pipes (112, 116) further comprises a pressure sensor (115a, 115c) to measure an operating pressure and/or a pressure variation at the restart of the flow, wherein the measurements are used to determine a wall shear stress of the first and second auxiliary pipes (112, 116).
As to Claim 11, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein each of the first and second auxiliary pipes (112, 116) further comprise a shut-off valve (113a, 113c, 118) installed at an inlet and an outlet of the first and second auxiliary pipes, wherein the shut off valves control the fluid flow during the tests of fluid restart.
As to Claim 12, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein the main pipe (105) further comprises four thermocouples (Holes 108 are used to introduced a plurality of sensors and there are “one or more” holes as per paragraph 0023. Therefore, four holes for four temperature sensors is within the scope of the prior art), wherein the thermocouples are positioned outside and inside the viewing box (Paragraph 0015: “In preferred embodiments, one or more of gas separator 107, multistage pump 109, and mechanical gas separator 106 also have an outer housing that is constructed partly or entirely of a transparent material to enable visual observation thereof”. Elements 106, 107 and 109 are part of main pipe 105 as per the figures. The outer housing of any of the elements is the viewing box) and record a temperature of the flow restart.
As to Claim 15, Kopecky discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Kopecky also discloses wherein the particle image velocimetry processing and treatment software of the system calculates a velocity profiles and velocity gradients, wherein a yield stress is calculated directly from the velocity profiles by means of their first derivative (Paragraph 0010: “In some embodiments, the same sensors and instruments typically used in steel or metal test loops may be incorporated into the see-through housings as well. The ability to clearly observe the flow regimes unassisted allows for accurate study of individual equipment effects, vortices interactions and formation, the effects of different velocities of fluid flow, the optimization of flow paths, remixing and flow regimes external of a system, slug creation, and other parameters known to those skilled in the art”; Paragraph 0023: “One or more resealable holes 108 may be formed at selected locations longitudinally and/or circumferentially along the test stand pipe 105 for inserting the pressure sensor and other sensors into the test stand pipe 105”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming (China Patent Publication No. 108301821) in view of Holbrook (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0232195).
As to Claim 3, Ming discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Ming also discloses further comprising the tanks (3, 12, 18) further have an adapter connected to a top cover of each of the first and second reservoir tanks, wherein the adapter allows the entry of compressed air (via 1) to pressurize the first and second reservoir tanks and cause the first and second fluid to flow from one tank to another through the first and second auxiliary pipe and the main pipe (31). However, Ming is silent about a sight gauge installed on a side of each of the first and second reservoir tanks to view a fluid level inside the tanks; and a thermocouple fixed inside each of the first and second reservoir tanks to record a temperature of the system during the flow restart tests. Holbrook discloses a sight gauge (141) installed on a side of each of first and second reservoir tanks (101a, 101b) to view a fluid level inside the tanks; and a thermocouple fixed inside each of the first and second reservoir tanks to record a temperature of the system during the flow restart tests (Paragraph 0040: “In any of the above described embodiments, a number of additional features could be employed including: a pressure relief valve to prevent over-pressurization of the tanks, pressure gauges at various locations to monitor pressure within the system, a backflow preventer to ensure that water from the tanks will not flow back into a building's plumbing, one or more filters or other water cleaning devices such as UV lights, water temperature gauges, circulation pumps, and drinking fountain connections among others”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a sight gauge installed on a side of each of the first and second reservoir tanks to view a fluid level inside the tanks; and a thermocouple fixed inside each of the first and second reservoir tanks to record a temperature of the system during the flow restart tests. The motivation would have been to monitor the quantity of contents in the system.
As to Claim 5, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches wherein the pressurization system consists of the comprises a pressure gauge (Ming: 16, 22) connected to the top cover of each of the first and second reservoir tanks; a pressure relief valve (Ming: 15, 21) connected to the top cover of each of the first and second reservoir tanks; a solenoid valve (Ming: 17, 23) fluidly connected to each adapter of each of the first and second reservoir tanks; and a pressure regulator valve (Ming: 29) fluidly connected to each solenoid valve of the first and second reservoir tanks.
As to Claim 6, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches wherein the pressure regulator valve (Ming: 29) and the solenoid valves (Ming: 17, 23) are located upstream of the first and second reservoir tanks (Ming: 3, 12, 18), and the pressure gauge and the pressure relief valve (Ming: 15, 21) are installed on the top cover of each reservoir tank.
As to Claim 8, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 6 (Refer to Claim 6 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches wherein the two solenoid valves (Ming: 17, 23) installed upstream of each reservoir tank (Ming: 3, 12, 18) allow the pressurization of only one reservoir tank and block the pressurization of the other tank reservoir tank.
As to Claim 9, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 6 (Refer to Claim 6 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches wherein the solenoid valves (Ming: 17, 23) are installed upstream of each reservoir tank (Ming: 3, 12, 18) and after downstream of the pressure regulator valve (Ming: 29), and allow the air to flow both ways.
As to Claim 13, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches wherein the pressure relief valves (Ming: 15, 21) installed on the cover of each reservoir tank are (Ming: 3, 12, 18) configured to depressurize the system.
As to Claim 14, Ming as modified teaches the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Ming as modified also teaches further comprising data acquisition software (Ming: 26) monitors and records the pressure and temperature values given by the pressure sensors and thermocouples.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678